DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12225208 in view of Jeong et al. (WO 2016068685A1, corresponding US 20170339425 is used for English translation and claim mapping).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of this application are rendered obvious by the claims of the patent. Patent claims recite all limitations found in instant claims except “obtaining, from a bitstream, first inter prediction mode permission information indicating whether a first inter prediction mode for predicting a motion vector is allowed for an upper data unit; when the first inter prediction mode is allowed for the upper data unit based on the first inter prediction mode permission information, obtaining, from the bitstream, correction distance range information indicating one of a plurality of correction distance candidate sets; when the first inter prediction mode is allowed for the upper data unit, determining whether the first inter prediction mode is applied to a current block included in the upper data unit”.
However, Jeong teaches obtaining, from a bitstream, first inter prediction mode permission information indicating whether a first inter prediction mode for predicting a motion vector is allowed for an upper data unit (see [0103], pre-set prediction mode information; see [0077]-[0079], prediction mode information of the pre-set prediction mode may be a flag about whether to use the pre-set prediction mode; see [0167]-[0168], sequences, pictures, and slices including a plurality of blocks);
when the first inter prediction mode is allowed for the upper data unit based on the first inter prediction mode permission information, obtaining, from the bitstream, correction distance range information indicating one of a plurality of correction distance candidate sets (see FIGS. 5A-5D and [0074], [0097], [0134], [0145]-[0161], determine prediction motion vector candidates according to candidate groups using pixel distances from the basic motion vector);
when the first inter prediction mode is allowed for the upper data unit, determining whether the first inter prediction mode is applied to a current block included in the upper data unit (see [0106] and [0131], the prediction mode information of the current block indicates the pre-set prediction mode);
At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to include obtaining, from a bitstream, first inter prediction mode permission information indicating whether a first inter prediction mode for predicting a motion vector is allowed for an upper data unit; when the first inter prediction mode is allowed for the upper data unit based on the first inter prediction mode permission information, obtaining, from the bitstream, correction distance range information indicating one of a plurality of correction distance candidate sets; when the first inter prediction mode is allowed for the upper data unit, determining whether the first inter prediction mode is applied to a current block included in the upper data unit in order to improve video compression (Jeong; [0006]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. Claim 3 is directed to a method of transmitting a bitstream without reciting any steps. Although, the claim recites “the bitstream being generated by the video encoding method of claim 2,” this does not clearly constitute steps performed by the claimed method of transmitting a bitstream since the step of generating the bitstream is not recited in the claim and the bitstream may be generated and stored by claim 2 at different time, and thus claim 3 would only be limited to transmitting the stored bitstream without performing the steps of claim 2. Therefore, in addition to all of the steps of claim 2, the steps of generating and transmitting the bitstream, which are essential, are omitted. Omitting these steps renders the claim incomplete. The examiner suggests amending the claim as follows: A method of transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: generating the bitstream by the video encoding method of claim 2; and transmitting the bitstream.
For the purpose of prior art rejection, claim 3 is interpreted to cover any method of transmitting a bitstream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. (WO 2016068685A1, corresponding US 20170339425 is used for English translation and claim mapping).
As to claim 3, Jeong discloses a method of transmitting a bitstream, the bitstream being generated by the video encoding method of claim 2 (see [0082]; see 112(b) rejection above for the claim interpretation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 are allowed over the prior art.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of record fails to teach or render obvious the combination of elements "wherein: one correction distance set from among the plurality of correction distance candidate sets comprises a preset number of correction distance candidates, a correction distance set is selected, from among the plurality of correction distance candidate sets, according to the correction distance range information, the correction distance is indicated by the information about the correction distance, among the preset number of correction distance candidates included in the selected correction distance set, and a first correction distance candidate set, among the plurality of correction distance candidate sets, includes correction distance candidates {1, 2}, and a second correction distance candidate set, among the plurality of correction distance candidate sets, does not include the correction distance candidates {1,2}" with limitations taken within others in the claims.
Jeong et al. (WO 2016068685A1) discloses a video decoding method comprising determining prediction mode information of a current block and an index indicating a prediction candidate, determining a prediction candidate list according to the prediction mode information, when the prediction mode information of the current block indicates a pre-set prediction mode, determining a motion vector indicated by the index indicating the prediction candidate from the prediction candidate list, determining a prediction motion vector of the current block based on at least one of pieces of motion prediction information related to the motion vector, and determining a motion vector of the current block based on the prediction motion vector.
Chen et al. (US 20170085906) discloses a method for motion information coding using a refined Merge mode, the method comprising deriving a Merge candidate set based on the motion information associated with neighboring blocks, selecting a target Merge candidate from the Merge candidate set and signal a Merge index corresponding to the target Merge candidate, and predicting a part of the current motion information based on partial motion information associated with the target Merge candidate to generate coded motion information.
However, the various claimed limitations mentioned in the claims are not taught or suggested by the prior art taken either singly or in combination, with emphasis that it is each claim, taken as a whole, including the interrelationships and interconnections between various claimed elements that make them allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/BOUBACAR ABDOU TCHOUSSOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482