DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-9 and 11-15) in the reply filed on 08/13/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Accordingly, claims 16-18, 21 and 28-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the term "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the term "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 14, the term "preferred" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 15, the term "e.g." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the term are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends since it depends from claim 23 and the claim set does not include limitations for claim 23. For sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner will be interpreting “the composition of claim 23” to be a typographical error and will be interpreting the claim as “the composition of claim 3.”
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-5, 7, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anraku (JP H0643342 B2, April 11, 1986) (English machine translation provided) in view of Lu et al. (CN 116999605 A, Nov. 7, 2023) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Lu).
Anraku teaches a blood coagulation promoter containing a blood coagulation promoting agent containing a blood coagulation factor activator and a hydrolase, which comprises a metal complex (Means and Actions for Solving Problems). The time required for blood coagulation varies depending on the type and amount of the metal complex, the material of the container, the ambient temperature, etc. (page 10). Anraku teaches blood coagulation factor activator (metal complex) examples in examples 6-1, 6-2, and 6-3, where a nickel complex of ellagic acid oxide was used as the metal complex and trypsin as the hydrolase.
Anraku differs from the instant claims insofar as not teaching a hemostatic composition dispersed or embedded in an absorbable polymeric matrix, such as gelatin, and wherein the absorbable polymeric matrix is in the form of a powder.
However, Lu teaches a preparation method for preparing a rapid hemostatic powder (Abstract). Lu teaches that the hemostatic powder is prepared from a gelatin/chitosan/polyphenol hydrogel that is frozen and dried, and ground into a powder (page 2). The three components were mixed evenly to obtain the hydrogel (page 2). Suitable polyphenols include catechol, resorcinol, hydroquinone, pyrogallol, ellagic acid, catechin, cytidine, dopamine, tannic acid, gallic acid, caffeic acid and epigallocatechin gallate, and the concentration thereof is 10 % to 50 % by weight (page 2). Lu also teaches that existing hemostatic dressings (gauze, paper towel, tourniquet and so on) cannot stop the bleeding of a traumatic vein or artery, and cannot control the bleeding of an incompressible wound, and their wet adhesion is poor, so it is difficult to firmly cover the wound part (Background technique, page 1). The powder hemostatic agent can perfectly fit the irregular wound and the incompressible wound and can absorb the bleeding of the wound part and form a physical barrier, which is an ideal hemostatic material (Background technique, page 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the blood coagulation promoter of Anraku into a hydrogel comprising gelatin and further formulated into a powder since a powder hemostatic agent is an ideal hemostatic material since it can perfectly fit into irregular wounds and absorb bleeding as taught by Lu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success since Anraku teaches that the composition can optionally be prepared in an aqueous dispersion of a blood coagulation promoter containing an appropriate auxiliary agent, and then rapidly freeze-dried to obtain a blood coagulation promoter-supporting particulate matter (page 2).
Regarding claim 1 reciting wherein the complex (e.g., nickel complex of ellagic acid oxide) is dispersed or embedded within absorbable polymeric matrix (e.g., gelatin), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the nickel-ellagic acid complex would be dispersed or embedded within gelatin when they are mixed together to form the hydrogel.
Regarding claim 12, Anruka does not disclose wherein the composition of examples 6-1, 6-2, and 6-3 comprise thrombin. Therefore, a composition free of thrombin would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 13, Anraku does not disclose wherein the composition examples 6-1, 6-2, and 6-3 comprise one or more coagulation factors selected from the inactive or active forms of Factors II, V, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII and fibrinogen. Therefore, a composition free of one or more coagulation factors selected from the inactive or active forms of Factors II, V, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII and fibrinogen would have been obvious.
2. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anraku (JP H0643342 B2, April 11, 1986) (English machine translation provided), Lu et al. (CN 116999605 A, Nov. 7, 2023) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Lu), and further in view of Xu et al. (CN 113069588 A, July 6, 2021) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Xu).
The teachings of Anraku and Lu are discussed above.
Anraku and Lu do not teach wherein the metal ions and the EA are present at a molar ratio ranging from 100:1 to 1:100 metal to EA.
However, Xu teaches application of a polyphenol-metal ion composite coagulation-promoting coating on a hemostatic material (Abstract). Suitable polyphenols include pomegranate polyphenol, grape polyphenol, tea polyphenol, apple polyphenol, tannic acid or proanthocyanidins, and suitable metal ions include Zr4+, Sn4+, Fe3+, V3+, Zn2+, Cu2+, or Mg2+ (page 2). The mol ratio of the metal ions to the polyphenol is 10 to 60: 1 (claims). It is noted that pomegranate polyphenols include ellagic acid (refer to Saparbekova et al., Saudi J. Biol. Sci., 2023, 30(2), 4-7).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the metal complex of Anraku to have a mol ratio of metal ion to ellagic acid of 10 to 60:1 since Anraku does not disclose an amount of metal ions or ellagic acid and this is a known and effective amount for forming a complex used in blood coagulation as taught by Xu.
3. Claim(s) 7-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anraku (JP H0643342 B2, April 11, 1986) (English machine translation provided), Lu et al. (CN 116999605 A, Nov. 7, 2023) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Lu), and further in view of Larson et al. (US 20200140625 A1, June 7, 2020) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Larson).
The teachings of Anraku and Lu are discussed above.
Anraku and Lu do not teach wherein the composition in the form of a paste and wherein the hemostatic material (i.e., absorbable polymeric matrix) comprises a combination of gelatin in paste form and in powder form.
However, Larson teaches a dry composition which reconstitutes without mechanical mixing to form a flowable paste (Abstract). Larson also teaches a paste can be formed from a biocompatible polymer when the biocompatible polymer is in powder form and the powder particles are substantially insoluble in the aqueous medium they are mixed with ([0090]). In a preferred embodiment, the biologically absorbable material is gelatin ([0094]). Furthermore, Larson teaches, preferably, the biocompatible polymer is crosslinked to an agent suitable for use in hemostasis and/or wound healing ([0090]). Larson teaches the advantages of the dry composition and the reconstituted paste include an optimal consistency of paste obtained every time, and the option of a soft consistency may be desirable in certain types of surgeries. Larson also recites a paste has the advantage of conforming easily to uneven surfaces upon wetting ([0320]). The flowable paste is described to have both the benefits of a powder before it comes into contact with a liquid, and a paste after it reconstitute spontaneously ([0320]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have formulated the blood coagulation promotor of Anraku into a paste because a paste has the benefit of conforming easily to uneven surfaces upon wetting and can have specific uses in different types of surgeries as taught by Larson.
It also would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teaching of Anraku, Lu and Larson to formulate blood coagulation promotor of Anraku in a combination of paste and powder forms. Since the prior art discloses the benefit of paste and powder forms individually, the use of the individual species in combination would have been obvious since it is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions, each of which is taught by the prior to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose; the idea for combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. See MPEP 2144.06.
4. Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anraku (JP H0643342 B2, April 11, 1986) (English machine translation provided), Lu et al. (CN 116999605 A, Nov. 7, 2023) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Lu), Larson et al. (US 20200140625 A1, June 7, 2020) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Larson), and further in view of Chmielewski et al. (FDA Summary Review Memo, May 17, 2011 ) (hereinafter Chmielewski).
The teachings of Anraku, Lu and Larson are discussed above.
Anraku, Lu, and Larson do not teach wherein said paste is characterized by a viscosity ranging from 1000-5000 Pa.s,
However, Chmielewski teaches an FDA review summary of SURGIFLO Hemostatic Matrix and SURGIFLO Hemostatic Matrix Kit with Thrombin. Specifically, the new hemostatic matrix formula has increased viscosity for improved handling (page 1, reason for supplement). In a viscosity study, Chmielewski teaches the viscosity of the modified formulation decreased quite dramatically over the 12‐month period, changing from approximately 3300 Pa*S to 2000 Pa*S (page 5, Viscosity).
Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at the claimed viscosity through routine optimization since Chmielewski provided a starting viscosity of 3300 Pa*S and one would have optimized the viscosity based on the handling desired as taught by Chmielewski. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
5. Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anraku (JP H0643342 B2, April 11, 1986) (English machine translation provided), Lu et al. (CN 116999605 A, Nov. 7, 2023) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Lu),
and further in view of Yi (CN 116077721 A, Feb. 20, 2023) (English machine translation provided).
The teachings of Anraku and Lu are discussed above.
Anraku and Lu do not teach wherein the EA complex is present at a concentration ranging from 56,000:1 to 35:1 of the matrix, e.g., gelatin to EA-Ni.
However, Yi teaches a gelatin-metal ion injectable hydrogel. The preparation includes plant polyphenols (claims). The mass ratio of gelatin to plant polyphenols is preferably 10-10000:1, more preferably 100-5000:1, most preferably 500-1500: 1 (page 3). Furthermore, Yi teaches the gelatin-metal ion injectable hydrogel comprises the following preparation raw materials in terms of mass percentage: 5-40% of gelatin, 0.2-10% of metal salt and 50-90% of water (page 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the hydrogel comprise 5 to 40% gelatin since Lu does not disclose an amount of gelatin and this is a known and effective amount of gelatin for formulating a hydrogel. Regarding the amount of metal complex, as discussed above by Anraku, the time required for blood coagulation varies depending on the amount of metal complex. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at an amount of metal complex depending on the blood coagulation time desired. Thus, the claimed ratio of gelatin to EA-Ni (i.e., metal complex) would have been obvious from having an amount of gelatin, having an amount of metal complex, and arriving at a ratio between the two that overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A.
6. Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anraku (JP H0643342 B2, April 11, 1986) (English machine translation provided), Lu et al. (CN 116999605 A, Nov. 7, 2023) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Lu), Xu et al. (CN 113069588 A, July 6, 2021) (English machine translation provided, hereinafter Xu),
and further in view of Yi (CN 116077721 A, Feb. 20, 2023) (English machine translation provided).
The teachings of Anraku, Lu and Xu are discussed above.
Anraku, Lu and Xu do not teach wherein the metal ions are present at a preferred concentration ranging from 11,200:1 to 7:1 matrix to metal ions, or wherein the EA complex is present at a concentration ranging from 56,000:1 to 35:1 of the matrix to EA-Ni.
However, Yi teaches a gelatin-metal ion injectable hydrogel. The preparation includes plant polyphenols (claims). The mass ratio of gelatin to plant polyphenols is preferably 10-10000:1, more preferably 100-5000:1, most preferably 500-1500: 1 (page 3). Furthermore, Yi teaches the gelatin-metal ion injectable hydrogel comprises the following preparation raw materials in terms of mass percentage: 5-40% of gelatin, 0.2-10% of metal salt and 50-90% of water (page 2).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the hydrogel comprise 5 to 40% gelatin since Lu does not disclose an amount of gelatin and this is a known and effective amount of gelatin for formulating a hydrogel. As discussed above by Anraku, the time required for blood coagulation varies depending on the amount of metal complex. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art to have arrived at an amount of metal complex depending on the blood coagulation time desired. As discussed above, Xu teaches a mol ratio of metal ion to ellagic acid. Thus, one would have arrived at an amount of metal ion after arriving at an amount of metal complex and from the mol ratio taught by Xu. Thus, the claimed ratio of gelatin to metal ion would have been obvious from having an amount of gelatin and having an amount of metal ion and arriving at a ratio that overlaps with the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 A.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 and 11-15 are rejected.
Claims 16-18, 21, 28-31, 33 and 34 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/E.L.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1614
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614