DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “a water pipe assembly” in line 2, which is unclear whether this is referencing the water pipe assembly established in claim 1. For examining purposes the limitation will be interpreted as --the water pipe assembly--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sakai et al. (Japanese Patent Publication JP2018096559A, “Sakai”).
Regarding claim 1, Sakai discloses a water cooling radiator with a built-in filter (1), comprising:
a radiator body (1), having a plurality of heat dissipating fin groups (3) arranged therein;
a first water chamber (5), arranged at one side of the radiator body;
a second water chamber (4), arranged at the other side of the radiator body;
a water pipe assembly (2), communicated between the first water chamber and the second water chamber; and
a filter (16, fig 2b), assembled in the first water chamber and used to filter impurities (as holes 18 would filter out impurities);
wherein a coolant flowing into the first water chamber flows through one side of the radiator body from the water pipe assembly and then flows into the second water chamber (fig 1), and the coolant flowing into the second water chamber flows through the other side of the radiator bod from the water pipe assembly (fig 1), flows back into the filter in the first water chamber, and then flows through a cold block and flows back into the first water chamber again (fig 1).
Regarding claim 2, Sakai further discloses wherein the first water chamber (5) comprises: a partition plate (15) arranged in the first water chamber, a first chamber positioned at one side of the partition plate (13), and a second chamber (14) positioned at the other side of the partition plate and used to assemble the filter.
Regarding claim 3, Sakai further discloses wherein the first water chamber (5) further comprises: a water inlet (11) communicated with the first chamber (13), and a water outlet (12) communicated with the second chamber (14) and corresponding to the filter (16).
Regarding claim 7, Sakai further discloses wherein the water pipe assembly (2) is arranged between two of the heat dissipating fin groups (3).
Regarding claim 8, Sakai further discloses wherein through holes (for pipes 2) are provided at both one side of the first water chamber (5) and one side of the second water chamber (4) communicated with the water pipe assembly (2).
Regarding claim 9, Sakai further discloses wherein the through hole (for pipes 2) and the water pipe assembly (2) are both strip-shaped (as evident in figure 8).
Regarding claim 10, Sakai further discloses wherein fixed plates (see annotated fig 1 below) for connecting the first water chamber (5) and the second water chamber (4) are also arranged at two sides of the radiator body (1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach the filter of claim 4, specifically, the first and second side plates as and support portions as outlined in claim 4. Sakai, considered the closest prior art teaches a filter but fails to teach the structure of claim 4. The prior art fails to render this obvious.
Conclusion
/HARRY E ARANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763