DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3, 7, 8, and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Claims 1, 7, and 12 are independent.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered however respectfully found not persuasive.
Applicant amended the independent claims 1, 7 and 12 to further specify:
partition the output value between the at least two power converter units, wherein a first amount of the output value is partitioned to a first power converter unit of the at least two power converter units and a second amount of the output value, different from the first amount, is partitioned to a second power converter unit of the at least two power converter units;
generate a first control signal to control the first power converter unit and a second control signal, different from the first control signal, to control the second power converter unit;
detect a decrease in power output from the first power converter unit; and increase power output from the second power converter unit to maintain the output value assigned to the virtual converter block.
In the remarks, applicant argues in substance that:
OKADA does not teach the second amount of the output value is different from the first amount and the second control signal is different from first control signal, therefore, the combination of OKADA and PAQUIN does not teach the second amount of the output value is different from the first amount and the second control signal is different from first control signal.
2) PAQUIN teaches using inverter temperature as indicator for inverter output power, therefore PAQUIN does not teach detecting a decrease in power output from the first power converter unit; and increase power output from the second power converter unit to maintain the output value assigned to the virtual converter block.
Regarding 1), While the examiner agrees that OKADA does not teach the second amount of the output value is different from the first amount and the second control signal is different from first control signal. However, the examiner respectfully submit that applicant has overlooked the fact that PAQUIN teaches the second amount of the output value is different from the first amount ([0122] - [0126] for the inverters whose decreased output power cannot be fully adjusted back, the shortages are allocated to the rest of inverters in the array to maintain the total power output of the inverter array constant, i.e. “a second amount of the output value, different from the first amount”) and the second control signal is different from first control signal ([0122] - [0126] for the inverters whose decreased output power cannot be fully adjusted back, the shortages are allocated to the rest of inverters in the array to maintain the total power output of the inverter array constant, i.e. “increase power output from the second power converter unit to maintain the output value assigned to the virtual converter block”). Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding 2), While the examiner agrees that PAQUIN teaches using inverter temperature as indicator for inverter output power. However, the examiner respectfully submit that applicant has overlooked the fact that using inverter temperature as indicator for inverter output power is one of the methods to detect the inverter power output state, PAQUIN teaches using inverter temperature as indicator for inverter output power, the decrease in power output from one of power converter units in the array can be detected, and the loss of the power output can be allocated to other power converter units, i.e. “detect a decrease in power output from the first power converter unit; and increase power output from the second power converter unit to maintain the output value assigned to the virtual converter block” ([0121] the inverter temperature is used as a detection signal for power output of the inverter, the output power of inverters with temperature greater than average are decreased; [0122] - [0126] for the inverters whose decreased output power cannot be fully adjusted back, the shortages are allocated to the rest of inverters in the array to maintain the total power output of the inverter array constant, i.e. “increase power output from the second power converter unit to maintain the output value assigned to the virtual converter block”). Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The applicant’s other arguments are directed to certain features are not recited in the amended claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
The teachings of OKADA and PAQUIN as disclosed in the previous office action are hereby incorporated by references to the extent applicable to the amended claims.
Another iteration of claim analysis has been made. Referring to the corresponding sections of the claim analysis below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over OKADA JP 2010238010 A in view of PAQUIN EP 2790287 A21.
Regarding claim 1, OKADA teaches a power conversion system (Fig. 1 [0020] system 1) comprising:
a plurality of power converter units (Fig. 1 [0020] converters 41 – 43), wherein each power converter unit of the plurality of power converter units is configured to:
receive direct current (DC) power from one or more power sources (Fig. 1 [0020] converters receiving DC power from solar cell modules); and
a control system comprising one or more processors (Fig. 1 [0020] control device 9) configured to:
detect electrical coupling between terminals of at least two power converter units of the plurality of power converter units (Figs. 1 & 3 [0022] [0031] the converters are in parallel state when their terminals are connected parallelly, the controller detects the connection device is in parallel state using voltage sensors i.e. “detect electrical coupling between terminals of at least two power converter units”);
in response to detecting the electrical coupling, generate a virtual converter block comprising the at least two power converter units, wherein the virtual converter block represents a combined performance characteristic of the at least two power converter units ([0042] the controller generates an aggregated model to represent the converters that are detected in parallel state to generate one common PWM signal to control the converters, based on total current value I = I1+I2+I3 and single voltage V1 that representing the power output of the solar cell module group); and
control operation of the at least two power converter units based on aggregate characteristics of the virtual converter block ([0042] the common PWM signal is used to control the individual converter).
OKADA does not explicitly further teach:
the converter converting the DC power into alternating current (AC) power and the combined performance characteristic is a combined AC power output;
assign an output value to the virtual converter block; and
partition the output value between the at least two power converter units, wherein a first amount of the output value is partitioned to a first power converter unit of the at least two power converter units and a second amount of the output value, different from the first amount, is partitioned to a second power converter unit of the at least two power converter units;
generate a first control signal to control the first power converter unit and a second control signal, different from the first control signal, to control the second power converter unit;
detect a decrease in power output from the first power converter unit; and increase power output from the second power converter unit to maintain the output value assigned to the virtual converter block.
PAQUIN explicitly teaches in an analogous art that:
the converter converting the DC power into alternating current (AC) power (Fig. 2 [0004] [0032] [0042], each solar cell connected to corresponding distributed inverters to convert the DC power to AC power, and the parallelly connected inverters array is virtualized into a single virtual inverter) and the combined performance characteristic is a combined AC power output ([0050] desired output characteristic such as output current of the virtual inverter can be specified);
assign an output value to the virtual converter block ([0023] [0027] determining a desired combined behavior, the desired combined behavior is the desired combined output power to the grid i.e. “assign an output value to the virtual converter block”, [0102] array’s output power is maintained at a specific value PARRAY); and
partition the output value between the at least two power converter units, wherein a first amount of the output value is partitioned to a first power converter unit of the at least two power converter units and a second amount of the output value, different from the first amount, is partitioned to a second power converter unit of the at least two power converter units ([0122] - [0126] for the inverters whose decreased output power cannot be fully adjusted back, the shortages are allocated to the rest of inverters in the array to maintain the total power output of the inverter array constant, i.e. “a second amount of the output value, different from the first amount”);
generate a first control signal to control the first power converter unit and a second control signal, different from the first control signal, to control the second power converter unit ([0122] - [0126] for the inverters whose decreased output power cannot be fully adjusted back, the shortages are allocated to the rest of inverters in the array to maintain the total power output of the inverter array constant, i.e. “a second control signal, different from the first control signal”);
detect a decrease in power output from the first power converter unit ([0121] the inverter temperature is used as a detection signal for power output of the inverter, the output power of inverters with temperature greater than average are decreased); and increase power output from the second power converter unit to maintain the output value assigned to the virtual converter block ([0122] - [0126] for the inverters whose decreased output power cannot be fully adjusted back, the shortages are allocated to the rest of inverters in the array to maintain the total power output of the inverter array constant, i.e. “increase power output from the second power converter unit to maintain the output value assigned to the virtual converter block”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the system wherein the converter converting the DC power into alternating current (AC) power and the combined performance characteristic is a combined AC power output; assign an output value to the virtual converter block; partition the output value between the at least two power converter units, wherein a first amount of the output value is partitioned to a first power converter unit of the at least two power converter units and a second amount of the output value, different from the first amount, is partitioned to a second power converter unit of the at least two power converter units; generate a first control signal to control the first power converter unit and a second control signal, different from the first control signal, to control the second power converter unit; detect a decrease in power output from the first power converter unit; and increase power output from the second power converter unit to maintain the output value assigned to the virtual converter block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to provide desired combined output power to electrical grid, as PAQUIN teaches in [0027].
Regarding claim 2, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches monitoring a total power output of the virtual converter block; and adjusting individual power outputs of the at least two power converter units to maintain the total power output at a target level (Fig. 14 [0118] power output of individual inverter is controlled to maintain a given array output power requirement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the system wherein monitoring a total power output of the virtual converter block; and adjusting individual power outputs of the at least two power converter units to maintain the total power output at a target level. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 3, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches detecting the decrease in power output from the first power converter unit comprises monitoring individual power outputs of the first power converter unit and the second power converter unit relative to the virtual converter block ([0103] the controller measures the individual inverter’s power and controls each individual inverter’s power output to maintain the array’s output power at a specific value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the system detecting the decrease in power output from the first power converter unit comprises monitoring individual power outputs of the first power converter unit and the second power converter unit relative to the virtual converter block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 4, OKADA further teaches detecting that the at least two power converter units are connected to a common voltage bus ([0031] the connection device is detected to be in parallel state i.e. “connected to a common voltage bus” when the voltages on the input side of the converters are equal).
Regarding claim 5, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches:
monitor individual performance metrics for each power converter unit within the virtual converter block; and generate control decisions based on the individual performance metrics and aggregate performance metrics of the virtual converter block (Fig. 14 [0119] – [0126] individual inverter temperatures and actual inverter output power are monitored, the average inverter temperature is calculated, and the output power adjustments for individual inverters are determined based on the average inverter temperature and the individual inverter temperature).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the system wherein monitor individual performance metrics for each power converter unit within the virtual converter block; and generate control decisions based on the individual performance metrics and aggregate performance metrics of the virtual converter block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 6, OKADA further teaches the one or more power sources comprise a solar assembly including a plurality of solar cells configured to convert sunlight into DC power (Fig. 1 [0020] DC power output from solar cell modules).
Regarding claim 7, it is directed to a method of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 5. Since OKADA and PAQUIN teach the claimed system, they teach the method steps for implementing the system.
In addition, OKADA further teaches a computer system and the method is implemented by one or more processors of the computing system (Fig. 1 [0020] control device 9).
Regarding claim 8, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches detecting the decrease in power output from the first power converter unit comprises monitoring individual power outputs of the first power converter unit and the second power converter unit relative to the virtual converter block ([0103] the controller measures the individual inverter’s power and controls each individual inverter’s power output to maintain the array’s output power at a specific value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the method wherein detecting the decrease in power output from the first power converter unit comprises monitoring individual power outputs of the first power converter unit and the second power converter unit relative to the virtual converter block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 9, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches:
determining, by the one or more processors, a target power output level for the virtual converter block; and
distributing, by the one or more processors, the target power output level among the at least two power converter units (Fig. 14 [0118] power output of individual inverter is controlled to maintain a given array output power requirement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the method wherein detecting, by the one or more processors, a change in power output from a first power converter unit of the at least two power converter units; and automatically adjusting, by the one or more processors, power output from a second power converter unit of the at least two power converter units to compensate for the change. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 10, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches:
combining, by the one or more processors, individual power outputs from each of the at least two power converter units; and tracking, by the one or more processors, the combined power output as a single output metric ([0102] output power of individual inverters is monitored and adjusted to maintain the combined output power of the inverter array at target value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the method wherein combining, by the one or more processors, individual power outputs from each of the at least two power converter units; and tracking, by the one or more processors, the combined power output as a single output metric. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 11, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches:
identifying, by the one or more processors, individual capacity limits of each power converter unit within the virtual converter block; and determining, by the one or more processors, an aggregate capacity limit for the virtual converter block based on the individual capacity limits ([0124] – [0126] the residual of the individual inverters i.e. the adjustment capacity limits of each inverter is calculated and aggregated to obtain the total of residual of the array adjustment power errors).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the method wherein identifying, by the one or more processors, individual capacity limits of each power converter unit within the virtual converter block; and determining, by the one or more processors, an aggregate capacity limit for the virtual converter block based on the individual capacity limits. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 12, it is directed to a control system of carrying out the power conversion system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 5. Since OKADA and PAQUIN teach the claimed power conversion system, they teach the control system.
Regarding claim 13, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches:
receive power output data from each power converter unit within the virtual converter block; and calculate total power output of the virtual converter block by combining individual power outputs ([0102] output power of individual inverters is monitored and adjusted to maintain the combined output power of the inverter array at target value).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the system wherein receive power output data from each power converter unit within the virtual converter block; and calculate total power output of the virtual converter block by combining individual power outputs. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 14, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches:
detecting that total power output of the virtual converter block deviates from a target level; and adjusting individual power outputs of the at least two power converter units to achieve the target level ([0102] – [0105] the deviation of power output of each inverter is calculated, each inverter power output is decreased or increased based on the deviation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the system wherein detecting that total power output of the virtual converter block deviates from a target level; and adjusting individual power outputs of the at least two power converter units to achieve the target level. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 15, OKADA further teaches monitor voltage levels at terminals of the at least two power converter units; and detect the electrical coupling based on matching voltage levels at the terminals ([0031] the connection device is detected to be in parallel state i.e. “electrical coupling” when the voltages on the input side of the converters are equal).
Regarding claim 16, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches:
generate multiple virtual converter blocks, each virtual converter block comprising a different subset of the multiple power converter units (Fig. 1 [0035] a hierarchy of virtual inverters with sub arrays of inverters).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the system wherein generate multiple virtual converter blocks, each virtual converter block comprising a different subset of the multiple power converter units. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 17, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches:
monitoring combined power output ([0050] [0102] desired output characteristic of the virtual inverter, combined power output), efficiency ([0050] [0154] desired output characteristic of the virtual inverter, percentage loss of power), and conversion rates ([0050] [0154] desired output characteristic of the virtual inverter, the ratio of loss to real input power) of the at least two power converter units as unified metrics for the virtual converter block.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the system wherein monitoring combined power output, efficiency, and conversion rates of the at least two power converter units as unified metrics for the virtual converter block. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a given array output power requirement, as PAQUIN teaches in [0118].
Regarding claim 18, OKADA further teaches detect an addition of a new power converter unit to the electrical coupling; and automatically incorporate the new power converter unit into the virtual converter block (Figs. 5 & 6 [0048] [0050] – [0056] the on states of switches 31’, 32’, and 33’ are detected i.e. “an addition of a new power converter unit to the electrical coupling” is detected, and the newly added third power converter unit is automatically incorporated into the virtual converter block of the parallelly coupled converters).
Regarding claim 19, OKADA further teaches monitor current flow between the at least two power converter units; and adjust operation of individual power converter units based on the monitored current flow ([0042] the controller generates an aggregated model to generate one common PWM signal to control the converters, based on total current value I = I1+I2+I3 and V1 that representing the power input of the converters).
Regarding claim 20, OKADA in view of PAQUIN further teaches:
the multiple power converter units comprise inverters configured to convert DC power from solar cells into AC power for distribution to an electrical grid (Fig. 2 [0004] [0032] [0042], each solar cell connected to corresponding distributed inverters to convert the DC power to AC power and injected to electrical grid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified OKADA to incorporate the teachings of PAQUIN, because they all directed to power conversion system, to make the system wherein the multiple power converter units comprise inverters configured to convert DC power from solar cells into AC power for distribution to an electrical grid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to inject generated power to electrical grid, as PAQUIN teaches in [0032].
Conclusion
/M.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115
1 OKADA and PAQUIN are the prior arts of record