DETAILED ACTION
(1)
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is the first office action on the merits. Claims 1-3 are pending before the Office for review.
(2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guha et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0087233). Examiner notes Liu et al., “Silver nanowire-based transparent, flexible, and conductive thin film,” Nanoscale Research Letters, 6:75 (January 2011) is incorporated by reference into Guha et al. A copy of this non-patent literature is included with the office action to establish the anticipation rejection.
With respect to claim 1, Guha teaches a manufacturing method of a perovskite solar cell (100) including a photoelectric conversion layer (114) containing a perovskite compound. Figure 1 and Paragraph 33. Guha teaches the method comprises forming a transparent top electrode (118) on a side of the electron transporting layer (116), wherein a material of the transparent top electrode is silver nanowire-based thin film, as taught by Liu. Paragraphs 38 and 55. Guha teaches Liu’s method comprises forming the silver nanowire-based thin film on the electron transport layer by applying a solution of silver nanowire in isopropyl alcohol (alcohol with three or more carbon atoms) thereon, followed by drying. Guha, Paragraphs 38 and 55 and Liu, Materials and experimental method.
With respect to claim 2, Guha teaches the method comprises applying the silver nanowire solution onto an electron transport layer containing C60, which is a fullerene compound, wherein the solvent of the silver nanowire solution is isopropyl alcohol (alcohol with 5 or less carbon atoms). Guha, Paragraphs 37, 38 and 55 and Liu, Materials and experimental method.
(3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guha et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0087233) in view of Kim et al. (WO 2014/092501 A1). The citations to Kim et al. refer to the included English language machine translation.
With respect to claim 3, Guha is silent as to whether the method comprises applying the silver nanowire solution by inkjet method, wherein the solvent is an alcohol with four or more carbon atoms.
However, Kim, which deals with manufacturing methods for silver nanowires, teaches a produced silver nanowire is prepared as a dispersion by dispersing the silver nanowire in a solvent, wherein the solvent is an alcohol, such as isopropyl or alcohol or butanol. Page 7, Last paragraph.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use butanol (alcohol with 4 or more carbon atoms) in place of isopropyl alcohol in Guha’s dispersion because Kim teaches the two are recognized equivalents in the art, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
Kim further teaches inkjet printing is one of several effective application methods. Pages 8-9, Bridge paragraph.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the combination of Guha and Kim is the use of a known technique to improve a similar method in the same way. Both Guha and Kim teach application methods for silver nanowire solutions onto a substrate. Kim teaches inkjet printing is an effective application method. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize inkjet printing as the coating method because Kim teaches this to be an effective coating method for a similar silver nanowire solution, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
(4)
Conclusion
/ELI S MEKHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759