The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Applicants elect the species V. Claims 1-4 are withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to the nonelected groups, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 07/08/2026. However, the non-elect claims 1-4 are canceled.
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 5-9 are presented on 7/8/2026 for examination on merits.
Examiner's Instructions for filing Response to this Office Action
When the Applicant submits amendments regarding to the claims in response the Office Action, the Examiner would appreciate Applicant if a clean copy of the claims is provided to facilitate the prosecution which otherwise requires extra time for editing the marked-up claims from OCR.
Please submit two sets of claims:
Set #1 as in a typical filing which includes indicators for the status of claim and all marked amendments to the claims; and
Set #2 as an appendix to the Arguments/Remarks for a clean version of the claims which has all the markups removed for entry by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 5-9 each recite acronym “DNA” deficiently. Acronyms should be spelled out for formality reasons.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is/are determined by the following reasons:
Claim 5 recites a limitation “commutative sequences of zero-watermark construction and high-definition map data encryption” unclearly at the end of the claim, because the claim fails to particularly point out how the commutative sequences of zero-watermark construction and high-definition map data encryption is handled or processed in the claimed invention. No action word is present in the claim.
Claims 6-9 each recite the limitation “DNA base complementary dynamic encryption” without linking to the same limitation as defined in claim 5. As such, the recitations are unclear or lacking sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 6-9 each recite an additional instance of “a high-definition map” without linking to the same limitation as defined in claim 5. As such, the recitations are unclear or lacking sufficient antecedent basis.
Claims 6-9 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, because they depend on the rejected base claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren (US 12014440 B1) in view of Chen (US 20200021987 A1).
As per claim 5, Ren teaches a commutative encryption and watermarking method utilizing DNA base complementary dynamic encryption for a high-definition map, comprising:
reading data of the high-definition map in an OpenDrive format (Ren, col. 11, lines 18-58: reading attribute values; inserting the invisible character into the header identifier of the data of the high-definition map, facilitating the watermark information recovering to the corresponding embedding sequence during the watermark detection. Note that the disclosure designs a watermarking method suitable for an OpenDrive format high-definition map on the basis of invisible characters);
constructing a zero-watermark image according to [[the]]a zero watermarking method for the data of [[a]]the high-definition map in [[an]]the OpenDrive format (Ren, col. 12, lines 56-60: According to the watermarking method, the characteristics of the data of the high-definition map in the OpenDrive standard format are fully considered, and the watermarking method is based on the invisible characters and is combined with the Hamming code technology; see also FIG. 3: data of high-definition map containing watermark information; steps for implementing the watermark information in the high-definition map for an exemplary road network provided by OpenDrive official website; col. 13, lines 1-55);
commutative sequences of zero-watermark construction and high-definition map data encryption (Ren, the Abstract: a composite watermark character sequence. Before watermark detection, a sequence of elements in map data is scrambled according to logistic chaotic mapping; col. 2, lines 45-48 and col. 4, lines 1-26: scrambling an embedding sequence of watermark information based on a logistic map to generate a chaotic sequence).
While Ren discloses scrambling “the set of identifiers” and the scrambling sequence of the set of identifiers” (col. 9, lines 35-61), Ren does not explicitly disclose encrypting the data of the high-definition map according to an encryption method for the data of the high-definition map in the OpenDrive format. This aspect of the claim is identified as a further difference.
In a related art, Chen teaches:
encrypting the data of the high-definition map according to an encryption method for the data of the high-definition map in the OpenDrive format (Chen, par. 0049-0050: encrypts a location of the smart landmark [of] the map using the cryptographic key. For example, when the cryptographic key is a symmetric key, the cryptographic key assignment engine 212 encrypts a location of a smart landmark using the symmetric key. par. 0037-0038: having an encrypted location of the smart landmark from a smart landmark 104 for generation of a high-definition (HD) map, and so on; the smart landmark location repository 108 forms a smart landmark database therein, which includes a plurality of entries for a plurality of smart landmarks).
Ren and Chen are analogous art to the claimed invention in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, or reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, which may be in a different field. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Ren’s system with Chen’s teachings of encrypting a location of the smart map as an example of encrypting the data of the high-definition map according to an encryption method. For this combination, the motivation would have been to improve the applicability of security encryption on the high-definition map.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 5 but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 recites elements of “wherein the zero watermarking method comprises:
conducting Logistic encryption on a copyright image, obtaining an encrypted copyright matrix M, and conducting binarization on the copyright matrix;
using all elevations, superelevation and lane nodes in the high-definition map as elements, and computing numbers of parametric cubic curves in all the elements separately;
setting any two elements as one group, and establishing a stable index between watermark information and copyright information according to a formula (1), wherein index denotes an index value, Ni and Nj denote numbers of parametric cubic curves in different elements in one combination respectively, Nm denotes a one-dimensional length of the copyright image, and n denotes a total number of all the elevations, the superelevation and the lane nodes in the high-definition map;
index=mod(Ni×Nj,Nm),i,j∈1,2,⋯,nandi≠j
setting a list having a consistent size with the copyright information, and recording the list as M'=mi'=0,i=1,2,⋯,Nm, wherein mi' denotes an element in the list;
determining, in response to determining that numbers of parametric cubic curves under two nodes in one combination have consistent parity, watermark information at a corresponding index of the combination to be 1, determining, in response to determining that numbers of parametric cubic curves under two nodes in one combination have no consistent parity, watermark information at a corresponding index of the combination to be 0, and computing watermark information under a corresponding watermark index according to the following formula;
M'index=M'index+1,ifmodNi,2=modNj,2M'index-1,ifmodNi,2≠modNj,2
conducting, after all nodes in the combination generate watermark information, binarization through the following formula; and
M'index=1,ifM'index>00,ifM'index≤0,index∈(0,Nm)
conducting exclusive OR (XOR) operation on the generated watermark information M' and the encrypted copyright image M according to the following formula, and generating a zero-watermark M*, wherein XNOR denotes an XOR operation symbol:
M*=XNOR(M,M'). ” These elements and the features thereof in combination with the other limitations in claim 5, are not anticipated by, nor made obvious over the prior art of record.
Claims 7-9 would be allowable by virtue of their dependencies on claim 6 as they further limit the scope of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as the prior art additionally discloses certain parts of the claim features (See “PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited”).
/Don G Zhao/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493 09/22/2026