DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see P. 10-11 & P. 12-14, filed 7/11/2026, with respect to claims 1-5 & 13-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-5 & 13-20 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 6-12 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied reference and newly found prior art reference(s). Applicant's representative is invited to telephone the examiner for any clarification of any matter in this case.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 6, 7 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pance et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0013613.
Regarding Claim 6, Pance et al. teaches a dielectric resonator array structure (Figs. 1A, 35A-39B), comprising:
a plurality of dielectric resonators (3900 Figs. 39A, 39B Par. 02222), arranged along a first direction and a second direction (X and Y directions better seen in Fig. 39B), the first direction being perpendicular to the second direction (Fig. 39B), each of the plurality of dielectric resonators comprising:
a resonator body (35100 Figs. 35A-39B Par. 0203, 0212); and
a transmission layer (35200 Figs. 35A-39B Par. 0212), connected to the resonator body (Par. 0034), wherein the resonator body and the transmission layer are integrally formed (“the volume 35102 and associated connecting structures 35200 of a unit cell 3510 form a single monolithic portion of the DRA 35100” Par. 0212), and the transmission layer is a cuboid structure with a plurality of corners (Figs. 35A-39B);
wherein two adjacent ones of the transmission layers are connected to each other through at least one of the plurality of corners (Par. 0207 better seen in Fig. 39B)).
Regarding Claim 7, Pance et al. teaches wherein the transmission layer has a first surface (top surface of 35200 Figs. 35A-39B) and a second surface opposite to the first surface (bottom surface of 35200 Figs. 35A-39B), the resonator body is connected to the first surface (Figs. 35A-39B), and a side edge of the transmission layer forms a 45-degree angle with the first direction or the second direction (45-degree angle of side edge of 35200 with either X or Y directions seen in Fig. 39B).
Regarding Claim 12, Pance et al. teaches wherein the resonator body is cylindrical (cylindrical Fig. 1A Par. 0093).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pance et al. US Patent Application Publication 2021/0013613 and Xiao et al. CN Patent Publication CN 106058447 A (cited by applicant).
Regarding Claim 8, Pance et al. teaches wherein a predetermined distance is defined between the first surface and the second surface (“h” Par. 0203, 0205 Figs. 35B).
Pance et al. is silent on the predetermined distance is between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm.
However, Xiao et al. teaches wherein the transmission layer (dielectric substrate 7 Fig. 1 P. 2) has a predetermined distance of 1.5 mm (P. 2).
In this particular case, setting the predetermined distance of the transmission layer to be between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm is common and well known in the art as evident by Xiao et al. in order to obtain the dielectric constant which corresponds to the frequency band of operation.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to set the predetermined distance of the transmission layer of Pance et al. to be between 0.5 mm and 1.5 mm based on the teachings of Xiao et al. as a result effect in order to obtain the dielectric constant which corresponds to the frequency band of operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5 & 13-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 1, in view of Applicant’s Remarks P. 10-11 filed 7/11/2026, the prior art of record does not fairly teach nor render obvious the limitations “wherein the plurality of grooves are evenly and symmetrically distributed on a side surface of the resonator body”, and “wherein the resonator body and the transmission layer are integrally formed, the plurality of through holes respectively correspond to and communicate with the plurality of grooves, and each of the plurality of through holes and a corresponding one of the plurality of grooves jointly form a hollow structure” in the arrangement as required by the claim. Claims 2-5 directly or indirectly depend therefrom.
Regarding Claim 13, in view of Applicant’s Remarks P. 12-14, filed 7/11/2026, the prior art of record does not fairly teach nor render obvious the limitations “wherein the first feed line and the second feed line are not in direct physical contact with each other”, and “wherein the resonator body and the transmission layer are integrally formed, the resonator body is connected to the transmission layer, the transmission layer is disposed on the ground layer, and a projection area of the dielectric resonator on the ground layer overlaps the cross-shaped slot” in the arrangement as required by the claim. Claims 14-20 directly or indirectly depend therefrom.
Claims 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claim 9, the prior art of record, when taken alone or in combination does not fairly teach nor render obvious the limitations “wherein the resonator body comprises a plurality of grooves evenly and symmetrically distributed on a side surface of the resonator body, the transmission layer comprises a plurality of through holes respectively corresponding to and communicating with the plurality of grooves, each of the plurality of through holes penetrates the first surface and the second surface, and each of the plurality of through holes and a corresponding one of the plurality of grooves jointly form a hollow structure” as required by the claim. Claims 10 & 11 depend therefrom.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M BOUIZZA/Examiner, Art Unit 2845