DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to application no. 19/006,717 filed on 12/31/2024.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending and ready for examination.
Priority
This application is a continuation of International Application no. PCT/CN2022/110981, filed on August 08, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 12/31/2024 and 09/15/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Examiner’s note
Independent claims 1, 12 and 20 recite receive/ send one or more sensing signals by a communication device and do not provide any further information of response signal of the sensing signals or determining/ extracting/ deriving any information using the sensing signals. Therefore, examiner suggestion is to add further information of the sensing signals.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12 – 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HUANG et al. (HUANG hereinafter referred to HUANG) (WO 2021/258239 A1).
Regarding claim 1, HUANG teaches (Title, FEEDBACK-BASED TRANSMISSION PARAMETER ADJUSTMENT FOR PASSIVE SENSING IN NR SYSTEM) a communication device (Fig.11 and [0123], a receiving device 1100), wherein the communication device is a first device comprising at least one processor (Fig.11 and [0124], one or more processors 1104) and at least one memory (Fig.11 and [0124], memory 1105) including computer program, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are configured with the computer program (Fig.11 and [0130], communication and processing circuitry 1142 is configured to execute communication and processing software 1152 stored in computer-readable medium 1106 to implement one or more of the functions described), to cause the first device at least to:
receive one or more sensing signals (Fig.4 and [0081], The receiving devices (e.g., vehicle 402, vehicle 406, and RSU 410) each include sensing circuitry configured to execute a respective sensing signal algorithm to process the received sensing signals 412, 416a, 416b, and 418), wherein the sensing signal is a reference signal ([0080], The sensing signal waveform of each of the sensing signals 412, 414, and 416 are a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signal waveform or other type of waveform, such as a reference signal waveform based on 5G NR. Examples of reference signals include, an SSB, CSI-RS, PT-RS, SRS, sidelink SSB, or a sidelink CSI-RS) and/or is a signal carried on a data channel (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).
Regarding claim 12, HUANG teaches (Title, FEEDBACK-BASED TRANSMISSION PARAMETER ADJUSTMENT FOR PASSIVE SENSING IN NR SYSTEM) a communication device (Fig.10 and [0108], a transmitting device 1000), wherein the communication device is a second device comprising at least one processor (Fig.10 and [0109], one or more processors 1004) and at least one memory (Fig.10 and [0110], memory 1005) including computer program, wherein the at least one memory and the at least one processor are configured with the computer program (Fig.10 and [0112], The software, when executed by the processor 1004, causes the processing system 1014 to perform the various functions described; The computer-readable medium 1006 and the memory 1005 are used for storing data that is manipulated by the processor 1004 when executing software), to cause the second device at least to:
send one or more sensing signals (Fig.10 and [0116], communication and processing circuitry 1042 is configured to transmit one or more sensing signals via transceiver 1010), wherein the sensing signal is a reference signal (Fig.4 and [0080], The sensing signal waveform of each of the sensing signals 412, 414, and 416 are a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signal waveform or other type of waveform, such as a reference signal waveform based on 5G NR. Examples of reference signals include, an SSB, CSI-RS, PT-RS, SRS, sidelink SSB, or a sidelink CSI-RS) and/or is a signal carried on a data channel (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).
Regarding claim 13, HUANG teaches all the features with respect to claim 12 as outlined above.
HUANG further teaches
whether the one or more sensing signals are used for sensing and/or (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only) are used for communication is determined based on first information (Fig.12 and [0139], At block 1202, the transmitting device transmits a first sensing signal in a wireless communication network using at least one transmission parameter; the at least one transmission parameter includes a transmit power and/or a waveform configuration of the sensing signal; the waveform configuration includes a waveform type, period, bandwidth, and/or chirp duration of the sensing signal; the waveform type corresponds to a FMCW signal or a reference signal of the wireless communication network (e.g., 5G NR reference signal). Here, the waveform configuration is considered as a first information and communication is determined based on the first information; therefore, the sensing signal is used for the communication, determined based on the first information).
Regarding claim 14, HUANG teaches all the features with respect to claim 13 as outlined above.
HUANG further teaches
wherein the first information ([0139], waveform configuration) is comprised in configuration information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals ([0139], the waveform configuration includes a waveform type, period, bandwidth, and/or chirp duration of the sensing signal).
Regarding claim 15, HUANG teaches all the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
HUANG further teaches
wherein in a case that the one or more sensing signals are used for sensing, the configuration information comprises a first information element, and the first information element is used to carry the first information; or (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
in a case that the one or more sensing signals are used for communication (as mentioned in claim 13), the configuration information comprises a second information element, and the second information element is used to carry the first information ([0139], transmission parameter includes a transmit power and/or a waveform configuration of the sensing signal. Here, the transmission parameter is a second information element that is used to carry the waveform configuration/ first information); or
in a case that the one or more sensing signals are used for communication and sensing, the configuration information comprises a third information element, and the third information element is used to carry the first information.
Regarding claim 16, HUANG teaches all the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
HUANG further teaches
wherein in a case that the one or more sensing signals are used for sensing, the configuration information comprises a first parameter or does not comprise a second parameter, and the first parameter is used to indicate a part or all of the first information; and/or (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
in a case that the one or more sensing signals are used for communication (as mentioned in claim 13), the configuration information comprises the second parameter ([0139], the waveform configuration includes a waveform type, period, bandwidth, and/or chirp duration of the sensing signal. Here, one of waveform type, period, bandwidth or chirp duration is considered as a second parameter; example, period is a second parameter) or does not comprise the first parameter (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only), and the second parameter is used to indicate a part or all of the first information (as mentioned in claim 13, the waveform configuration is the first information; therefore, the period/ second parameter is used to indicate a part of the first information).
Regarding claim 17, HUANG teaches all the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above.
HUANG further teaches
wherein the configuration information comprises a third parameter ([0139], the waveform configuration includes a waveform type, period, bandwidth, and/or chirp duration of the sensing signal. Here, one of waveform type, period, bandwidth or chirp duration is considered as a third parameter; example, bandwidth is a third parameter), and the third parameter is used to indicate the first information (as mentioned above, the waveform configuration/ first information includes bandwidth/ third parameter of the sensing signal; therefore, the third parameter is used to indicate the first information); and
in a case that the one or more sensing signals are used for sensing, a value of the third parameter comprises a first value or a value of the third parameter does not comprise a second value; and/or (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
in a case that the one or more sensing signals are used for communication, the value of the third parameter comprises the second value ([0099], transmitting the first sensing signal includes a first waveform of the first sensing signal and transmitting the second sensing signal includes a second waveform of the second sensing signal, where the second waveform is different than the first waveform. For example, the second waveform includes at least one of a different waveform type, different period, different bandwidth, or different chirp duration than the first waveform. Here, the different bandwidth value is a second value of the third parameter) or the value of the third parameter does not comprise the first value.
Regarding claim 20, HUANG teaches a communication method (Title, FEEDBACK-BASED TRANSMISSION PARAMETER ADJUSTMENT FOR PASSIVE SENSING IN NR SYSTEM) (Fig.11 and [0123], a receiving device 1100), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by a first device (Fig.11 and [0123], a receiving device 1100), one or more sensing signals (Fig.4 and [0081], The receiving devices (e.g., vehicle 402, vehicle 406, and RSU 410) each include sensing circuitry configured to execute a respective sensing signal algorithm to process the received sensing signals 412, 416a, 416b, and 418), wherein the sensing signal is a reference signal ([0080], The sensing signal waveform of each of the sensing signals 412, 414, and 416 are a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signal waveform or other type of waveform, such as a reference signal waveform based on 5G NR. Examples of reference signals include, an SSB, CSI-RS, PT-RS, SRS, sidelink SSB, or a sidelink CSI-RS) and/or is a signal carried on a data channel (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of SEO (KR 20170104787 A, Eng. translation is attached).
Regarding claim 2, HUANG teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
HUANG further teaches
wherein the sensing signal is the reference signal ([0080], The sensing signal waveform of each of the sensing signals 412, 414, and 416 are a frequency modulated continuous wave (FMCW) signal waveform or other type of waveform, such as a reference signal waveform based on 5G NR).
HUANG does not specifically teach
result feedback information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals is periodic, semi-persistent, or aperiodic.
However, SEO teaches (Title, CHARGE PUMP CIRCUIT AND INTERNAL VOLTAGE GENERATION CIRCUIT INCLUDING THE SAME),
result feedback information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals is periodic (Pg.13: claim, An oscillator for generating a periodic signal in response to the sensing signal. Here, the response/ result feedback information of the sensing signal is periodic), semi-persistent, or aperiodic (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HUANG as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of SEO. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a charge pump circuit, in which transfer efficiency of output voltage is increased (SEO, Abstract).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of SEO and further in view of Taghizadeh et al. (Taghizadeh hereinafter referred to Taghizadeh) (US 2023/0171053 A1).
Regarding claim 3, combination of HUANG and SEO teaches all the features with respect to claim 2 as outlined above.
HUANG does not specifically teach
wherein in a case that the result feedback information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals is periodic or semi-persistent, and
in a case that the result feedback information is used to indicate communication measurement feedback information, the result feedback information is obtained based on a first sensing signal, and the first sensing signal is a sensing signal sent or received in a time unit no later than a first reference time before a first time unit; and/or
in a case that the result feedback information is used to indicate sensing result feedback information, the result feedback information is obtained based on a second sensing signal, and the second sensing signal is a sensing signal sent or received in a time unit no later than a second reference time before the first time unit; and/or
in a case that the result feedback information is used to indicate the sensing result feedback information and the communication measurement feedback information, the result feedback information is obtained based on a third sensing signal, and the third sensing signal is a sensing signal sent or received in a time unit no later than a third reference time before the first time unit, wherein the third reference time is obtained based on the first reference time and the second reference time.
However, SEO teaches
wherein in a case that the result feedback information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals is periodic (Pg.13: claim, An oscillator for generating a periodic signal in response to the sensing signal. Here, the response/ result feedback information of the sensing signal is periodic) or semi-persistent (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of HUANG and SEO as mentioned in claim 2 and further incorporate the teaching of SEO. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a charge pump circuit, in which transfer efficiency of output voltage is increased (SEO, Abstract).
The combination of HUANG and SEO does not specifically teach
in a case that the result feedback information is used to indicate communication measurement feedback information, the result feedback information is obtained based on a first sensing signal, and the first sensing signal is a sensing signal sent or received in a time unit no later than a first reference time before a first time unit; and/or
in a case that the result feedback information is used to indicate sensing result feedback information, the result feedback information is obtained based on a second sensing signal, and the second sensing signal is a sensing signal sent or received in a time unit no later than a second reference time before the first time unit; and/or
in a case that the result feedback information is used to indicate the sensing result feedback information and the communication measurement feedback information, the result feedback information is obtained based on a third sensing signal, and the third sensing signal is a sensing signal sent or received in a time unit no later than a third reference time before the first time unit, wherein the third reference time is obtained based on the first reference time and the second reference time.
However, Taghizadeh (Title, SENSING REFERENCE SIGNAL CONFIGURATION) teaches
wherein in a case the one or more sensing signals is periodic or semi-persistent ([0107], a sensing RS may be either semi-persistent, periodic, or aperiodic), and
in a case that the result feedback information is used to indicate communication measurement feedback information ([0048] and [0049], perform measurements on received sensing reference signals and feedback a measurement report. Here, the result feedback information of a received sensing reference signal is measurement feedback information), the result feedback information is obtained based on a first sensing signal ([0048] and [0049], received sensing reference signal), and the first sensing signal is a sensing signal sent or received in a time unit no later than a first reference time before a first time unit ([0048] and [0049], each sensing reference signal pattern of the set of sensing reference signal patterns defines a time location and a frequency location within at least one physical resource block. Here, the first sensing signal is sent/ received in a defined/ specific time unit. Since, the specific time unit is within at least one physical resource block; therefore, it is obvious to consider a time unit is no later than a first reference time before a first time unit); and/or (Due to alternative language, “or” in the claim, examiner addresses one limitation only)
in a case that the result feedback information is used to indicate sensing result feedback information, the result feedback information is obtained based on a second sensing signal, and the second sensing signal is a sensing signal sent or received in a time unit no later than a second reference time before the first time unit; and/or
in a case that the result feedback information is used to indicate the sensing result feedback information and the communication measurement feedback information, the result feedback information is obtained based on a third sensing signal, and the third sensing signal is a sensing signal sent or received in a time unit no later than a third reference time before the first time unit, wherein the third reference time is obtained based on the first reference time and the second reference time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of HUANG and SEO as mentioned in claim 2 and further incorporate the teaching of Taghizadeh. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide apparatuses, methods, and systems for sensing reference signal configuration, radio sensing in cellular wireless networks works as a mechanism to improve network performance and/or to enable serving vertical use configurations (Taghizadeh, Abstract and [0060]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of YUN et al. (YUN hereinafter referred to YUN) (US 20210021295 A1) and further in view of YOSHIOKA et al. (YOSHIOKA hereinafter referred to YOSHIOKA) (WO 2022/018812 A1) (Eng. translation is attached).
Regarding claim 6, HUANG teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
HUANG does not specifically teach
wherein the sensing signal is the signal carried on the data channel.
However, YUN teaches (Title, VEHICLE AND CONTROLLING METHOD OF THE VEHICLE)
wherein the sensing signal is the signal carried on the data channel ([0020], [0056] and [0058], transmitting a sensing signal through a data channel. Here, the the sensing signal is carried on the data channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HUANG as mentioned in claim 1 and further incorporate the teaching of YUN. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a vehicle and a controlling method to perform wireless communication with a user terminal using a sensing signal (YUN, Abstract and [0006], [0007]).
The combination of HUANG and YUN does not specifically teach
wherein a time unit in which hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ feedback information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals is located is not later than a time unit in which sensing result feedback information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals is located.
However, YOSHIOKA (Title, TERMINAL AND COMMUNICATION METHOD) teaches
wherein a time unit in which hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ feedback information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals is located is not later than a time unit in which sensing result feedback information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals is located (Pg.32: claim, receives a signal from the other terminal in the resource pool based on the result of the sensing; an operation related to HARQ feedback set to be executed when sensing a signal transmitted from the other terminal in a part of the sensing window. Here, receiving a signal as result of the sensing is considered as sensing result feedback information. The HARQ feedback information and the sensing result feedback information is performed in a sensing window; therefore, it is obvious to consider a time unit for the HARQ feedback is located not later than a time unit in which sensing result feedback information is located).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of HUANG and YUN as mentioned above and further incorporate the teaching of YOSHIOKA. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a terminal that autonomously selects resources to reduce power consumption of a system by executing HARQ feedback adapted to partial sensing, thereby, the efficiency of transmission / reception to which HARQ feedback is applied is improved (YOSHIOKA, Pg.18, Summary of embodiments).
Claims 18 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HUANG in view of DU et al. (DU hereinafter referred to DU) (US 2023/0018459 A1).
Regarding claim 18, HUANG teaches all the features with respect to claim 13 as outlined above.
HUANG does not specifically teach
wherein the first information is comprised in control information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals.
However, DU teaches (Title, WIRELESS LOCAL AREA NETWORK SENSING METHOD, NETWORK DEVICE, AND CHIP),
wherein the first information is comprised in control information corresponding to the one or more sensing signals ([0020], The indication information is carried in control information, and the indication information indicates a second network device to send an uplink sensing signal. Here, the indication information is considered as a first information; therefore, the first information is comprised in the control information corresponding to a sensing signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified HUANG as mentioned in claim 13 and further incorporate the teaching of DU. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for simultaneously performing uplink wireless local area network sensing by multiple users in a high frequency scenario. The method is based on a high frequency MU MIMO channel access process and improves the process and resolves a failure of high efficiency UL MU sensing in high frequency sensing (DU, Abstract and [0291]).
Regarding claim 19, combination of HUANG and DU teaches all the features with respect to claim 18 as outlined above.
HUANG does not specifically teach
wherein the first information is carried in a first indicator field of the control information.
However, DU teaches
wherein the first information is carried in a first indicator field of the control information ([0021], the control information is in a control trailer (CT). A predefined bit in the CT is used to carry the indication information and the predefined bit is a reserved bit in an existing standard; a reserved bit in an existing CT is used to indicate information sent to the second network device; [0310], the predefined bit includes a field such as a sensing indication field, a waveform or sequence set identifier field, and a direction identifier field, or includes an optional field such as a waveform or sequence identifier field, or a repetition field. Here, the predefined bit in the CT is a first indicator field of the control information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified combination of HUANG and DU as mentioned in claim 18 and further incorporate the teaching of DU. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a method for simultaneously performing uplink wireless local area network sensing by multiple users in a high frequency scenario. The method is based on a high frequency MU MIMO channel access process and improves the process and resolves a failure of high efficiency UL MU sensing in high frequency sensing (DU, Abstract and [0291]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 – 5 and 7 – 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior arts made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
REN et al. (Pub. No. US 2026/0261381 A1) – “NON-UNIFORM SENSING PATTERN CONFIGURATION” discloses apparatuses, methods, and computer program products for sensing pattern configuration. An example method includes configuring a periodic sensing reference signal (RS) configuration including a set of periodic sensing RS instances within a time window. The example method further includes configuring an aperiodic sensing RS configuration based on the periodic sensing RS configuration, where the aperiodic sensing RS configuration includes one or more aperiodic sensing RS instances within the time window. The example method further includes transmitting a first indication of the periodic sensing RS configuration and a second indication of the aperiodic sensing RS configuration for at least one wireless device.
Information Regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ROWNAK ISLAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474