DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-9 is pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement(s)
Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 2/25/2210 and is/are accepted by the examiner. Signed and dated copies of the IDS(s) are attached to the instant Office Action and have been made of record.
Claim Rejections: 35 USC § 112(a)
Written Description
I. Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as containing subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-9 of the instant application as interpreted are directed to use of any enzyme class EC 2.3.1 having acetyl transferase activity of: genus of polypeptides including mutants and variants of undefined/unlimited structures or acetyl transferase having at least 40% sequence identity to any o9f SEQ ID NO: 9, 17, 118, 124, 144, 23, 21, 11, 19, 13, 15, 25, 121,143, 127, 130, 133, and 136; or said comprises an amino acid sequence having SEQ ID NO: 9, 17, 118, 124, 144, 23, 21, 11, 19, 13, 15, 25, 121,143, 127, 130, 133, and 136 having a few residues selected from SEQ ID NO: 9 having unlimited structures including mutants and variants of undefined/unlimited structures.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, at the time the invention was made, of the specific subject matter claimed. For a broad generic claim, the specification must provide adequate written description to identify the genus of the claim.
“A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." Fiers, 984 F.2d at 1171, 25 USPQ2d 1601; In re Smythe, 480 F.2d 1376, 1383, 178 USPQ 279, 284985 (CCPA 1973) (“In other cases, particularly but not necessarily, chemical cases, where there is unpredictability in performance of certain species or subcombinations other than those specifically enumerated, one skilled in the art may be found not to have been placed in possession of a genus.”). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119, F.3d 1559, 1568, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1405 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
MPEP § 2163 further states that if a biomolecule is described only by a functional characteristic, without any disclosed correlation between function and structure of the biomolecule, it is "not sufficient characteristic for written description purposes, even when accompanied by a method of obtaining the claimed biomolecule.”
“The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice …, reduction to drawings …, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus.” MPEP 2163.
Furthermore, a “‘representative number of species’ means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure ‘indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].’ See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) (‘[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.’). ‘A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when … the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.’ In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).” MPEP 2163.
In University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 43 USPQ2d 1938, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has held that “A written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, ‘requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, [or] chemical name,’ of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials”. As indicated in MPEP § 2163, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. In addition, MPEP § 2163 states that a representative number of species means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The factors considered in the Written Description requirement are (1) level of skill and knowledge in the art, (2) partial structure, (3) physical and/or chemical properties, (4) functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the (5) method of making the claimed invention. Disclosure of any combination of such identifying characteristics that distinguish the claimed invention from other materials and would lead one of skill in the art to the conclusion that the applicant was in possession of the claimed species is sufficient." MPEP § 2163.
In the instant case, there is no structure associated with function with regard to the members of genus of the EC class polypeptide comprising a genus of polypeptides with the associated function including mutants and variants of undefined/unlimited structures having the specific activity producing drimanyl acetate: class EC 2.3.1 having acetyl transferase activity of: genus of polypeptides including mutants and variants of undefined/unlimited structures or acetyl transferase having at least 40% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 9, 17, 118, 124, 144, 23, 21, 11, 19, 13, 15, 25, 121,143, 127, 130, 133, and 136; or said comprises an amino acid sequence having SEQ ID NO: 9 having a few residues selected from SEQ ID NO: 9, 17, 118, 124, 144, 23, 21, 11, 19, 13, 15, 25, 121,143, 127, 130, 133, and 136.
No information, beyond the characterization of a few species: SEQ ID NO: 9, 17, 118, 124, 144, 23, 21, 11, 19, 13, 15, 25, 121,143, 127, 130, 133, and 136 (with acetyltransferase activity); has been provided by the applicants’, which would indicate that they had possession of the claimed genus of recombinant hosts comprising a genus of polypeptides with the associated function and encoding polynucleotides
The genus of polypeptides and the encoding polynucleotides required in the claimed invention is an extremely large structurally and functionally variable genus. While the argument can be made that the recited genus of polypeptides is adequately described by the disclosure of the structures of SEQ ID NO: 9, 17, 118, 124, 144, 23, 21, 11, 19, 13, 15, 25, 121,143, 127, 130, 133, and 136, with specific structures having the associated function/activity, since one could use structural homology to isolate those polypeptides and the encoding polynucleotides recited in the claims. The art clearly teaches the “Practical Limits of Function Prediction”: (a) Devos et al., (Proteins: Structure, Function and Genetics, 2000, Vol. 41: 98-107), teach that the results obtained by analyzing a significant number of true sequence similarities, derived directly from structural alignments, point to the complexity of function prediction. Different aspects of protein function, including (i) enzymatic function classification, (ii) functional annotations in the form of key words, (iii) classes of cellular function, and (iv) conservation of binding sites can only be reliably transferred between similar sequences to a modest degree. The reason for this difficulty is a combination of the unavoidable database inaccuracies and plasticity of proteins (Abstract, page 98) and the analysis poses interesting questions about the reliability of current function prediction exercises and the intrinsic limitation of protein function prediction (Column 1, paragraph 3, page 99) and conclude that “Despite widespread use of database searching techniques followed by function inference as standard procedures in Bioinformatics, the results presented here illustrate that transfer of function between similar sequences involves more difficulties than commonly believed. Our data show that even true pair-wise sequence relations, identified by their structural similarity, correspond in many cases to different functions (column 2, paragraph 2, page 105). Our data show that even true pair-wise sequence relations, identified by their structural similarity, correspond in many cases to different functions (column 2, paragraph 2, page 105). Applicants’ are respectfully directed to the problems associated EC Classification in the section “Transferring the EC Classification enzyme to Non-Enzyme Comparisons”; pages 101-102 and Fig. 2a)-b), highlighting the structural and functional heterogeneity based on EC Classification numbers; as the stereo-specificity, substrate-specificity and catalytic properties vary widely.
(b) Whisstock et al., (Quarterly Reviews of Biophysics 2003, Vol. 36 (3): 307-340) also highlight the difficulties associated with “Prediction of protein function from protein sequence and structure”; “To reason from sequence and structure to function is to step onto much shakier ground”, closely related proteins can change function, either through divergence to a related function or by recruitment for a very different function, in such cases, assignment of function on the basis of homology, in the absence of direct experimental evidence, will give the wrong answer (page 309, paragraph 4), it is difficult to state criteria for successful prediction of function, since function is in principle a fuzzy concept. Given three sequences, it is possible to decide which of the three possible pairs is most closely related. Given three structures, methods are also available to measure and compare similarity of the pairs. However, in many cases, given three protein functions, it would be more difficult to choose the pair with most similar function, although it is possible to define metrics for quantitative comparisons of different protein sequences and structures, this is more difficult for proteins of different functions (page 312, paragraph 5), in families of closely related proteins, mutations usually conserve function but modulate specificity i.e., mutations tend to leave the backbone conformation of the pocket unchanged but to affect the shape and charge of its lining, altering specificity (page 313, paragraph 4), although the hope is that highly similar proteins will share similar functions, substitutions of a single, critically placed amino acid in an active-site residue may be sufficient to alter a protein’s role fundamentally (page 323, paragraph 1).
(c) This finding is reinforced in the following scientific teachings for specific proteins in the art that suggest, even highly structurally homologous polynucleotides and encoded polypeptides do not necessarily share the same function. For example, Witkowski et al., (Biochemistry 38:11643-11650, 1999), teaches that one conservative amino acid substitution transforms a -ketoacyl synthase into a malonyl decarboxylase and completely eliminates -ketoacyl synthase activity.
As stated above, no information beyond the characterization of a few species: acetyl transferase comprising specific structures SEQ ID NO: 9, 17, 118, 124, 144, 23, 21, 11, 19, 13, 15, 25, 121,143, 127, 130, 133, and 136 has been provided by the applicants’, which would indicate that they had possession of the claimed genus of polypeptides and the encoding polynucleotides. As the claimed genera of polypeptides having widely variable structures and associated function, since minor changes in structure may result in changes affecting function and no additional information (species/variant/mutant) correlating structure with function has been provided. Furthermore, “Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features” (See University of Rochester, 358 F.3d at 927, 69 USPQ2d at 1895).
Therefore, one skilled in the art cannot reasonably conclude that applicant had possession of the claimed invention at the time the instant application was filed. Applicants are referred to the revised guidelines concerning compliance with the written description requirement of U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, published in the Official Gazette and also available at www.uspto.gov.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akita et al. (TETRAHEDRON ASYMMETRY, vol. 11, no. 6, 7 April 2000 (2000-04-07), pages 1375-1388 in the IDS in view of KWON MOONHYUK ET AL; FEBS LETTERS, ELSEVIER, AMSTERDAM, NL, vol. 588, no. 24, 4 November 2014 (2014-11-04), pages 4597-4603; IDS)
Akita et al. discloses to use a lipase to acetylate albicanol and drimenol in the presence of isopropenyl acetate to yield the corresponding albicanyl acetate and drimenyl acetate, see pages 1377 to 1378, tables 1 and 2.. The "lipase" of Akita et al is a kind of acetyl transferase in the sense of the present application.
However Akita et al. did not disclose use of drimenol synthases to produce the drimanyl alcohols or drimanyl acetate used in the present application but did not use a host cell having express the enzyme.
The subject matter of claims 1, 4-9 are obvious because the enzymatic steps to use drimenol synthases to produce the drimanyl alcohols used in the present application from non-cyclic sesquiterpene precursors were already known in the art, see e.g. KWON MOONHYUK ET al, fig.4. also abstract
The synthases used in the examples of the present application were known in the art too, see pages 61 and 65, 66. Moon used yeast host cell expressing drimenol synthases for the synthesis of Thus, the subject matter of any of the dependent claims is a mere obvious variation for a skilled person until an independent claim 1.
Therefore It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention is filled to modify the method of Akita et al. to include the method of KWON MOONHYUK ET AL to make drimanyl alcohol from non-cyclic sesquiterpene precursors using the enzymatic steps to use drimenol synthases or said method is performed in vivo in cell culture or in vitro in a liquid reaction medium, under conditions conducive to the production of at least one drimanyl acetate expressing said drimenol synthases .
Conclusion
Claim 1-9 are rejected and no claim is allowed.
examiner should be directed to Mohammad Meah whose telephone number is 571-272-
1261. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:30-5PM.
supervisor, Robert Mondesi can be reached on 4089187584. The fax phone number
for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for
published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR.
Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should
you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system.
/MOHAMMAD Y MEAH/Examiner, Art Unit 1652