DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2024, 04/28/2025 and 01/27/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objection
Claim 2 is objected to for typographical error that resulted in “fame” used in the claim.
Claim 8 is objected to for the use of “one more identifiers corresponding to the one more STAs” in the claim. The phrase makes the meaning of the claim difficult to understand. The applicant should consider rephrasing the claim to make it easier to understand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, 9-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ajami et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0137978), Ajami hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Ajami teaches an access point (AP) in a wireless network, comprising:
a memory: and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to cause: (fig. 6A)
receiving, from a first station (STA), a request frame that solicits a channel resource from the AP on behalf of a peer to peer (P2P) group, wherein the first STA is associated with the AP; ([0168] The response frame may be any suitable frame that can confirm scheduling of the r-TWT SP requested by the STA. In some implementations, the response frame may be a TWT response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TWT response frame may include a TWT Element indicating a set of TWT parameters to be used by devices that are members of the r-TWT SP. ... [0190] 1. A method for wireless communication by an access point (AP), including: [0191] receiving a request frame from a wireless station (STA) associated with the AP and also associated with a client device via a peer-to-peer (P2P) link, the request frame indicating that the STA intends to exchange P2P communications with the client device during a restricted target wake time (r-TWT) service period (SP) scheduled on a wireless medium, the request frame identifying the client device; [0192] transmitting a response frame, responsive to receiving the request frame, on the wireless medium to the STA; [0193] obtaining a transmission opportunity (TXOP) on the wireless medium during the r-TWT SP; ...)
transmitting, to the first STA, a response frame corresponding to the request frame; and ([0168] The response frame may be any suitable frame that can confirm scheduling of the r-TWT SP requested by the STA. In some implementations, the response frame may be a TWT response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TWT response frame may include a TWT Element indicating a set of TWT parameters to be used by devices that are members of the r-TWT SP. In other implementations, the response frame may be an SCS response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The SCS response frame may include a TSPEC Element may include a TSPEC indicating the MAC address of the client device. ... )
allocating, to one or more STAs to which belong to the P2P group, the solicited channel resource in response to the request frame. ([0168] The response frame may be any suitable frame that can confirm scheduling of the r-TWT SP requested by the STA. ... [0176] FIG. 19B shows an example structure of a broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 usable for wireless communications according to some implementations. In some instances, the broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 may be included within the TWT Parameter Information field 1908 of FIG. 19A. The broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 may include a Request Type field 1912, a Target Wake Time field 1914, a Nominal Minimum TWT Wake Duration field 1916, a TWT Wake Interval Mantissa field 1917, ...)
Regarding Claim 2, Ajami teaches claim 1.
Ajami further teaches wherein the request fame is a stream classification service (SCS) request frame, and the response frame is an SCS response frame. ([0158] In other implementations, the request frame may be a Stream Classification Service (SCS) request frame that includes a traffic specification (TSPEC) Element indicating the MAC address of the client device. … [0159] … The SCS response frame may include a TSPEC Element may include a TSPEC indicating the MAC address of the client device. …)
Regarding Claim 3, Ajami teaches claim 1.
Ajami further teaches wherein the response frame includes an indication that the AP accepts the request. ([0144] The client device 712 receives the trigger frame 1200, and determines that the trigger frame 1200 identifies the client device 712. In response to receiving the trigger frame 1200, the client device 712 transmits a TB PPDU 1220 on the wireless medium to the first softAP 711 between times t.sub.6 and t.sub.7. The first softAP 711 receives the TB PPDU 1220, and acknowledges reception of the TB PPDU 1220 by transmitting a block ACK frame 1230 to the client device 712 between times t.sub.8 and t.sub.9. The r-TWT SP ends at time t.sub.10. ... ([0168] The response frame may be any suitable frame that can confirm scheduling of the r-TWT SP requested by the STA.)
Regarding Claim 4, Ajami teaches claim 1.
Ajami further teaches wherein the response frame includes information indicating the P2P group. ([0161] In some implementations, the trigger frame may be a multi-user (MU) Request-to-Send (RTS) TXOP Sharing (TXS) trigger frame. The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame may include a TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode associated with the P2P communications between the STA and the client device. In some instances, the TXOP sharing mode subfield indicates a request for the STA to transmit a CTS frame responsive to the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame. The CTS frame may include a receiver address field that contains the MAC address of the client device.)
Regarding Claim 6, Ajami teaches claim 1.
Ajami further teaches wherein the allocating the solicited channel resource comprises transmitting a trigger frame that allocates a portion of the channel resource to the one or more STAs. ([0194] transmitting a trigger frame on the wireless medium responsive to obtaining the TXOP, the trigger frame allocating a portion of the obtained TXOP for P2P communications between the STA and the client device, …).
Regarding Claim 7, Ajami teaches claim 6.
Ajami further teaches wherein the trigger frame includes one or more identifiers corresponding to the one or more STAs or an identifier of the P2P group. ([0076] … A trigger frame may address one or more STAs 104 through respective association identifiers (AIDs), and may assign each AID (and thus each STA 104) one or more RUs that can be used to send UL traffic to the AP 102.)
Regarding Claim 9, Ajami teaches claim 6.
Ajami further teaches wherein the trigger frame indicates that a portion of the channel resource is to be used by a particular STA. ([0159] … In some implementations, the response frame may be a TWT response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TWT response frame may include a TWT Element indicating a set of TWT parameters to be used by devices that are members of the r-TWT SP. In other implementations, the response frame may be an SCS response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The SCS response frame may include a TSPEC Element may include a TSPEC indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TSPEC Element may also indicate various QoS parameters, data rates, access categories, and user priorities of P2P links associated with the BSS. In some other implementations, the response frame may be a P2P response frame that indicates the MAC address of the client device and signals the intention of the STA to use the wireless medium for P2P communications with the client device during the r-TWT SP. In some instances, the P2P response frame may include one or more of a TWT Element, a TSPEC Element, or a VSIE that indicates the MAC address of the client device and signals the STA's intention. …)
Regarding Claim 10, Ajami teaches claim 1.
Ajami further teaches wherein the response frame indicates that the AP supports a resource sharing process for the P2P group. ([0206] 13. The method of clause 12, where the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode corresponding to the P2P communications associated with the client device.)
Regarding Claim 11, Ajami teaches a first station (STA) in a wireless network, comprising:
a memory; and a processor coupled to the memory, the processor configured to cause: (fig. 6B)
transmitting, to an access point (AP), a request frame that solicits a channel resource from the AP on behalf of a peer to peer (P2P) group, wherein the first STA is associated with the AP and a member of the P2P group; and ([0190] 1. A method for wireless communication by an access point (AP), including: [0191] receiving a request frame from a wireless station (STA) associated with the AP and also associated with a client device via a peer-to-peer (P2P) link, the request frame indicating that the STA intends to exchange P2P communications with the client device during a restricted target wake time (r-TWT) service period (SP) scheduled on a wireless medium, the request frame identifying the client device; [0192] transmitting a response frame, responsive to receiving the request frame, on the wireless medium to the STA; [0193] obtaining a transmission opportunity (TXOP) on the wireless medium during the r-TWT SP; ...)
receiving, from the AP, a response frame indicating acceptance to the request ([0168] The response frame may be any suitable frame that can confirm scheduling of the r-TWT SP requested by the STA. In some implementations, the response frame may be a TWT response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TWT response frame may include a TWT Element indicating a set of TWT parameters to be used by devices that are members of the r-TWT SP. In other implementations, the response frame may be an SCS response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The SCS response frame may include a TSPEC Element may include a TSPEC indicating the MAC address of the client device. ...).
Regarding Claim 12, Ajami teaches claim 11.
Ajami further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause receiving, from the AP, the solicited channel resource. ([0168] The response frame may be any suitable frame that can confirm scheduling of the r-TWT SP requested by the STA. ... [0176] FIG. 19B shows an example structure of a broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 usable for wireless communications according to some implementations. In some instances, the broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 may be included within the TWT Parameter Information field 1908 of FIG. 19A. The broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 may include a Request Type field 1912, a Target Wake Time field 1914, a Nominal Minimum TWT Wake Duration field 1916, a TWT Wake Interval Mantissa field 1917, ...)
Regarding Claim 13, Ajami teaches claim 11.
Ajami further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to cause receiving, from the AP, a trigger frame that allocates a portion of the channel resource to the first STA. ([0194] transmitting a trigger frame on the wireless medium responsive to obtaining the TXOP, the trigger frame allocating a portion of the obtained TXOP for P2P communications between the STA and the client device, … )
Regarding Claim 14, Ajami teaches claim 13.
Ajami further teaches wherein the trigger frame indicates that a portion of the channel resource is to be used by a particular STA. ([0159] … In some implementations, the response frame may be a TWT response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TWT response frame may include a TWT Element indicating a set of TWT parameters to be used by devices that are members of the r-TWT SP. In other implementations, the response frame may be an SCS response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The SCS response frame may include a TSPEC Element may include a TSPEC indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TSPEC Element may also indicate various QoS parameters, data rates, access categories, and user priorities of P2P links associated with the BSS. In some other implementations, the response frame may be a P2P response frame that indicates the MAC address of the client device and signals the intention of the STA to use the wireless medium for P2P communications with the client device during the r-TWT SP. In some instances, the P2P response frame may include one or more of a TWT Element, a TSPEC Element, or a VSIE that indicates the MAC address of the client device and signals the STA's intention. …)
Regarding Claim 15, Ajami teaches claim 11.
Ajami further teaches wherein the response frame includes information indicating the P2P group. ([0161] In some implementations, the trigger frame may be a multi-user (MU) Request-to-Send (RTS) TXOP Sharing (TXS) trigger frame. The MU-RTS TXS trigger frame may include a TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode associated with the P2P communications between the STA and the client device. In some instances, the TXOP sharing mode subfield indicates a request for the STA to transmit a CTS frame responsive to the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame. The CTS frame may include a receiver address field that contains the MAC address of the client device.)
Regarding Claim 17, Ajami teaches claim 11.
Ajami further teaches wherein the request frame indicates that the first STA supports a resource sharing process for the P2P group. ([0206] 13. The method of clause 12, where the MU-RTS TXS trigger frame includes a TXOP sharing mode subfield indicating a TXOP sharing mode corresponding to the P2P communications associated with the client device.)
Regarding Claim 18, Ajami teaches a method performed by an access point (AP), the method comprising: receiving, from a first station (STA), a request frame that solicits a channel resource from the AP on behalf of a peer to peer (P2P) group, wherein the first STA is associated with the AP; ([0190] 1. A method for wireless communication by an access point (AP), including: [0191] receiving a request frame from a wireless station (STA) associated with the AP and also associated with a client device via a peer-to-peer (P2P) link, the request frame indicating that the STA intends to exchange P2P communications with the client device during a restricted target wake time (r-TWT) service period (SP) scheduled on a wireless medium, the request frame identifying the client device; [0192] transmitting a response frame, responsive to receiving the request frame, on the wireless medium to the STA; [0193] obtaining a transmission opportunity (TXOP) on the wireless medium during the r-TWT SP; ...)
transmitting, to the first STA, a response frame corresponding to the request frame; and ([0168] The response frame may be any suitable frame that can confirm scheduling of the r-TWT SP requested by the STA. In some implementations, the response frame may be a TWT response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TWT response frame may include a TWT Element indicating a set of TWT parameters to be used by devices that are members of the r-TWT SP. In other implementations, the response frame may be an SCS response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The SCS response frame may include a TSPEC Element may include a TSPEC indicating the MAC address of the client device. ... )
allocating, to one or more STAs to which belong to the P2P group, the solicited channel resource in response to the request frame. ([0168] The response frame may be any suitable frame that can confirm scheduling of the r-TWT SP requested by the STA. ... [0176] FIG. 19B shows an example structure of a broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 usable for wireless communications according to some implementations. In some instances, the broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 may be included within the TWT Parameter Information field 1908 of FIG. 19A. The broadcast TWT Parameter Set field 1910 may include a Request Type field 1912, a Target Wake Time field 1914, a Nominal Minimum TWT Wake Duration field 1916, a TWT Wake Interval Mantissa field 1917, ...).
Regarding Claim 19, Ajami teaches claim 18.
Ajami further teaches wherein the request frame solicits the channel resource from the AP on behalf of a subset of the P2P group. ( [0190] 1. A method for wireless communication by an access point (AP), including: [0191] receiving a request frame from a wireless station (STA) associated with the AP and also associated with a client device via a peer-to-peer (P2P) link, the request frame indicating that the STA intends to exchange P2P communications with the client device during a restricted target wake time (r-TWT) service period (SP) scheduled on a wireless medium, the request frame identifying the client device; [0192] transmitting a response frame, responsive to receiving the request frame, on the wireless medium to the STA; [0193] obtaining a transmission opportunity (TXOP) on the wireless medium during the r-TWT SP; ...)
Regarding Claim 20, Ajami teaches claim 18.
Ajami further teaches wherein the allocating the solicited channel resource comprises transmitting a trigger frame that allocates a portion of the channel resource to the one or more STAs. ([0159] … In some implementations, the response frame may be a TWT response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TWT response frame may include a TWT Element indicating a set of TWT parameters to be used by devices that are members of the r-TWT SP. In other implementations, the response frame may be an SCS response frame indicating the MAC address of the client device. The SCS response frame may include a TSPEC Element may include a TSPEC indicating the MAC address of the client device. The TSPEC Element may also indicate various QoS parameters, data rates, access categories, and user priorities of P2P links associated with the BSS. In some other implementations, the response frame may be a P2P response frame that indicates the MAC address of the client device and signals the intention of the STA to use the wireless medium for P2P communications with the client device during the r-TWT SP. In some instances, the P2P response frame may include one or more of a TWT Element, a TSPEC Element, or a VSIE that indicates the MAC address of the client device and signals the STA's intention. …)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajami et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0137978), Ajami hereinafter, in view of Smadi et al. (U.S. PGPub 2015/0264123), Smadi hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Ajami teaches claim 1.
Yet, Ajami does not expressly teach wherein the request frame solicits the channel resource from the AP on behalf of a subset of the P2P group.
However, in the analogous art, Smadi explicitly discloses wherein the request frame solicits the channel resource from the AP on behalf of a subset of the P2P group ([0041] ... Alternatively, the GO 2 may unicast to all or to a subset of the devices a GO Change Announcement message announcing the switch to the new GO, which is STA 4. If the GO Change Announcement message is sent only to a subset of the client devices in the P2P group, this is a form of splitting the P2P group into two P2P groups because the client devices that do not receive the message remain in the original P2P group with GO).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ajami’s low latency schemes for peer-to-peer (P2P) communications to include Smadi's subset of the P2P group to achieve higher network throughput.
Regarding Claim 16, Ajami teaches claim 11.
Yet, Ajami does not expressly teach wherein the request frame solicits the channel resource from the AP on behalf of a subset of the P2P group.
However, in the analogous art, Smadi explicitly discloses wherein the request frame solicits the channel resource from the AP on behalf of a subset of the P2P group ([0041] ... Alternatively, the GO 2 may unicast to all or to a subset of the devices a GO Change Announcement message announcing the switch to the new GO, which is STA 4. If the GO Change Announcement message is sent only to a subset of the client devices in the P2P group, this is a form of splitting the P2P group into two P2P groups because the client devices that do not receive the message remain in the original P2P group with GO)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ajami’s low latency schemes for peer-to-peer (P2P) communications to include Smadi's subset of the P2P group to achieve higher network throughput.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ajami et al. ( U.S. PGPUB 2024/0137978), Ajami hereinafter, in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0354418), Kim hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 8, Ajami teaches claim 6.
Yet, Ajami does not expressly teach wherein the trigger frame includes a broadcast address and one more identifiers corresponding to the one more STAs or an identifier of the P2P group.
However, in the analogous art, Kim explicitly discloses wherein the trigger frame includes a broadcast address and one more identifiers corresponding to the one more STAs or an identifier of the P2P group ([0105] For example, the tuple may include IDs of STAs participating in P2P transmission (e.g., STA ID1 and STA ID2) and P2P information, and the P2P information may include a P2P group ID, a P2P session ID, and the like. The STA ID1 may be an identifier of an initiator (e.g., source and/or group owner) of P2P transmission, and the STA ID2 may be an identifier of a responder (e.g., destination and/or target) of P2P transmission, or vice versa. … [0127] C. The AP MLD may transmit a trigger frame including information for P2P transmission. The trigger frame can be delivered as a (Unicast) single user PPDU or (Broadcast) multiuser PPDU ...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Ajami’s low latency schemes for peer-to-peer (P2P) communications to include Kim's broadcast address and STA identifiers to achieve more precise direct addressing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2024/0292456 which describes resource allocation techniques to support multiple peer-to-peer (p2p) sessions
U.S. PGPUB 2024/0357650 which describes infrastructure and peer-to-peer (p2p) medium access sharing
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472