DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0020] discloses Doping the liquid crystal with the surfactant may enhance homeotropic anchoring between the reflective mirror 108 and a polyimide used to treat the glass layer 103. Greater than 5 wt% surfactant may prevent liquid crystal switching.
[0021] discloses A hard coating layer 108 is disposed on the reflective mirror 107 oppositive the liquid crystal layer 106. The hard coating layer 108 may be added to the top of an electro-optic modulator 100 to protect the electro-optic modulator 100.
Numeral “108” refer to both “the reflective mirror 108” and “hard coating layer 108”.
Examiner suggests review entire specification and correct any deficiencies.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 19006662 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications recite substantially similar claim limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
19/006855
19006662 (reference application)
claim 1, An electro-optic modulator comprising:
a glass layer;
a homeotropic alignment layer disposed on the glass layer;
a liquid crystal layer disposed on the homeotropic alignment layer opposite the glass layer,
wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a surfactant; and
a reflective mirror disposed on the liquid crystal layer opposite the homeotropic alignment layer.
An electro-optic modulator comprising:
a liquid crystal layer disposed on the first homeotropic alignment layer opposite the glass layer,
wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a negative dielectric liquid crystal;
a second homeotropic alignment layer disposed on the liquid crystal layer opposite the first homeotropic alignment layer; and
a reflective mirror disposed on the second homeotropic alignment layer opposite the liquid crystal layer.
claim 8, An imaging system comprising:
an illumination source configured to generate illumination;
a stage configured to hold a sample;
a detector to generate an image of at least a portion of the sample; and
an electro-optic modulator disposed in a path of illumination from the illumination source and separated from the sample by an air gap, wherein the electro-optic modulator includes:
a glass layer;
a homeotropic alignment layer disposed on the glass layer; a liquid crystal layer disposed on the homeotropic alignment layer opposite the glass layer,
wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a surfactant; and a reflective mirror disposed on the liquid crystal layer opposite the homeotropic alignment layer.
8. An imaging system comprising:
an illumination source configured to generate illumination;
a stage configured to hold a sample;
a detector to generate an image of at least a portion of the sample; and
an electro-optic modulator disposed in a path of illumination from the illumination source and separated from the sample by an air gap, wherein the electro-optic modulator includes:
a liquid crystal layer disposed on the first homeotropic alignment layer opposite the glass layer,
wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a negative dielectric liquid crystal;
a second homeotropic alignment layer disposed on the liquid crystal layer opposite the first homeotropic alignment layer; and
a reflective mirror disposed on the second homeotropic alignment layer opposite the liquid crystal layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20100177313 A1) in view of Bao et al. (U.S. Patent Publication 20230295693 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jun discloses “An electro-optic modulator comprising:
a glass layer; (Fig 1, [0073] The upper substrate 10 may be made of a glass substrate whose thickness is about 0.5 mm.)
a homeotropic alignment layer (Fig. 1, lower and upper alignment films 18 and 16) disposed on the glass layer; ([0076] [0077])
a liquid crystal layer (Fig. 1, a liquid crystal layer 20 [0079] [0085]) disposed on the homeotropic alignment layer opposite the glass layer, and
a reflective mirror (Fig. 1 reflecting film 26) disposed on the liquid crystal layer opposite the homeotropic alignment layer. ([0082] [0085])
Jun does not disclose “wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a surfactant;”.
Bao discloses “wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a surfactant;”. ([0009] Liquid crystals (LCs) have been used as transducers to sense and optically report a wide range of stimuli, including temperature (thermometers), electric fields (liquid crystal displays), and chemical and biological species, including synthetic surfactants, phospholipids, peptides, proteins, and bacterial toxins. Advantageously, the optical changes produced by LCs can be easily observed when viewed between crossed polarizers. However, LCs have not yet been used to develop assays for the detection and identification of RNA viruses.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate surfactant by Bao into device of Jun. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Bao: [0009])
Regarding claims 2, 9, Jun and Bao disclose further comprising a polarizer disposed on the glass layer opposite the homeotropic alignment layer. (Jun Fig. 1, [0071] [0072] [0073] [0047])
Regarding claims 3, 10, Jun and Bao disclose further comprising an antireflective layer disposed between the polarizer and the homeotropic alignment layer. (Jun Fig. 1, [0071] [0072] [0073] [0047])
Regarding claims 4, 11, Jun and Bao disclose further comprising a conductive layer disposed between the glass layer and the homeotropic alignment layer. (Jun Fig. 1, [0071] [0072] [0073] [0047])
Regarding claims 5, 12, Jun and Bao disclose wherein the conductive layer is a transparent electrode. (Jun Fig. 1, [0071] [0072] [0073] [0047])
Regarding claims 6, 13, Jun and Bao disclose further comprising a hard coating layer disposed on the reflective mirror oppositive the homeotropic alignment layer. (Jun Fig. 1, [0071] [0077] [0082] [0047])
Regarding claims 7, 14, Jun and Bao disclose wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a negative dielectric liquid crystal. (Jun Fig. 1, [0318] [0320] [0321] [0331])
Regarding claim 8, Jun discloses An imaging system comprising:
an illumination source (Fig. 4, light source 214 [0092]) configured to generate illumination;
a stage (Fig. 4, flat display device 200 [0090]) configured to hold a sample;
a detector (Fig 4, CCD camera 220; [0091]) to generate an image of at least a portion of the sample; and
an electro-optic modulator disposed in a path of illumination from the illumination source and separated from the sample by an air gap, (Fig. 4) wherein the electro-optic modulator includes:
a glass layer; (Fig 1, [0073] The upper substrate 10 may be made of a glass substrate whose thickness is about 0.5 mm.)
a homeotropic alignment layer (Fig. 1, lower and upper alignment films 18 and 16) disposed on the glass layer; ([0076] [0077])
a liquid crystal layer (Fig. 1, a liquid crystal layer 20 [0079] [0085]) disposed on the homeotropic alignment layer opposite the glass layer, and
a reflective mirror (Fig. 1 reflecting film 26) disposed on the liquid crystal layer opposite the homeotropic alignment layer. ([0082] [0085])
Jun does not disclose “wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a surfactant;”.
Bao discloses “wherein the liquid crystal layer includes a surfactant;”. ([0009] Liquid crystals (LCs) have been used as transducers to sense and optically report a wide range of stimuli, including temperature (thermometers), electric fields (liquid crystal displays), and chemical and biological species, including synthetic surfactants, phospholipids, peptides, proteins, and bacterial toxins. Advantageously, the optical changes produced by LCs can be easily observed when viewed between crossed polarizers. However, LCs have not yet been used to develop assays for the detection and identification of RNA viruses.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate surfactant by Bao into device of Jun. The suggestion/motivation would have been to improve efficiency. (Bao: [0009])
Conclusion
/CHUN-NAN LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629