DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reed (US 2024/0162708).
Re Claims 1, 15 and 20; Reed discloses a method of battery power source integration and utilization at a drilling site, the method comprising: (Fig. 1-3, Par 0041, 56)
supplying power to the drilling site using a utility power source, wherein the utility power source includes a utility setpoint; (Fig.3 Par 0042, 80)
detecting an increase in a power demand to the drilling site, (Par 0050, 128, 0151)
wherein the increase in the power demand includes a load ramp indicating a rate which the power demand increases over a period of time; (Par 0045, 50, 0128) and
supplying additional power to the drilling site using a battery power source based, at least in part, on the load ramp and the utility setpoint. (Par 0045, 56,, 129 and 132)
Re Claim 2 and 16; Reed discloses further comprising: detecting the power demand associated with the drilling site may exceed the utility setpoint;
supplying the additional power to the drilling site using the battery power source, wherein the additional power provides energy to the drilling site exceeding the utility setpoint; and
maintaining the power to the drilling site using the utility power source with a power draw at the utility setpoint.(Par 0045)
Re Claim 3; Reed discloses further comprising: detecting a state of charge in the additional power provided by the battery power source; (Par 0152)
starting a generator associated with an energy supply system of the drilling site; and supplying generator power produced by the generator to the drilling site based, at least in part, on the state of charge of the battery power source.(Par 0154)
Re Claims 4 and 17; Reed discloses further comprising: determining a battery discharge level may exceed a continuous rating for a predetermined amount of time; (par 0061-2, 130-132)
starting a generator associated with an energy supply system of the drilling site; (0047, 134-7) and supplying generator power produced by the generator to the drilling site based, at least in part, on the battery discharge level exceeding the continuous rating for the predetermined amount of time. (Par 0137)
Re Claim 5; Reed discloses further comprising: determining a power generation capacity provided by the utility power source and the generator exceeds required capacity on the drilling site for a second predetermined amount of time; and shutting down the generator, wherein the generator stops supplying the generator power to the drilling site. (Par 0050, 51)
Re Claims 6 and 18; Reed discloses further comprising: determining the battery power source is unavailable to provide the additional power to the drilling site; starting a generator associated with an energy supply system of the drilling site; and supplying generator power to the drilling site using the generator based, at least in part, on the load ramp and the utility setpoint. (Par 0050, 51, 154)
Re Claims 7 and 19; Reed discloses further comprising: starting a generator associated with an energy supply system of the drilling site; operating the generator in a base load mode, wherein the base load mode includes a setpoint; supplying generator power to the drilling site using the generator based, at least in part, on the setpoint; detecting a decrease in the power demand associated with the drilling site; and adjusting the setpoint of the generator based on the decrease in the power demand associated with the drilling site, wherein the setpoint avoids exportation of the generator power to the utility power source. (Par 0045, 0050, 51, 154)
Re Claim 8; Reed discloses further comprising: starting a generator associated with an energy supply system of the drilling site; operating the generator in a base load mode, wherein the base load mode includes a setpoint; supplying generator power to the drilling site using the generator based, at least in part, on the setpoint; detecting an increase in the power demand associated with the drilling site; and adjusting the setpoint of the generator based on the increase in the power demand associated with the drilling site, wherein the setpoint avoids the power produced by the utility power source exceeding the utility setpoint. (Par 0045, 0050, 51, 154)
Re Claim 9; Reed discloses wherein the setpoint associated with the generator is provided by a power management system of the drilling site. (Par 0045, 0050, 51, 154)
Re Claim 10; Reed discloses wherein operating the generator includes setting a minimum setpoint, wherein the minimum setpoint prevents the generator from activating reverse power protections and tripping the generator into an offline state. (Par 0045, 0050, 51, 154, the minimum set point is 0.9MW)
Re Claim 11; Reed discloses further comprising: receiving battery information from the battery power source, (Par 0061-2) wherein the battery information includes a status and condition of the battery power source;
determining a battery utilization of the battery power source based on the battery information and an operation of the drilling site (77-8, 128-32); and adjusting the additional power from the battery power source based on the battery utilization.(Par 0077-9, 131-2)
Re Claim 12; Reed discloses further comprising: detecting a power demand of the drilling site exceeds a capacity threshold associated with the drilling site; and reducing the power demand of the drilling site by shedding a power load from equipment operating within the drilling site. (Par 0051)
Re Claim 13; Reed discloses further comprising: detecting a power draw of the power to the drilling site using the utility power source is within a threshold associated with the utility setpoint; and reducing the load ramp by reducing the power demand of the drilling site.(Par0 051)
Re Claim 14; Reed discloses further comprising: detecting a power draw from the power to the drilling site using the utility power source may exceed the utility setpoint by a predetermined amount; and reducing the power demand of the drilling site by shedding a power load from equipment operating within the drilling site. (Par 0051)
Conclusion
/DANIEL KESSIE/
10/06/2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836