DETAILED ACTION
2. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Drawings
3. The drawing has been filed on 12/31/2024 are acceptable for examination purpose.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement filed on 12/31/2024 is in compliance with the provision of the 37 CFR 1.97 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 6-11, 14-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Collins, Jr. et al. [hereafter Collins, Jr.], US Pub 2015/0348350.
As to claim 1 [independent], Collins, Jr. teaches. a scanning system, comprising [0018]:
a data reader comprising [0018]:
at least one camera [fig. 1a, element “imager”; 0018] configured to capture images of an item [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that scanner comprising the camera with multiple light sources such as Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) illuminates the currency note to scan or captures currency images];
at least one visible illumination source [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that scanner comprising the camera with multiple light sources such as Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) illuminates the currency note to scan or captures currency images];
at least one non-visible illumination source [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that scanner comprising the camera with multiple light sources such as Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) illuminates the currency note to scan or captures currency images];
at least one processor configured to:
control the exposure of the at least one camera and activate the at least one visible illumination source and the non-visible illumination source [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency];
decode optical symbols on the item from images captured during a decoding operational mode [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency]; and
capture a first image under a first illumination condition using the at least one visible light source [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency], a second image under a second illumination condition using the at least one non-visible light source during a document validation assist mode [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency]; and
an electronic display operably coupled to the data reader to receive the images from the data reader during the document validation assist mode [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency], the electronic display configured to display the first and second images in an alternating fashion at a frequency slower than a minimum flicker fusion frequency for human vision [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency].
. As to claim 6 [dependent from claim 1], Collins, Jr. teaches wherein the frequency for alternating the images controlled by a manual user input for switching between the images [0051 Collins, Jr. teaches that the currency validator presents the image in a screen of a display for validation, such as by a clerk operating a checkout station].
As to claim 7 [dependent from claim 1], Collins, Jr. teaches wherein the data reader is a fixed retail scanner including a top-down reader operably coupled thereto, the top-down reader including the at least one camera [figs. 1a-d; 0018-0019], the at least one visible illumination source, and the at least one non-visible illumination source used to capture images during the document validation assist mode [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency].
As to claim 8 [dependent from claim 1], Collins, Jr. teaches wherein the data reader is one of a fixed retail scanner, a presentation scanner, a mobile or handheld scanner, or a wearable scanner [0018].
As to claim 9 [dependent from claim 1], Collins, Jr. teaches wherein the visible illumination source produces at least one of red light or white light, and wherein the non-visible illumination source produces at least one of infrared (IR) or ultraviolet (UV) light [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency].
As to claim 10 [independent], Collins, Jr. teaches a method of operating a scanning system to perform a document validation assist mode, the method comprising [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, for alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user in order to validate or invalidate the currency]:
capturing a first image under a first illumination condition of non-visible light [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, for alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user in order to validate or invalidate the currency];
capturing a second image under a second illumination condition of visible light [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, for alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user in order to validate or invalidate the currency];
transmitting the first image and the second image from a data reader to a connected electronic display [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, for alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user in order to validate or invalidate the currency]; and
alternatingly displaying the first and second images on the connected electronic display at a rate less than a minimum flicker fusion frequency for human vision [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user in order to validate or invalidate the currency].
As to claim 11 [dependent from claim 10], Collins, Jr. teaches wherein the visible light is at least one of a red light or a white light, and the non-visible light at least one of infrared (IR) or ultraviolet (UV) light [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images].
As to claim 14 [dependent from claim 10], Collins, Jr. teaches continuously capturing first images and second images under the respective illumination conditions during the document validation assist mode [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images].
As to claim 15 [dependent from claim 10], Collins, Jr. teaches capturing a third image under a third illumination condition of non-visible light, wherein transmitting and alternatingly displaying include the third image, and wherein the first illumination condition is IR light and the third illumination condition is UV light [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user in order to validate or invalidate the currency].
As to claim 17 [dependent from claim 10], Collins, Jr. teaches wherein the first image and the second image are transmitted as a single set of images, and the alternatingly displaying switches back and forth between the same first and second images of the single set of images [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user in order to validate or invalidate the currency].
As to claim 18 [dependent from claim 10], Collins, Jr. teaches analyzing, via a processor of the data reader, the first image and second image to detect differences therebetween; annotating the images transmitted to the electronic display; and providing an indication to the user of the detected differences [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency].
As to claim 19 [dependent from claim 18], Collins, Jr. teaches wherein providing an indication to the user includes displaying a visual indicator around or in proximity to the detected differences [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency].
As to claim 20 [independent], Collins, Jr. teaches a method of operating a scanning system to perform a document validation assist mode, the method comprising[figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, for alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user in order to validate or invalidate the currency]:
capturing a first image under a first illumination condition that shows at least one security feature present on the document [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency];
capturing a second image under a second illumination condition that does not show the at least one security feature present on the document [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency];
transmitting the first image and the second image from a data reader to a connected electronic display [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency]; and
alternatingly displaying the first and second images on the connected electronic display at a rate less than a minimum flicker fusion frequency for human vision to allow a user to distinguish between the images and identify the at least one security feature [figs. 1a-d; abstract, 0018-0025 Collins, Jr. teaches that the camera selectively illuminated with Ultraviolet (UV) light (i.e. non-visible light), Infrared (IR) light (i.e. non-visible light), and/or white light (i.e. visible light) in front of a camera, which is integrated into a scanner scan or captures currency images and then transmitted to display after each scan, alternately or one by one displaying each of the images of the scanned currency images for the user with different security features detected in each scanned images at least as shown in figs. 1a-c in order to validate or invalidate the currency].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collins, Jr. et al. [hereafter Collins, Jr.], US Pub 2015/0348350 in view of Crooks et al. [hereafter Crooks], US Pub 2018/0247292.
As to claim 12 [dependent from claim 10], Collins, Jr. teaches image balancing the first image and the second image so that the apparent brightness of the document is the same under the first and second illumination conditions.
Crooks teaches image balancing the first image and the second image so that the apparent brightness of the document is the same under the first and second illumination conditions [0039 Crooks teaches that the multiple cameras 240, 242 at least acquire at least first & second images to go through further image processing including adjusting color, for example altering or applying white balance, separating colors, for example by applying a de-Bayer filter, and adjusting brightness].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Crooks teaching to adjust brightness of the document is the same under the first and second illumination conditions to modify Collins, Jr.’s teaching to receive first & second images from multiple cameras, where the images from each device captured at various illumination sources and exposure levels, and the images are sorted based on illumination and exposure levels for distribution to image processing services that each perform task with regard to a received image. The first & second images are presented to respective services for which they are sorted. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to provide scanner that processes and sorts images in a centralized task to minimize duplication of processor usage to reduce processing load.
As to claim 13 [dependent from claim 12], Crooks teaches wherein the image balancing includes at least one of white balance, color correction, conversion of the first and second images to monochrome images, or any combination thereof [0039 Crooks teaches that the multiple cameras 240, 242 at least acquire at least first & second images to go through further image processing including adjusting color, for example altering or applying white balance, separating colors, for example by applying a de-Bayer filter, and adjusting brightness].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate Crooks teaching to adjust brightness of the document is the same under the first and second illumination conditions to modify Collins, Jr.’s teaching to receive first & second images from multiple cameras, where the images from each device captured at various illumination sources and exposure levels, and the images are sorted based on illumination and exposure levels for distribution to image processing services that each perform task with regard to a received image. The first & second images are presented to respective services for which they are sorted. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been benefitted to the user to provide scanner that processes and sorts images in a centralized task to minimize duplication of processor usage to reduce processing load.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2-5, 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The dependent claim 2 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the frequency for alternating the images is at or less than 15 Hz”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 3 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the frequency for alternating the images is in a range between 5 Hz and 15 Hz”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 4 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the motor and the torsional spring pull the belt in a same direction”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 5 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the frequency for alternating the images is in at or less than 5 Hz”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 15 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “wherein the motor and the torsional spring pull the belt in a same direction”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
The dependent claim 16 is allowable over the prior arts of record (or cited or listed above) since the cited references taken individually or in combination fails to particularly anticipate or disclose or suggest the claim limitations recited “capturing a third image under a third illumination condition of non-visible light; and superimposing the first and the third image as a single image to be alternatingly displayed with the second image, wherein the first illumination condition is IR light and the third illumination condition is UV light”, in combination with all other limitations as claimed.
Conclusion
/HARIS SABAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2682