Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,224,875.
Claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by patent claims 1-16 in that claims 1-16 of the patent contains all the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application. Claims 1-20 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. US 9,838,208.
Claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by patent claims 1-20 in that claims 1-20 of the patent contains all the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application. Claims 1-20 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. US 8,949,333.
Claims 1-20 of the instant application are anticipated by patent claims 1-19 in that claims 1-19 of the patent contains all the limitations of claims 1-20 of the instant application. Claims 1-20 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the earlier patent claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(b) the invention was patented or described in a printed publication in this or a foreign country or in public use or on sale in this country, more than one year prior to the date of application for patent in the United States.
Claims 8-9 and 12-14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Mattingly et al., US 2010/0306655.
Regarding claim 8, Mattingly discloses a computer-implemented method of sharing an interactive experience, comprising:
streaming, from a first server, a video event to a plurality of user devices (paragraph 30);
receiving a plurality of commentary from at least one of the plurality of user devices (paragraph 39); and
providing, with the streaming, at least one of the plurality of commentary to the plurality of user devices (Paragraph 39),
wherein a first user device of the plurality of user devices creates a list of user devices to which to stream the video event (paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 9, Mattingly discloses the method according to claim 8, wherein streaming the video event further comprises streaming the video event from a server to the plurality of user devices that are remote from the server, wherein the streaming to the plurality of user devices occurs synchronously, such that a playback timing of the streaming video event occurs at a same time on the plurality of user devices (paragraph 21).
Regarding claim 12, Mattingly discloses the method according to claim 8, comprising receiving, at a second server, the plurality of commentaries and wherein the plurality of commentary includes at least one of video and audio (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 13, Mattingly discloses the method according to claim 8, further comprising receiving, over a network, the list of the one or more user devices to stream the video event to (paragraph 30).
Regarding claim 14, Mattingly discloses the method according to claim 8, further comprising receiving, at the first server, the list of the one or more user devices to which to stream the video event (paragraph 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, 7, 15-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Mattingly in view of Carrasco et al, US 2013/0103814.
Regarding claim 1, Mattingly discloses a computer-implemented method of sharing an interactive experience, comprising:
streaming a video event to a plurality of user devices (paragraph 30);
receiving a plurality of commentary from at least one of the plurality of user devices (paragraph 39); and
providing, with the streaming, at least one of the plurality of commentary to the plurality of user devices (paragraph 39),
wherein a first user device of the plurality of user devices is configured to control the playback received from the at least one user device of the plurality of user devices viewed on the first user device of the plurality of user devices (paragraph 31).
Mattingly is silent about a user controlling the plurality of commentary.
In an analogous art, Carrasco discloses a user controlling the plurality of commentary (paragraph 17, 19 and 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, at the time of filing, Mattingly’s method with the teachings of Carrasco. The motivation would have been to manage the displayed comments for the benefit of implementing parental control features.
Regarding claim 2, Mattingly and Carrasco disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the streaming the video event further comprises streaming the video event from a server to the plurality of user devices that are remote from the server, wherein the streaming from the server to the plurality of the user devices occurs synchronously on two or more user devices of the plurality of user devices (Mattingly paragraph 21; Carrasco paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 5, Mattingly and Carrasco disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of commentary includes at least one of video and audio (Mattingly paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 7, Mattingly and Carrasco disclose the method according to claim 1, further comprising receiving, on a server, a list of one or more user devices to which the video event should be streamed (Mattingly paragraph 30; Carrasco paragraph 21, 47, 67, 79 and 81).
Regarding claim 15, Mattingly discloses a system for sharing an interactive experience, comprising:
a first server configured to stream a video event to a plurality of user devices remote from the server and provide, with the streaming, a plurality of commentary to the plurality of user devices (figure1, paragraph 25-31),
a second server configured to receive the plurality of commentary from one or more user devices of the plurality of user devices (figure1, paragraph 25-31), and
wherein at least one of the plurality of user devices is configured to control the playback received from the one or more user devices and viewed on the at least one user device (paragraph 31).
Mattingly is silent about and provide the plurality of commentary to the first server and a user controlling the plurality of commentary.
In an analogous art, Carrasco discloses provide the plurality of commentary from a server to another to another server and a user controlling the plurality of commentary (abstract paragraph 8, 17, 19 and 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, at the time of filing, Mattingly’s system with the teachings of Carrasco. The motivation would have been to manage the displayed comments for the benefit of implementing parental control features.
Regarding claim 16, Mattingly and Carrasco disclose the system according to claim 15, wherein the streaming to the plurality of user devices occurs synchronously, such that a playback timing of the streaming video event occurs at a same time on two or more of the plurality of user devices (Mattingly paragraph 21; Carrasco paragraph 49).
Regarding claim 19, Mattingly and Carrasco disclose the system according to claim 15, wherein the plurality of commentary includes at least one of video and audio (Mattingly paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 20, Mattingly and Carrasco disclose the system according to claim 15, wherein the at least one of the plurality of user devices is configured to store a list of user devices previously streamed to (Mattingly paragraph 30 and 73).
Claims 3-4 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Mattingly in view of Carrasco in view of Ackerman et al., US 2010/0037151.
Regarding claim 3, Mattingly and Carrasco disclose the method according to claim 1.
Mattingly and Carrasco are silent about sending a notification to the first user device of the plurality of user devices that the plurality of commentary from the at least one user device of the plurality of user devices is being provided with the streaming.
In an analogous art, Ackerman discloses sending a notification to the first user device of the plurality of user devices that the plurality of commentary from the at least one user device of the plurality of user devices is being provided with the streaming (paragraph 68 and 129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, at the time of filing, Mattingly and Carrasco’s method with the teachings of Ackerman. The motivation would have been to let the host know who is speaking for the benefit of implementing security features.
Claim 17 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Mattingly, Carrasco and Ackerman disclose the method according to claim 3, wherein the notification comprises a text message or email (Mattingly col. 6, lines 9-15; Carrasco paragraph 19, 48 and 64; Ackerman paragraph 2).
Claim 18 is rejected on the same grounds as claim 4.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Mattingly in view of Carrasco in view of Clowes et al., US 2009/0286604.
Regarding claim 6, Mattingly and Carrasco disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first user device of the plurality of user devices is configured to block at least one of the plurality of commentary (Carrasco paragraph 80)from being viewed on the first user device.
Mattingly and Carrasco are silent about not displaying the plurality of commentary from the at least one user device of the plurality of user devices is being provided with the streaming.
In an analogous art, Clowes discloses not displaying the plurality of commentary from the at least one user device of the plurality of user devices is being provided with the streaming (paragraph 61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, at the time of filing, Mattingly and Carrasco’s method with the teachings of Clowes. The motivation would have been to enjoy an uninterrupted media for the benefit of providing quality of service.
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Mattingly in view of Ackerman.
Regarding claim 10, Mattingly discloses the method according to claim 8.
Mattingly is silent about sending a notification to another user device of the plurality of user devices that commentary from one or more user devices of the plurality of user devices is being added to the streaming.
In an analogous art, Ackerman discloses sending a notification to another user device of the plurality of user devices that commentary from one or more user devices of the plurality of user devices is being added to the streaming (paragraph 68 and 129).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify, at the time of filing, Mattingly’s method with the teachings of Ackerman. The motivation would have been to let the host know who is speaking for the benefit of implementing security features.
Regarding claim 11, Mattingly and Ackerman disclose the method according to claim 10, wherein the sending a notification comprises sending a text message or email to the another user device of the plurality of user devices (Mattingly col. 6, lines 9-15; Ackerman paragraph 2).
Contact
OM
Oschta Montoya
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2421
/OSCHTA I MONTOYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421