Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von (EP 4071581) in view of Wright (US 6481244).
Regarding claim 14 Von teaches a wearable ring device (Abstract, fig.1A), comprising:
an inner ring-shaped (fig. 12A, internal housing 1212) housing comprising one or more apertures (1216), the inner ring- shaped housing comprising at least a portion of an inner curved surface of the wearable ring device (fig. 12A);
a printed circuit board (PCB) (FIG. 4, the U-shape of the ring housing 412 allows for the flexible PCB 415) detachably coupled with the inner ring-shaped housing such that one or more sensors (biological feedback sensors (e.g., pulse oximetry, temperature sensor) on the inner wall) disposed on the PCB are aligned with the one or more apertures (FIG. 4, the U-shape of the ring housing 412 allows for the flexible PCB 415 to be inserted into the edge of the WCD 410. The windows (e.g., windows 120, 130) on the walls of the WCD 410 can align with the operating circuitry to allow, for example, battery charging, Bluetooth connection, and user feedback LED/micro display on the outer wall, and biological feedback sensors (e.g., pulse oximetry, temperature sensor) on the inner wall), the PCB (fig.4, ) disposed between a first side wall and a second side wall spanning at least a portion of a circumference of the inner ring-shaped housing on a first lateral side and a second lateral side of the wearable ring device, respectively (fig.4);
one or more optical lenses (fig. 33C, optical element3512 can be a lens) coupled with the inner ring-shaped housing, the PCB (fig.4, flexible PCB 415), or both, wherein the one or more optical lenses substantially fill the one or more apertures (fig. 33C, 3322a);
a cover assembly disposed around the circumference of the inner ring-shaped housing (external housing portion configured to seal the at least one component and the printed circuit board in an internal space defined by the interior surface of the internal housing),
wherein a mechanical deformation of the cover assembly causes the cover assembly to contact at least a portion of the first side wall and the second side wall around the circumference of the inner ring-shaped housing (fig. 4, WCD 410 can be completely sealed using potting epoxy),
wherein the cover assembly is configured to exert a force on the PCB to secure the PCB against the inner ring-shaped housing (fig. 4, WCD 410 can be completely sealed using potting epoxy indicative that sealing epoxy will exert of force by law of physics); and
an outer ring-shaped housing surrounding at least a portion of the cover assembly, the outer ring-shaped housing defining at least a portion of an outer curved surface of the wearable ring device (fig. 4, WCD 410 can be completely sealed using potting epoxy indicative that sealing epoxy will exert of force by law of physics).
Von does not expressly teach a detachable cover assembly disposed around the circumference of the inner ring-shaped housing.
However, Wright teaches detachable cover assembly (fig.1, ring protecting device 10) disposed around the circumference of the inner ring-shaped housing (fig. 1, ring 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Von in light of Wright teaching so that it may include a detachable cover assembly disposed around the circumference of the inner ring-shaped housing.
The motivation is to provide a ring protecting device for covering and protecting outer surface of a ring.
Regarding claim 19 Von in view of Wright teaches further comprising: a compressible material disposed between the PCB and the cover assembly, wherein the detachable cover (Wright: fig.1, ring protecting device 10) assembly causes the compressible material to compress and exert the force on the PCB to secure the PCB against the inner ring-shaped housing ( in FIG. 4, the U-shape of the ring housing 412 allows for the flexible PCB 415 to be inserted into the edge of the WCD 410 see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 20 Von teaches further comprising: a battery (fig. 6, battery 680) that is detachably coupled with the PCB (fig. 6, 615, also see fig. 4, 480), wherein the cover assembly is configured to exert the force on the battery to secure the battery against the inner ring-shaped housing (fig. 6, fig. 4).
Regarding claim 21 Von teaches wherein the PCB comprises a first set of locking features, and wherein the inner ring-shaped housing comprises a second set of locking features, wherein the PCB is detachably coupled with the inner ring-shaped housing by engaging the first set of locking features with the second set of locking features (fig. 4 see first and second set of locking features below in blue circle).
Regarding claim 22 Von teaches wherein the inner ring-shaped housing comprises one or more protective layers, wherein the PCB is detachably coupled with the inner ring-shaped housing such that a surface of the PCB contacts the one or more protective layers, wherein the one or more protective layers are configured to provide shock resistance, thermal insulation, electrical insulation, or any combination thereof, between the PCB and the inner ring-shaped housing (The internal housing 1212 can be formed of any material, such as a nonconductive material, a conductive material, a ferrous material and/or a nonferrous metal, composite material (e.g. carbon-fiber and/or glass fiber composite) a dielectric material, or a combination of any of the above. In one example, the material of the inner housing 1212 is conductive and nonferrous, such as aluminum, titanium, or stainless steel. In other examples, the internal housing can be formed of a polymer, such as plastic. The external potting 1214 can be formed of any material, solid or gelatinous, that can provide resistance to shock and/or vibration and can prevent moisture and/or debris from entering the housing 1210 of the WCD 1200, such as silicone, epoxy, polyester resin or any other polymer also see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 23 Von teaches wherein the inner ring-shaped housing, the outer ring-shaped housing, or both, comprise one or more metallic materials (The internal housing 1212 can be formed of any material, such as a nonconductive material, a conductive material, a ferrous material and/or a nonferrous metal, composite material (e.g. carbon-fiber and/or glass fiber composite) a dielectric material, or a combination of any of the above. In one example, the material of the inner housing 1212 is conductive and nonferrous, such as aluminum, titanium, or stainless steel also see fig. 4, hosing e.g., metal injection molded).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 17, 18 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von in view of Wright (US 6481244) and Barison (US 20250017531).
Regarding claim 15 Von is silent on wherein the one or more optical lenses are formed at least partially within the one or more apertures of the inner ring- shaped housing, wherein the PCB is detachably coupled with the inner ring-shaped housing to align the one or more sensors with the one or more optical lenses.
However, Barison teaches wherein the one or more optical lenses are formed at least partially within the one or more apertures of the inner ring- shaped housing, wherein the PCB is detachably coupled with the inner ring-shaped housing to align the one or more sensors with the one or more optical lenses ([0054] the PCB 1a is placed on the inner ring 2b in a way that the optical sensors 200 on the PCB 1a are inserted and glued into the ports or transparent windows 2c of inner ring 2b. Then, some specific electrical contact points on the PCB are connected to rim 2a using either the metal tabs 2al on rim 2a either using conductive foam or conductive glue, see fig. 4A-4B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Von in light of Barison teaching so that it may include wherein the one or more optical lenses are formed at least partially within the one or more apertures of the inner ring- shaped housing, wherein the PCB is detachably coupled with the inner ring-shaped housing to align the one or more sensors with the one or more optical lenses.
The motivation is to provide wearable smart ring for medical monitoring is proven by the number of primary vital signs.
Regarding claim 17 Von in view of Barison teach wherein the one or more optical lenses comprise one or more recesses configured to receive the one or more sensors, wherein the PCB is detachably coupled with the inner ring-shaped housing such that the one or more sensors are disposed at least partially within the one or more recesses of the one or more optical lenses ([0054] the PCB 1a is placed on the inner ring 2b in a way that the optical sensors 200 on the PCB 1a are inserted and glued into the ports or transparent windows 2c of inner ring 2b. Then, some specific electrical contact points on the PCB are connected to rim 2a using either the metal tabs 2al on rim 2a either using conductive foam or conductive glue, see fig. 4A-4B).
Regarding claim 18 Von in view of Barison teach wherein the one or more optical lenses are formed at least partially over the one or more sensors of the PCB, wherein the PCB is detachably coupled with the inner ring-shaped housing such that the one or more optical lenses are disposed at least partially within the one or more apertures of the inner ring-shaped housing ([0054] the PCB 1a is placed on the inner ring 2b in a way that the optical sensors 200 on the PCB 1a are inserted and glued into the ports or transparent windows 2c of inner ring 2b. Then, some specific electrical contact points on the PCB are connected to rim 2a using either the metal tabs 2al on rim 2a either using conductive foam or conductive glue, see fig. 4A-4B).
Claim(s) 16 s/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von in view of Wright (US 6481244) and Barison (US 20250017531) and further in view of Yoshimura (US 20200039157).
Regarding claim 16 Von in view of Barison teach wherein forming the one or more optical lenses are formed via [[an injection molding procedure,]] an epoxy molding procedure ([0074] Inner ring 2b has windows 2c for providing optical pathway from the LED/optical receiver on the PCB to the skin/finger of the user. The windows 2c can be openings, covered by an epoxy or similar coating, or over molded into the inner ring with a transparent or translucent material. Outer ring).
But silent on optical lenses are formed via an injection molding procedure.
However, Yoshimura teaches optical lenses are formed via an injection molding procedure (abstract: method for manufacturing a functional optical lens… forming a functional optical laminate by laminating a thermoplastic resin composition by injection molding on the concave side of the functional optical sheet bent in the bending).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art to combine Von in light of Yoshimura teaching so that it may include optical lenses are formed via an injection molding procedure.
The motivation is to provide method for manufacturing a functional optical lens.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any of the new reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
-US 20230389870
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOWFIQ ELAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625