DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160040450 to Shiu.
Regarding claim 1, Shiu discloses:
A clutch ring structure (fig 2), comprising: a ring body (150) comprising a first surface (153) and a second surface (151) opposite to each other along an axis (axis seen in fig 2); at least one clutch protrusion (top and bottom protrusions next to 153c seen in fig 7) extending outward from the first surface along the axis; and at least one mounting member (151c/d) extending outward from the second surface along the axis; wherein, when a force parallel to the axis is exerted onto the at least one clutch protrusion, the at least one clutch protrusion is pushed by the force to allow the ring body to be deflected (when 140 is turned, 141 pushes and deflects 150 via 153d and the clutch protrusions).
Regarding claim 2, Shiu discloses:
The clutch ring structure of claim 1, wherein a number of the at least one clutch protrusion is two (fig 2), a number of the at least one mounting member is two (fig 2), the ring body comprises two curved segments (153 and 151 are curved segments), each of the two mounting members comprises two connecting arms (arm portion of the protrusions) and a restricting portion (153d), the two connecting arms of each of the mounting members are connecting between the two curved segments (via the curve of 153), the restricting portion of each of the mounting members is connected between the two connecting arms (fig 7), and an angle is contained between each of the connecting arms and the second surface (fig 2).
Regarding claim 4, Shiu discloses:
The clutch ring structure of claim 1, wherein the at least one clutch protrusion and the at least one mounting member are arranged alternatively and equidistantly (fig 2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-20 are allowed.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
REASONS FOR INDICATING ALLOWABILITY
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art does not teach or fairly suggest the clutch mechanism as claimed in the independent claims 5 and 10.
Regarding claims 5 and 10, the prior art of record, including the combination of Shiu (US 20160040450), and Varadaraju et al. (US 20220081932) discloses a clutch mechanism relevant to the claimed invention, but fails to teach each and every limitation of the claims. Specifically, regarding claims 5 and 10, the prior art fails to teach a clutch mechanism comprising wherein the at least one mounting member is mounted at one of the annular surface and the gear surface, at least one transmission protrusion protrudes from another one of the annular surface and the gear surface and faces toward the at least one clutch protrusion, the transmission shaft is rotated from an initial position to a first positioning position, the at least one clutch protrusion is pushed by the at least one transmission protrusion to allow the ring body to be deflected, and the at least one clutch protrusion moves from a first side of the at least one transmission protrusion to a second side of the at least one transmission protrusion. One of ordinary skill in the art would not find it obvious to modify the clutch mechanism of the prior art to be structured and to function as claimed in the instant application without the use of impermissible hindsight and/or destroying the references. Therefore, the prior art of record does not disclose the clutch mechanism of claims 5 and 10.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675