DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of selecting Group I in the reply filed on 05/21/26 is acknowledged. The Applicant traversal is on the ground(s) that group I and group II could be searched in a single search of reasonable burden. This is not found persuasive because Group I(user authentication/identification) and Group II (detecting and verifying embedded watermark)two different invention need search in different area /category.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ribeiro (US 20160357275 A1).
With regards to claim 10, Ribeiro discloses, A stylus pen for user recognition and watermark embedding, the stylus pen (FIG 1 100 and associated text; ) comprising :
one or more biometric sensors to collect biometric data ([0060]; A stylus device with biometric sensors, for example, could allow multiple users to share and be authenticated with a single stylus device.), the one or more biometric sensors comprising a fingerprint sensor ([0060] In some embodiments, the stylus device can identify a particular user based on recognition of a fingerprint or other biometric identifier on the stylus device, and transmit data based on the identified user.), and a communication device for transferring the biometric data collected by the one or more biometric sensors to another device distinct from the stylus pen ([0060] In some embodiments, the stylus device can identify a particular user based on recognition of a fingerprint or other biometric identifier on the stylus device, and transmit data based on the identified user. [0043]; The stylus device 100 can transmit cryptographic information through a digitizer channel 218 when the stylus device 100 is touching or within a hover range of the digitizer screen. In embodiments, the hover range for the digitizer channel 218 can be any suitable distance between the tip of the stylus device 100 and the digitizer screen 216, for example, around 10 mm to 20 mm.[0028]; n some embodiments, the signal transmitter 104 transmits data through a wireless auxiliary channel 112. The wireless auxiliary channel 112 can convey radio waves through Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), for example, using advertisement frames[0047]; ).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribeiro (US 20160357275 A1) in view of Guenther(US 20110179289 A1:IDS Supplied).
With regards to claim 1, Ribeiro discloses, A method for embedding a digital watermark in a stylus pen ink by a digitizer ([0041] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an example of a system 200 for authenticating a stylus device and cryptographically authenticating an author of digital ink), the method comprising:
detecting a touch from a stylus pen on a display of the digitizer ([0043]; The stylus device 100 can transmit cryptographic information through a digitizer channel 218 when the stylus device 100 is touching or within a hover range of the digitizer screen. ),
determining a user identification ([0060]; In some embodiments, the stylus device can identify a particular user based on recognition of a fingerprint or other biometric identifier on the stylus device, and transmit data based on the identified user. A stylus device with biometric sensors, for example, could allow multiple users to share and be authenticated with a single stylus device), and based at least on the touch from the stylus pen on the display, displaying the stylus pen ink on the display ([0055] At block 410, the stylus device uses a digitizer channel 108 to detect a response from a computer device that the stylus device is authenticated and access to transmit user data to the computer device is permitted. User data, also referred to as digital ink herein, can include any suitable input provided by the stylus device to a computer device such as a signature, drawings, or alphanumeric characters, among others. After the stylus device is authenticated, the stylus device can transmit any amount of user data or digital ink to a computing device and the authorship of the digital ink may be saved along with the user data at the computing device),
Ribeiro does not exclusively but Guenther teaches, wherein the user identification is linked to the digital watermark ([0144] As was already mentioned, additional biometric data can also be captured, depending upon how the signature capture apparatus 1 is equipped, in addition to the actual signature image with the associated biometric data in a particular resolution and in a particular coordinate system, so that later a plurality of identification features of the signer or also different identification features of different signers can be inserted into the document. These are, e.g., the pressure procession and the time period. These biometric data may be treated as separate data units (data streams).), the stylus pen ink embedding the digital watermark as a pattern of pixels ([0163] In the signature capture apparatus a digital signature image of the captured handwritten signature of the signer is generated. The first hash sum is then embedded in the digital signature image of the captured handwritten signature of the signer by using a specified secret embedding technique.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Ribeiro’s method with teaching of Guenther in order to provide secured data with the inserted signature data and may be archived in a manipulation-proof manner(Guenther [0001]).
With regards to claim 2, Ribeiro further discloses, wherein determining the user identification comprises determining the user identification based at least in part on user biometric data sensed by one or more sensors of the stylus pen ([0060]; In some embodiments, the stylus device can identify a particular user based on recognition of a fingerprint or other biometric identifier on the stylus device, and transmit data based on the identified user. A stylus device with biometric sensors, for example, could allow multiple users to share and be authenticated with a single stylus device).
With regards to claim 3, Ribeiro further discloses, wherein the user biometric data comprises one or more of a fingerprint pattern, an iris scan, or voice recognition ([0060]; In some embodiments, the stylus device can identify a particular user based on recognition of a fingerprint or other biometric identifier on the stylus device, and transmit data based on the identified user. A stylus device with biometric sensors, for example, could allow multiple users to share and be authenticated with a single stylus device).
With regards to claim 4, Ribeiro further discloses, further comprising encrypting the user biometric data using an encryption protocol (. [0047] For example, User A's stylus cryptographic credentials can then be used by the digital ink authorship service in the cloud 226 to authenticate a digital signature from User A's stylus. The digital ink authorship service in the cloud 226 can then return an indication that the identity of User A is authenticated. [0060]; In some embodiments, the stylus device can identify a particular user based on recognition of a fingerprint or other biometric identifier on the stylus device, and transmit data based on the identified user. A stylus device with biometric sensors, for example, could allow multiple users to share and be authenticated with a single stylus device).
With regards to claim 5, Ribeiro in view of Guenther discloses, wherein determining the user identification comprises determining the user identification based at least in part on one or more of user grip pattern analysis data sensed by one or more sensors of the stylus pen or user motion sensor data sensed by one or more sensors of the stylus pen (Guenther [0084] According to another exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the signature data may comprise at least the coordinates of the signature made on a signature capture window in a predetermined resolution and in a preset coordinate system, and the biometric data may comprise at least on of the group consisting of: pressure procession data of the signature made by the signer in a predetermined resolution and in a preset pressure range, a time period data representing the time period of the signature made by the signer in a predetermined resolution and in a preset time range and with reference to a preset coordinate system, a fingerprint data representing a captured fingerprint of at least one finger of a predetermined hand of the signer in a predetermined resolution and in the preset coordinate system, handprint data representing a captured handprint of a predetermined hand of the signer in a predetermined resolution and in the preset coordinate system, facial data representing at least certain facial features of the signer in a predetermined resolution and in the preset coordinate system, voice data representing a voice sample of the signer in a predetermined resolution, and eye data representing at least certain areas of at least one of the iris and the retina of a predetermined eye of the signer in a predetermined resolution and in the preset coordinate system.). Motivation would be same as stated in claim 1.
With regards to claim 6, Ribeiro in view of Guenther discloses, further comprising encrypting one or more of the user grip pattern analysis data or the user motion sensor data using an encryption protocol (Guenther [0140] A further component of the computer apparatus 100 is a real random number generator, with which random values are generated. This random number generator supplies a random value to a symmetric encryption device that is also a part of the computer apparatus 100. This symmetric encryption device is constructed for the purpose of symmetrically encrypting the biometric signature data and the first hash sum. The key used herein is thus formed by the sum of the second hash sum and the generated random value.). Motivation would be same as stated in claim 1.
With regards to claim 7, Ribeiro in view of Guenther discloses, further comprising encrypting the digital watermark using an encryption protocol (Guenther [0162] Provided that the two hash sums displayed on the different monitors 13, 120 are identical, the signer will affix his signature on the apparatus 1. And the handwritten signature of the signer is electronically captured. Thereby signature data are generated. The signature data and optionally the electronic document 130 signed are encrypted using the transmitted first hash sum. [0163] In the signature capture apparatus a digital signature image of the captured handwritten signature of the signer is generated. The first hash sum is then embedded in the digital signature image of the captured handwritten signature of the signer by using a specified secret embedding technique. Afterwards, the encrypted signature data and optionally the encrypted electronic document 130 are transferred to the computer apparatus 100. The digital signature image with the embedded first hash sum is transferred to the computer apparatus 100, too.). Motivation would be same as stated in claim 1.
With regards to claim 8, Ribeiro further discloses, in a digital watermark setup process, collecting user biometric data, linking the user biometric data to the user identification, generating the digital watermark for the user identification, and storing the digital watermark linked to the user identification (FIG 4 and associated text; [0047] In embodiments, a device or server on the cloud 226 uses a digital ink authorship service to determine a user from a plurality of users who authored digital ink on a shared computer device 202. For example, a device or server on the cloud 226 can receive an encrypted sequence broadcast by User A's stylus device and the stylus ID for the stylus device. However, the shared computer device 202 may not have the cryptographic credentials (e.g., decryption key, initial seed value, or time since the initial seed value was generated) from the stylus device 100).
With regards to claim 7, Ribeiro in view of Guenther discloses, wherein embedding the digital watermark occurs at each time the user uses the stylus pen to make a stroke (Guenther [0163] In the signature capture apparatus a digital signature image of the captured handwritten signature of the signer is generated. The first hash sum is then embedded in the digital signature image of the captured handwritten signature of the signer by using a specified secret embedding technique.). Motivation would be same as stated in claim 1.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ribeiro (US 20160357275 A1) in view of Cohen(WO 2023042197 A1:IDS supplied).
With regards to claim 11-14, Ribeiro does not exclusively but Cohen teaches, A stylus pen further comprising a grip pattern sensor to collect grip pattern data; one or more motion sensors to collect motion sensor data; wherein the one or more motion sensors comprise one or more inertial motion sensors; wherein the one or more biometric sensors further comprises one or more of an image sensor or an acoustic sensor ([0029] A handwriting pattern representing a user’s signature may be generated by the processor 210 from signals received either from the biometric sensor or the pressure sensor, or from a combination of both. The biometric signal and the pressure signal may be synchronized by the processor. That is, for each of a series of time increments, during a period of time that a user is signing, positions of the pen are recorded by the processor together with a pressure measurement corresponding to each position. For example, a user signature may be recorded for a period of one second, with measurements of the biometric signal and of the pressure signal taken at 2 ms. increments. Start and stop times of the period defining the motion and/or pressure of a signature may be defined by signals from the motion sensor and/or the pressure sensor. For example, a motion signal defining the signal may be triggered by movement of the pen when in an upright position, and/or by pressure on the pen nib.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Ribeiro’s method with teaching of Cohen in order to providing signatures would improve security and authentication and reduce false repudiation(Cohen [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20230037709 A1, EP 3608762 B1, US 20220407708 A1
/MOHAMMED WALIULLAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2498