Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-7, and 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable under US 20230244332 A1 (“Kato”).
In regards to claim 1, Kato discloses
An apparatus for a human-machine interface, the apparatus comprising ([0024], “The input device … is … to be used as a game controller”): a body ([0025], “an input device main body … is housed in a frame case”) and a joystick attached to the body, the joystick comprising ([0033], “on … the input device main body … one finger insertion operation part … is disposed): a spiral spring configured to bias the joystick to a neutral position ([0184], “the operation element … returns to its original state (position) due to … the spiral spring”);
a detectable component coupled to the spiral spring ([0039], “a position detection circuit … is formed on the … board”);
and a sensor configured to detect a position of the detectable component ([0038], “The input device main body … includes a position detection sensor”).
In regards to claim 2, Kato discloses
wherein the joystick comprises a pad to be manipulated by a user ([0033], “The finger insertion operation part … is configured as a three-dimensional operation part capable of accepting an operation made by a user to change the position of the operation element”), wherein the pad is coupled to the spiral spring ([0176], “FIG. 14C is … a … spiral spring … for returning an operation element”).
In regards to claim 4, Kato discloses
wherein a topmost surface of the joystick is substantially flush with a topmost surface of the body ([0033], “operation input acceptance … 4C … on the upper surface of the input device main body … one finger insertion operation part … is disposed”).
In regards to claim 6, Kato discloses
wherein the spiral spring is configured to rotate within the body relative to an axis of winding of the spiral spring ([0176], “FIG. 14C is … a return spiral spring … for returning an operation element … to the original state after the operation element … is operated to slidingly move forward, backward, leftward, or rightward”).
In regards to claim 7, Kato discloses
wherein the spiral spring comprises a multi-start spiral spring ([0179], “the spiral spring … can freely and elastically be displaced, and after being displaced, the spiral spring … returns to its original state”).
In regards to claim 9, Kato discloses
wherein the spiral spring has an outer diameter of greater than 10 millimeters (mm) and less than 45 mm ([0180], “the spiral spring … is disposed at a position where a central portion of the spiral spring … is directly below the opening … in order to prevent the spiral spring … from being detached from the opening … the spiral spring … includes a detachment prevention flange … which has an outer circumferential diameter larger than a diameter of the opening” Examiner notes that standard outer diameters for spiral springs can vary widely depending on the specific type and application, but they typically range from 2 mm to 120 mm.).
In regards to claim 10, Kato discloses
wherein the detectable component comprises ([0039], “a position detection circuit … is formed on the … board”) a magnet ([0091], “The position detection circuit … includes an oscillator … a current driver … a selection circuit … a switching connection circuit … a reception amplifier … and a position detection processing circuit” Examiner notes that either of these components may include a magnet.);
and the sensor comprises a magnetic field (or Hall effect) sensor ([0096], “a magnetic field is generated … and a signal … is transmitted to act on the … circuit … disposed to face the position detection sensor”).
In regards to claim 11, Kato discloses
wherein the detectable component comprises a conductive element ([0202], “the input device may use … a position detection circuit of a capacitance type … the position indicator of each operation part may include a conductor”);
and the sensor comprises an inductive or a capacitive sensor ([0046], “the position detection sensor … is of an electromagnetic induction type”).
In regards to claim 12, Kato discloses
wherein the spiral spring is configured to be ([0054, “a … spring … adheres to … the operation part holding member”) replaceable ([0128], “the operation part holding member … is configured to be replaceable”).
In regards to claim 13, Kato discloses
wherein the body has a substantially uniform thickness ([0025], “The input device … has a thin plate-like appearance and is configured such that an input device main body … is housed in a frame case”).
In regards to claim 14, Kato discloses
wherein the apparatus has a thickness of 10 millimeters or less ([0025], “The input device … has a thin plate-like appearance” Examiner notes that an input device can have a thickness of 10 mm or less.).
In regards to claim 15, Kato discloses
wherein the body is sized to be held in a hand of a user with a thumb on the joystick ([0033], “The finger insertion operation part … includes an operation element … which has a portion into which a user can insert … a thumb”).
In regards to claim 16, Kato discloses
wherein the body has a width of 125 millimeters or less and a height of 75 millimeters or less ([0025], “The input device … has a thin plate-like appearance” Examiner notes that an input device can have a width of 125 millimeters or less and a height of 75 millimeters or less.).
In regards to claim 17, Kato discloses
wherein the body comprises a retention mechanism for attaching the apparatus to a mobile device or to a case of mobile device ([0089], “the output of the position detection circuit … is supplied to the operation information processing circuit … and the output … of the operation information processing circuit … is transmitted to a game machine main body … through the wireless communication device”).
In regards to claim 18, Kato discloses
wherein the sensor is configured to generate a signal indicative of the position of the detectable component ([0096], “a magnetic field is generated … and a signal … is transmitted to act on the … circuit of … the operation parts … disposed to face the position detection sensor”), the apparatus further comprising a wireless communication module configured to send the signal to an external electronic device ([0039], “a wireless communication device … is formed on the circuit board”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 3, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable under Kato in view of US 20140002360 A1 (“Nemeth”).
In regards to claim 3, Kato does not disclose wherein the joystick has a thickness less than 10 millimeters.
Nemeth discloses
wherein the joystick has a thickness less than 10 millimeters ([0065], “The dimensions of the complete device are about a few millimetres”).
Kato and Nemeth are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of input devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an apparatus for a human-machine interface, the apparatus comprising: a body and a joystick attached to the body, the joystick comprising: a spiral spring configured to bias the joystick to a neutral position; a detectable component coupled to the spiral spring; and a sensor configured to detect a position of the detectable component, as disclosed by Kato, wherein the joystick has a thickness less than 10 millimeters, as disclosed by Nemeth, to provide dimensions for a joystick input device. One skilled in the art
would recognize and value the addition of dimensions for a joystick input device.
In regards to claim 5, Kato does not disclose wherein a top-most surface of the joystick extends above a topmost surface of the body by 2.5 millimeters or less.
Nemeth discloses
wherein a top-most surface of the joystick extends above a topmost surface of the body by 2.5 millimeters or less.
Kato and Nemeth are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of input devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an apparatus for a human-machine interface, the apparatus comprising: a body and a joystick attached to the body, the joystick comprising: a spiral spring configured to bias the joystick to a neutral position; a detectable component coupled to the spiral spring; and a sensor configured to detect a position of the detectable component, as disclosed by Kato, wherein a top-most surface of the joystick extends above a topmost surface of the body by 2.5 millimeters or less, as disclosed by Nemeth, to provide dimensions for a joystick input device. One skilled in the art would recognize and value the addition of dimensions for a joystick input device.
In regards to claim 8, Kato does not disclose wherein the spiral spring has a thickness of less than 5 millimeters (mm).
Nemeth discloses
wherein the spiral spring has a thickness of less than 5 millimeters (mm) ([0065], “The dimensions of the complete device are about a few millimetres … the shape and the construction of the spring … may be arranged or designed in a different suitable manner”).
Kato and Nemeth are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the field of input devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention for an apparatus for a human-machine interface, the apparatus comprising: a body and a joystick attached to the body, the joystick comprising: a spiral spring configured to bias the joystick to a neutral position; a detectable component coupled to the spiral spring; and a sensor configured to detect a position of the detectable component, as disclosed by Kato, wherein the spiral spring has a thickness of less than 5 millimeters (mm), as disclosed by Nemeth, to provide dimensions and spring shape for a joystick input device. One skilled in the art would recognize and value the addition of dimensions and spring shape for a joystick input device.
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
Applicant’s disclosure. The following references have been cited to further show the
state of the art.
• US Patent No. US 7474296 B2 (“Obermeyer”)
Obermeyer discloses multi-axis input devices such as joysticks for use in control of computers, control of computer graphics applications in the field of computer-aided design, computer games, and for control of machines such as construction equipment, robotic manipulators, vehicles, and the like.
• US Patent No. US 10335674 B1 (“Trenado”)
Trenado discloses video game controllers configurable as a video game controller with audio capabilities and a standard video game controller without audio capabilities.
Contact Information
examiner should be directed to Lisa Antoine whose telephone number is
(571) 272-4252 and whose email address is lantoine@uspto.gov. The examiner can be
reached Monday-Thursday, 7:30 am-5:30 pm CT. Examiner interviews are available via
telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based
collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO
Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Xuan Thai, can be reached on (571) 272-7147. The fax phone number for
the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Publication Information
obtained from the Patent Center. Unpublished application information in the Patent
Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in the
Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about the
Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in
DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC)
at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/LISA H ANTOINE/
Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715