DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiwara et al (US Pub No 2017/0355539), and further in view of Kondou (US Pat No 10,513,402).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshiwara discloses a sheet conveying device comprising:
a conveying tray (23) onto which a sheet is loaded;
a conveying mechanism (31) configured to convey the sheet along a conveyance path extending from the conveying tray to a discharge tray;
a raising and lowering mechanism (25) including a drive portion configured to raise and lower the conveying tray in an up-down direction;
a raising and lowering control portion (Control unit shown in figure 9) configured to drive the drive portion and control raising and lowering of the conveying tray;
a sensor (SR6) configured to detect that a downstream end of a sheet in a conveying direction flips up, the sheet being conveyed from the conveying tray;
a second determination processing portion configured to determine, on a basis that the output signal of the sensor changes while the conveying mechanism is conveying the sheet, that the sheet being conveyed is abnormal (as shown in figure 12).
It is noted that Yoshiwara fails to disclose the first determination for determining the presence of a foreign object while raising the tray. However, Kondou discloses a similar feeding device wherein a sensor (56) above the stack also determines the presence of a foreign object while raising the tray and stops the raising of the tray in response (as shown in figure 8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the device taught by Yoshiwara with the teachings of Kondou to achieve the predictable result of preventing damage to the sheet or device when trying to move the tray. The combination would be capable of determining the foreign object from during raising of the tray, and the abnormal conveyance during conveying of the medium.
Regarding claim 2, Kondou discloses the control portion stops raising the conveying tray in a case where the first determination processing portion determines that the foreign object is present on the conveying tray (as shown in figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, Kondou discloses the first determination processing portion determines that the foreign object is present on the conveying tray in a case where an output value of the output signal continues for a second setting time after the output signal changes, the second setting time being defined in advance (see figure 8).
Regarding claim 6, Yoshiwara discloses an image processing portion (151) configured to perform an image process on a sheet that is conveyed by the sheet conveying device.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshiwara et al in view of Kondou, and further in view of Shimosaka et al (US Pat No 11,332,332).
Regarding claim 5, it is noted that Yoshiwara and Kondou fail to disclose a notification to a user relating to an error. However, Shimosaka discloses a similar feeding device wherein when an error occurs, the controller outputs the error to the user when an abnormality occurs (see column 15, lines 4-8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combination with the teachings of Shimosaka to achieve the predictable result of notifying a user to the error found (e.g. letting a user know either a foreign object is present or a stapled sheet is attempting to be fed).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art on record disclose or suggests the claimed features relating to the time setting for determination of a foreign object.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cited art generally discloses features relating to the claimed invention.
/Patrick Cicchino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619