DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 3-5 recites multiple sentences in the claims are it is unclear if Applicant intends to claim the additional limitation after the initial sentence. For the purpose of examination, all sentences within Claims 1, 3-5 are considered as a whole to the best of Examiner’s abilities. Clarification and correction is respectfully requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kushner (US 7,872,187).
1: Kushner ‘187 teaches a guitar bag (guitar bag generally shown in Figures 1a-2b) consists of: a main body (main body generally shown as 16), a zipper (zipper 30a), and a handle (handle shown in Figure 1b and 2a). The main body includes a lower body (lower body 16) and an upper body (upper body 24). The lower body comprises a base (lower body bottom most portion 26) and side panels (vertical walls of 16), with the side panels surrounding the base (16 surrounds the perimeter of 26). The upper body comprises a cover (24) and cover panels (cover panel of 24, panels/side located along the perimeter of 24, along 24’s thickness), with the cover panels surrounding the cover (the sidewalls of 24 surrounds the perimeter of 24, see Figure 1b). One side of the zipper is connected to the side panels (30a is connected to the sidewalls of 24), while the other is connected to the cover panels (30a is connected to 16, see Figure 2a). The handle is positioned on the side panels (handle is on the panel 16, see Figure 2a).
8: Kushner ‘187 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Kushner further teaches that the base and the side panels form an integrated structure (see Figures 1a-2b).
9: Kushner ‘187 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Kushner further teaches that the cover and the cover panels form an integrated structure (see Figures 1a-2b).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kushner (Kushner ‘235 US 2014/0131235).
1: Kushner ‘235 teaches a guitar bag (bag generally shown in Figure 2) consists of: a main body (main body left side of Figure 2), a zipper (zipper 21b), and a handle (handle 32). The main body includes a lower body (lower body left side of 21b) and an upper body (upper body right side of 21b). The lower body comprises a base (base at 25b, Figure 2) and side panels (side walls generally indicated as 33, which surrounds the perimeter of the base), with the side panels surrounding the base. The upper body comprises a cover (right side of 21b is a cover) and cover panels (panels, side thickness of 25a), with the cover panels surrounding the cover (surrounds the perimeter of 45a). One side of the zipper is connected to the side panels, while the other is connected to the cover panels (21b is connected to the side panels located along the left side of 21b and connected to the sidewall of 45a, along its perimeter). The handle is positioned on the side panels (handle is on 33, Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kushner (US 7,872,187).
2: Kushner ‘187 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Kushner ‘187 further teaches that when the zipper closes the upper body and the lower body, the distance between the handle and the base is L1 (see L1 in Figure 1b below), and the distance between the handle and the cover is L2 (see L1 in Figure 1b below), except for the explicit teaching of where L1 = L2.
Kushner ‘187 does show in Figure 1b that L1 is approximately equal to L2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kushner ‘187 such that the teaching of L1=L2 is applied in order to permit the handle to be approximately in the middle of the side of the guitar bag so that the handle can be used to have a balanced hold at the handle. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no evidence that different portions of the broad range or values would work differently, here, there is no allegation of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range therefore such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
3: Kushner ‘187 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Kushner ‘187 further teaches that that the main body includes a neck (see neck in Figure 1b below) and a cavity (cavity behind the neck shown in Figure 2a). When the zipper closes the upper body and the lower body, at the neck, the distance between the zipper and the cover is d1 (see d1 below), and the distance between the zipper and the base is d2 (see d2 below) and d1 is shown as less than half of d2 in Figure 1b below except for the explicit teaching where dl ≥ d2/3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kushner ‘187 such that the teaching of dl ≥ d2/3 is applied in order to permit to have a smaller cover sidewalls in order to permit the cover to be easily lifted relative to the body when the guitar bag is in use. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no evidence that different portions of the broad range or values would work differently, here, there is no allegation of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range therefore such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
4: Kushner ‘187 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 3 and Kushner ‘187 further teach that when the zipper closes the upper body and the lower body, at the cavity, the distance between the zipper and the cover is h1 (see Figure 1b above), and the distance between the zipper and the base is h2 (see h2 in Figure 1b above) and Kushner ‘187 teaches that h2 is greater than h1 and h1 is less than half of h2 except for the explicit teaching where h2 > h1 ≥ h2/3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kushner ‘187 such that the teaching of h2 > h1 ≥ h2/3 is applied in order to permit to have a smaller cover sidewalls in order to permit the cover to be easily lifted relative to the body when the guitar bag is in use. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no evidence that different portions of the broad range or values would work differently, here, there is no allegation of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range therefore such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
5: Kushner ‘187 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 4 and Kushner ‘187 further teach that when the zipper closes the upper body and the lower body, at the neck, the distance between the zipper and the cover is dl (see d1 in Figure 1b above), and the distance between the zipper and the base is d2 (see d2 I Figure 1b above). At the cavity, the distance between the zipper and the cover is h1, and the distance between the zipper and the base is h2 (see h1 and h2 above and Figure 10 of Applicant’s drawings shows essentially the same structure as the prior art drawings) except for the explicit teaching of where dl = d2/2 and h1 = h2/2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kushner ‘187 such that the teaching of dl = d2/2 and h1 = h2/2 is applied in order to permit to have a smaller cover sidewalls in order to permit the cover to be easily lifted relative to the body when the guitar bag is in use. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no evidence that different portions of the broad range or values would work differently, here, there is no allegation of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range therefore such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kushner (US Kushner ‘235 US 2014/0131235).
2: Kushner ‘235 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Kushner ‘235 further teaches that when the zipper closes the upper body and the lower body, the distance between the handle and the base is L1 (see L1 in Figure 2 below), and the distance between the handle and the cover is L2 (see L1 in Figure 2 below), except for the explicit teaching of where L1 = L2.
Kushner ‘235 does show in Figure 1b that L1 is approximately equal to L2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kushner ‘235 such that the teaching of L1=L2 is applied in order to permit the handle to be approximately in the middle of the side of the guitar bag so that the handle can be used to have a balanced hold at the handle. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no evidence that different portions of the broad range or values would work differently, here, there is no allegation of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range therefore such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
3: Kushner ‘235 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 1 and Kushner ‘235 further teaches that that the main body includes a neck (see neck in Figure 1b below) and a cavity (cavity behind the neck shown in Figure 2a). When the zipper closes the upper body and the lower body, at the neck, the distance between the zipper and the cover is d1 (see d1 below), and the distance between the zipper and the base is d2 (see d2 below) and d1 is shown as less than half of d2 in Figure 1b below except for the explicit teaching where dl ≥ d2/3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kushner ‘235 such that the teaching of dl ≥ d2/3 is applied in order to permit to have a smaller cover sidewalls in order to permit the cover to be easily lifted relative to the body when the guitar bag is in use. Furthermore, Applicant has provided no evidence that different portions of the broad range or values would work differently, here, there is no allegation of criticality or any evidence demonstrating any difference across the range therefore such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
6: The modified Kushner ‘235 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 3 and Kushner ‘235 further teaches that in the direction from the neck to the cavity, the distance between zipper and the cover gradually decreases (distance between open zipper 21b decreases from 21b of 33 to 21b of 19 while the zipper is being zipped by the zipper head), while the distance between the zipper and the base gradually increases (distance from d1 to h4 gradually increases, see Figure 2).
7: The modified Kushner ‘235 teaches the claimed invention as discussed above for Claim 6 and Kushner ‘235 further teaches that when the zipper closes the upper body and the lower body, at the cavity, the distance between the zipper and the cover is h3, and the distance between the zipper and the base is h4, where h3 < h4 (see Figure 2 above where h3 is less than h4).
Conclusion
/King M Chu/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735