DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
2. Pursuant to the amendment filed August 4, 2026, claims 1-20 are pending in the application. The applicant has amended claims 1, 6, 10, and 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginsberg et al. (US 2011/0037619 A1) in view of Rothschild et al. (US 12,243,420 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Ginsberg discloses:
a method ([0036]; FIG. 6; method of providing improved traffic routing), comprising:
Ginsberg does not explicitly disclose receiving, at a server, a type of a vehicle, but Ginsberg does disclose a controller that functions as a server ([0018]; FIG. 1: 120); Ginsberg does disclose that the controller collects location information and speed information ([0022], [0028]); Ginsberg does disclose the collection of information about emergency vehicle activity ([0028], [0037]); Ginsberg does disclose that emergency vehicles may be given priority to reach their destinations without interruption by stoplights ([0030]); Ginsberg does disclose that changes in speed limit occur on some roadways based on vehicle type ([0056]); and Ginsberg does disclose accounting for such changes in determining vehicle routes ([0056]), all of which suggests that the method of Ginsberg comprises receiving a type of a vehicle for the benefit of giving emergency vehicles priority to reach their destinations without interruption by stoplights and for the benefit of enabling the controller to account for changes in speed limit that occur based on vehicle type in determining vehicle routes;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the method of Ginsberg in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the method to give emergency vehicles priority to reach their destinations without interruption by stoplights and to account for changes in speed limit that occur based on vehicle type in determining vehicle routes;
generating, at the server, a route for the vehicle at least based on a location of the vehicle and the type of the vehicle ([0029], [0056]), and
wherein the type of the vehicle is indicative of an assigned priority of the vehicle ([0030]; emergency vehicles may be given priority to reach their destinations without interruption by stoplights); and
implementing, at the server, the route for the vehicle by communicating with one or more of multiple traffic light devices along the route ([0025], [0027], [0029], [0030]; FIG. 2: 124, 126, 127; the routing module 126 prepares routing instructions; the traffic signal instruction module 127 prepares instructions regarding when to turn lights off and on and the appropriate timing for the cycle of lights; the traffic signal interaction module 124 of the controller sends instructions to the traffic signals and receives status updates regarding the status of the lights of the traffic signals; the controller interaction module 134 of a traffic light receives the instructions from the controller 120 and passes them to the signal module 131 for controlling the status of the light).
Ginsberg does not disclose retrieving, at the server, a subscription plan associated with the vehicle; generating, at the server, an assigned priority to the vehicle based on the subscription plan.
Rothschild, addressing the same problem of how to control traffic lights, teaches a system, method, and computer readable storage device for providing geographically-converged locally-relevant telemetry data (col. 1, lines 28-30), wherein the system retrieves, at a server, a subscription plan associated with the vehicle, and generates, at the server, an assigned priority to the vehicle based on the subscription plan (col. 4, lines 49-52: A GCT processing node 110 may be deployed at a network node 104 or on another physical or virtual resource (e.g., a physical server computing device or a virtual server) in the edge network 105; col. 20, lines 23-33: Based on the received telemetry data 120, the GCT system 116 may identify one or more traffic control systems (e.g., traffic signal lights 720, pedestrian crossing signals, swing lane controllers) along the first vehicle's 705 route and may determine an estimated time the first vehicle may arrive at each of the traffic control systems. Further, based on the received telemetry data 120, the GCT system 116 may be able to determine control actions and timing of the one or more traffic control systems that may optimize the first vehicle's 705 travel time based on the first vehicle's priority access subscription) for the benefit of enabling the method to determine a geolocation of the telemetry, associate the geolocation with the data, and analyze and process the collected telemetry, for example, for one or a combination of: correlating local data points, making predictions, transforming data, filtering data, converging data, and determining which data are relevant to particular telemetry consumers (which may include the various transient telemetry sources) based at least in part on the geolocation associated with the data, so that as a vehicle moves and its location is continually updated, the data that are determined to be relevant to it will change, and relevancy can additionally be based on the type of telemetry data and the type of telemetry consumer (e.g., decisions made by the consumer) receiving the data (col. 1, lines 40-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Rothschild with the method of Ginsberg because that would have enabled the method to determine a geolocation of the telemetry, associate the geolocation with the data, and analyze and process the collected telemetry, for example, for one or a combination of: correlating local data points, making predictions, transforming data, filtering data, converging data, and determining which data are relevant to particular telemetry consumers (which may include the various transient telemetry sources) based at least in part on the geolocation associated with the data, so that as a vehicle moves and its location is continually updated, the data that are determined to be relevant to it will change, and relevancy can additionally be based on the type of telemetry data and the type of telemetry consumer (e.g., decisions made by the consumer).
Regarding claim 3, Ginsberg discloses generating the route based on the type of the vehicle. ([0056]; see further explanation in the rejection of claim 1.)
Regarding claim 4, Ginsberg discloses generating the route based on a characteristic of the vehicle, wherein the characteristic of the vehicle includes a status or a performance of the vehicle. ([0029], [0037], [0056]; Ginsberg discloses the collection of traffic conditions, which include emergency vehicle activity. Ginsberg further discloses preparing routing instructions based on traffic conditions, which entails preparing routing instructions based on emergency vehicle activity. Ginsberg also discloses generating a route based on a lower speed of a truck; see the rejection of claim 1.)
Regarding claim 5, Ginsberg does not explicitly disclose that the multiple traffic light devices along the route are configured to communicate with the server in a specific frequency band, but Ginsberg does disclose that the server communicates with the multiple traffic lights via cellular wireless channels, which operate in a specific frequency band, which suggests that the multiple traffic light devices along the route are configured to communicate with the server in a specific frequency band for the benefit of enabling the server to communicate with the multiple traffic lights via cellular wireless channels.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the method of Ginsberg in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the method to enable the server to communicate with the multiple traffic lights via cellular wireless channels.
Regarding claim 6, Ginsberg does not explicitly disclose that the one or more of multiple traffic light devices communicate with the server in a specific frequency, and wherein the specific frequency band is a CBRS (Citizens Broadband Radio Service) band, but Ginsberg does disclose that the server communicates via “other technologies” ([0020]), Ginsberg does disclose that the server prepares routes for emergency vehicles and trucks (see the rejection of claim 1), and it is notoriously well known that Citizens Broadband Radio Service (CBRS) is a public, unlicensed radio service that has reserved channels for emergency vehicles and trucks, which suggests that Ginsberg’s method would operate via CBRS for the benefit of employing a frequency band that is public, unlicensed, has reserved channels for emergency vehicles and trucks, and is already used by emergency vehicles and trucks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have configured the method of Ginsberg in the foregoing manner because that would have enabled the method to employ frequency band that is public, unlicensed, has reserved channels for emergency vehicles and trucks, and is already used by emergency vehicles and trucks.
Regarding claim 8, Ginsberg discloses that implementing, at the server, the route for the vehicle comprises: instructing the one or more of multiple traffic light devices along the route to grant access to the vehicle upon detecting the vehicle approaches the one or more of multiple traffic light devices. ([0030]; emergency responder vehicles are given priority to reach their destinations without interruption by stoplights.)
Regarding claim 10, Ginsberg discloses:
a computing system ([0018], [0065]; FIG. 1: 120; FIG. 4: 120; the apparatus comprises a general-purpose computer selectively activated or reconfigured by a computer program stored on a computer readable medium that can be accessed by the computer and run by a computer processor) comprising:
at least one processor ([0065]; see above); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing system to perform a process ([0065]; see above) comprising:
the remainder of claim 10 is rejected as claim 1.
Claim 11 is rejected as claim 2.
Claim 12 is rejected as claim 3.
Claim 13 is rejected as claim 4.
Claim 14 is rejected as claim 6.
Claim 15 is rejected as claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, Ginsberg discloses:
a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations ([0018], [0065]; FIG. 1: 120; FIG. 4: 120; the apparatus comprises a general-purpose computer selectively activated or reconfigured by a computer program stored on a computer readable medium that can be accessed by the computer and run by a computer processor) comprising:
the remainder of claim 17 is rejected as claim 1.
Claim 18 is rejected as claim 2.
Claim 19 is rejected as claim 8.
5. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginsberg and Rothschild further in view of Shuff (US 10,600,319 B1)
Regarding claim 2, Ginsberg discloses that the server performs two-way communication with a traffic light. ([0025])
The above combination does not disclose determining, at the server, the location of the vehicle by communicating with at least one of the multiple traffic light devices.
Shuff, addressing the same problem of how to determine the location of a vehicle, teaches an adaptive traffic signal for directing vehicles to stop or move on the road, through an intersection and an intersection traffic control system implementing the adaptive traffic signal (col. 1, lines 5-9), wherein a traffic signal includes a plurality of sensors including a first EO (visual electro optical) or IR (infrared) camera for detecting vehicle data including the presence of the vehicles, the location of the vehicles, the turn signal status of the vehicles, the type of the vehicles, the size of the vehicles and the number of the vehicles in a traffic lane (col. 5, lines 48-55), wherein the traffic signal includes a transmitter and a receiver (col. 7, lines 31-32) and wherein the traffic signal transmits sensor data to a central traffic control monitoring center (col. 16, lines 28-35) for the benefit of enabling the central traffic control monitoring center to resolve sound information detected by a microphone at the traffic signal (col. 16, lines 28-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Shuff with the method of the above combination because that would have enabled the method to resolve sound information detected by a microphone at the traffic signal.
The above combination does not explicitly disclose determining at the server the location of the vehicle by communication with at least one of the multiple traffic lights, but the above combination does disclose that a traffic light comprises sensors that detect the location of vehicles, the above combination does disclose that the traffic light comprises a transmitter and a receiver, and the above combination does disclose that the above combination does disclose that the traffic light transmits sensor data to a central traffic control monitoring center, and Ginsberg discloses that the server acquires the location of a vehicle from a user device ([0016]), all of which suggests that in the combination of Shuff with Ginsberg and Rothschild, the traffic signal would transmit the location of a vehicle to the server for the benefit of enabling the method to obtain a vehicle’s location independently from a user device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have determined through routing experimentation to send vehicle location from the traffic light to the server because that would have enabled the server in method of the above combination to determine vehicle location independently from a user device.
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginsberg and Rothschild further in view of Pogula et al. (US 2018/0005522 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ginsberg discloses that each of the multiple traffic light devices includes a controller and a traffic light module. ([0024], [0025]; FIG. 3: 134)
The above combination does not disclose that each of the multiple traffic light devices includes a camera module.
Pogula, addressing the same problem of how to arrange a vehicle route, teaches IoT (Internet of Things) and/or cloud enabled faster ambulances ([0001]), wherein traffic lights include cameras ([0015]) for the benefit that the travel direction of an ambulance can be determined based on camera data to determine whether the traffic signal has been crossed, so that once the traffic signal has been crossed, the traffic signal IoT cancels the traffic signal override ([0027])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Pogula with the method of the above combination because that would have enabled the method to determine the travel direction of an ambulance based on camera data to determine whether the traffic signal has been crossed, so that once the traffic signal has been crossed, the traffic signal IoT cancels the traffic signal override.
8. Claims 9, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ginsberg and Rothschild further in view of Todasco et al. (US 2019/0120654 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the above combination does not disclose that wherein planning, at the server, the route for the vehicle at least based on the request and a set of rules comprises: deviating the vehicle to a point of interests (POI) based on an advertisement plan.
Todasco, addressing the same problem of how to arrange the route of a vehicle, teaches processing user data with real-time routing data to output specific route displays in a map application based on user specific parameters ([0001]), comprising planning, at the server, the route for the vehicle at least based on the request and a set of rules comprises: deviating the vehicle to a point of interests (POI) based on an advertisement plan ([0018], [0022]) for the benefit that the route selection criteria may include or correspond to advertisements and/or an advertisement campaign by an advertiser associated with the application/service provider ([0018]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Todasco with the method of the above combination because that would have enabled the route selection criteria to include or correspond to advertisements and/or an advertisement campaign by an advertiser associated with the application/service provider.
Claim 16 is rejected as claim 9.
Claim 20 is rejected as claim 9.
Response to Arguments
9. The applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
10. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Takahashi (US 2019/0206244 A1) discloses that weighting performed depending on a kind of the vehicle is, for example, heavily weighting public transport and an emergency vehicle. The in-vehicle device transmits attribute information such as a kind of the vehicle mounted with the device to associate with the planned moving route information. Based on the attribute information associated with the planned moving route information received by the receiving unit, the traffic light control device controls the traffic light machine giving more priority to public transport and an emergency vehicle.
The applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN F MORTELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689