DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-24, 26, 27, and 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Miller (USP 2,201,372).
In regards to claim 21, Miller discloses a press fitting for an electrical conduit comprising:
a fitting body (12) having first and second open ends, and an interior surface defining a passage (central bore) adapted to receive a piece of the electrical conduit therein, the fitting body including a press-connection section (16) that is deformable radially inward during a press connection process and a conduit retainer section (15) defining an inner dimension that is smaller than an inner dimension of the press-connection section;
a conduit retainer (26) in the passage at the conduit retainer section of the fitting body, the conduit retainer configured to releasably grip and removably retain the piece of electrical conduit in the fitting body before the press-connection section is deformed radially inward during the press connection process (see at least page 2, right column, lines 24-28 which discloses a temporary connection);
wherein the conduit retainer includes at least one detent (25) adapted to engage the piece of electrical conduit in the fitting body to releasably grip and removably retain the piece of electrical conduit in the fitting body.
In regards to claim 22, Miller further discloses the at least one detent is resiliently deflectable upon engagement with the piece of electrical conduit in the fitting body (shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 23, Miller further discloses the at least one detent includes a plurality of detents (shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 24, Miller further discloses the conduit retainer has a generally cylindrical shape (shown in fig.2) having opposite first and second open longitudinal ends, a longitudinal socket (central bore) for receiving the piece of electrical conduit, and an axis (central axis) extending through the longitudinal socket between the first and second open longitudinal ends.
In regards to claim 26, Miller further discloses the conduit retainer comprises an annular body (shown in fig. 2).
In regards to claim 27, Miller further discloses the conduit retainer includes a plurality of conduit retainers (each ring 26).
In regards to claim 30, Miller further discloses the conduit retainer comprises two conduit retainers arranged as mirror images about a central transverse plane of the fitting body (shown in fig. 1).
In regards to claim 31, Miller further discloses at least a portion of the conduit retainer section of the fitting body has a cross-sectional diameter that tapers (see at “28”) in a direction away from the press-connection section.
In regards to claim 32, Miller further discloses the conduit retainer section of the fitting body has a uniform section (see flat portion between “12” and “15”) adjacent the press-connection section and having a uniform cross-sectional diameter, said portion of the conduit retainer section comprising a tapering section (15) having a cross-sectional diameter that tapers.
Double Patenting
Claims 21-36 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,652,339 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 21-36 are generic to all that is recited in claims 1-15 of the reference patent. In other words, claims 1-15 of the reference patent fully encompasses the subject matter of claims 21-36. Thus, the invention of claims 1-15 of the reference application is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of claims 21-36. It has been held that the generic invention is anticipated by the species, see In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since claims 21-36 are anticipated by claims 1-15 of the reference patent, claims 21-36 are not patentably distinct from claims 1-15, regardless of any additional subject matter presented in claims 1-15.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 25, 28, 29, and 33-36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the double patenting rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679 02/11/2026