DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Claims 1-3 are cancelled. Claim 4-9 are pending and under examination.
Priority
The instant application claims priority to 18/607292 filed on 3/15/2025 (CIP); 17/986828 filed on 11/14/2022; 16/983,177 filed on 8/3/2020; 16/738735 filed on 1/9/2020; 16/137,114 filed on 9/20/2018; 15/335,146 filed on 10/26/2016; 14/387,803 filed on 9/24/2014; 14/275192 filed on 5/12/2014; PCT/US2013/034467 filed on 3/28/2013; US provisional applications 61/617339 filed on 3/29/2012 and 61/617,501 filed on 3/29/2012 and PCT/US2013/034187 filed on 3/27/2013.
Claims 6 and 9 will be considered with the priority date of 03/27/2013 as this amount with teaching of NaCl (sodium chloride) is found in PCT/US2013/034187.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed on 4/28/2025 and 9/2/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objection
Claim 6 is objected to for “a NaCl” which should be just NaCl. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 6 recites the limitation "the riboflavin solution" in without a prior recitation of “riboflavin solution” from claim 4. The composition of claim 4 cannot be presumed to be a solution as other compositions having pH values could be emulsions or suspensions. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 7-9 are indefinite as “the riboflavin is riboflavin-5’-phosphate” is not clear since “riboflavin” is a distinct compound from “riboflavin-5’-phosphate”. Instead claim 4 could provide the items in optional form, “wherein the riboflavin source is riboflavin, riboflavin-5’-phosphate or a salt thereof”. Then claims 7-9 can be amended accordingly to narrow the option to “riboflavin-5’-phosphate”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iseli et al (Journal of Refractive Surgery, 2011, volume 27, pages 195-201, in applicant IDS) and Horwath-Winter et al (Br J Ophthalm, 2005, volume 89, pages 40-44, in applicant IDS).
Iseli teaches using 0.5% riboflavin with dextran and NaCl for stabilizing corneal cross-linking (abstract). This relates to treating the eye. Iseli provides for an NaCl concentration of 0.9% (abstract).
Iseli does not teach the basic pH or the sodium iodide.
Horwath-Winter teaches iodide iontophoresis for treating dry eye syndrome (abstract). Horwath-Winter teaches 0.5% sodium iodide solution as at a pH of 8.0, it is predominately negatively charged (Chemicals, page 41).
One of the ordinary skill in the art at the time of instant filing would have included sodium iodide of Horwath-Winter into a formulation of Iseli as it also has properties beneficial to treating the eye so that one would achieve a formulation having corneal crosslinking ability while also reducing the occurrence of dry eye. Horwath-Winter provides 0.5% of sodium iodide and the pH of 8.0 for the purpose of maintaining iodide ion while Iseli provides for 0.5% riboflavin. The claim is to a composition, and thus, the intended use of corneal crosslinking is not a limitation to the structure of the composition itself. The references provide for delivery to eye and excipients for that purpose. In regard to stable, this is a broad limitation to various types of stability since the specification does not define it particularly. Since the prior art teaches formulations for use in treatment, they are expected to have some degree of stability. In regard to iodide breaking hydrogen peroxide, since Horwath-Winter provides for iodide ion (negative ion) formation, it will have this capability when used. Thus, there is a reasonable expectation of success in providing the claimed composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 7-9 in addition to Claims 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iseli et al (Journal of Refractive Surgery, 2011, volume 27, pages 195-201), Horwath-Winter et al (Br J Ophthalm, 2005, volume 89, pages 40-44) and Bottos et al (Arq Bras Oftalmol, 2011, volume 74, pages 348-351).
Iseli and Horwarth-Winter teach the claims as discussed above.
Iseli and Horwarth-Winter do not teach riboflavin-5-phosphate.
Bottos teaches riboflavin treatment for collagen crosslinking in the cornea (abstract). Bottos teaches using riboflavin-5-phosphate for the procedure (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included riboflavin-5-phosphate as the riboflavin as this was known in the prior art (Bottos) to be used for this purpose. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in including riboflavin-5-phosphate into a composition motivated by Iseli and Horwarth-Winter to achieve an ophthalmic composition for that can be used for corneal crosslinking.
Obviousness-Type Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim 4-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of US Patent 9555111. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘111 are to a system where part of the system involves a like composition, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the claims of ‘111 disclose a solution with overlapping amounts of sodium iodide and riboflavin. The claims of '111 are not closed to other components by use of "comprising" as the transition phrase. It is noted that the disclosure of ‘111 discloses thiosulfate, vitamin C and sodium bisulfate as reducing agents (paragraph 31), other concentrations (paragraph 30) and other additives (paragraph 31). Even though the claims of ’111 provide for a crosslinking system, they disclose the compositions of the instant claims.
Therefore, the claims of the instant application and patent ‘111 overlap in scope.
Claim 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of US Patent 9555111 in view of Iseli (cited above) and Bottos (cited above). Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘111 are to a system where part of the system involves a like composition, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the claims of ‘111 disclose a solution with overlapping amounts of sodium iodide and riboflavin. The claims of '111 are not closed to other components by use of "comprising" as the transition phrase. It is noted that the disclosure of ‘111 discloses thiosulfate, vitamin C and sodium bisulfate as reducing agents (paragraph 31), other concentrations (paragraph 30) and other additives (paragraph 31). Even though the claims of ’111 provide for a crosslinking system, they disclose the compositions of the instant claims.
Note that iodide or sodium iodide would constitute a salt.
‘111 claims do not teach NaCl in the concentration listed. ‘111 claims do not teach riboflavin-5-phosphate.
Iseli teaches using 0.5% riboflavin with dextran and NaCl for stabilizing corneal cross-linking (abstract). This relates to treating the eye. Iseli provides for an NaCl concentration of 0.9% (abstract).
Bottos teaches riboflavin treatment for collagen crosslinking in the cornea (abstract). Bottos teaches using riboflavin-5-phosphate for the procedure (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included riboflavin-5-phosphate as the riboflavin as this was known in the prior art (Bottos) to be used for this purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would also use compositions with amounts of NaCl of the claims based on teachings of Iseli for these types of compositions. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in including riboflavin-5-phosphate into a composition motivated by Iseli and ‘111 claims to achieve an ophthalmic composition for that can be used for corneal crosslinking.
Claims 4-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US Patent 9566301. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘301 are to a system where part of the system involves a like composition, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the claims of ‘301 disclose a solution with overlapping amounts of sodium iodide and riboflavin. The claims of '301 are not closed to other components by use of "comprising" as the transition phrase. It is noted that the disclosure of ‘301 discloses thiosulfate, vitamin C and sodium bisulfate as reducing agents, concentrations, and other additives. Note that although the instant application was filed as a divisional, the applicant has again elected the composition of matter rather than the methods of using the composition. The claims of ‘301 are to a composition of matter. Claim 7 of ‘301 provides for promoting photochemical crosslinking and reducing oxidative stress. Therefore, a rejection under obviousness-type double patenting is appropriate in this situation.
Therefore, the claims of the instant application and ‘301 overlap in scope.
Claims 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US Patent 9566301 in view of Iseli and Bottos. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘301 are to a system where part of the system involves a like composition, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the claims of ‘301 disclose a solution with overlapping amounts of sodium iodide and riboflavin. The claims of '301 are not closed to other components by use of "comprising" as the transition phrase. It is noted that the disclosure of ‘301 discloses thiosulfate, vitamin C and sodium bisulfate as reducing agents, concentrations, and other additives. Note that although the instant application was filed as a divisional, the applicant has again elected the composition of matter rather than the methods of using the composition. The claims of ‘301 are to a composition of matter. Claim 7 of ‘301 provides for promoting photochemical crosslinking and reducing oxidative stress. Therefore, a rejection under obviousness-type double patenting is appropriate in this situation.
‘301 claims do not teach NaCl in the concentration listed. ‘301 claims do not teach riboflavin-5-phosphate.
Iseli teaches using 0.5% riboflavin with dextran and NaCl for stabilizing corneal cross-linking (abstract). This relates to treating the eye. Iseli provides for an NaCl concentration of 0.9% (abstract).
Bottos teaches riboflavin treatment for collagen crosslinking in the cornea (abstract). Bottos teaches using riboflavin-5-phosphate for the procedure (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included riboflavin-5-phosphate as the riboflavin as this was known in the prior art (Bottos) to be used for this purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would also use compositions with amounts of NaCl of the claims based on teachings of Iseli for these types of compositions. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in including riboflavin-5-phosphate into a composition motivated by Iseli and ‘301 claims to achieve an ophthalmic composition for that can be used for corneal crosslinking.
Claims 4-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 10,729,716. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘716 are to a system where part of the system involves a like composition, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the claims of ‘716 disclose a composition with iodide, riboflavin and an ocular excipient and a basic pH. The claims of '716 are not closed to other components by use of "comprising" as the transition phrase. Note that although the instant application was filed as a divisional, the applicant has again elected the composition of matter rather than the methods of using the composition. The claims of ‘716 are to a composition of matter. Therefore, a rejection under obviousness-type double patenting is appropriate in this situation.
Therefore, the claims of the instant application and ‘716 overlap in scope.
Claims 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of US Patent 10,729,716 in view of Iseli and Bottos. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘716 are to a system where part of the system involves a like composition, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the claims of ‘716 disclose a composition with iodide, riboflavin and an ocular excipient and a basic pH. The claims of '716 are not closed to other components by use of "comprising" as the transition phrase. Note that although the instant application was filed as a divisional, the applicant has again elected the composition of matter rather than the methods of using the composition. The claims of ‘716 are to a composition of matter. Therefore, a rejection under obviousness-type double patenting is appropriate in this situation.
‘716 claims do not teach NaCl in the concentration listed. ‘716 claims do not teach riboflavin-5-phosphate.
Iseli teaches using 0.5% riboflavin with dextran and NaCl for stabilizing corneal cross-linking (abstract). This relates to treating the eye. Iseli provides for an NaCl concentration of 0.9% (abstract).
Bottos teaches riboflavin treatment for collagen crosslinking in the cornea (abstract). Bottos teaches using riboflavin-5-phosphate for the procedure (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included riboflavin-5-phosphate as the riboflavin as this was known in the prior art (Bottos) to be used for this purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would also use compositions with amounts of NaCl of the claims based on teachings of Iseli for these types of compositions. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in including riboflavin-5-phosphate into a composition motivated by Iseli and ‘716 claims to achieve an ophthalmic composition for that can be used for corneal crosslinking.
Claims 4-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of US Patent 10,092,594. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘594 are to a system where part of the system involves a like composition, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the claims of ‘594 disclose a solution with overlapping amounts of sodium iodide and riboflavin. The claims of '594 are not closed to other components by use of "comprising" as the transition phrase. It is noted that the disclosure of ‘594 discloses thiosulfate, vitamin C and sodium bisulfate as reducing agents, concentrations, and other additives. Note that although the instant application was filed as a divisional, the applicant has again elected the composition of matter rather than the methods of using the composition. The claims of ‘594 are to a composition of matter. Therefore, a rejection under obviousness-type double patenting is appropriate in this situation.
Therefore, the claims of the instant application and ‘594 overlap in scope.
Claims 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of US Patent 10,092,594 in view of Iseli and Bottos. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘594 are to a system where part of the system involves a like composition, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the instant claims and the claims of ‘594 disclose a solution with overlapping amounts of sodium iodide and riboflavin. The claims of '594 are not closed to other components by use of "comprising" as the transition phrase. It is noted that the disclosure of ‘594 discloses thiosulfate, vitamin C and sodium bisulfate as reducing agents, concentrations, and other additives. Note that although the instant application was filed as a divisional, the applicant has again elected the composition of matter rather than the methods of using the composition. The claims of ‘594 are to a composition of matter. Therefore, a rejection under obviousness-type double patenting is appropriate in this situation.
‘594 claims do not teach NaCl in the concentration listed. ‘594 claims do not teach riboflavin-5-phosphate.
Iseli teaches using 0.5% riboflavin with dextran and NaCl for stabilizing corneal cross-linking (abstract). This relates to treating the eye. Iseli provides for an NaCl concentration of 0.9% (abstract).
Bottos teaches riboflavin treatment for collagen crosslinking in the cornea (abstract). Bottos teaches using riboflavin-5-phosphate for the procedure (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included riboflavin-5-phosphate as the riboflavin as this was known in the prior art (Bottos) to be used for this purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would also use compositions with amounts of NaCl of the claims based on teachings of Iseli for these types of compositions. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in including riboflavin-5-phosphate into a composition motivated by Iseli and ‘594 claims to achieve an ophthalmic composition for that can be used for corneal crosslinking.
Claims 4-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US Patent 11497766. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘766, they provide the composition with the riboflavin, the sodium iodide, concentrations ranges, basic pH and other limitations of the claim that obviate the claimed composition.
Claims 6-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of US Patent 11497766 in view of Iseli and Bottos. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the instant claims are to a composition and the claims of ‘766, they provide the composition with the riboflavin, the sodium iodide, concentrations ranges, basic pH and other limitations of the claim that obviate the claimed composition.
‘766 claims do not teach NaCl in the concentration listed. ‘766 claims do not teach riboflavin-5-phosphate.
Iseli teaches using 0.5% riboflavin with dextran and NaCl for stabilizing corneal cross-linking (abstract). This relates to treating the eye. Iseli provides for an NaCl concentration of 0.9% (abstract).
Bottos teaches riboflavin treatment for collagen crosslinking in the cornea (abstract). Bottos teaches using riboflavin-5-phosphate for the procedure (abstract).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing would have included riboflavin-5-phosphate as the riboflavin as this was known in the prior art (Bottos) to be used for this purpose. One of ordinary skill in the art would also use compositions with amounts of NaCl of the claims based on teachings of Iseli for these types of compositions. Therefore, there was a reasonable expectation of success in including riboflavin-5-phosphate into a composition motivated by Iseli and ‘766 claims to achieve an ophthalmic composition for that can be used for corneal crosslinking.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MARK V STEVENS/
Examiner, Art Unit 1613