DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s response/application filed on 02/19/2025.
The Examiner notes that citations to United States Patent Application Publication paragraphs are formatted as [####], #### representing the paragraph number.
Status of Claims
Claim 1 has been canceled.
Claims 2-21 have been added.
Claims 2-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
As per claims 2-21, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more because:
• Claim 9 recites:
detecting, by a computer system and via a user device, an event associated with a first token corresponding to a first reward system;
in response to detecting the event, accessing, by the computer system and within a universal token framework comprising a framework blockchain, a universal token that is linked to the first token based on metadata associated with the universal token, wherein the universal token was generated to link with the first token based on wrapping the universal token with the metadata; and
processing, by the computer system, a transaction based on the event using the universal token via a logical bridge between the framework blockchain and the first reward system.
• Under Step 1 of the Section 101 analysis, the claim(s) is/are directed to a method, a system, and a manufacture, which are statutory categories of invention.
• Under Step 2A Prong One of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligiblity Guidance, the claimed invention as drafted includes language (see underlined language above) that recites an abstract idea of processing a transaction based on an event using a universal token (a certain method of organizing human activity such as a commercial or legal interactions, e.g. sales activities or behaviors) but for the recitation of additional claim elements, because it is common to analyze transaction information to prevent fraud in sales activities/behaviors. Claims 2 and 16 recite similar abstract idea. That is, other than reciting “hardware processors”, “memory”, “computer-readable medium”, “computer system”, “user device”, “universal token framework”, “framework blockchain”, and “logical bridge”, nothing in the claim precludes the language from being considered as performed by a person.
• Under Step 2A Prong Two of the 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligiblity Guidance, the additional claim element(s), considered individually, do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and in a manner that integrates the exception into a practical application of the exception. The additional claim elements(s) merely add the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. For example, the additional elements of “computer system”, “user device”, “universal token framework”, “framework blockchain”, and “logical bridge” merely use a generic computer device and/or generic computer components as a tool to perform an abstract idea. Furthermore, the additional claim elements(s) such as “framework blockchain”, generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use of blockchain.
• Under Step 2A Prong Two, the additional claim element(s), considered in combination, do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception and in a manner that integrates the exception into a practical application of the exception. The combination of elements is no more than the sum of their parts. Unlike the eligible claims in Diehr and Bascom, in which the elements limiting the exception taken together improve a technical field, the instant claim lacks an improvement to the functioning of a computer or to any other technology or technical field.
• Under Step 2B, the additional claim element(s), considered individually and in combination, do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself for similar reasons outlined under Step 2A Prong Two.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claims 3, 4, 5, 8, 10, 11, 12, 15, 17, 18, 19, 21 which further recite the abstract idea of exchanging a first token with a second token (a certain method of organizing human activity such as a commercial or legal interactions, e.g. sales activities or behaviors). That is, other than reciting “computer-implemented”, “blockchain”, “shared ledger”, “decentralized computer system”, “data storage device”, “user interface”, “processor”, “non-transitory machine-readable medium”, “blockchain server”, “data structure”, “electronic contract”, “computerized transaction protocol”, and “generating and displaying an interactive bot to assist a user of the user interface to search information from the analytics report”, nothing in the claim precludes the language from being considered as performed by a person.
A similar analysis can be applied to dependent claims 6, 7, 13, 14, 20 which include additional claim elements that merely add the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea. For example, “user device”. Furthermore, the additional claim elements(s) such as “smart contract” and “framework blockchain” generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use of blockchain. The additional claim elements(s) such as “digital wallet” generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use of e-wallet.
Therefore, claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossoba (US 20190385130), in view of Padmanabhan (US 20230080927).
Regarding claim(s) 2, 9, and 16, Mossoba discloses:
a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon machine-readable instructions ([0054]);
one or more hardware processors ([0088]); and
a non-transitory memory storing instructions, that when executed by the one or more hardware processors ([0088]), cause the one or more hardware processors to perform operations comprising:
detecting, via a user device, an event associated with a first token corresponding to a first reward system (By disclosing, “One or more steps in this exemplary use case may be automated or facilitated by the system. For example, the system 100 (e.g., via merchant POS terminal 130B) may detect entry of customer device 110A within a range of Merchant B's POS location and communicate the detection to the merchant node 120B. In turn, the merchant node 120B may direct the customer device 110A to identify, via the application, whether the customer account associated with the customer device 110A has a sufficient balance of the second virtual currency units (e.g., coffee rewards points) to purchase any goods or one of Customer A's typical purchases at Merchant B.” ([0081]-[0083]));
in response to detecting the event, accessing, within a universal token framework comprising a framework blockchain, a universal token that is linked to the first token based on metadata associated with the universal token, wherein the universal token was generated to link with the first token (By disclosing, “To more freely and securely facilitate transactions and exchanges involving rewards points, some systems have turned to so-called distributed “blockchain” systems that can simultaneously record transaction-related entries in multiple places, and simultaneously.” ([0004]); “In a second, but related exemplary use case in accordance with some embodiments, the first customer (Customer A) may have insufficient second virtual currency units (e.g., coffee rewards points), third virtual currency units (e.g., ice cream rewards points), etc. to conduct a direct A-for-B or A-and-C-for-B transaction with a second customer (Customer B) on the system 100. In such a scenario, the system 100 may (i) involve three or more customers or, separate from or in combination with transactions between the customers, (ii) utilize generic virtual currency units [(universal token)] produced by the authorization node, or with an unaffiliated merchant node authorized by the authorization node 150. That is, Customer A (e.g., via customer device 110A) may trade first virtual currency units [(first token)] for generic virtual currency units as a separate transaction with the authorization node 150 or as part of a transaction with one or more other customers.” ([0081]-[0083]); and “In an alternative embodiment, such a transfer of virtual currency to merchants may be facilitated by a predetermined exchange rate [(metadata associated with the universal token)] utilizing the generic virtual currency issued by the authorization node 150 as an intermediary currency for the exchange.” ([0063]); and
processing a transaction based on the event using the universal token via a logical bridge between the framework blockchain and the first reward system ([0081]-[0085], [0063]).
Mossoba does not disclose:
wrapping the universal token with the metadata.
However, Padmanabhan teaches:
wherein the universal token was generated to link with the first token based on wrapping the universal token with the metadata. (By disclosing, “According to various embodiments, the issuer of the designated fungible token template may push the designated fungible token template and/or instances of the designated fungible token to one or more exchanges that are partnered with the database system. In such a configuration, the partner exchange receives information such as the exchange rate, which may be included within metadata in the smart contract instance governing a quantity of tokens, the smart contract template from which the tokens are minted, the database system acting as an oracle, or other such sources. In this way, the partner exchange may enforce the exchange rate.” ([0302], [0286] of Padmanabhan)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Mossoba in view of Padmanabhan to include techniques of wrapping metadata in a token. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would allow any system to get the information for the exchange rate and process a transaction based on the exchange rate.
Regarding claim(s) 3, 10, and 17, Mossoba discloses:
wherein the universal token framework is incompatible with the first reward system. ([0060]).
Regarding claim(s) 4, 11, and 18, Mossoba discloses:
wherein the universal token is an intermediate currency between the first token and a second token corresponding to a second reward system (By disclosing, “For example, if Customer A has 1,000 coffee rewards points and 2,000 ice cream rewards points and wishes to obtain 1,500 taco rewards points, another customer who has 1,500 taco rewards points may not be interested in Customer A's coffee rewards points or ice cream rewards points (or the 1,000 coffee rewards points alone may be insufficient). To facilitate and expedite this transaction, the system 100 may (e.g., via authorization node in communication with customer device 110A) prompt Customer A with an option to exchange his 1,500 of the ice cream rewards points for 1,500 generic rewards points, which can in turn be exchanged for Customer B's 1,500 taco rewards points.” ([0083])).
Regarding claim(s) 5, 12, and 19, Mossoba discloses:
wherein the transaction involves exchanging the first token with a second token corresponding to a second reward system based on a predetermined exchange rate (By disclosing, “This exemplary use case may also allow a customer, either manually or via the system 100, to better take advantage of exchange rates between various virtual currency types and the generic currency.” ([0082]-[0085])).
Regarding claim(s) 6 and 13, Mossoba does not disclose, but Padmanabhan teaches:
wherein the transaction involves recording a smart contract on the framework blockchain. (By disclosing, “the smart contract 1700 is a computer program that may be included within a public trust ledger such as a blockchain.” ([0228] of Padmanabhan)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Mossoba in view of Padmanabhan to include techniques of recording a smart contract on a blockchain. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would leverage the advantages of using smart contract (e.g. automation, cost efficiency, etc.).
Regarding claim(s) 8, 15, and 21, Mossoba discloses:
converting the universal token into a second token corresponding to a second reward system, wherein the transaction is processed using the second token. (By disclosing, “To facilitate and expedite this transaction, the system 100 may (e.g., via authorization node in communication with customer device 110A) prompt Customer A with an option to exchange his 1,500 of the ice cream rewards points for 1,500 generic rewards points, which can in turn be exchanged for Customer B's 1,500 taco rewards points. When Customer A accepts, the transaction proceeds with the authorization node 150 in the same manner as it would with another customer (just first between Customer A and authorization node 150, then between Customer A and Customer B).” ([0084])).
Claim(s) 7, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mossoba (US 20190385130), in view of Padmanabhan (US 20230080927), further in view of Augustine (US 20230289878).
Regarding claim(s) 7, 14, and 20, Mossoba discloses:
wherein the universal token is a first universal token, and wherein the operations further comprise: executing the smart contract, wherein the executing the smart contract causes a second universal token to be transferred to a digital wallet associated with the user device based on a usage of the first universal token. ([0073]-[0078] of Augustine).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Mossoba and Padmanabhan, in view of Augustine to include techniques of executing the smart contract, wherein the executing the smart contract causes a second universal token to be transferred to a digital wallet associated with the user device based on a usage of the first universal token. Doing so would result in an improved invention because this would leverage the advantages of using digital wallets (e.g. multiple ways to pay, increased security, etc.).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20180315072 to Rubin for disclosing:
a method of facilitating the issuance, redemption, and management of cryptocurrency-based loyalty points associated with one or more of a product and a service is disclosed. The method may include receiving, using a communication device, a purchase request for obtaining at least one cryptocurrency-based loyalty token to be associated with a user account. Further, the method may include transferring, using the processing device, the at least one cryptocurrency-based loyalty token to a loyalty user wallet associated with the user account based on the purchase request. Further, the method may include storing, using a storage device, token allocation data on a blockchain. Further, the token allocation data may include at least one characteristic associated with each of the user account, the purchase request, transferring of the at least one cryptocurrency-based loyalty token and the loyalty user wallet.
/DUAN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699