DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “holding belt” recited in Claim 8 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites “the holding belt” which renders the claim indefinite. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, the claim will be treated as reciting “the retaining belt.” Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms in US Publication 2007/0272484 in view of Mongan et al. in US Publication 2012/0132682.
Helms teaches a safety harness for protecting a user against falls, comprising: a hip strap (11); leg loops (15); shoulder straps (12/13); and a sternal fall arrest eyelet and/or dorsal fall arrest eyelet (33), wherein the safety harness has a guide (32) extending at least partially along the hip strap. Helms is silent on the details of the guide or the use of a retaining plate. Mongan teaches a hip strap (the “elastomeric belt” – Fig. 25) with a guide (the “rail)) extending at least partially along the hip strap, a retaining plate (elements 1-9, Fig. 25) being displaceably mounted on or in the guide via a bearing device (3/4), and wherein the retaining plate has a connection means (8) for releasably connecting a remote control, wherein the bearing device has at least one bearing point (at 4 and 3) between the retaining plate and the guide and the bearing point is designed as at least one plain bearing (4 and 3 bear on the rail) and/or as at least one rolling bearing, wherein the bearing device has a releasable locking device (8) for releasably locking at least one displacement position of the retaining plate relative to the guide, wherein the guide extends at least between a sternal position on the hip strap and a position remote from the sternal position (“the rail can be taken right to the end of the belt” “around the entire perimeter of the person” – see Paragraph 0091), wherein the retaining plate is displaceable at least between the sternal position on the hip strap and the position moved away from the sternal position (if the device can be positioned anywhere on the perimeter, it can be moved from the sternal position to another position), wherein the hip strap has a circumferential retaining belt (2005) which is at least partially covered or enclosed by a casing (2001), wherein the guide is formed at least in sections on or in the casing, wherein preferably the at least one bearing point is formed at least partially on or in the casing (at 2004), wherein the retaining plate is mounted displaceably along the casing, wherein the casing is at least partially connected to the holding belt, in particular sewn thereto by a seam (2017), wherein the retaining plate has fastening means (Element 4, fig. 24) which engage behind the guide at least in sections, wherein preferably the at least one bearing point is formed at least partially on the fastening means, wherein the retaining plate can be connected in a form-fitting manner to a remote control by means of the connection means (8, see Fig. 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Helms by adding a rail to the hip strap as taught by Mongan in order to allow the user to easily attach accessories to the harness.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Helms, as modified, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Danforth in US Patent 10165848. Helms, as modified, is silent on the use of a remote control.. Danforth teaches an arrangement including a safety harness (34) and a “remote control” (15) which can be arranged on the retaining plate (56) of the safety harness, the remote control has at least one opening (between 160 and 220) in a housing (150) and the connection means are designed in a hook shape (94) for engaging behind the at least one opening, wherein the arrangement for the remote control has an adapter plate (220) with openings (between 160 and 220) and the connection means are designed in a hook shape for engaging behind the openings of the adapter plate (see Fig. 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Helms, as modified, by adding a remote control as taught by Danforth in order to allow the user to securely and releasably attach the device to the harness.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chevalier, Helms, Jain et al. and Kils et al. teach harnesses. Guibord, Murdoch et al., Rogers, Mongan et al., and Goryl teach strap attachment means.
NOAH C. HAWK
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3636
/Noah C. Hawk/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636