Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Van Niekerk (US Patent No 20240215893).
Regarding claim 1, Van Niekerk teaches a flexible circuit for an end effector of a medical probe (see flexible circuit 110 found on end effector 100, [0044]), the flexible circuit comprising: a flexible substrate (see in which the flexible circuit may be comprised of a polyimide or substrate material, [0045]) defining a plurality of tines extending along a longitudinal axis (see tines 106 disposed along the longitudinal axis L-L in fig 2A); a plurality of electrodes disposed on each of the plurality of tines (see the plurality of electrodes 160 disposed on the tines, [0047]); and a first sensing loop disposed on the flexible substrate (see sensing coil layer 140 disposed on the flexible circuit 110, [0046]), the first sensing loop forming one or more coils configured to generate a current that is indicative of a position of the one or more coils when the one or more coils is subjected to a magnetic field (see from [0072] in which the sensing coil layer 140 can be used in conjunction with a magnetic field generator to determine the position of the end effector 100 using electromagnetic filed triangulation), and the first sensing loop comprising two segments disposed on respective tines, of the plurality of tines, extending generally parallel to the longitudinal axis and converging towards each other on a tine, of the plurality of tines, disposed on the longitudinal axis (see from the fig 2B in which the sensing coil layer 140 has a plurality of coils 142a and 142b disposed on each respective tine 106 and converges toward each other on the distal end in a longitudinal direction, see also [0046]).
Regarding claim 2, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 1, the flexible substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface, the plurality of electrodes and the one or more sensing loops both being disposed on the first surface (see in which the flexible circuit layer 110 comprises a first face 112 and second face 114 in which the electrodes 160 and coil layer 140 are disposed on the first face side 112, [0044]).
Regarding claim 3, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 2, further comprising one or more electrical interconnections electrically connected to the plurality of electrodes and disposed along the second surface (see in which the plurality of electrodes may be electrically connected via the flexible circuit found on the secondary surface, [0068]).
Regarding claim 4, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 2, the one or more coils being routed to pass around each electrode of the plurality of electrodes along a path of the one of more coils and along the flexible substrate (see from the fig 2B in which the sensing coil layer 140 is configured to follow the path of the electrodes 160a found on the flexible circuit layer 110).
Regarding claim 5, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 1, the one or more coils comprising a first coil extending around a region of the flexible substrate and a second coil extending around the region of the flexible substrate (see from the fig 2B in which the sensing coil layer 140 has a plurality of coils 142a and 142b disposed on each respective tine 106 the plurality of coils creating two separate regions on the substrate layer 110, see also [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 5, the one or more coils comprising a third coil extending around the region of the flexible substrate (wherein the coil 142a and 142b in conjunction create a third coil that extends throughout the entire flexible layer 110, see fig 2B).
Regarding claim 7, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 6, the first coil, the second coil, and the third coil being routed along the flexible substrate such that the first coil, the second coil, and the third coil pass around a first electrode, of the plurality of electrodes, on a same side of the first electrode (see from fig 2B in which the electrodes 160a and the coil members 142 are all laid out on the first side 112 of the flexible substrate member 112 and therefore pass the electrode on the same side of said first electrode).
Regarding claim 8, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 1, each location sensing loop extending from a first distal end to a second distal end (see from the Van Niekerk annotated figure 2B below which teaches the analogous locations equated to the first and second distal ends).
Van Niekerk Annotated Figure 2B.
Regarding claim 9, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 8, the first distal end and the second distal end being disposed at a proximal end of the flexible circuit (see from the annotated figure 2B above in which the equivalent first and second distal ends are found to be laid out more proximal than the distal-most portion of the flexible circuit member 110).
Regarding claim 12, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 8, each location sensing loop comprising a spiral shape that define the one or more coils (see from the fig 2B in which the sensor layers 140 contain the sensing coil member 142 which are found in a spiral shape or configuration).
Regarding claim 13, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 1, the flexible substrate comprising a base, a first intermediate connecting segment, a second intermediate connecting segment, and a connecting distal segment, and the plurality of tines comprising: a first tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis; a second tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis; a third tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis, the tine where the two segments converge towards each other corresponding to the third tine; a fourth tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis; and a fifth tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis, the first intermediate connecting segment connecting the second tine and the third tine; the second intermediate connecting segment connecting the third tine and the fourth tine, and the connecting distal segment connecting distal ends of the first tine, the second tine, the third tine, the fourth tine, and the fifth tine (see the Van Niekerk annotated figure 2A below which fully discloses all the tines and connecting segments as claimed).
Van Niekerk Annotated Figure 2A.
Regarding claim 14, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 13, the first sensing loop extending along the base, the second tine, the first intermediate connecting segment, the third tine, the second intermediate connecting segment, and the fourth tine, with the two segments converging towards each other on the third tine and on the base (see from the figure 2A in which the sensing loop layer 140 is found disposed on the base member, the second tine, third and fourth tine as well as the first and second connecting segments).
Regarding claim 15, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 1, each coil comprising a surface area defined by an area enclosed the respective coil, each area corresponding to a region of the flexible circuit (see from the fig 2B in which each sensing coil 142a and 142b has separate loops which independently define two coil regions which are found on the flexible circuit member 110).
Regarding claim 16, Van Niekerk teaches a flexible circuit for an end effector of a medical probe (see flexible circuit 110 found on end effector 100, [0044]), the flexible circuit comprising: a flexible substrate (see in which the flexible circuit may be comprised of a polyimide or substrate material, [0045]) defining a plurality of tines extending along a longitudinal axis (see tines 106 disposed along the longitudinal axis L-L in fig 2A); a plurality of electrodes disposed on each of the plurality of tines (see the plurality of electrodes 160 disposed on the tines, [0047]); and first and second sensing loops disposed on the flexible substrate (see sensing coil layer 140 disposed on the flexible circuit 110, in which the sensing coil layer may be split into individual coil members 142a and 142b resulting in two sensing loops [0046]), each of the first and second sensing loop forming one or more coils configured to generate a current that is indicative of a position of the one or more coils when the one or more coils is subjected to a magnetic field (see from [0072] in which the sensing coil layer 140 can be used in conjunction with a magnetic field generator to determine the position of the end effector 100 using electromagnetic filed triangulation), the first sensing loop comprising two segments disposed on respective tines, of the plurality of tines, extending along the longitudinal axis and converging towards each other on a tine, of the plurality of tines, offset from the longitudinal axis, and the second sensing loop comprising two segments disposed on respective tines, of the plurality of tines, extending along the longitudinal axis and converging towards each other on another tine, of the plurality of tines, offset from the longitudinal axis (see from the fig 2B in which the sensing coil layer 140 has a plurality of coils 142a and 142b disposed on each respective tine 106 and converges toward each other on the distal end in a longitudinal direction, see also [0046], wherein both sensing coils 142a and 142b are offset from the main longitudinal axis L-L)).
Regarding claim 17, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 16, the flexible substrate comprising a base, a first intermediate connecting segment, a second intermediate connecting segment, and a connecting distal segment, and the plurality of tines comprising: a first tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis; a second tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis, the tine where the two segments of the first sensing loop converge towards each other corresponding to the second tine; a third tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis; a fourth tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis, the another tine where the two segments of the second sensing loop converge towards each other corresponding to the fourth tine; and a fifth tine extending from the base along the longitudinal axis, the first intermediate connecting segment connecting the second tine and the third tine; the second intermediate connecting segment connecting the third tine and the fourth tine, and the connecting distal segment connecting distal ends of the first tine, the second tine, the third tine, the fourth tine, and the fifth tine (see the Van Niekerk annotated figure 2A above which fully discloses all the tines and connecting segments as claimed).
Regarding claim 18, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 17, the first sensing loop extending along the base, the first tine, the connecting distal segment, the second tine, the first intermediate connecting segment, and the third tine (see from the fig 2B in which the first sensing loop 142a extends between the base, the first, second and third tine, as well as the first connecting segment).
Regarding claim 19, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 17, the second sensing loop extending along the base, the fifth tine the connecting distal segment, the fourth tine, the second intermediate connecting segment, and the third tine (see from the fig 2B in which the second sensing loop 142b extends between the base, the fifth, fourth and third tine, as well as the second connecting segment).
Regarding claim 20, Van Niekerk teaches an end effector for a medical probe (end effector 100, [0044]), the end effector comprising: an insulative material (see non-conductive layer 130 which may act as an insulating layer, [0075]); a framework disposed in the insulative material, the framework being approximately planar along a longitudinal axis (see framework member 120 disposed within the insulative material 130 and found along the longitudinal axis L-L, [0075]); and a first flexible circuit disposed in the insulative material such that the first flexible circuit is spaced apart from the framework along a vertical axis (see flexible circuit 110 found on end effector 100, [0044], which is seen vertically space apart from the framework member 120 as seen in fig 2B), the first flexible circuit comprising: a first flexible substrate (see in which the flexible circuit may be comprised of a polyimide or substrate material, [0045]) defining a first plurality of tines extending along the longitudinal axis (see tines 106 disposed along the longitudinal axis L-L in fig 2A); a first plurality of electrodes disposed on each of the first plurality of tines (see the plurality of electrodes 160a disposed on the tines, [0047]); and first and second sensing loops disposed on the first flexible substrate (see sensing coil layer 140 disposed on the flexible circuit 110, in which the sensing coil layer may be split into individual coil members 142a and 142b resulting in two sensing loops [0046]), each of the first and second sensing loop forming one or more coils configured to generate a current that is indicative of a position of the one or more coils when the one or more coils is subjected to a magnetic field (see from [0072] in which the sensing coil layer 140 can be used in conjunction with a magnetic field generator to determine the position of the end effector 100 using electromagnetic filed triangulation), the first sensing loop comprising two segments disposed on respective tines, of the first plurality of tines, extending along the longitudinal axis and converging towards each other on a tine of the first plurality of tines, offset from the longitudinal axis, and the second sensing loop comprising two segments disposed on respective tines, of the first plurality of tines, extending along the longitudinal axis and converging towards each other on another tine, of the first plurality of tine offset from the longitudinal axis (see from the fig 2B in which the sensing coil layer 140 has a plurality of coils 142a and 142b disposed on each respective tine 106 and converges toward each other on the distal end in a longitudinal direction, see also [0046], wherein both sensing coils 142a and 142b are offset from the main longitudinal axis L-L).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Niekerk (US Patent No 20240215893) in view of Takahashi (US Patent No 20240032993).
Regarding claim 10, Van Niekerk teaches the flexible circuit of claim 8.
Van Niekerk does not teach the first distal end comprising a first soldering pad and the second distal end comprising a second soldering pad.
However, the analogous wire connection circuitry for a medical device taught by Takahashi does teach a first distal end comprising a first soldering pad and the second distal end comprising a second soldering pad (see from fig 9B of Takahashi as well as [0059], which discloses that circuitry wire connections may be made via the solder pad elements 61 found on the substrate member 60, in which there are two solder pads present therefore equating to the solder pads on a first and second distal end).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date to combine the flexible circuit device taught by Van Niekerk to contain the solder pad elements on the distal end of the sensing loops as taught by Takahashi, as it is a known structure in the art to allow for circuit wire connections and to maintain electrical connectivity while in use, as taught by Takahashi, [0059].
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the flexible circuit of claim 10, each location sensing loop comprising a spiral shape that defines the one or more coils (see from Van Niekerk, the fig 2B in which the sensor layers 140 contain the sensing coil member 142 which are found in a spiral shape or configuration), with the first soldering pad being disposed on an exterior portion of the spiral shape on a first surface of the flexible substrate, and the second soldering pad is disposed on an interior portion of the spiral shape on the first surface of the flexible substrate (see from Takahashi, fig 9B, in which the solder pad elements 61 are formed in a spiral shape and there are two solder pad elements 61 in which one is disposed on a first exterior portion and a secondary pad is disposed on a first interior portion).
Conclusion
/KYLE M. BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/JOSEPH A STOKLOSA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3794