DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2010/0294455) in view of Abe (US 2022/0320867)
Yang discloses a system for heating and cooling a vehicle using a solar panel and a thermoelectric unit. Specifically:
Yang teaches an in-vehicle solar power generator mounted on a vehicle (solar panel 14 on roof 16, [¶0010–0011]).
Yang teaches a power storage device (vehicle battery 38, [¶0022]).
Yang teaches a control device that controls a power regulator (control unit 28, comparator 30, [¶0018–0021]).
Yang teaches charging of the power storage device using generated electric power from the in-vehicle solar power generator (solar panel supplies current to thermoelectric unit and/or battery, [¶0022]).
the control device is configured to determine the electric power generated by the in- vehicle solar power generator; (Par 0035 “The control unit 28 thereafter sends a command to the solar panel 14 to apply the determined amount and direction of electric current to the thermoelectric unit 22 to heat and cool the surface 20” would indicate that the electric power generated by the in- vehicle solar power generator)
the control device is configured to provide instructions to start warming the power storage device in response to a determination of the electric power generated by the in-vehicle solar power generator reaching a first predetermined electric power threshold or more; (Par 0012, 0022, 35 The control unit 28 thereafter sends a command to the solar panel 14 to apply the determined amount and direction of electric current to the thermoelectric unit 22 to heat and cool the surface 20, Because the predetermined threshold hasn’t be established, warming the surface at any threshold is considered as the threshold) and
the control device is configured to provide instructions to the power regulator to charge the power storage device using the surplus electric power from the external solar power generator after the control device provided the instructions to start to warm the surface (Par 0035 At the same time, the control unit 28 also sends a command to the solar panel 14 to distribute any remaining electric current to the vehicle battery 38 for recharging the battery 38 in instances where the battery 38 is not completely charged (i.e., the battery voltage is not above a maximum voltage that reflects a complete charging of the battery 38)).
Yang fails to teach:
Yang does not disclose charging of the power storage device using surplus electric power from an external solar power generator installed in an external facility.
Yang does not disclose supply of electric power from the power storage device to the external facility.
Yang does not disclose warming the power storage device when the in-vehicle solar generator reaches a predetermined threshold before charging from external surplus solar power.
Abe discloses a grid system for transferring electric power between a residential building storage battery and a vehicle storage battery. Specifically:
Abe teaches charging of a vehicle storage battery using surplus electric power from a solar power generator installed in an external facility (residential building photovoltaic system) ([¶0023–0035]).
Abe teaches supply of electric power from the vehicle storage battery to the external facility ([¶0037–0038]).
Thus, Abe provides the missing teachings regarding external solar surplus charging and bidirectional supply of power between vehicle and external facility.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine Yang’s in-vehicle solar charging system with Abe’s grid-based bidirectional power transfer system.
Yang already teaches using solar power to charge and manage in-vehicle systems.
Abe teaches extending this concept to include external solar facilities and bidirectional power flow.
Combining the two would predictably yield a system that optimizes energy use by warming and charging the power storage device based on available solar power thresholds, while also enabling surplus energy exchange with external facilities.
Such combination reduces reliance on vehicle fuel economy (Yang) while improving household energy efficiency (Abe), a recognized design incentive in the art.
Re Claim 2; Yang discloses a vehicle heating/cooling system powered by solar energy. Specifically:
Yang teaches an in-vehicle solar power generator mounted on a vehicle (solar panel 14, [¶0010–0011]).
Yang teaches a power storage device (vehicle battery 38, [¶0022]).
Yang teaches a control device that controls a power regulator (control unit 28, comparator 30, [¶0018–0021]).
Yang teaches threshold-based control logic where the system adjusts charging/heating based on ambient temperature, surface temperature, and user-preferred reference temperature ([¶0024–0027]).
Yang does not disclose logic that prevents warming of the power storage device when the storage ratio (SOC) is equal to or more than a predetermined threshold, even if solar generation exceeds a second predetermined level.
Abe discloses a grid system for managing energy transfer between residential solar storage and vehicle batteries. Specifically:
Abe teaches monitoring SOC of storage batteries and adjusting charging/discharging behavior accordingly ([¶0008–0010, ¶0028–0035]).
Abe teaches logic to restrict or lower electric power values when SOC exceeds a predetermined reference value ([¶0008, ¶0028]).
Abe therefore provides the missing teaching of preventing warming/charging actions when SOC is already sufficient.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine Yang’s solar-powered in-vehicle heating/charging system with Abe’s SOC-based control logic.
Yang already teaches threshold-based control for solar charging and heating.
Abe teaches SOC-based restrictions to avoid unnecessary charging/discharging.
Combining the two would predictably yield a system that optimizes battery health and efficiency by preventing warming when SOC is already high, thereby conserving energy and extending battery longevity.
Such combination aligns with industry goals of energy efficiency and battery protection.
Re: Claim 3 Yang discloses a vehicle heating/cooling system powered by solar energy. Specifically:
Yang teaches a power storage device (vehicle battery 38, [¶0022]).
Yang teaches a control device that controls a power regulator (control unit 28, comparator 30, [¶0018–0021]).
Yang teaches threshold-based control logic where charging/heating is initiated when solar generation reaches a predetermined level ([¶0024–0027]).
The control device is configured to determine the electric power generated by the solar power generator. (Par 0035 “The control unit 28 thereafter sends a command to the solar panel 14 to apply the determined amount and direction of electric current to the thermoelectric unit 22 to heat and cool the surface 20” would indicate that the electric power generated by the in- vehicle solar power generator)
the control device is configured to provide instructions to start warming the power storage device in response to the electric power generated by the solar power generator reaching a second predetermined electric power threshold or more; (Par 0012, 0022, 35 The control unit 28 thereafter sends a command to the solar panel 14 to apply the determined amount and direction of electric current to the thermoelectric unit 22 to heat and cool the surface 20, Because the predetermined threshold hasn’t be established, warming the surface at any threshold is considered as the threshold. Also, since the first predetermine threshold has been established, the second predetermined threshold is considered as the any threshold).
the control device is configured to provide instructions to charge the power storage device using the surplus electric power from the solar power generator in response to the electric power generated by the solar power generator reaching a charging electric power threshold or more;
(Par 0035 At the same time, the control unit 28 also sends a command to the solar panel 14 to distribute any remaining electric current to the vehicle battery 38 for recharging the battery 38 in instances where the battery 38 is not completely charged (i.e., the battery voltage is not above a maximum voltage that reflects a complete charging of the battery 38)
and the second predetermined electric power threshold is lower than the charging electric power threshold. (Par 0035)
Yang does not disclose charging of the power storage device using surplus electric power from a solar power generator installed in an external facility.
Yang does not disclose supply of electric power from the power storage device to the external facility.
Yang does not disclose warming the power storage device when external solar generation reaches a predetermined threshold before charging from surplus external solar power.
Abe discloses a grid system for managing energy transfer between residential solar storage and vehicle batteries. Specifically:
Abe teaches charging of a vehicle storage battery using surplus electric power from a solar power generator installed in an external facility (residential photovoltaic system) ([¶0035–0037]).
Abe teaches supply of electric power from the vehicle storage battery to the external facility ([¶0037–0038]).
Abe teaches SOC-based and threshold-based control logic for adjusting charging/discharging behavior ([¶0008–0010, ¶0028–0035]).
Thus, Abe provides the missing teachings regarding external solar surplus charging and bidirectional supply of power between vehicle and external facility.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine Yang’s threshold-based in-vehicle solar control system with Abe’s external solar surplus charging and bidirectional energy transfer system to predictably yield a system that optimizes energy use by warming and charging the power storage device based on external solar thresholds, while also enabling surplus energy exchange with external facilities.
Such combination reduces reliance on vehicle-only solar generation (Yang) while improving household energy efficiency (Abe), a recognized design incentive in the art.
Re: Claim 4; Yang discloses a vehicle heating/cooling system powered by solar energy. Specifically:
Yang teaches a power storage device (vehicle battery 38, [¶0022]).
Yang teaches a control device that controls a power regulator (control unit 28, comparator 30, [¶0018–0021]).
Yang teaches threshold-based control logic where charging/heating is initiated when solar generation reaches a predetermined level ([¶0024–0027]).
Yang does not disclose logic that prevents warming of the power storage device when the storage ratio (SOC) is equal to or more than a predetermined threshold, even if solar generation exceeds a first predetermined level.
Abe discloses a grid system for managing energy transfer between residential solar storage and vehicle batteries. Specifically:
Abe teaches monitoring SOC of storage batteries and adjusting charging/discharging behavior accordingly ([¶0008–0010, ¶0028–0035]).
Abe teaches logic to restrict or lower electric power values when SOC exceeds a predetermined reference value ([¶0028–0035]).
Abe therefore provides the missing teaching of preventing warming/charging actions when SOC is already sufficient, even if solar generation is high.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing of the invention to combine Yang’s threshold-based in-vehicle solar control system with Abe’s SOC-based restriction logic in order to predictably yield a system that optimizes battery health and efficiency by preventing warming when SOC is already high, thereby conserving energy and extending battery longevity.
Such combination aligns with industry goals of energy efficiency and battery protection.
Re Claim 5; Yang discloses wherein the control device is configured to provide the instructions to charge the power storage device after providing the instructions to start warming the power storage device. (Par 0035)
Re Claim 6; Yang discloses wherein warming of the power storage device continues during charging of the power storage device. (Par 0012, 22 0035)
Re Claim 7; Yang discloses wherein the control device is configured to provide the instructions to charge the power storage device using the surplus electric power from the external solar power generator in response to the electric power generated by the external solar power generator reaching a charging electric power threshold or more. (Par 0035)
Re Claim 8; Yang discloses wherein the first predetermined electric power threshold is set based on solar conditions that are insufficient for the external solar power generator to generate the surplus electric power. (Par 0035)
Re Claim 9; Yang in view of Abe discloses wherein: the control device is configured to determine whether a vehicle connector of the vehicle is connected to an external facility connector of the external facility; and
The combination does not disclose
the control device is configured to not provide the instructions to start warming the power storage device until after the electric power generated by the in-vehicle solar power generator reaches the first predetermined electric power threshold or more, despite a determination that the vehicle connector is connected to the external facility.
The control logic described is considered obvious to a person skilled in the art, often termed because it utilizes existing technologies for energy management to maximize efficiency rather than just relying on available grid power. The combination of features is considered obvious for the following reasons: Optimization of Solar Energy (Prioritizing Free/Green Power) Preventing Waste: The core logic ensures that power generated by the in-vehicle solar generator is utilized first to warm the battery, rather than wasting it by feeding it into the grid, or using grid power when solar is sufficient.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Although the Office Action, on page 3, concedes that Yang fails to disclose warming a power storage device, the Office Action does not cite any reference that would remedy this omission of Yang and does not provide any rationale that one of ordinary skill in the art would have combined a feature of warming a power storage device with Yang and Abe. Although Yang describes a thermoelectric unit 22 to heat an internal vehicle surface 20, the thermoelectric unit 22 must be in or on a region of the internal vehicle surface 20 such that the thermoelectric unit 22 is in physical contact with at least a portion of the passenger's body (see, paragraph [0015] of Yang). Moving the thermoelectric unit 22 would cause an airgap to form between the passenger and the thermoelectric unit 22, which Yang describes as being undesirable (see, paragraph [0013] of Yang). One of ordinary skill in the art would not put a battery or other power storage device within the interior of a vehicle where it could come in contact with a passenger, such as via the thermoelectric unit 22 of Yang. Abe also fails to describe warming a power storage device and, therefore, fails to address these deficiencies of Yang.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Yang discloses [0012] The vehicle 12 further includes an internal cabin area 18, in which various internal vehicle surfaces 20 are located. As used herein, the term "internal vehicle surface" refers to any surface located inside the internal cabin area 18 of the vehicle 12, where such surface 20 is in intimate contact with a vehicle 12 passenger for a time period. A non-limiting example of an internal vehicle surface 20 is a passenger seat 20.sub.PS. Other non-limiting examples of the internal vehicle surface 20 include a steering wheel 20.sub.SW, arm rests 20.sub.AR, interior surfaces of door panels (not shown), and/or other similar surfaces located inside the internal cabin area 18. A passenger seat 20.sub.PS is used hereinbelow for purposes of describing the various examples and/or embodiments of the instant disclosure. It is to be understood, however, that such disclosure is not intended to be limited to passenger seats 20.sub.PS. It is further to be understood that it is assumed that one skilled in the art would be able to use other surfaces 20 in the heating and cooling system 10 disclosed herein by incorporating the teachings of the instant disclosure to such other surfaces 20.
Because the battery is located inside the cabin, heating of the battery could be performed by Yang
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL KESSIE/
05/13/2026
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836