DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Application is a CIP of 29/867,806.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 4,18, and 30 are objected to because of the following informalities: improper punctuation for end of claim. “;” should be replaced with a “.”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-11, 14-19, 24, 27-31, and 36-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by White 2014/0368347.
Regarding claim 1, White discloses A call tower (audio and lighting alert system 100) comprising [009] [FIG 1]: a free standing housing (light assembly 140) having a plurality of substantially vertically extending sides [012] [FIG 1]; a plurality of substantially vertically extending openings (openings for #142-148) in the housing, wherein the plurality of openings extend from a bottom portion of the housing to a top portion of the housing [012-15][ FIG 1]; at least one light source(LED 142-148) mounted within the housing, wherein the at least one light source is configured to emit light through the plurality of openings in the housing [FIG 1] [012]; and a call box (emergency alert button 170), configured to communicate with a remote location [015][FIG 1].
Regarding claim 2, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. White further discloses the remote location is a service provider (operator station) [015].
Regarding claim 3, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 2. White further discloses the remote location is an emergency service provider [015].
Regarding claim 4, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. White further discloses at least one strobe light (LED that can act as a strobe light) mounted on at least one of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides. [021-23]
Regarding claim 5, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. White further discloses a plurality of strobe lights mounted on a plurality of the substantially vertically extending sides [21-23].
Regarding claim 10, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. White further discloses a controller (strobe control board) that is configured to adjust the light emitted from the light source, including changing at least one of: a color of the light, a duration the light is on, a timing of when the light turns on [023].
Regarding claim 11, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. White further discloses a controller that is configured to adjust the light emitted from the strobe light, including changing at least one of: a color of the light, a duration the light is on, a timing of when the light turns on [022].
Regarding claim 14, White discloses A call tower comprising: a free standing housing (light assembly 140) having a plurality of substantially vertically extending sides [FIG 1] [012]; a plurality of substantially vertically extending openings (opening for $142-148) in the housing, wherein the plurality of openings extend from a bottom portion of the housing to a top portion of the housing [FIG 1] [012]; at least one light source (LED 42-48) mounted within the housing, wherein the at least one light source is configured to emit light through the plurality of openings in the housing [012-15][ FIG 1]; and a controller (strobe control unit) that is configured to adjust the light emitted from the light source [021-23], including changing at least one of: a color of the light, a duration the light is on, a timing of when the light turns on [023].
Regarding claim 15, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. White further discloses a call box (emergency alert button 170), configured to communicate with a remote location [015][FIG 1].
Regarding claim 16, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 15. White further discloses the remote location is a service provider (operator station) [015].
Regarding claim 17, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 16. White further discloses the remote location is an emergency service provider [015].
Regarding claim 18, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. White further discloses at least one strobe light (LED that can act as a strobe light) mounted on at least one of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides. [021-23]
Regarding claim 19, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. White further discloses a plurality of strobe lights mounted on a plurality of the substantially vertically extending sides [21-23].
Regarding claim 24, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 18. White further discloses the controller is configured to adjust the light emitted from the strobe light, including changing at least one of: a color of the light, a duration the light is on, a timing of when the light turns on [022-23].
Regarding claim 27, White discloses A call tower comprising: a housing (light assembly 140) having a plurality of substantially vertically extending sides 012][ FIG 1]; a plurality of substantially vertically extending openings (openings for #42-48) in the housing, wherein the plurality of openings extend from a bottom portion of the housing to a top portion of the housing [012] [FIG 1]; at least one light source (LED 42-48) mounted within the housing, wherein the at least one light source is configured to emit light through the plurality of openings in the housing [012-15][ FIG 1]; a call box (emergency alert button 170), configured to communicate with a remote location [015] [FIG 1], and a controller (strobe control board) that is configured to adjust the light emitted from the light source, including changing at least one of: a color of the light, a duration the light is on, a timing of when the light turns on [023].
Regarding claim 28, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 27. White further discloses the remote location is a service provider (operator station) [015].
Regarding claim 29, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 28. White further discloses the remote location is an emergency service provider [015].
Regarding claim 30, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 27. White further discloses at least one strobe light (LED that can act as a strobe light) mounted on at least one of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides. [021-23]
Regarding claim 31, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 27. White further discloses a plurality of strobe lights mounted on a plurality of the substantially vertically extending sides [21-23].
Regarding claim 36, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 27. White further discloses the house is free standing (mounting pier 112) [FIG 1].
Regarding claim 37, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 27. White further discloses a controller (strobe control board) that is configured to adjust the light emitted from the light source, including changing at least one of: a color of the light, a duration the light is on, a timing of when the light turns on [023].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-8, 12-13, 20-22, 25-26, 32-34, 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over White 2014/0368347 in view of Levin 2016/0377264.
Regarding claim 6, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, White does not disclose the housing is formed having a generally hexagonal cross section. Levin discloses e the housing is formed having a generally hexagonal cross section (FIG 2, the cross section of skirt 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 7, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, White does not disclose the substantially vertically extending sides include 6 vertically extending sides. Levin discloses housing is formed having a generally hexagonal cross section (FIG 2, the cross section of skirt 35) and thus extending sides include 6 vertically extending sides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 8, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, White does not disclose the plurality of substantially vertically extending openings are formed in multiple of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides. Levin discloses the plurality of substantially vertically extending openings are formed in multiple of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides(FIG 2, the cross section of skirt 35) and thus extending sides include 6 vertically extending sides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 12, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, White fails to disclose a photocell sensor to determine ambient light around the call tower. Levin discloses a photocell sensor (DRI emplacement) to determine ambient light around the call tower [09].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 13, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. However, White fails to disclose a photocell sensor to determine ambient light around the call tower, wherein the controller adjusts the light emitted from the light source based on the ambient light detected by the photocell. Levin discloses a photocell sensor (DRI emplacement) to determine ambient light around the call tower, wherein the controller adjusts the light emitted from the light source based on the ambient light detected by the photocell [09-11]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 20, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. However, White does not disclose the housing is formed having a generally hexagonal cross section. Levin discloses e the housing is formed having a generally hexagonal cross section (FIG 2, the cross section of skirt 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 21, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. However, White does not disclose the substantially vertically extending sides include 6 vertically extending sides. Levin discloses housing is formed having a generally hexagonal cross section (FIG 2, the cross section of skirt 35) and thus extending sides include 6 vertically extending sides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 22, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. However, White does not disclose the plurality of substantially vertically extending openings are formed in multiple of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides. Levin discloses the plurality of substantially vertically extending openings are formed in multiple of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides(FIG 2, the cross section of skirt 35) and thus extending sides include 6 vertically extending sides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 25, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 14. However, White fails to disclose a photocell sensor to determine ambient light around the call tower. Levin discloses a photocell sensor (DRI emplacement) to determine ambient light around the call tower [09].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 26, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 25. However, White fails to disclose a photocell sensor to determine ambient light around the call tower, wherein the controller adjusts the light emitted from the light source based on the ambient light detected by the photocell. Levin discloses a photocell sensor (DRI emplacement) to determine ambient light around the call tower, wherein the controller adjusts the light emitted from the light source based on the ambient light detected by the photocell [09-11]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 32, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 27. However, White does not disclose the housing is formed having a generally hexagonal cross section. Levin discloses e the housing is formed having a generally hexagonal cross section (FIG 2, the cross section of skirt 35). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 33, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 27. However, White does not disclose the substantially vertically extending sides include 6 vertically extending sides. Levin discloses housing is formed having a generally hexagonal cross section (FIG 2, the cross section of skirt 35) and thus extending sides include 6 vertically extending sides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 34, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 27 However, White does not disclose the plurality of substantially vertically extending openings are formed in multiple of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides. Levin discloses the plurality of substantially vertically extending openings are formed in multiple of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides(FIG 2, the cross section of skirt 35) and thus extending sides include 6 vertically extending sides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 38, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 27. However, White fails to disclose a photocell sensor to determine ambient light around the call tower. Levin discloses a photocell sensor (DRI emplacement) to determine ambient light around the call tower [09].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Regarding claim 39, White discloses all of the limitations of claim 38. However, White fails to disclose a photocell sensor to determine ambient light around the call tower, wherein the controller adjusts the light emitted from the light source based on the ambient light detected by the photocell. Levin discloses a photocell sensor (DRI emplacement) to determine ambient light around the call tower, wherein the controller adjusts the light emitted from the light source based on the ambient light detected by the photocell [09-11]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as Levin is analogous art that further discloses, “In a preferred embodiment, light engines 42 are interchangeable among several variants, and can be pre-installed or exchanged on site by the operator to meet the requirements of the situation. For example, a light-emitting diode array offers an advantage of minimal power consumption, whereas extremely high-output illumination might require an incandescent, metal halide, or arc lamp combined with a reflector.” [024].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 23 and 35 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. None of the cited prior art of record discloses the plurality of substantially vertically extending openings are formed in four of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides.
Claim 53 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: one of the cited prior art of record discloses the plurality of substantially vertically extending openings are formed in four of the plurality of substantially vertically extending sides.
/ASIFA HABIB/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/STEVEN S PAIK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2876