DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 01/23/25 & 12/01/25. The submission are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 & 5-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Sano et al. (US 20020196970, hereinafter Sano).
Regarding Claim 1, Sano discloses a method for processing an input tensor representing picture data ([0083], FIG. 4, component of color space such as RGB, YUV, YCbCr; [0017]), wherein the method is applied to an electronic device and comprises:
processing a plurality of components of the input tensor including a first component and a second component in spatial dimensions ([0085], FIG. 6, a first component 11, a second component 12 and a third component 13 determine the sizes of rectangular tiles 11.t, 12.t and 13.t, respectively), including:
processing the first component including dividing the first component in the spatial dimensions into a first plurality of tiles ([0085], FIG. 6, a first component 11 with the sizes of rectangular tiles 11.t), and processing each tile of the first plurality of tiles separately ([0027], [0032]: ...an original image is divided into a rectangular region, a so-called "tile", namely, and the compression/ decompression process is performed on the tile independently ...);
processing the second component including dividing the second component in the spatial dimensions into a second plurality of tiles ([0085], FIG. 6, a second component 12 and a third component 13 determine the sizes of rectangular tiles 12.t and 13.t, respectively)and processing each tile of the second plurality of tiles separately ([0027], [0032]: ...an original image is divided into a rectangular region, a so-called "tile", namely, and the compression/ decompression process is performed on the tile independently ...); and
wherein at least two respective collocated tiles of the first plurality of tiles and the second plurality of tiles differ in size ([0085], FIG. 6, shift the borders of the tiles between the components by employing such a tile size structure).
Regarding Claim 2, Sano discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein at least two tiles of the first plurality of tiles are processed independently or in parallel; and/or at least two tiles of the second plurality of tiles are processed independently or in parallel ([0027], [0032]: ...an original image is divided into a rectangular region, a so-called "tile", namely, and the compression/ decompression process is performed on the tile independently or in parallel).
Regarding Claim 3, Sano discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first component represents luma component of the picture data; and the second component represents a chroma component of the picture data ([0099]: FIG. 13, "lengths of vertical and horizontal sides of a tile 82t of the Y component are integral multiples (here, two times) of those of tiles 81t and 83t of the V component and the U component).
Regarding Claim 5, Sano discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein: the dividing of the first component further includes determining sizes of tiles in the first plurality of tiles based on a first predefined condition; and/or the dividing of the second component further includes determining sizes of tiles in the second plurality of tiles based on a second predefined condition ([0110], FIG. 18, "the borders of the tiles are being changed in accordance with the movement of the box-shaped object).
Regarding Claim 6, Sano discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the first predefined condition and/or the second predefined condition is based on available decoder hardware resources and/or motion present in the picture data ([0110], FIG. 18, "the borders of the tiles are being changed in accordance with the movement of the box-shaped object).
Regarding Claim 7, Sano discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein the determining the sizes of tiles in the second plurality of tiles further includes scaling the tiles of the first plurality of tiles ([0099]: FIG. 13, "lengths of vertical and horizontal sides of a tile 82t of the Y component are integral multiples (here, two times) of those of tiles 81t and 83t of the V component and the U component).
Regarding Claim 8, Sano discloses the method according to claim 5, wherein an indication of the determined sizes of tiles in the first plurality of tiles and/or in the second plurality of tiles is encoded into a bitstream ([0115], [0118], Information on the tile division is stored in the header; [0099], FIG. 13, for the YUV format and the scaling).
Regarding Claim 9, Sano discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein sizes of all tiles in the first plurality of tiles is same and/or sizes of all tiles in the second plurality of tiles is same ([0099], FIG. 6 component 11, a second component 12 and a third component 13 determine the sizes of rectangular tiles 11.t, 12.t and 13.t, respectively).
Regarding Claim 10, Sano discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the indication further includes positions of the tiles in the first plurality of tiles and/or positions of the tiles in the second plurality of tiles ([0115], [0118], Information on the tile division is stored in the header; [0099], FIG. 13, for the YUV format and the scaling).
Regarding Claim 11, Sano discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the first component is a luma component and the indication of the sizes of the tiles of the first plurality of tiles is included in the bitstream; and the second component is a chroma component and the indication of a scaling factor is included in the bitstream, wherein the scaling factor relates the sizes of the tiles of the first plurality of tiles and the sizes of the tiles of the second plurality of tiles ([0115], [0118], Information on the tile division is stored in the header; [0099], FIG. 13, for the YUV format and the scaling).
Regarding Claim 12, Sano discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the processing of the input tensor further includes: processing that is part of a picture or moving picture compression ([0092], FIG. 9 ; FIG. 10).
Regarding Claim 13, Sano discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the processing of the first component and/or the second component further includes one of: picture encoding by a neural network; rate distortion optimization quantization (RDOQ); and picture filtering ([0034], [0085], FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 14, Sano discloses the method according to claim 12, further comprising: generating the bitstream by including an output of the processing of the first component and the second component into the bitstream ( FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 15, Sano discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein the processing of the input tensor further includes: processing that is part of a picture or moving picture decompression ([0092], FIG. 9 ; FIG. 10).
Regarding Claim 16, Sano discloses the method according to claim 15, wherein the processing of the first component and/or the second component further includes one of: picture decoding by a neural network; and picture filtering ([0034], [0085], FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 17, Sano discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the processing of the second component further includes: decoding of a chroma component of the picture based on a representation of a luma component of the picture ([0099]: tile division of chroma depends on the tile division of luma).
Regarding Claim 18, Sano discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the processing of the first component and/or the second component further includes picture post-filtering; for at least two tiles of the first plurality of tiles, one or more parameters of post-filtering differ and are extracted from the bitstream; and for at least two tiles of the second plurality of tiles, one or more parameters of post-filtering differ and are extracted from the bitstream ([0034], extends to areas (outside of borders of a tile(s)) having no image data when a low-pass filter/high-pass filter of a horizontal direction, and-a low-pass filter/high-pass filter of a vertical direction; [0093], fig. 9
Regarding Claim 19, Sano discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the input tensor is a picture or a sequence of pictures including one or more components, among the plurality of components, at least one of which is a color component ([0034], [0085], FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 20, Computer readable medium claim 20 of using the corresponding method claimed in claims 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claim 21, An apparatus claim 21 of using the corresponding method claimed in claims 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Regarding Claim 22, An apparatus claim 22 of using the corresponding method claimed in claims 1, and the rejections of which are incorporated herein for the same reasons as used above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sano et al. (US 20020196970, hereinafter Sano) in view of Zhou et al. (US 20150215631, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding Claim 4, Sano discloses the method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein tiles of the first plurality of tiles that are adjacent in at least one dimension of the spatial dimensions partly overlap; and/or tiles of the second plurality of tiles that are adjacent in at least one dimension of the spatial dimensions partly overlap.
Zhou teaches wherein tiles of the first plurality of tiles that are adjacent in at least one dimension of the spatial dimensions partly overlap; and/or tiles of the second plurality of tiles that are adjacent in at least one dimension of the spatial dimensions partly overlap ([0022], The tiles may include overlapping regions, e.g. regions in which two or more tiles contain pixel data for any number of given locations in a given coordinate space; [0027], the picture 200 may be divided into tiles 230 including one or more CTUs 202. Tiles 230 may be selected to include overlapping regions 240.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of plurality of tiles that are adjacent in at least one dimension of the spatial dimensions partly overlap as taught by Zhou ([0022]) into the encoding & decoding system of Sano in order to allow for independent coding of the tiles and subsequent reconstruction of the image and consistency of coding without necessarily using memory exchanges between the processor cores performing the coding operations (Zhou, [0022]).
Conclusion
/SAMUEL D FEREJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487