DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities: Line 4, “data comprises least temperature data”; typographical error. Appropriate correction is required. For the purpose of continued examination, claim 18 is interpreted to mean “data comprises at least temperature data.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11, 13, 15, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon Sang et al (International Publication KR20230040050 A).
Regarding claims 1 & 17, Jeon Sang teaches a wearable ring device and a method for operating a wearable ring device, comprising:
an inner ring-shaped housing (100I, Fig. 2) comprising one or more apertures ([0029], Fig. 2; first electrodes 110 necessitate openings in housing 100I), wherein the inner ring-shaped housing comprises an inner curved surface of the wearable ring device ([0031]; inner surface (100I);
one or more sensors ([0029], Fig. 2; first electrode 110) configured to acquire physiological data from a user through the one or more apertures of the inner ring-shaped housing ([0030]; generates electrical signal data based on wearer’s biosignal);
an outer ring-shaped housing (100E, Fig. 2), that at least partially surrounds the inner ring-shaped housing, wherein the outer ring-shaped housing comprises defines an outer curved surface of the wearable ring device, wherein the outer ring-shaped housing comprises at least one thermally isolated portion that extends at least partially around the wearable ring device (100E, Fig. 2) ([0035]; insulating part 130; isolates inner and outer surfaces), wherein the at least one thermally isolated portion is thermally isolated from a remaining portion of the outer ring-shaped housing ([0033]; insulating unit placed on outer surface 100E in aperture for second electrode 120; isolates second electrode 120 from remaining outer surface) and
one or more thermo-electric-generator (TEG) components (200 Fig. 2-3) disposed at least partially between the inner ring-shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing ([0036]; thermoelectric generator 200 placed inside body), wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate an electric current to power the one or more sensors, recharge a battery (400, Fig. 2) of the wearable ring device ([0051]; thermoelectric generator 200 generates electromotive force based on temperature difference and charges battery 400), or both, based at least in part on a temperature difference between the inner ring-shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing ([0050]; temperature difference between second electrode 120 and first electrode 110 drives thermoelectric generator).
Regarding claim 2, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the one or more sensors (110, Fig. 2), one or more processors of the wearable ring device, or both, are positioned against the inner ring-shaped housing (Fig. 2; electrode 110 positioned against inner surface 100I) such that heat generated by the one or more sensors, one or more processors, or both, heats up the inner ring-shaped housing to increase the temperature difference between the inner ring-shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing ([0050]; temperature difference between second electrode 120 and first electrode 110 drives thermoelectric generator).
Regarding claim 3, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the one or more sensors are positioned within a first radial span of the wearable ring device that is radially opposite of the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing (Fig. 2; electrodes 110 radially opposite to electrode 120).
Claim 4, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the one or more sensors and the at least one thermally isolated portion are positioned radially around the wearable ring device such that, when the one or more sensors are positioned on a palm- side of a finger of a user, the at least one thermally isolated portion is positioned on a dorsal-side of the finger, and the remaining portion of the outer ring-shaped housing is adjacent to one or more additional fingers that are adjacent to the finger of the user (Fig. 2; electrodes 110 positioned on palm-side of finger, positions electrode 120 on dorsal-side of finger; 100E adjacent to fingers).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the inner ring- shaped housing is configured to be heated based at least in part on the inner ring-shaped housing contacting a tissue of the user ([0050], Fig. 2; wearer’s heat transmitted to electrode 210 through electrode 110), and wherein the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing is configured to be cooled based at least in part on the at least one thermally isolated portion being exposed to a surrounding environment of the user ([0050]; electrode 220 cooled close to room temperature through electrode 120).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing is configured to be heated based at least in part on the at least one thermally isolated portion being exposed to a surrounding environment of the user ([0050]; electrode 220 cooled close to room temperature through electrode 120; Seebeck effect generates energy through temperature differences [0037] and necessitates heating when outer surface is exposed to high environmental temperatures), and wherein the inner ring-shaped housing is configured to be cooled relative to the surrounding environment based at least in part on the inner ring-shaped housing contacting a tissue of the user ([0050], Fig. 2; wearer’s heat transmitted to electrode 210 through electrode 110; Seebeck effect generates energy through temperature differences [0037] and necessitates cooling by user’s tissue when outer surface temperature is higher than inner surface temperature).
Regarding claim 11, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the inner ring- shaped housing is thermally isolated from the at least one thermally isolated portion and the remaining portion of the outer ring-shaped housing ([0035]; insulating part 130; isolates inner and outer surfaces).
Regarding claim 13, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the inner ring- shaped housing, the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing, or both, comprise a textured surface (240, Fig. 3; necessarily has texture) that is configured to increase the temperature difference between the inner ring-shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing by increasing a surface area of the inner ring-shaped housing, the at least one thermally isolated portion ([0058]; heat dissipation structure 240 cools electrode 220 by increasing conductive surface area thereby increasing temperature difference), or both.
Regarding claim 15, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, and further teaches wherein the inner ring- shaped housing and the outer ring-shaped housing comprise a same material or different materials ([0032]; body 100 may include elastic material; necessitates inner and outer housings to include elastic material).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 7, 12, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon Sang et al (International Publication KR20230040050 A).
Regarding claims 5 & 20, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1 and the method of claim 17, but does not disclose further comprising:
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors and the one or more TEG components, the one or more sensors comprising one or more temperature sensors, the one or more processors configured to:
receive temperature data acquired by the one or more temperature sensors;
determine the temperature difference between the inner ring- shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring- shaped housing based at least in part on the temperature data; and
activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the temperature difference satisfying a threshold temperature difference, wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate the electric current based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components,
as claimed.
However, Jeon Sang teaches an embodiment with a control system, and further teaches,
one or more processors (control unit 300, Fig. 8) communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors ([0062]; control unit 300 receives temperature signals from electrodes 110 and 120) and the one or more TEG components ([0064]; control unit 300 controls operation of thermoelectric generators 200), the one or more sensors comprising one or more temperature sensors, the one or more processors configured to:
receive temperature data acquired by the one or more temperature sensors ([0062]; control unit 300 receives temperature signals from electrodes 110 and 120);
determine the temperature difference between the inner ring- shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring- shaped housing based at least in part on the temperature data; and
activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the temperature difference satisfying a threshold temperature difference ([0064]; temperature difference between electrodes 110 and 120 more than 5 C, control unit 200 activates thermoelectric generators 200), wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate the electric current based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components ([0064]; operation of thermoelectric generators 200 necessitates generating electric current).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the system, as taught by Jeon Sang, with one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors and the one or more TEG components, the one or more sensors comprising one or more temperature sensors, the one or more processors configured to receive temperature data acquired by the one or more temperature sensors, determine the temperature difference between the inner ring- shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring- shaped housing based at least in part on the temperature data, and activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the temperature difference satisfying a threshold temperature difference, wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate the electric current based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve the operating performance of the thermoelectric generators by disabling said generators when the electromotive force generated by each is small (Jeon Sang, [0065]).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising:
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more TEG components, the one or more processors configured to:
monitor a voltage, a current level, or both, associated with the one or more TEG components; and
activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the voltage, the current level, or both, satisfying one or more thresholds, wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate the electric current based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components,
as claimed.
However, Jeon Sang teaches an embodiment with a control system, and further teaches,
one or more processors (300, Fig. 8) communicatively coupled with the one or more TEG components ([0064]; control unit 300 controls operation of thermoelectric generators 200), the one or more processors configured to:
monitor a voltage, a current level, or both, associated with the one or more TEG components ([0072]; control unit 300 stops thermoelectric generators 200 when battery is fully charged; necessitates monitoring voltage of battery); and
activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the voltage, the current level, or both, satisfying one or more thresholds, ([0072]; control unit 300 stops thermoelectric generators 200 when battery is fully charged; necessitates activation of generators 200 when battery voltage is not fully charged) wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate the electric current based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components ([0064]; operation of thermoelectric generators 200 necessitates generating electric current).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Jeon Sang, with one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more TEG components, the one or more processors configured to monitor a voltage, a current level, or both, associated with the one or more TEG components, and activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the voltage, the current level, or both, satisfying one or more thresholds, wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate the electric current based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve the operating performance of the thermoelectric generators by disabling said generators when the battery is full (Jeon Sang, [0065], [0072]).
Regarding claim 12, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising:
one or more grooves within the outer ring-shaped housing, wherein the one or more grooves are filled with a thermally-insulating material that is configured to thermally isolate the at least one thermally isolated portion from the remaining portion of the outer ring-shaped housing.
However, the Federal Courts have found that aesthetic design changes which have no mechanical function do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. In re Seid, 161 F.2d 229, 73 USPQ 431 (CCPA 1947) (Claim was directed to an advertising display device comprising a bottle and a hollow member in the shape of a human figure from the waist up which was adapted to fit over and cover the neck of the bottle, wherein the hollow member and the bottle together give the impression of a human body. Appellant argued that certain limitations in the upper part of the body, including the arrangement of the arms, were not taught by the prior art. The court found that matters relating to ornamentation only which have no mechanical function cannot be relied upon to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon Sang teaches the method of claim 17, but does not disclose further comprising:
activating the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the physiological data collected via the one or more sensors of the wearable ring device, wherein the physiological data comprises least temperature data, motion data, or both, and wherein generating the electric current is based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components.
However, Jeon Sang teaches an embodiment with a control system, and further teaches,
activating the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the physiological data collected via the one or more sensors of the wearable ring device, wherein the physiological data comprises least temperature data ([0064]; temperature difference between electrodes 110 and 120 more than 5 C, control unit 200 activates thermoelectric generators 200), motion data, or both, and wherein generating the electric current is based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components ([0064]; operation of thermoelectric generators 200 necessitates generating electric current).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method, as taught by Jeon Sang, with activating the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the physiological data collected via the one or more sensors of the wearable ring device, wherein the physiological data comprises least temperature data, motion data, or both, and wherein generating the electric current is based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve the operating performance of the thermoelectric generators by disabling said generators when the electromotive force generated by each is small (Jeon Sang, [0065]).
Regarding claim 19, Jeon Sang teaches the method of claim 17, but does not disclose further comprising:
determining that the temperature difference between the inner ring- shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing satisfies a threshold; and
converting a voltage outputted by the one or more TEG components to a usable voltage associated with the electric current based at least in part on the temperature difference satisfying the threshold,
as claimed.
However, Jeon Sang teaches an embodiment with a control system, and further teaches,
determining that the temperature difference between the inner ring- shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing satisfies a threshold ([0064]; temperature difference between electrodes 110 and 120 more than 5 C, control unit 200 activates thermoelectric generators 200; requires a determination of temperature difference); and
converting a voltage outputted by the one or more TEG components to a usable voltage associated with the electric current ([0077]; converting device 410 converts emf generated by thermoelectric generator 200 into the charging voltage of the battery) based at least in part on the temperature difference satisfying the threshold.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the method, as taught by Jeon Sang, with determining that the temperature difference between the inner ring- shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing satisfies a threshold, and converting a voltage outputted by the one or more TEG components to a usable voltage associated with the electric current based at least in part on the temperature difference satisfying the threshold . One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve the operating performance of the thermoelectric generators by disabling said generators when the electromotive force generated by each is small (Jeon Sang, [0065]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon Sang et al (International Publication KR20230040050 A), and in view of Kurani et al (US Pre Grant Publication 2023/0404472 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, and further teaches an embodiment with a control system comprising:
one or more processors (control unit 300, Fig. 8) communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors ([0062]; control unit 300 receives temperature signals from electrodes 110 and 120) and the one or more TEG components ([0064]; control unit 300 controls operation of thermoelectric generators 200),
activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the temperature difference satisfying a threshold temperature difference ([0064]; temperature difference between electrodes 110 and 120 more than 5 C, control unit 200 activates thermoelectric generators 200), wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate the electric current based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components ([0064]; operation of thermoelectric generators 200 necessitates generating electric current),
but does not disclose,
the one or more sensors comprising one or more motion sensors, the one or more processors configured to:
receive motion data acquired by the one or more motion sensors;
and
activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the motion data satisfying a threshold motion level, wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate the electric current based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components,
as claimed.
However, Kurani teaches a system and a method for a wearable device that monitors a user’s health. Kurani is analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of sensing a user’s motion data.
Kurani further teaches,
the one or more sensors comprising one or more motion sensors, the one or more processors configured to:
receive motion data acquired by the one or more motion sensors ([0083]; accelerometer, [0171]; sensor detects and responds to motion);
and
activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the motion data satisfying a threshold motion level ([0171]; suggests conversion of motion input to electrical energy output using thermoelectric effect; necessitates activation of a thermoelectric generator based on motion input)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system, as taught by Jeon Sang, with the one or more sensors comprising one or more motion sensors, the one or more processors configured to receive motion data acquired by the one or more motion sensors, and activate the one or more TEG components based at least in part on the motion data satisfying a threshold motion level, wherein the one or more TEG components are configured to generate the electric current based at least in part on activating the one or more TEG components, as taught by Kurani. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve the operating performance of the thermoelectric generators by disabling said generators when the electromotive force generated by each is small (Jeon Sang, [0065]) and in response to motion (Kurani, [0083]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon Sang et al (International Publication KR20230040050 A), and in view of Shelton, IV et al (US Pre Grant Publication 2022/0233119 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising:
one or more processors communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors and the one or more TEG components, the one or more sensors comprising one or more temperature sensors, the one or more processors configured to:
monitor a voltage, a current level, or both, associated with the one or more TEG components;
estimate an additional temperature difference between a skin temperature of the user and a surrounding environment of the user based at least in part on the voltage, the current level, or both; and
calibrate one or more skin temperature measurements received from the one or more temperature sensors based at least in part on the additional temperature difference,
as claimed.
Jeon Sang further teaches an embodiment with a control system,
one or more processors (control unit 300, Fig. 8) communicatively coupled with the one or more sensors ([0062]; control unit 300 receives temperature signals from electrodes 110 and 120) and the one or more TEG components ([0064]; control unit 300 controls operation of thermoelectric generators 200), the one or more sensors comprising one or more temperature sensors, the one or more processors configured to:
monitor a voltage, a current level, or both, associated with the one or more TEG components ([0072]; control unit 300 stops thermoelectric generators 200 when battery is fully charged; necessitates monitoring voltage of battery),
but does not disclose,
estimate an additional temperature difference between a skin temperature of the user and a surrounding environment of the user based at least in part on the voltage, the current level, or both; and
calibrate one or more skin temperature measurements received from the one or more temperature sensors based at least in part on the additional temperature difference.
However, Shelton teaches a system and a method for adjusting surgical parameters based on sensed biomarkers. Shelton is analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of estimating temperature differences related to the thermoelectric effect and using those estimates to determine accurate skin temperatures.
Shelton further teaches,
estimate an additional temperature difference between a skin temperature of the user and a surrounding environment of the user based at least in part on the voltage ([0226]; output voltage increases as a function of temperature and estimates a temperature difference), the current level, or both; and
calibrate one or more skin temperature measurements received from the one or more temperature sensors based at least in part on the additional temperature difference ([0227]; determination of peripheral temperature-related biomarkers such as extremity skin temperature, based on output voltage, necessitates calibration of data for accurate sensing).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeon Sang with one or more processors configured to estimate an additional temperature difference between a skin temperature of the user and a surrounding environment of the user based at least in part on the voltage, the current level, or both, and calibrate one or more skin temperature measurements received from the one or more temperature sensors based at least in part on the additional temperature difference, as taught by Shelton. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to detect patient conditions by estimating temperature related biomarkers from output voltage measurements (Shelton, [0226-227]).
Claim(s) 14, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon Sang et al (International Publication KR20230040050 A), and in view of Jeon et al (US Pre Grant Publication 2019/0203983 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing comprises one or more features configured to maintain a liquid during an evaporation process of the liquid, wherein the evaporation process of the liquid is configured to reduce a temperature of the at least one thermally isolated portion to increase the temperature difference between the inner ring-shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing.
However, Jeon teaches a system and a method for cooling thermoelectric modules. Jeon is analogous to the claimed invention because it is reasonably pertinent to the problem of improving thermoelectric devices by using cooling methods.
Jeon further teaches,
one or more features (310, Fig. 1) configured to maintain a liquid during an evaporation process of the liquid ([0064], Fig. 3; evaporation unit 310 includes wick structure 311 for evaporation; working fluid in condensation unit 320), wherein the evaporation process of the liquid is configured to reduce a temperature of the at least one thermally isolated portion (210, Fig. 1) to increase the temperature difference ([0064]; evaporation unit 310 coupled to thermoelectric module 210 to dissipate heat).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeon Sang with at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing comprises one or more features configured to maintain a liquid during an evaporation process of the liquid, wherein the evaporation process of the liquid is configured to reduce a temperature of the at least one thermally isolated portion to increase the temperature difference between the inner ring-shaped housing and the at least one thermally isolated portion of the outer ring-shaped housing, as taught by Jeon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve the performance of thermoelectric energy conversion by increasing the temperature difference between each end of a thermoelectric material (Jeon, [0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Jeon Sang teaches the wearable ring device of claim 1, but does not disclose further comprising:
one or more reservoirs positioned between the inner ring-shaped housing and the outer ring-shaped housing, wherein the one or more reservoirs are at least partially filled with a phase-change material, wherein a change of the phase-change material from a first phase to a second phase is configured to store energy from the electric current, generate an additional electric current to power the one or more sensors or recharge the battery of the wearable ring device, or both.
However, Jeon teaches,
one or more reservoirs positioned between the inner ring-shaped housing and the outer ring-shaped housing (reservoirs necessarily must be positioned between inner and outer housings), wherein the one or more reservoirs (310, Fig. 1) are at least partially filled with a phase-change material, wherein a change of the phase-change material from a first phase to a second phase is configured to store energy from the electric current ([0060-0061]; temperature difference generates current; Peltier effect generates heat at one end and absorbs heat at other; heat dissipating modules 300 store energy from current generation by heating liquid, [0064], Fig. 3; evaporation unit 310 includes wick structure 311 for evaporation; energy storage; working fluid in condensation unit 320), generate an additional electric current ([0064]; evaporation unit 310 coupled to thermoelectric module 210 to dissipate heat; increased temperature difference generates additional current).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Jeon Sang with one or more reservoirs positioned between the inner ring-shaped housing and the outer ring-shaped housing, wherein the one or more reservoirs are at least partially filled with a phase-change material, wherein a change of the phase-change material from a first phase to a second phase is configured to store energy from the electric current, generate an additional electric current to power the one or more sensors or recharge the battery of the wearable ring device, or both, as taught by Jeon. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications to improve the performance of thermoelectric energy conversion by increasing the temperature difference between each end of a thermoelectric material (Jeon, [0006]).
Conclusion
/DWANE COLLARD/Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796