DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Application filed on December 31, 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 30, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-3, 5-10, 12-13, and 17-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 7, the claim recites “the first, second, or third autonomous driving models”, yet these features have not been previously introduced in a claim that claim 7 is dependent upon, therefore it is recommended to change the limitation to recite -- a first, second, or third autonomous driving models--.
In regards to claim 7, the claim recites “the server device” yet these features have not been previously introduced in a claim that claim 7 is dependent upon, therefore it is recommended to change the limitation to recite -- a server device --.
In regards to claim 18, the claim recites “the server device” yet these features have not been previously introduced, therefore it is recommended to change the limitation to recite -- a server device --.
In regards to claim 18, the claim recites “one of the first autonomous driving model, the second autonomous driving model, or the third autonomous driving model”, yet these features have not been previously introduced in a claim that claim 18 is dependent upon, therefore it is recommended to change the limitation to recite -- one of a first autonomous driving model, a second autonomous driving model, or a third autonomous driving model --.
In regards to claims 2, 9-10, 12, and 17, it is noted that “if” statements are claimed, which does not fully positively recite the limitations included in the “if” statement. It is suggested to amend the claims to recite “when” instead of “if” to more positively recite the claim limitations.
In regards to claims 3, 5-6, 8, 13, and 15, the claims are dependent upon objected claims and are therefore objected to.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Skaaksrud et al. (US 20210354287; hereinafter Skaaksrud; already of record from IDS)
In regards to claim 1, Skaaksrud discloses of a purpose-built vehicle (PBV) device (“A modular multiple mobility base assembly apparatus is described for transporting an item being shipped having a base adapter plate and two cooperating and coordinating modular mobility bases that are each coupled to the bottom of the base adapter plate and collectively support the base adapter plate. One of the modular mobility bases operations a master autonomous mobile vehicle, while the other operates as a slave autonomous mobile vehicle that receives propulsion and steering control signals from the master while providing feedback sensor data to the master for use in coordinated and cooperative movement of the assembly apparatus. Each of the modular mobility bases also including respective wireless transceivers through which at least the control signals and sensor data are provided between mobility base units.” (Abstract), see also Fig 17), comprising:
a work module identification unit for identifying that at least one work module is loaded or coupled to the purpose-built vehicle (“FIG. 22B further shows CSS 1720 may include exemplary sensors 2235a-2235c and sensor interface 2230. Exemplary sensor interface 2230 may be implemented with, for example, circuitry for buffering, processing, and/or interfacing with bus 2250. Other embodiments of sensor interface 2230 may implement a sensor wireless interface dedicated for sensor data broadcasting without the need to interface with bus 2250 or in addition to providing the sensor data on bus 2250). As noted above, an embodiment of one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as one or more proximity sensors for detecting the position and/or height of an item/object that may be moved by articulating object manipulation structure deployed within the CSS (as shown in FIGS. 27A-27C). In another example, one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as environmental sensors used for payload monitoring by MAM 1725 and/or climate monitoring within CSS 1720 as part of feedback for controlling climate control module 2210. Embodiments of sensors 2235a-2235c may be disposed on one or more internal sides of at least one of the folding structural walls 2105 of an exemplary CSS 1720 so that the sensors may monitor contents of the modular CSS 1720 in the payload area and/or a current environmental condition in the payload area. Sensor data from sensors 2235a-2235c may be provided through interface 2230 to bus 2250 (or directly to bus 2250), or to wireless interface 2215 through interface 2230 (or directly to wireless interface 2230) to an authorized recipient of such sensor data (e.g., an authorized control component of apparatus 1700 or an authorized external wireless node disposed external to the modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700.” (Para 0545), “FIGS. 43A-43F are diagrams of an exemplary modular autonomous logistics transport vehicle apparatus (MALVT bot apparatus) assembly 1700 as it is involved in various stages of an exemplary dispatched logistics operation in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Referring now to FIG. 43A, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 is shown in an assembled configuration (e.g., after assembly according to exemplary method 4100) with a dispatch server 4205. In this general example, exemplary dispatch server 4205 transmits a dispatch command 4305 through network 4300 (e.g., via a wireless communication path) for receipt by the exemplary MAM 1725 in exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700. As part of the exemplary dispatched logistics operation related to the dispatch command 4305, an item or object 4310 may be loaded into exemplary CSS 1720 after cargo door 1715 is opened. Detection of the loaded item may be accomplished using internal sensor(s) 3130 that monitor the payload area in CSS 1720 and under MAM 1725. Once the exemplary CSS 1720 has received item 4310 being shipped or otherwise transported on exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 may have the autonomous controller in MAM 1725 direct and control movement of exemplary MB 1705 to move exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 from one location to another.” (Para 0708), “Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), see also Para 0556, 0563 and Figs 19, 43A-43F);
a communication unit for transmitting and receiving data (“In a further embodiment, exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may also include a wireless transceiver 1845 operatively coupled to the mobility controller 1825. The wireless transceiver 1845 may be implemented as a hardware radio, a wireless transceiver implemented with a combination of hardware and software, or a software defined radio (SDR) implementation of a wireless radio transceiver similar to that described above with respect to an ID node. Such a wireless transceiver 1845 provides a bi-directional wireless data path between the mobility controller 1825 and other modular components equipped with similar wireless transceivers as well as external wireless nodes disposed external to the modular autonomous bot apparatus. As such, exemplary wireless transceiver 1845 on exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may facilitate remote wireless control of the modular mobility base 1705 via the bi-directional wireless data path by another modular component or an external wireless node disposed external to the modular mobility base 1705. For example, exemplary mobility controller 1825 may generate the support base orientation control signal to cause the selectively adjustable suspension system 1840 to activate and change the oriented configuration of the support base 1800 relative to the set of wheels 1805 from the first orientation state to the second orientation state based upon and in response to control command from a MAM 1725 or a wireless control command from such an external wireless node disposed external to the modular mobility base 1705 (e.g., from a handheld mobile user access device similar to devices 200, 205 described above, and the like).” (Para 0481), see also Para 0489); and
at least one processor connected to the work module identification unit and the communication unit (“The exemplary mobility controller 1825 is a processor-based control element disposed as part of the mobile base platform 1800 and may be implemented with an ID node type of controller and programming to interface with other circuitry onboard the modular mobility base as well as with other modular components within a modular autonomous bot apparatus assembly of such components. In more detail, mobility controller 1825 is operative to generate a propulsion control signal for controlling speed of the modular mobility base 1705 and a steering control signal for controlling navigation of the modular mobility base 1705. Those skilled in the art will appreciate that the propulsion control signal that impacts and controls speed of the propulsion system 1830 may also control braking (e.g., via an active reduction in speed of wheels 1805 and/or with the propulsion control signal actuating one or more brakes (not shown) on the modular mobility base 1705).” (Para 0473), “In a further embodiment, exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may also include a wireless transceiver 1845 operatively coupled to the mobility controller 1825. The wireless transceiver 1845 may be implemented as a hardware radio, a wireless transceiver implemented with a combination of hardware and software, or a software defined radio (SDR) implementation of a wireless radio transceiver similar to that described above with respect to an ID node. Such a wireless transceiver 1845 provides a bi-directional wireless data path between the mobility controller 1825 and other modular components equipped with similar wireless transceivers as well as external wireless nodes disposed external to the modular autonomous bot apparatus. As such, exemplary wireless transceiver 1845 on exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may facilitate remote wireless control of the modular mobility base 1705 via the bi-directional wireless data path by another modular component or an external wireless node disposed external to the modular mobility base 1705. For example, exemplary mobility controller 1825 may generate the support base orientation control signal to cause the selectively adjustable suspension system 1840 to activate and change the oriented configuration of the support base 1800 relative to the set of wheels 1805 from the first orientation state to the second orientation state based upon and in response to control command from a MAM 1725 or a wireless control command from such an external wireless node disposed external to the modular mobility base 1705 (e.g., from a handheld mobile user access device similar to devices 200, 205 described above, and the like).” (Para 0481));
wherein the at least one processor:
identifies that a work module is loaded or coupled to the purpose-built vehicle (“FIG. 22B further shows CSS 1720 may include exemplary sensors 2235a-2235c and sensor interface 2230. Exemplary sensor interface 2230 may be implemented with, for example, circuitry for buffering, processing, and/or interfacing with bus 2250. Other embodiments of sensor interface 2230 may implement a sensor wireless interface dedicated for sensor data broadcasting without the need to interface with bus 2250 or in addition to providing the sensor data on bus 2250). As noted above, an embodiment of one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as one or more proximity sensors for detecting the position and/or height of an item/object that may be moved by articulating object manipulation structure deployed within the CSS (as shown in FIGS. 27A-27C). In another example, one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as environmental sensors used for payload monitoring by MAM 1725 and/or climate monitoring within CSS 1720 as part of feedback for controlling climate control module 2210. Embodiments of sensors 2235a-2235c may be disposed on one or more internal sides of at least one of the folding structural walls 2105 of an exemplary CSS 1720 so that the sensors may monitor contents of the modular CSS 1720 in the payload area and/or a current environmental condition in the payload area. Sensor data from sensors 2235a-2235c may be provided through interface 2230 to bus 2250 (or directly to bus 2250), or to wireless interface 2215 through interface 2230 (or directly to wireless interface 2230) to an authorized recipient of such sensor data (e.g., an authorized control component of apparatus 1700 or an authorized external wireless node disposed external to the modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700.” (Para 0545), “FIGS. 43A-43F are diagrams of an exemplary modular autonomous logistics transport vehicle apparatus (MALVT bot apparatus) assembly 1700 as it is involved in various stages of an exemplary dispatched logistics operation in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Referring now to FIG. 43A, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 is shown in an assembled configuration (e.g., after assembly according to exemplary method 4100) with a dispatch server 4205. In this general example, exemplary dispatch server 4205 transmits a dispatch command 4305 through network 4300 (e.g., via a wireless communication path) for receipt by the exemplary MAM 1725 in exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700. As part of the exemplary dispatched logistics operation related to the dispatch command 4305, an item or object 4310 may be loaded into exemplary CSS 1720 after cargo door 1715 is opened. Detection of the loaded item may be accomplished using internal sensor(s) 3130 that monitor the payload area in CSS 1720 and under MAM 1725. Once the exemplary CSS 1720 has received item 4310 being shipped or otherwise transported on exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 may have the autonomous controller in MAM 1725 direct and control movement of exemplary MB 1705 to move exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 from one location to another.” (Para 0708), “Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), see also Para 0556, 0563 and Figs 19, 43A-43F);
identifies a connection type of the work module through the work module identification unit (“FIG. 22B further shows CSS 1720 may include exemplary sensors 2235a-2235c and sensor interface 2230. Exemplary sensor interface 2230 may be implemented with, for example, circuitry for buffering, processing, and/or interfacing with bus 2250. Other embodiments of sensor interface 2230 may implement a sensor wireless interface dedicated for sensor data broadcasting without the need to interface with bus 2250 or in addition to providing the sensor data on bus 2250). As noted above, an embodiment of one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as one or more proximity sensors for detecting the position and/or height of an item/object that may be moved by articulating object manipulation structure deployed within the CSS (as shown in FIGS. 27A-27C). In another example, one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as environmental sensors used for payload monitoring by MAM 1725 and/or climate monitoring within CSS 1720 as part of feedback for controlling climate control module 2210. Embodiments of sensors 2235a-2235c may be disposed on one or more internal sides of at least one of the folding structural walls 2105 of an exemplary CSS 1720 so that the sensors may monitor contents of the modular CSS 1720 in the payload area and/or a current environmental condition in the payload area. Sensor data from sensors 2235a-2235c may be provided through interface 2230 to bus 2250 (or directly to bus 2250), or to wireless interface 2215 through interface 2230 (or directly to wireless interface 2230) to an authorized recipient of such sensor data (e.g., an authorized control component of apparatus 1700 or an authorized external wireless node disposed external to the modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700.” (Para 0545), “FIGS. 43A-43F are diagrams of an exemplary modular autonomous logistics transport vehicle apparatus (MALVT bot apparatus) assembly 1700 as it is involved in various stages of an exemplary dispatched logistics operation in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Referring now to FIG. 43A, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 is shown in an assembled configuration (e.g., after assembly according to exemplary method 4100) with a dispatch server 4205. In this general example, exemplary dispatch server 4205 transmits a dispatch command 4305 through network 4300 (e.g., via a wireless communication path) for receipt by the exemplary MAM 1725 in exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700. As part of the exemplary dispatched logistics operation related to the dispatch command 4305, an item or object 4310 may be loaded into exemplary CSS 1720 after cargo door 1715 is opened. Detection of the loaded item may be accomplished using internal sensor(s) 3130 that monitor the payload area in CSS 1720 and under MAM 1725. Once the exemplary CSS 1720 has received item 4310 being shipped or otherwise transported on exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 may have the autonomous controller in MAM 1725 direct and control movement of exemplary MB 1705 to move exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 from one location to another.” (Para 0708), “Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), see also Para 0556, 0563 and Figs 19, 43A-43F; wherein the system works differently depending on two units being connected or based on a payload being loaded); and
is configured to control the purpose-built vehicle based on an autonomous driving model corresponding to the connection type of the work module and a driving mode of the purpose-built vehicle “Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), “With an embodiment of this modular design, a system of exemplary MB units 1705 may be operated in a “collaboration mode” to achieve higher operational throughput, such as enhanced functionality for on-road use or higher payload for freight operations in station. FIG. 19 is a diagram of an exemplary assembly 1900 of multiple modular mobility base components 1705a, 1705b paired with an exemplary extended base adapter plate module (BAPM) 1905 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.” (Para 0488), see also Para 0576, 0584);
wherein the connection type of the work module includes one among a first connection type indicating a type connected through a coupling unit of the purpose-built vehicle and a second connection type indicating a type loaded through a loading unit of the purpose-built vehicle (“FIG. 22B further shows CSS 1720 may include exemplary sensors 2235a-2235c and sensor interface 2230. Exemplary sensor interface 2230 may be implemented with, for example, circuitry for buffering, processing, and/or interfacing with bus 2250. Other embodiments of sensor interface 2230 may implement a sensor wireless interface dedicated for sensor data broadcasting without the need to interface with bus 2250 or in addition to providing the sensor data on bus 2250). As noted above, an embodiment of one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as one or more proximity sensors for detecting the position and/or height of an item/object that may be moved by articulating object manipulation structure deployed within the CSS (as shown in FIGS. 27A-27C). In another example, one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as environmental sensors used for payload monitoring by MAM 1725 and/or climate monitoring within CSS 1720 as part of feedback for controlling climate control module 2210. Embodiments of sensors 2235a-2235c may be disposed on one or more internal sides of at least one of the folding structural walls 2105 of an exemplary CSS 1720 so that the sensors may monitor contents of the modular CSS 1720 in the payload area and/or a current environmental condition in the payload area. Sensor data from sensors 2235a-2235c may be provided through interface 2230 to bus 2250 (or directly to bus 2250), or to wireless interface 2215 through interface 2230 (or directly to wireless interface 2230) to an authorized recipient of such sensor data (e.g., an authorized control component of apparatus 1700 or an authorized external wireless node disposed external to the modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700.” (Para 0545), “FIGS. 43A-43F are diagrams of an exemplary modular autonomous logistics transport vehicle apparatus (MALVT bot apparatus) assembly 1700 as it is involved in various stages of an exemplary dispatched logistics operation in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Referring now to FIG. 43A, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 is shown in an assembled configuration (e.g., after assembly according to exemplary method 4100) with a dispatch server 4205. In this general example, exemplary dispatch server 4205 transmits a dispatch command 4305 through network 4300 (e.g., via a wireless communication path) for receipt by the exemplary MAM 1725 in exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700. As part of the exemplary dispatched logistics operation related to the dispatch command 4305, an item or object 4310 may be loaded into exemplary CSS 1720 after cargo door 1715 is opened. Detection of the loaded item may be accomplished using internal sensor(s) 3130 that monitor the payload area in CSS 1720 and under MAM 1725. Once the exemplary CSS 1720 has received item 4310 being shipped or otherwise transported on exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 may have the autonomous controller in MAM 1725 direct and control movement of exemplary MB 1705 to move exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 from one location to another.” (Para 0708), “Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), see also Para 0556, 0563 and Figs 19, 43A-43F, and
wherein the driving mode of the purpose-built vehicle includes a first driving mode indicating an individual driving mode and a second driving mode indicating a collaborative driving mode “Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), “With an embodiment of this modular design, a system of exemplary MB units 1705 may be operated in a “collaboration mode” to achieve higher operational throughput, such as enhanced functionality for on-road use or higher payload for freight operations in station. FIG. 19 is a diagram of an exemplary assembly 1900 of multiple modular mobility base components 1705a, 1705b paired with an exemplary extended base adapter plate module (BAPM) 1905 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.” (Para 0488), “If an exemplary MB 1705 were to provide sufficient power, and no additional power source may be needed for a particular configuration of apparatus 1700, a BAPM may be used as part of assembly 1700 and also provide modular mechanical connectivity from the Mobile Base unit(s) 1705 to the additional modular components of apparatus 1700 on top. A further exemplary form factor of such an exemplary BAPM may be to utilize two Mobility Bases, connected together mechanically via the BAPM—e.g., such as that shown in FIG. 19 with an extended BAPM 1905 supported by and connecting MBs 1705a, 1705b. This novel configuration (with interconnected modular MB units 1705a, 1705b) may provide additional transport capability for large objects, freight handling units, etc. And as explained above, an exemplary tandem MB configuration connected with a BAPM (such as assembly 1900 shown in FIG. 19) may provide the ability to have each MB articulate individually and/or collaboratively so as to handle terrain with obstacles (e.g., where one MB 1705a is actuated to move higher than the other MB 1705b for navigation of difficult terrain, or collectively raising up to a truck or van to receive objects while on a level surface or collaboratively adapting to an inclined or otherwise uneven ground surface). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that further embodiments may assembly such a multiple MB configuration (with an extended BAPM 1905) into an exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly that uses a larger sized modular CSS 1720 and larger sized modular MAM 1725 to accommodate and enclose the area above the extended BAPM 1905.” (Para 0512), see also Para 0576, 0584, 0432).
In regards to claim 2, Skaaksrud discloses of the device of claim 1, wherein:
the work module identification unit comprises:
a first identification unit connected to the coupling unit of the purpose-built vehicle (“Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), see also Fig 19);
a second identification unit connected to the loading unit of the purpose-built vehicle (“FIG. 22B further shows CSS 1720 may include exemplary sensors 2235a-2235c and sensor interface 2230. Exemplary sensor interface 2230 may be implemented with, for example, circuitry for buffering, processing, and/or interfacing with bus 2250. Other embodiments of sensor interface 2230 may implement a sensor wireless interface dedicated for sensor data broadcasting without the need to interface with bus 2250 or in addition to providing the sensor data on bus 2250). As noted above, an embodiment of one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as one or more proximity sensors for detecting the position and/or height of an item/object that may be moved by articulating object manipulation structure deployed within the CSS (as shown in FIGS. 27A-27C). In another example, one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as environmental sensors used for payload monitoring by MAM 1725 and/or climate monitoring within CSS 1720 as part of feedback for controlling climate control module 2210. Embodiments of sensors 2235a-2235c may be disposed on one or more internal sides of at least one of the folding structural walls 2105 of an exemplary CSS 1720 so that the sensors may monitor contents of the modular CSS 1720 in the payload area and/or a current environmental condition in the payload area. Sensor data from sensors 2235a-2235c may be provided through interface 2230 to bus 2250 (or directly to bus 2250), or to wireless interface 2215 through interface 2230 (or directly to wireless interface 2230) to an authorized recipient of such sensor data (e.g., an authorized control component of apparatus 1700 or an authorized external wireless node disposed external to the modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700.” (Para 0545), “FIGS. 43A-43F are diagrams of an exemplary modular autonomous logistics transport vehicle apparatus (MALVT bot apparatus) assembly 1700 as it is involved in various stages of an exemplary dispatched logistics operation in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Referring now to FIG. 43A, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 is shown in an assembled configuration (e.g., after assembly according to exemplary method 4100) with a dispatch server 4205. In this general example, exemplary dispatch server 4205 transmits a dispatch command 4305 through network 4300 (e.g., via a wireless communication path) for receipt by the exemplary MAM 1725 in exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700. As part of the exemplary dispatched logistics operation related to the dispatch command 4305, an item or object 4310 may be loaded into exemplary CSS 1720 after cargo door 1715 is opened. Detection of the loaded item may be accomplished using internal sensor(s) 3130 that monitor the payload area in CSS 1720 and under MAM 1725. Once the exemplary CSS 1720 has received item 4310 being shipped or otherwise transported on exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 may have the autonomous controller in MAM 1725 direct and control movement of exemplary MB 1705 to move exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 from one location to another.” (Para 0708), see also Para 0556, 0563 and Figs 43A-43F); and
the at least one processor is configured to:
determine the connection type of the work module as the first connection type if a first connection signal is identified through the first identification unit (“Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), see also Fig 19),
and determine the connection type of the work module as the second connection type if a second connection signal is identified through the second identification unit (“FIG. 22B further shows CSS 1720 may include exemplary sensors 2235a-2235c and sensor interface 2230. Exemplary sensor interface 2230 may be implemented with, for example, circuitry for buffering, processing, and/or interfacing with bus 2250. Other embodiments of sensor interface 2230 may implement a sensor wireless interface dedicated for sensor data broadcasting without the need to interface with bus 2250 or in addition to providing the sensor data on bus 2250). As noted above, an embodiment of one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as one or more proximity sensors for detecting the position and/or height of an item/object that may be moved by articulating object manipulation structure deployed within the CSS (as shown in FIGS. 27A-27C). In another example, one or more of such sensors 2235a-2235c may be implemented as environmental sensors used for payload monitoring by MAM 1725 and/or climate monitoring within CSS 1720 as part of feedback for controlling climate control module 2210. Embodiments of sensors 2235a-2235c may be disposed on one or more internal sides of at least one of the folding structural walls 2105 of an exemplary CSS 1720 so that the sensors may monitor contents of the modular CSS 1720 in the payload area and/or a current environmental condition in the payload area. Sensor data from sensors 2235a-2235c may be provided through interface 2230 to bus 2250 (or directly to bus 2250), or to wireless interface 2215 through interface 2230 (or directly to wireless interface 2230) to an authorized recipient of such sensor data (e.g., an authorized control component of apparatus 1700 or an authorized external wireless node disposed external to the modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700.” (Para 0545), “FIGS. 43A-43F are diagrams of an exemplary modular autonomous logistics transport vehicle apparatus (MALVT bot apparatus) assembly 1700 as it is involved in various stages of an exemplary dispatched logistics operation in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Referring now to FIG. 43A, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 is shown in an assembled configuration (e.g., after assembly according to exemplary method 4100) with a dispatch server 4205. In this general example, exemplary dispatch server 4205 transmits a dispatch command 4305 through network 4300 (e.g., via a wireless communication path) for receipt by the exemplary MAM 1725 in exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700. As part of the exemplary dispatched logistics operation related to the dispatch command 4305, an item or object 4310 may be loaded into exemplary CSS 1720 after cargo door 1715 is opened. Detection of the loaded item may be accomplished using internal sensor(s) 3130 that monitor the payload area in CSS 1720 and under MAM 1725. Once the exemplary CSS 1720 has received item 4310 being shipped or otherwise transported on exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700, exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 may have the autonomous controller in MAM 1725 direct and control movement of exemplary MB 1705 to move exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly 1700 from one location to another.” (Para 0708), see also Para 0556, 0563 and Figs 43A-43F).
In regards to claim 3, Skaaksrud discloses of the device of claim 2, wherein:
the coupling unit comprises a coupler (“As will be described in more detail below, exemplary modular components of an exemplary MALVT modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700 may communicate with each other through wireless communication as well as through a common modular component electronics interface that provides a conduit for power sharing and data/control communications between the different modular components making up the exemplary MALVT modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700. As such, an exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may also include an exemplary modular component electronics interface 1860 disposed on the top support surface of the mobile base platform 1800. Exemplary modular component electronics interface 1860 provides a bus-like conduit or a power and data mated interface to at least the another modular component of the modular autonomous bot apparatus so that actively powered devices and circuitry may be coupled to a power part of interface 1860, while electronic devices that communicate with others onboard or outside of exemplary MB 1705 may be operatively coupled to a data/control communications part of interface 1860. For example, mobility controller 1825 may be coupled to interface 1860 so that mobility controller 1825 may have a wired connection to electronic components in other modular components of an exemplary MALVT modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700 (e.g., an autonomous controller that is operating in an exemplary MAM 1725 and coupled to mobility controller 1825 through interface 1860). In more detail, data/control communications part of interface 1860 may be implemented with a modular mated bus interface connection for at least relaying feedback sensor data from the sensors 1815 coupled to the mobility controller 1825 to at least another modular component of the modular autonomous bot apparatus and for receiving control commands from other modular components of the modular autonomous bot apparatus that responsively causes the mobility controller 1825 to generate the propulsion control signal and the steering control signal.” (Para 0483), “While exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may be powered by another modular component (e.g., exemplary APM 1710), an embodiment of exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may include an onboard power source 1850 that supplies electrical power to onboard active electronics, such as the mobility controller 1825, the propulsion system 1830, the steering system 1835, and the sensors 1815 and lights 1820. In more detail, the onboard power source 1850 may be connected to the power and data mated interface 1860, which may also include a power output connection that provides electrical power from the onboard power source 1850 to the another modular component.” (Para 0484), See also Fig 18C part 1860)
the loading unit comprises a receiving groove and a load sensor (“The exemplary modular component alignment interface noted above on exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may be implemented with a variety of features. For example and as already discussed above, the modular component alignment interface may be implemented with alignment channel 1810 on support base 1800 shown in FIGS. 18A and 18C. A further embodiment of such a modular component alignment interface may be implemented with a registration interface and a coupling receiver. In this example, the registration interface (such as channel 1810) is disposed on the top support surface of the mobile base platform 1800 as a type of securing and alignment interface into which another modular component of the modular autonomous bot apparatus can be placed and secured on the mobile base platform 1800. More specifically, the registration interface may be implemented as raised alignment channels (as shown in FIG. 18A) but also as recessed alignment channels into which mated alignment structure from another modular component may fit and cause a mutual alignment between the corresponding proximate modular components. A further example may have the registration interface being implemented as multiple alignment channels where each of the alignment channels are disposed proximate one of the peripheral edges of the support base 1800. The coupling receiver part of the modular component alignment interface in this example may be disposed on the top support surface of the mobile base platform 1800 and provide a secure receiving latch element 1855 (e.g., an interlocking latch) for a corresponding mated coupling latch element on another modular component of the modular autonomous bot apparatus. As such, the secure receiving latch 1855 may fit into and temporarily attach to the mated coupling latch element on the proximate modular component attaching to the exemplary modular mobility base 1725.” (Para 0482), “FIG. 20A is a diagram of an exemplary MB 1705 paired with an exemplary APM 1710 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Referring now to FIG. 20A, exemplary APM 1710 is shown with a base 2005 and an exemplary cargo door 1715 located on the front of the assembly 1700 to provide easier access. An embodiment of APM 1710 may provide mechanical fastening via, for example, a grooved or interlocking channel 2010 that aligns with and connects to an exemplary modular CSS 1720 mounted on top of base 2005, with additional electronic/mechanical latching/locking as needed for security. An embodiment of APM 1710 may provide mechanical fastening to an alignment channel via, for example, other grooved or interlocking channels or latches on the bottom of base 2005 that aligns with and connects to base 1800 of the MB 1705 shown in FIGS. 18A and 20A, with additional electronic/mechanical locking as needed for security.” (Para 0508), see also Para 1565, 0467, 0579);
the first connection signal comprises an electrical signal that occurs when the coupler and a coupling pin of the work module are connected(“As will be described in more detail below, exemplary modular components of an exemplary MALVT modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700 may communicate with each other through wireless communication as well as through a common modular component electronics interface that provides a conduit for power sharing and data/control communications between the different modular components making up the exemplary MALVT modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700. As such, an exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may also include an exemplary modular component electronics interface 1860 disposed on the top support surface of the mobile base platform 1800. Exemplary modular component electronics interface 1860 provides a bus-like conduit or a power and data mated interface to at least the another modular component of the modular autonomous bot apparatus so that actively powered devices and circuitry may be coupled to a power part of interface 1860, while electronic devices that communicate with others onboard or outside of exemplary MB 1705 may be operatively coupled to a data/control communications part of interface 1860. For example, mobility controller 1825 may be coupled to interface 1860 so that mobility controller 1825 may have a wired connection to electronic components in other modular components of an exemplary MALVT modular autonomous bot apparatus 1700 (e.g., an autonomous controller that is operating in an exemplary MAM 1725 and coupled to mobility controller 1825 through interface 1860). In more detail, data/control communications part of interface 1860 may be implemented with a modular mated bus interface connection for at least relaying feedback sensor data from the sensors 1815 coupled to the mobility controller 1825 to at least another modular component of the modular autonomous bot apparatus and for receiving control commands from other modular components of the modular autonomous bot apparatus that responsively causes the mobility controller 1825 to generate the propulsion control signal and the steering control signal.” (Para 0483), “While exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may be powered by another modular component (e.g., exemplary APM 1710), an embodiment of exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may include an onboard power source 1850 that supplies electrical power to onboard active electronics, such as the mobility controller 1825, the propulsion system 1830, the steering system 1835, and the sensors 1815 and lights 1820. In more detail, the onboard power source 1850 may be connected to the power and data mated interface 1860, which may also include a power output connection that provides electrical power from the onboard power source 1850 to the another modular component.” (Para 0484), See also Fig 18C part 1860); and
the second connection signal comprises an electrical signal that occurs when the work module is coupled to the receiving groove or an electrical signal identified through the load sensor when the work module is coupled to the loading unit (“The exemplary modular component alignment interface noted above on exemplary modular mobility base 1705 may be implemented with a variety of features. For example and as already discussed above, the modular component alignment interface may be implemented with alignment channel 1810 on support base 1800 shown in FIGS. 18A and 18C. A further embodiment of such a modular component alignment interface may be implemented with a registration interface and a coupling receiver. In this example, the registration interface (such as channel 1810) is disposed on the top support surface of the mobile base platform 1800 as a type of securing and alignment interface into which another modular component of the modular autonomous bot apparatus can be placed and secured on the mobile base platform 1800. More specifically, the registration interface may be implemented as raised alignment channels (as shown in FIG. 18A) but also as recessed alignment channels into which mated alignment structure from another modular component may fit and cause a mutual alignment between the corresponding proximate modular components. A further example may have the registration interface being implemented as multiple alignment channels where each of the alignment channels are disposed proximate one of the peripheral edges of the support base 1800. The coupling receiver part of the modular component alignment interface in this example may be disposed on the top support surface of the mobile base platform 1800 and provide a secure receiving latch element 1855 (e.g., an interlocking latch) for a corresponding mated coupling latch element on another modular component of the modular autonomous bot apparatus. As such, the secure receiving latch 1855 may fit into and temporarily attach to the mated coupling latch element on the proximate modular component attaching to the exemplary modular mobility base 1725.” (Para 0482), “FIG. 20A is a diagram of an exemplary MB 1705 paired with an exemplary APM 1710 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention. Referring now to FIG. 20A, exemplary APM 1710 is shown with a base 2005 and an exemplary cargo door 1715 located on the front of the assembly 1700 to provide easier access. An embodiment of APM 1710 may provide mechanical fastening via, for example, a grooved or interlocking channel 2010 that aligns with and connects to an exemplary modular CSS 1720 mounted on top of base 2005, with additional electronic/mechanical latching/locking as needed for security. An embodiment of APM 1710 may provide mechanical fastening to an alignment channel via, for example, other grooved or interlocking channels or latches on the bottom of base 2005 that aligns with and connects to base 1800 of the MB 1705 shown in FIGS. 18A and 20A, with additional electronic/mechanical locking as needed for security.” (Para 0508), see also Para 1565, 0467, 0579).
In regards to claim 4, Skaaksrud discloses of the device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to receive data about an autonomous driving model corresponding to the driving mode of the purpose-built vehicle through the communication unit (“Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), “With an embodiment of this modular design, a system of exemplary MB units 1705 may be operated in a “collaboration mode” to achieve higher operational throughput, such as enhanced functionality for on-road use or higher payload for freight operations in station. FIG. 19 is a diagram of an exemplary assembly 1900 of multiple modular mobility base components 1705a, 1705b paired with an exemplary extended base adapter plate module (BAPM) 1905 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.” (Para 0488), “If an exemplary MB 1705 were to provide sufficient power, and no additional power source may be needed for a particular configuration of apparatus 1700, a BAPM may be used as part of assembly 1700 and also provide modular mechanical connectivity from the Mobile Base unit(s) 1705 to the additional modular components of apparatus 1700 on top. A further exemplary form factor of such an exemplary BAPM may be to utilize two Mobility Bases, connected together mechanically via the BAPM—e.g., such as that shown in FIG. 19 with an extended BAPM 1905 supported by and connecting MBs 1705a, 1705b. This novel configuration (with interconnected modular MB units 1705a, 1705b) may provide additional transport capability for large objects, freight handling units, etc. And as explained above, an exemplary tandem MB configuration connected with a BAPM (such as assembly 1900 shown in FIG. 19) may provide the ability to have each MB articulate individually and/or collaboratively so as to handle terrain with obstacles (e.g., where one MB 1705a is actuated to move higher than the other MB 1705b for navigation of difficult terrain, or collectively raising up to a truck or van to receive objects while on a level surface or collaboratively adapting to an inclined or otherwise uneven ground surface). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that further embodiments may assembly such a multiple MB configuration (with an extended BAPM 1905) into an exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly that uses a larger sized modular CSS 1720 and larger sized modular MAM 1725 to accommodate and enclose the area above the extended BAPM 1905.” (Para 0512), see also Para 0576, 0584, 0432).
In regards to claim 7, Skaaksrud discloses of the device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor:
identifies that at least one of the connection type or the driving mode of the purpose-built vehicle has changed (“Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), “With an embodiment of this modular design, a system of exemplary MB units 1705 may be operated in a “collaboration mode” to achieve higher operational throughput, such as enhanced functionality for on-road use or higher payload for freight operations in station. FIG. 19 is a diagram of an exemplary assembly 1900 of multiple modular mobility base components 1705a, 1705b paired with an exemplary extended base adapter plate module (BAPM) 1905 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.” (Para 0488), “If an exemplary MB 1705 were to provide sufficient power, and no additional power source may be needed for a particular configuration of apparatus 1700, a BAPM may be used as part of assembly 1700 and also provide modular mechanical connectivity from the Mobile Base unit(s) 1705 to the additional modular components of apparatus 1700 on top. A further exemplary form factor of such an exemplary BAPM may be to utilize two Mobility Bases, connected together mechanically via the BAPM—e.g., such as that shown in FIG. 19 with an extended BAPM 1905 supported by and connecting MBs 1705a, 1705b. This novel configuration (with interconnected modular MB units 1705a, 1705b) may provide additional transport capability for large objects, freight handling units, etc. And as explained above, an exemplary tandem MB configuration connected with a BAPM (such as assembly 1900 shown in FIG. 19) may provide the ability to have each MB articulate individually and/or collaboratively so as to handle terrain with obstacles (e.g., where one MB 1705a is actuated to move higher than the other MB 1705b for navigation of difficult terrain, or collectively raising up to a truck or van to receive objects while on a level surface or collaboratively adapting to an inclined or otherwise uneven ground surface). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that further embodiments may assembly such a multiple MB configuration (with an extended BAPM 1905) into an exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly that uses a larger sized modular CSS 1720 and larger sized modular MAM 1725 to accommodate and enclose the area above the extended BAPM 1905.” (Para 0512), see also Para 0576, 0584, 0432); and
is configured to receive information about any one of the first, second, or third autonomous driving models from the server device. (“Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), “With an embodiment of this modular design, a system of exemplary MB units 1705 may be operated in a “collaboration mode” to achieve higher operational throughput, such as enhanced functionality for on-road use or higher payload for freight operations in station. FIG. 19 is a diagram of an exemplary assembly 1900 of multiple modular mobility base components 1705a, 1705b paired with an exemplary extended base adapter plate module (BAPM) 1905 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.” (Para 0488), “If an exemplary MB 1705 were to provide sufficient power, and no additional power source may be needed for a particular configuration of apparatus 1700, a BAPM may be used as part of assembly 1700 and also provide modular mechanical connectivity from the Mobile Base unit(s) 1705 to the additional modular components of apparatus 1700 on top. A further exemplary form factor of such an exemplary BAPM may be to utilize two Mobility Bases, connected together mechanically via the BAPM—e.g., such as that shown in FIG. 19 with an extended BAPM 1905 supported by and connecting MBs 1705a, 1705b. This novel configuration (with interconnected modular MB units 1705a, 1705b) may provide additional transport capability for large objects, freight handling units, etc. And as explained above, an exemplary tandem MB configuration connected with a BAPM (such as assembly 1900 shown in FIG. 19) may provide the ability to have each MB articulate individually and/or collaboratively so as to handle terrain with obstacles (e.g., where one MB 1705a is actuated to move higher than the other MB 1705b for navigation of difficult terrain, or collectively raising up to a truck or van to receive objects while on a level surface or collaboratively adapting to an inclined or otherwise uneven ground surface). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that further embodiments may assembly such a multiple MB configuration (with an extended BAPM 1905) into an exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly that uses a larger sized modular CSS 1720 and larger sized modular MAM 1725 to accommodate and enclose the area above the extended BAPM 1905.” (Para 0512), “In still another example where the adverse operation is related to a situation where assistance has been requested, the autonomous controller may be further programmatically adapted and configured to be operative to generate a failsafe mode unlock signal for the actuated electro-mechanical lock disposed on the modular cargo storage system after transmitting a request for assistance to a server (e.g., server 3300) or to an external wireless node (e.g., supplier mobile user access device 3310 or delivery recipient mobile user access device 3315); and transmit the failsafe mode unlock signal to the actuated electro-mechanical lock on the modular cargo storage system over the common modular component power and data transport bus to cause the actuated electro-mechanical lock to unlock the set of actuated set of latches 2110a, 2110b in response to the detected adverse power level of the auxiliary power source.” (Para 0622), see also Para 0576, 0584, 0432, 0584).
In regards to claim 8, Skaaksrud discloses of the device of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is configured to request information about the changed autonomous driving model from the server device in response to identifying that at least one of the connection type or the driving mode of the purpose-built vehicle has changed (“In such an exemplary system 3300, the MAM 1725 (through its wireless radio transceiver 3125) may be operative to receive command inputs from external wireless node devices as a remote control input or requested navigation assistance (e.g., from the delivery supplier via supplier mobile user access device 3310 or from the delivery recipient via delivery recipient mobile user access device 3315). For example, the delivery recipient may respond to a request from MAM 1725 with an updated location via a mapping location (as determined by the delivery recipient mobile user access device 3315) as a type of requested navigation assistance. Exemplary remote control input may come in the form of authorized signals that actuate cargo door 1715 on the assembly 1700 after the remote control input is verified to be from an authentic or authorized supplier or delivery recipient. In another example, the MAM 1725 (through its wireless radio transceiver 3125) may be also operative to request and receive navigation assistance from the backend server 3305 as the external wireless node, such as a changed delivery destination or remote control of the assembly 1700 via the backend server 3305 (or another external wireless node) to guide the assembly 1700 in a semi-autonomous mode.” (Para 0584) (“Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), “With an embodiment of this modular design, a system of exemplary MB units 1705 may be operated in a “collaboration mode” to achieve higher operational throughput, such as enhanced functionality for on-road use or higher payload for freight operations in station. FIG. 19 is a diagram of an exemplary assembly 1900 of multiple modular mobility base components 1705a, 1705b paired with an exemplary extended base adapter plate module (BAPM) 1905 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.” (Para 0488), “If an exemplary MB 1705 were to provide sufficient power, and no additional power source may be needed for a particular configuration of apparatus 1700, a BAPM may be used as part of assembly 1700 and also provide modular mechanical connectivity from the Mobile Base unit(s) 1705 to the additional modular components of apparatus 1700 on top. A further exemplary form factor of such an exemplary BAPM may be to utilize two Mobility Bases, connected together mechanically via the BAPM—e.g., such as that shown in FIG. 19 with an extended BAPM 1905 supported by and connecting MBs 1705a, 1705b. This novel configuration (with interconnected modular MB units 1705a, 1705b) may provide additional transport capability for large objects, freight handling units, etc. And as explained above, an exemplary tandem MB configuration connected with a BAPM (such as assembly 1900 shown in FIG. 19) may provide the ability to have each MB articulate individually and/or collaboratively so as to handle terrain with obstacles (e.g., where one MB 1705a is actuated to move higher than the other MB 1705b for navigation of difficult terrain, or collectively raising up to a truck or van to receive objects while on a level surface or collaboratively adapting to an inclined or otherwise uneven ground surface). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that further embodiments may assembly such a multiple MB configuration (with an extended BAPM 1905) into an exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly that uses a larger sized modular CSS 1720 and larger sized modular MAM 1725 to accommodate and enclose the area above the extended BAPM 1905.” (Para 0512), “In still another example where the adverse operation is related to a situation where assistance has been requested, the autonomous controller may be further programmatically adapted and configured to be operative to generate a failsafe mode unlock signal for the actuated electro-mechanical lock disposed on the modular cargo storage system after transmitting a request for assistance to a server (e.g., server 3300) or to an external wireless node (e.g., supplier mobile user access device 3310 or delivery recipient mobile user access device 3315); and transmit the failsafe mode unlock signal to the actuated electro-mechanical lock on the modular cargo storage system over the common modular component power and data transport bus to cause the actuated electro-mechanical lock to unlock the set of actuated set of latches 2110a, 2110b in response to the detected adverse power level of the auxiliary power source.” (Para 0622), see also Para 0576, 0584, 0432).
In regards to claim 9, Skaaksrud discloses of the device of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that the driving mode of the purpose-built vehicle has changed if a request for collaborative driving is received from another purpose-built vehicle through the communication unit (“Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), “With an embodiment of this modular design, a system of exemplary MB units 1705 may be operated in a “collaboration mode” to achieve higher operational throughput, such as enhanced functionality for on-road use or higher payload for freight operations in station. FIG. 19 is a diagram of an exemplary assembly 1900 of multiple modular mobility base components 1705a, 1705b paired with an exemplary extended base adapter plate module (BAPM) 1905 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.” (Para 0488), “If an exemplary MB 1705 were to provide sufficient power, and no additional power source may be needed for a particular configuration of apparatus 1700, a BAPM may be used as part of assembly 1700 and also provide modular mechanical connectivity from the Mobile Base unit(s) 1705 to the additional modular components of apparatus 1700 on top. A further exemplary form factor of such an exemplary BAPM may be to utilize two Mobility Bases, connected together mechanically via the BAPM—e.g., such as that shown in FIG. 19 with an extended BAPM 1905 supported by and connecting MBs 1705a, 1705b. This novel configuration (with interconnected modular MB units 1705a, 1705b) may provide additional transport capability for large objects, freight handling units, etc. And as explained above, an exemplary tandem MB configuration connected with a BAPM (such as assembly 1900 shown in FIG. 19) may provide the ability to have each MB articulate individually and/or collaboratively so as to handle terrain with obstacles (e.g., where one MB 1705a is actuated to move higher than the other MB 1705b for navigation of difficult terrain, or collectively raising up to a truck or van to receive objects while on a level surface or collaboratively adapting to an inclined or otherwise uneven ground surface). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that further embodiments may assembly such a multiple MB configuration (with an extended BAPM 1905) into an exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly that uses a larger sized modular CSS 1720 and larger sized modular MAM 1725 to accommodate and enclose the area above the extended BAPM 1905.” (Para 0512), see also Para 0576, 0584, 0432).
In regards to claim 10, Skaaksrud discloses of the device of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that the connection type of the purpose-built vehicle has changed if the first identification unit or the second identification unit identifies that the work module has changed (“Referring now to FIG. 19, paired or grouped types of specially configured MALVT bot apparatus devices (e.g., wirelessly paired MB units 1705a, 1705b) may act cooperatively with one collective platform (e.g., extended BAPM 1905 supported by both MB units 100a, 100b) for larger or heavier to handle items. In this configuration, the MB (e.g., each of MB units 1705a, 1705b) uses a Machine-to-Machine interface (M2M) to enable inter-component communication between the MB 1705a and other components (such as the other MB 1705b supporting the rest of the BAPM 1905). An exemplary M2M interface may, for example, be implemented as a wireless communication interface (e.g., Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, cellular, NFC, ZigBee, or other wireless communication formatted interfaces) that allows the bot component to securely connect with (e.g, via secure or authorized associations between bot components using TRON node association techniques) so that bot components communicate and interact in a cooperative manner. In addition, M2M communications may be used by the exemplary MALVT bot apparatus 1700 to communicate with other smart, connected devices, both stationary and mobile (e.g., ID nodes and mobile master nodes separate from the MALVT bot apparatus 1700 as described in the TRON Network Reference Information incorporated by reference as noted above) using wireless communications (e.g., Bluetooth, cellular, and the like). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that M2M communications may be implemented as a standard protocol utilizing Application Programming Interfaces (APIs) to support modular software development, and may utilize wired/wireless technologies as applicable for a particular application and embodiment. As such, the M2M communication deployed in an exemplary MB 1705 may allow for multiple MALVT bot apparatus assemblies to pair together and cooperate in order to carry larger loads acting as a single unit. For example, this may involve coordinated propulsion and steering of each MB 1705a, 1705b in the paired assembly 400 as shown in FIG. 19 with one of the MBs 100a operating as a master autonomous unit and the other MB 1705b accepting input and operating as a type of slave autonomous unit (i.e., MB 1705b operating in a semi-autonomous manner at the control of MB 1705a, but operating autonomous as a collective assembly 1900). As such, the exemplary embodiment of such a paired assembly 1900 collectively operates as a single unit larger MALVT bot system that may be deployed and used for such larger loads.” (Para 0489), “With an embodiment of this modular design, a system of exemplary MB units 1705 may be operated in a “collaboration mode” to achieve higher operational throughput, such as enhanced functionality for on-road use or higher payload for freight operations in station. FIG. 19 is a diagram of an exemplary assembly 1900 of multiple modular mobility base components 1705a, 1705b paired with an exemplary extended base adapter plate module (BAPM) 1905 in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.” (Para 0488), “If an exemplary MB 1705 were to provide sufficient power, and no additional power source may be needed for a particular configuration of apparatus 1700, a BAPM may be used as part of assembly 1700 and also provide modular mechanical connectivity from the Mobile Base unit(s) 1705 to the additional modular components of apparatus 1700 on top. A further exemplary form factor of such an exemplary BAPM may be to utilize two Mobility Bases, connected together mechanically via the BAPM—e.g., such as that shown in FIG. 19 with an extended BAPM 1905 supported by and connecting MBs 1705a, 1705b. This novel configuration (with interconnected modular MB units 1705a, 1705b) may provide additional transport capability for large objects, freight handling units, etc. And as explained above, an exemplary tandem MB configuration connected with a BAPM (such as assembly 1900 shown in FIG. 19) may provide the ability to have each MB articulate individually and/or collaboratively so as to handle terrain with obstacles (e.g., where one MB 1705a is actuated to move higher than the other MB 1705b for navigation of difficult terrain, or collectively raising up to a truck or van to receive objects while on a level surface or collaboratively adapting to an inclined or otherwise uneven ground surface). Those skilled in the art will appreciate that further embodiments may assembly such a multiple MB configuration (with an extended BAPM 1905) into an exemplary MALVT bot apparatus assembly that uses a larger sized modular CSS 1720 and larger sized modular MAM 1725 to accommodate and enclose the area above the extended BAPM 1905.” (Para 0512), see also Para 0576, 0584, 0432).
In regards to claim 11, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 1, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claims 12-14, the claims recite analogous limitations to claims 2-4, respectively, and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 16, the claim recites analogous limitations to the combination of claims 1 and 8, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 17, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 9, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 18, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 7, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 19, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 4, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
In regards to claim 20, the claim recites analogous limitations to the combination of claims 2 and 3, and is therefore rejected on the same premise.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to claim 5, the closest prior art of record is Skaaksrud et al. (US 20210354287; hereinafter Skaaksrud; already of record from IDS) in view of Murakami et al. (JP 2011059859; hereinafter Murakami; see attached English translation; already of record from IDS). Skaaksrud in view of Murakami teaches of The device of claim 2, wherein the autonomous driving model comprises:
a first autonomous driving model learned so that the work module autonomously drives while being coupled to the purpose-built vehicle through the coupling unit;
a second autonomous driving model learned so that the work module autonomously drives while being loaded on the purpose-built vehicle through the loading unit in the first driving mode; and
However, the prior art does not fully teach of a third autonomous driving model learned so that the work module autonomously drives while being loaded on the purpose-built vehicle through the loading unit in the second driving mode. It is noted that the prior art teaches of collaboration and individual modes, and of detecting a connection type being loading of coupling. However, the prior art does not fully teach of three different autonomous driving models, where one of the models includes the work module autonomously driving while being loaded on the vehicle through the loading unit, where it is in a collaborative driving mode, in combination with the remaining claim limitations. Therefore the claim is allowable subject matter.
In regards to claim 6, the claim is dependent upon a claim containing allowable subject matter, and therefore contains allowable subject matter as well.
In regards to claim 15, the claim recites analogous limitations to claim 5, and therefore contains allowable subject matter as well.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oren et al. (US 20230028672) discloses of vehicles with containers that can be loaded and/or coupled to one another to transport goods.
Daw Perez et al. (US 20200122834) discloses of a plurality of coupling arrangements on a vehicle, including being able to be coupled to the side or on top of one another.
/KYLE J KINGSLAND/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663