DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 2, Figs. 4-7, in the reply filed on 10/15/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-10, 12, 13 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 4, from which the rest of the claims ultimately depend, depends from itself and therefore the metes and bounds cannot be determined. The claims are currently withdrawn from further examination and appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 11, 15-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/898101 (herein the ‘101 application) in view of Mebberson (US 2022/0299293). The claims of the ‘101 application discloses a stock, a mounting box and a moveable assembly comprising a rack and pinion. The claims of the ‘101 application does not disclose a rack stop, however Mebberson does. Mebberson teaches an adjustable stop system comprising a mounting box, a moveable assembly including a rack and pinion assembly and a rack stop (82). In view of the teachings of Mebberson it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the claims of the ‘101 application to include a rock stop since this would allow the movable comb or butt to prevent the fit of the gun from changing during use as taught by Mebberson at par. 0040 and there would have been a reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 11 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mebberson (US 2022/0299293). Mebberson discloses an adjustable stock system for weapons and/or other suitable devices, comprising: an adjustable stock (24); a mounting box (32) defining an interior cavity and a mounting feature (38) configured to mount the adjustable stock to a device; and a moveable assembly (26) including one or more moveable components configured to move relative to the mounting box, the moveable assembly comprising a rack (42) and pinion (28) assembly configured to bias a buttpad toward an extended position, and a rack stop (82) configured to hold the rack and pinion assembly in place at a desired position.
2. The system of claim 2, wherein the rack and pinion assembly includes a rack (42) configured to be connected, directly or indirectly, to the buttpad; and a gear (28) mounted within the mounting box configured to be meshed with the rack, wherein at least one of the gear or the rack are biased (via 54) to actuate the buttpad toward the extended position.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the gear is pinned to the mounting box to rotate relative to the mounting box. (Fig. 2)
11. The system of claim 1, further comprising: an actuator (86) operatively connected to the rack stop to actuate the first rack stop to move between a first position engaged with the rack and pinion assembly to hold the rack and pinion assembly, and a second position disengaged from the first and/or rack and pinion assembly to allow movement of the rack and pinion assembly.
15. A firearm, comprising: a trigger assembly (Mebberson discloses a firearm such as a shotgun or rifle which inherently has a trigger assembly); and an adjustable stock system (20) having a mounting box (32) configured to operatively connect the stock system to a rear end of the firearm, the stock system comprising: a moveable assembly (26) including one or more moveable components configured to move relative to the mounting box, the moveable assembly comprising a rack (42) and pinion (28) assembly configured to bias a buttpad (24) toward an extended position, wherein the rack and pinion assembly includes: a gear (28) pinned to the mounting box to rotate relative to the mounting box; a rack (42) configured to be connected, directly or indirectly, to the buttpad and having rack teeth (see Fig. 2) on at least a gear side of the rack configured to abut and mesh with the gear, wherein at least one of the gear or the rack are biased (54) to actuate the buttpad toward the extended position via at least a constant force spring; and a rack stop (82) having at least one tooth configured to abut and mesh with the rack teeth of the rack to hold the rack and pinion assembly in place at a desired position.
16. The firearm of claim 15, wherein the rack and pinion assembly is a first rack and pinion assembly included on a first side of the adjustable stock, and further comprising: a second rack and pinion assembly included on a second side of the adjustable stock opposite the first side across a width of the adjustable stock, wherein the second rack and pinion assembly includes: a second rack configured to be connected, directly or indirectly, to the buttpad and having rack teeth on at least a gear side of the rack configured to abut and mesh with the second gear; a second gear pinned within the mounting box and configured to be meshed with the rack, wherein at least one of the second gear or the second rack are biased to actuate the buttpad toward the extended position via at least a second constant force spring; and a second rack stop having at least one tooth configured to abut and mesh with the rack teeth of the second rack to hold the second rack and pinion assembly in place at the desired position. (Fig. 2)
17. The firearm of claim 15, further comprising: an actuator (86) operatively connected to the rack stop to actuate the rack stop to move between a first position engaged with the rack and pinion assembly to hold the rack and pinion assembly, and a second position disengaged from the first and/or rack and pinion assembly to allow movement of the rack and pinion assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MICHELLE CLEMENT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641