DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/19/2025 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 1-3, 8, 13-15 and 18-19 have been amended. Currently, claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the phrase “requiring heat dissipation components” should be changed to -- requiring heat dissipation --, as it appears the “components” part is a typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 10-14 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan et al (TW M334059 U, hereinafter, “Wan1”, previously cited by the Examiner) in view of Jang JR-Ming (TW M295057 U, hereinafter “Jang”, newly cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, Wan1 teaches a vehicle lamp (LED car lamp head, see figures 1-3), comprising:
a lamp housing (shell 10, see fig 1);
a heating device (LED element 22 on circuit board 21, see fig 1) within the lamp housing (10);
a liquid cooling plate (water cooling head 31, see fig 1) attached (as seen in fig 1) to the heating device (21-22);
a liquid inlet pipe (tube 36 directly connected to water inlet 35, see fig 2) in communication with the liquid cooling plate (31, via 35) and configured for coupling with a vehicle liquid cooling loop (formed by driving member 32, condenser 33 and tubes 36, as seen in fig 2),
wherein the vehicle liquid cooling loop (32-33 and 36s, as seen in fig 2) comprises cooling liquid (water, see abstract), a heatsink (33) and one or more component (21-22 and 31) requiring heat dissipation components (as the LED, circuit board and head require cooling),
wherein the cooling liquid (water) circulates in the vehicle liquid cooling loop (32-33 and 36s, as seen in fig 2), passes through the one or more component (21-22 and 31) requiring heat dissipation (as LED transfer heat to 21 and 31) and flows into the heatsink (33) which cools the cooling liquid (water); and
a liquid outlet pipe (36 directly connected to water outlet 34, see fig 2) in communication with the liquid cooling plate (31) and configured for coupling with the vehicle liquid cooling loop (32-33 and 36s, as seen in fig 2).
Wan1 does not teach the vehicle liquid cooling loop is external to the vehicle lamp.
Jang teaches a vehicle lamp (headlight assembly 30 and heat conductive plate 10, see figure 1), including a heating device (30) on a liquid cooling plate (10) and including a vehicle liquid cooling loop (circulation pipe 20, water tank and water pump 50);
the vehicle liquid cooling loop (20, 40, 50) is external to the vehicle lamp (as the circulation pipe (20) passes through the water tank (40) and water pump (50) of the car engine cooling system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicle cooling loop as taught by Jang into the teachings of Wan1 because by combining a heat dissipation device with the vehicle's engine cooling system, the LED headlights can effectively dissipate heat without increasing the size of the LED headlights themselves. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve heat dissipation without making the overall size of the LED vehicle lights large.
Regarding claim 2, Wan1 teaches wherein the liquid cooling plate (31) is located in a sealed space (space withing 10, also see ¶ 3, page 5, lines of the translated text) inside the vehicle lamp (10), wherein the lamp housing (10) further comprises a connecting through hole (through hole 13), and wherein the liquid inlet pipe (upper pipe 36, as seen in fig 2) and the liquid outlet pipe (lower pipe 36 as seen in fig 2) are connected to the vehicle liquid cooling loop (as clearly seen in fig 2) through the connecting through hole (13).
Regarding claim 10, Wan1 teaches wherein the liquid cooling plate (31) is located on (at least on the inner surfaces of 10) the lamp housing (10) or outside the lamp housing, and wherein the vehicle lamp (LED car lamp head) is a sealed space (as seen in fig 1, also see ¶ 3, page 5, lines of the translated text).
Regarding claim 11, Wan1 teaches wherein the heating device (22) is located on (at least on the inner surfaces of 10) the lamp housing (10).
Regarding claim 12, Wan1 teaches wherein the heating device (22) comprises at least one of a light source (as LEDs are light sources, see fig 2), a pixel, a light source driver module, or a vehicle lamp control module.
Regarding claim 13, Wan1 teaches vehicle (automobile, see abstract and figures 1-3), comprising:
a lamp housing (10);
a vehicle liquid cooling loop (32-33 and 36s, as seen in fig 2) comprising:
a liquid reservoir (inner surfaces of 31, 36, 32, and 33) configured to contain liquid (water);
a pump (32) in communication with the liquid reservoir (33); and
a heatsink (33) configured to receive the liquid (water);
a vehicle lamp (21-22) disposed within the lamp housing (10), wherein the vehicle lamp (21-22) coupled with the vehicle liquid cooling loop (32-33 and 36s, as seen in fig 2) and comprising:
a heating device (22);
a liquid cooling plate (31) attached (via 21) to the heating device (22);
a liquid inlet pipe (upper 36) in communication with the liquid cooling plate (31 via 35) and the vehicle liquid cooling loop (32-33 and 36, as seen in fig 2); and
a liquid outlet pipe (lower 36) in communication with the liquid cooling plate (31 via 34) and the vehicle liquid cooling loop (32-33 and 36, as seen in fig 2).
Wan1 does not teach the vehicle liquid cooling loop is external to the lamp housing.
Jang teaches a vehicle lamp (headlight assembly 30 and heat conductive plate 10, see figure 1), including a heating device (30) on a liquid cooling plate (10) and including a vehicle liquid cooling loop (circulation pipe 20, water tank and water pump 50);
the vehicle liquid cooling loop (20, 40, 50) is external to the lamp housing (10, 30, as the circulation pipe (20) passes through the water tank (40) and water pump (50) of the car engine cooling system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to utilize the vehicle cooling loop as taught by Jang into the teachings of Wan1 because by combining a heat dissipation device with the vehicle's engine cooling system, the LED headlights can effectively dissipate heat without increasing the size of the LED headlights themselves. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to achieve heat dissipation without making the overall size of the LED vehicle lights large.
Regarding claim 14, Wan1 teaches wherein the liquid cooling plate (31) is located in a sealed space (space withing 10, also see ¶ 3, page 5, lines of the translated text) inside the vehicle lamp (10), wherein the lamp housing (10) further comprises a connecting through hole (through hole 13), and wherein the liquid inlet pipe (upper pipe 36, as seen in fig 2) and the liquid outlet pipe (lower pipe 36 as seen in fig 2) are connected to the vehicle liquid cooling loop (as clearly seen in fig 2) through the connecting through hole (13).
Regarding claim 19, Wan1 teaches wherein the vehicle lamp (LED car lamp head) is connected in parallel (as the lamp is connected in parallel with 32-33 and 36) to the vehicle liquid cooling loop (32-33 and 36).
Regarding claim 20, Wan1 teaches wherein the heating device (22) comprises a light source (as LEDs are a light source).
Claims 3-9 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan1 in view of Jang, as applied to claims 1-2 and 13-14 above, and further in view of Wan et al. (CN 203656872 U, hereinafter, “Wan3”, previously cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claims 3-5 and 7, Wan1 does not teach wherein the vehicle lamp further comprises a connector mounted in the connecting through hole, and wherein the liquid inlet pipe and the vehicle liquid outlet pipe are connected to the liquid cooling loop system through the connector; and
wherein the connector comprises: a support comprising: a liquid inlet pipe joint connected to the liquid inlet pipe; a liquid outlet pipe joint connected to the liquid outlet pipe; and a sealing component located on the support and attached to the lamp housing; and a fastening component configured to fasten the support to the lamp housing; and
wherein the sealing component is a sponge or a sealing ring; and
wherein the fastening component is a screw.
Wan3 teaches a vehicle lamp (LED plant growth device, see figures 1-6), including a heating device (LED lamp plate 3, see fig 5) connected to a lamp housing (cooling channel 21, also shown in figures 3-4 formed by liquid cold plate 2 and branch pipe 212);
wherein the vehicle lamp (3) further comprises a connector (screw threaded connectors (also shown as 213 in fig 3) with circular insulating layer see ¶ 35) mounted in the connecting through hole (openings of 4 in 2 and 212), and wherein the liquid inlet pipe (lower 4, as seen in the view of fig 1) and the liquid outlet pipe (upper 4, as seen in the view of fig 1) are connected to the liquid cooling loop system (1) through the connector (213s and insulating layers); and
wherein the connector (213s and insulating layers) comprises: a support (213s) comprising: a liquid inlet pipe joint (inner surface of 213) connected to the liquid inlet pipe (lower 4); a liquid outlet pipe joint (inner surface of 213) connected to the liquid outlet pipe (upper 4); and a sealing component (insulating layers) located on the support (213s) and attached to the lamp housing (212-214); and a fastening component (thread of threaded connector 213) configured to fasten the support (213s) to the lamp housing (212-214); and
wherein the sealing component (circular insulating layer) is a sponge or a sealing ring (as the insulating layer is circular, for a circular pipe, as seen in fig 2); and
wherein the fastening component (thread of 213) is a screw (as expected from a thread).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flow regulating valve as taught by Wan3 into the teachings of Wan1, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because flow regulating valves regulate the refrigerant flow which is crucial for optimal system performance. Too much refrigerant can cause the evaporator to freeze, while too little can lead to intermittent cooling or other system issues.
Regarding claim 6, Wan1 as modified by Wan3 teach wherein the sealing component (circular sealing layer) is a soft rubber material (see ¶ 15) but
Wan1 as modified by Wan3 does not teach wherein the soft rubber material that is integrated with the support.
However, one of ordinary skill would have recognized rubber as one readily available material to seal components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to integrate the soft rubber material with the support of Wan1 as modified by Wan3, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Leshing, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) and Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297 (1945). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to enhance sealing between the pipes and housing.
Regarding claims 8-9, Wan1 does not explicitly teach wherein the connecting through hole comprises: a first through hole, wherein the liquid inlet pipe is connected to the vehicle liquid cooling loop through the first through hole; and a second through hole, wherein the liquid outlet pipe is connected to the vehicle liquid cooling loop through the second through hole; and
further comprising: a first rubber ring disposed at a fitting position between the liquid inlet pipe and the first through hole; and a second rubber ring disposed at a fitting position between the liquid outlet pipe and the second through hole.
Wan3 teaches a vehicle lamp (LED plant growth device, see figures 1-6), including a heating device (LED lamp plate 3, see fig 5) connected to a lamp housing (cooling channel 21, also shown in figures 3-4 formed by liquid cold plate 2 and branch pipe 212);
wherein the connecting through hole (see openings for pipes in 2 via 213 and insulator, see fig 1) comprises: a first through hole (opening in 2 for lower 4), wherein the liquid inlet pipe (lower 4) is connected to the liquid cooling loop (formed by 2 and 212) through the first through hole (opening in 2 for lower 4); and a second through hole (opening in 2 for upper 4), wherein the liquid outlet pipe (opening in 2 for upper 4) is connected to the liquid cooling loop (formed by 2 and 212) through the second through hole (opening in 2 for upper 4); and
further comprising: a first rubber ring (circular insulating layer for lower 4, see ¶ 15 and 35) disposed at a fitting position (see ¶ 35) between the liquid inlet pipe and the first through hole (opening for lower 4); and a second rubber ring (circular insulating layer for upper 4, see ¶ 15 and 35) disposed at a fitting position (see ¶ 35) between the liquid outlet pipe (upper 4) and the second through hole (opening for upper 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first and second through holes as taught by Wan3 into the teachings of Wan1, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide the flexibility to connect to differently shaped lamp housings.
Regarding claims 15-16, Wan1 does not teach wherein the vehicle lamp further comprises a connector mounted in the connecting through hole, and wherein the liquid inlet pipe and the liquid outlet pipe are connected to the vehicle liquid cooling loop system through the connector; and
wherein the connector comprises: a support comprising: a liquid inlet pipe joint connected to the liquid inlet pipe; a liquid outlet pipe joint connected to the liquid outlet pipe; and a sealing component located on the support and attached to the lamp housing; and a fastening component configured to fasten the support to the lamp housing.
Wan3 teaches a vehicle lamp (LED plant growth device, see figures 1-6), including a heating device (LED lamp plate 3, see fig 5) connected to a lamp housing (cooling channel 21, also shown in figures 3-4 formed by liquid cold plate 2 and branch pipe 212);
wherein the vehicle lamp (3) further comprises a connector (screw threaded connectors (also shown as 213 in fig 3) with circular insulating layer see ¶ 35) mounted in the connecting through hole (openings of 4 in 2 and 212), and wherein the liquid inlet pipe (lower 4, as seen in the view of fig 1) and the liquid outlet pipe (upper 4, as seen in the view of fig 1) are connected to the liquid cooling loop system (1) through the connector (213s and insulating layers); and
wherein the connector (213s and insulating layers) comprises: a support (213s) comprising: a liquid inlet pipe joint (inner surface of 213) connected to the liquid inlet pipe (lower 4); a liquid outlet pipe joint (inner surface of 213) connected to the liquid outlet pipe (upper 4); and a sealing component (insulating layers) located on the support (213s) and attached to the lamp housing (212-214); and a fastening component (thread of threaded connector 213) configured to fasten the support (213s) to the lamp housing (212-214).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the flow regulating valve as taught by Wan3 into the teachings of Wan1, since it has been held by the courts that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, or choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success, is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art, as it requires only ordinary skill in the art. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this case, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because flow regulating valves regulate the refrigerant flow which is crucial for optimal system performance. Too much refrigerant can cause the evaporator to freeze, while too little can lead to intermittent cooling or other system issues.
Regarding claim 17, Wan1 does not teach wherein the connecting through hole comprises: a first through hole, wherein the liquid inlet pipe is connected to the liquid cooling loop through the first through hole; and a second through hole, wherein the liquid outlet pipe is connected to the liquid cooling loop through the second through hole.
Wan3 teaches a vehicle lamp (LED plant growth device, see figures 1-6), including a heating device (LED lamp plate 3, see fig 5) connected to a lamp housing (cooling channel 21, also shown in figures 3-4 formed by liquid cold plate 2 and branch pipe 212);
wherein the connecting through hole (see openings for pipes in 2 via 213 and insulator, see fig 1) comprises: a first through hole (opening in 2 for lower 4), wherein the liquid inlet pipe (lower 4) is connected to the liquid cooling loop (formed by 2 and 212) through the first through hole (opening in 2 for lower 4); and a second through hole (opening in 2 for upper 4), wherein the liquid outlet pipe (opening in 2 for upper 4) is connected to the liquid cooling loop (formed by 2 and 212) through the second through hole (opening in 2 for upper 4).
Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first and second through holes as taught by Wan3 into the teachings of Wan1, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routing skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to provide the flexibility to connect to differently shaped lamp housings.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wan1 in view of Jang, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Cai et al. (CN 102494317 A, hereinafter, “Cai”, previously cited by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 18, Wan1 does not explicitly teach wherein the vehicle lamp is connected in series to the vehicle liquid cooling loop.
Cai teaches a vehicle lamp (LED lamp 6 and water-cooling unit 3, see figures 1-2), including a heating device (6) connected to a liquid cooling loop (formed by water tank 1, water inlet pipeline 2, water-out pipe 4 and heat water cooling device 5, see fig 1);
wherein the vehicle lamp (3, 6, see fig 2) is connected in series (as the lamp 3, 6 is connected in series with at least another lamp 3, 6 and in series with the liquid cooling loop, as clearly sees in fig 1) to the liquid cooling loop (formed by 1-2 and 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filled date of the claimed invention to connect the vehicle lamp of Wan1 in series with the liquid cooling loop as taught by Cai, in order to cool additional lamps in the system. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the working temperature of plural light sources and thus expand the service life of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection do not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/OMAR ROJAS CADIMA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875