DETAILED ACTION
The following is a non-final office action in response to the RCE filed 09/29/2026. Amendments received on 09/29/2026 have been entered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noce et al. (US Pub 2024/0129138) in view of Sharma et al. (US Pub 2023/0016625) and further in view of Davis et al. (US Pub 2021/0074092).
As of claims 1, 12 and 18, Noce discloses an access control system for controlling access to each of one or more regions of a facility, the access control system comprising:
a memory for storing a plurality of access credentials each comprising an indication of a respective authorized user of the facility, one or more access permissions that define access rights for the respective authorized user to access each of the one or more regions of the facility (via controller 140 storing plurality of list of credentials associated with authorized user; see paragraphs [0051]-[0052]);
a plurality of access control readers each associated with at least one region of the one or more regions of the facility (via plurality of access control devices 110; see fig. 1; also see paragraphs [0034]- [0035] and [0038]), wherein each access control reader is configured to receive an access credential (via access control device 110 receiving credential from client device 120; see fig. 1; also see paragraph[0051]) ;
a controller having a non-lockdown mode;
wherein in the non-lockdown mode, the controller configured to receive an access request from a respective one of the plurality of access control readers and in response, determine whether the access request corresponds to a respective authorized user and wherien the controller is configured to in the non-lockdown mode, grant or deny access to the at least one region of the facility that is associated with the access control reader based at least in part on the one or more access permissions assigned to the access credential that is associated with the access request (see paragraph [0052], “ The server/controller 140 searches a list of credentials stored in the authorization system 142 to determine whether the received credentials match credentials from the list of authorized credentials for accessing a secure asset or resource (e.g., door or secure area) protected by the access control device 110. In response to determining that the received credentials are authorized to access the access control device 110, the server/controller 140 instructs the access control device 110 to perform an operation granting access for the client device 120 (e.g., instructing the access control device 110 to unlock a lock of a door).
In the system of Noce normal operation is interpreted as non-lockdown mode as disclosed above, however Noce does not disclose a lockdown mode and in the lockdown mode, lock down one or more lockdown regions of the facility by denying access to the one or more lockdown regions even when the authorized user is assigned one or more access permissions that would otherwise grant access to the corresponding one or more lockdown regions in the non-lockdown mode, unless the access credential associated with the access request is assigned one or more predefined expertise certifications in which case not denying access to the one or more lockdown regions.
Sharma discloses an access control system wherien electronic door locks (EDL) operate in a lockdown mode and a norma mode (see abstract). Sharma discloses that in the lock down mode, EDL deny access to one or more lockdown regions even when an access request is received from an authorized key unless the key is assigned to a one or more predefined expertise certification in which case the access is not denied (see paragraph [0163], “An EDL could be configured to allow access to a set of E-keys S in ‘Normal’ state, and to a set of E-keys T in ‘Lockdown’ state where set T is a subset of S… In ‘Normal’ mode the EDL allows access when a user manipulates an E-key on the EDL where the E-key is an element of set S, while in ‘Lockdown’ mode the EDL allows access to only those E-keys that are members of set T ... E-keys of set T can be given, for example, to a very small group of trained and trustworthy first responders (predefined expertise certifications; also see paragraph [0187] and [0194]).
From the teaching of Sharma, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the system of Noce to include the function of authorized certain users only during lockdown mode in order to protect occupant of a facility during emergency situation.
However, combination of Noce and Sharma does not explicitly disclose memory storing one or more predefined expertise certification that are associated with the respective authorized user.
Davis discloses an access control system with dynamic access permission processing wherien each of the plurality of credentials is assigned one or more access permissions that define access rights for the respective authorized user (see paragraph [0068]-[0069], In access control systems 100 that comprise a plurality of users, access permissions can be personalized for each user. The term “access permissions” is used herein to denote the specific set of resources that a user is authorized to access. Likewise, the term “scheduled access permissions” denotes the specific set of resources a user is authorized to access, along with corresponding time periods defining when a user may access each of the set of resources). Davis further discloses a database storing user qualification data (expertise certification; see paragraph [0087]). Davis discloses that a user’s access is controlled by checking scheduled access permission and a valid user’s qualification before granted access to a resource. Davis further discloses access to regions may only be granted to user if scheduled access permissions and the user qualification each, separately authorize access. If a user fails to attend or complete the requisite training program, the user is prohibited from accessing the region, even though the user may still be assigned access pursuant to scheduled access permissions (see paragraphs [0089]-[0091] and [0122]).
From the teaching of Davis, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the combination of Noce and Sharma to include the function of checking qualification/training certificate so the user is allowed access even if the resource is in dangerous/lockdown state (see paragraph [0122]).
As of claims 2, 13 and 19 Sharma discloses that the lockdown mode is classified into one or more of a plurality of predefined lockdown mode types, wherein each of the plurality of predefined lockdown mode types is assigned one or more of the plurality of predefined expertise certifications; and wherein in the lockdown mode, the one or more lockdown regions of the facility are locked down by denying access to the one or more lockdown regions even when an access request is received that is assigned one or more access permissions that would otherwise grant access to the corresponding one or more lockdown regions in the non-lockdown mode, unless the access credential associated with the access request is assigned one or more of the plurality of predefined expertise certifications that is assigned to the predefined lockdown mode type of the lockdown mode, in which case, not denying access to the one or more lockdown regions (see the rejection of claim 1, Sharma further discloses that the lockdown mode is classified into one or more a plurality of lockdown mode types (via Lockdown Level 1, Lockdown Level 2, Lockdown Level 3 etc.; see paragraphs [0184]-[0187]).
As of claims 3 and 14, Sharma discloses that the controller is configured to receive an input from an operator of the access control system, wherein the input manually classifies the lockdown mode into one or more of the plurality of predefined lockdown mode types (via an operator manually classifying the lockdown mode into one or more of the plurality of lockdown levels; see paragraph [0178] and [0195]).
As of claims 4, 15 and 20, Sharma discloses that the controller is configured to automatically classify the lockdown mode into one or more of the plurality of predefined lockdown mode types based at least in part on one or more events of an event history, wherein the event history includes one or more of previous alarm events, previous lockdown events and previous sensor events (via automatically generating a lockdown message in response to receiving signals from sensors indicating gunshots, glass breaking etc.; see paragraph [0097]).
As of claim 5, Sharma discloses that the controller is configured to automatically classify the lockdown mode into one or more of the plurality of predefined lockdown mode types based at least in part on an output provided by one or more sensors, wherein the one or more sensors include one or more of: one or more of the plurality of access control readers; a motion sensor; a smoke sensor; a voltage sensor; a current sensor; a glass break sensor; a gunshot detector; a microphone; a leak sensor; a water sensor; a chemical sensor; a video camera with video analytics; and a video camera without video analytics (via automatically generating a lockdown message in response to receiving signals from sensors indicating gunshots, glass breaking etc.; see paragraph [0097]-[0098]).
As of claim 6, Sharma discloses that the controller is configured to automatically classify the lockdown mode into one or more of the plurality of predefined lockdown mode types based at least in part on one or more operator notes manually entered by an operator of the access control system (via an operator manually classifying the lockdown mode into one or more of the plurality of lockdown levels; see paragraph [0178] and [0195]).
As of claim 7, Sharma discloses that the one or more sensors include a video camera that provides a video stream, and wherein the controller is configured to automatically classify the lockdown mode into one or more of the plurality of predefined lockdown mode types based at least in part an output of a Large Language Model (LLM) that is configured to generate contextual information of at least part of the video stream captured by the video camera (via a video analytic software application fed by video and/or imaging sensors that constantly monitor entry to vital doors, looking out for person with weapon (E.g. rifle, gun, knife etc.) and/or an angry facial expression and/or demeanor. This software application automatically generates a Lockdown signal message. In some embodiments the imaging sensor may feed another analytic software application that can identify hidden guns, bullets, bullet magazines, knifes etc.). Face recognition software may be further used to exclude known good persons (E.g. armed policemen, first responders). Information fusion software may be further used to combine the real-time output of video analytics and imaging sensor analytics system to further decrease the uncertainty of identifying a potential Active Shooter and in turn trigger the generation of an AB alarm message. [0099] (a) Information Integration (E.g. Sensor fusion, data fusion etc.) may be further used to combine the real-time output of video analytics, imaging sensor analytics system and voice analytic software application to further increase the probability of identifying a potential Active Shooter, that in turn triggers generation of lockdown message; see paragraphs [0098]-[0100]).
As of claim 8, Sharma discloses that once in the lockdown mode, the controller provides a listing of authorized users to an operator of the access control system that have access credentials that are assigned one or more of the plurality of predefined expertise certifications (via providing list of E-keys allowed access in different lockdown levels; see paragraphs [0183]- [087] and [0191]-0194]).
As of claims 9 and 16, Sharma discloses that once in a lockdown mode that is classified into a particular one of the plurality of predefined lockdown mode types, the controller provides a listing of authorized users to an operator of the access control system that have access credentials assigned one or more of the plurality of predefined expertise certifications that is assigned to the particular one of the plurality of predefined lockdown mode types of the lockdown mode (via providing list of E-keys allowed access in different lockdown levels; see paragraphs [0183]-[087] and [0191]-0194]).
As of claim 10 and 17, Sharma discloses that the controller is configured to receive from the operator of the access control system a selection of one or more of the authorized users from the listing of authorized users to grant access to the one or more lockdown regions, and denying access to the unselected authorized users on the listing of authorized users (see paragraphs 0183]-[0187], Sharma further discloses elaborates that this allows various Lockdown levels to have a corresponding set of E-keys that have permission to enter the door via the EDL. For example plumber's E-key would allow access into a flooded room's EDL that in Lockdown level L3 (corresponding to flooding issues), while in normal EDL operating mode plumber E-key will not have access to the EDL; see paragraphs [0187] and [0379]-[0380]).
As of claim 11, Sharma discloses that the plurality of predefined lockdown mode types include one or more of a chemical lockdown mode type, an electrical lockdown mode type and a fire lockdown mode type (via fire lockdown type, Sharm further provides an example of a classroom, wherien if a class room is accidently flooded and EDL(s) that allow access to the room are put in Lockdown level L3 mode, where the (EDLs) have a total of 4 levels of lockdown gradation. In level 3, the EDLs refuse entry to a professor's E-key who is a member of set T0 but is not member of set T3 or T4 (as there could be electrocution risk in flooded room), while the facility's plumber's E-key that is member of set T3 will allow entry to the door lock and the same technique would be applicable in chemical spill; see paragraphs [0194]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/NABIL H SYED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689