DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action on the merits of the instant application, which was filed January 2, 2025 as a continuation of US 17/932,692, filed September 16, 2022, which was a continuation of PCT/US2022/076453, filed September 15, 2022, which claimed the benefit of US Provisional Application 63/307,022, filed February 5, 2022. After a preliminary amendment wherein claims 1-20 were cancelled and new claims 21-40 were presented for consideration, claims 21-40 remain in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 31 purports to depend from claim 32, which follows it in the listing of claims, contains no antecedent matter, and which appears to be unrelated. The dependence on claim 32 appears to be a typographical error. For purposes of examination, claim 31 will be treated as if it depends from claim 21. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-22, 26-29, 35-37 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 2021/0239627 A1) (or its equivalent previously published priority documents).
Zhang et al. teaches, according to claim 21, a checkpoint security system, comprising:
a carry-on baggage intake location, a carry-on baggage retrieval location, a security scanner, and computer-controlled vehicles operating within a transport area spanning between the carry-on baggage intake location and the carry-on baggage retrieval location (Zhang et al., at least Fig. 13); and
a control system comprising a processor, the processor configured for:
directing a computer-controlled vehicle to a carry-on baggage intake location to receive a carry-on baggage on an exposed surface of the computer-controlled vehicle (Zhang et al., at least para. [0107], “As shown in FIG. 12, after the passenger 1305 arrives at the airport, at step S1205, the passenger 1305 may get to an airport lobby through an entrance 1315, obtain a baggage cart 1310, and then proceed with identification authentication…”; and para. [0073], “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the first compartment 115 and the second compartment 125 of the baggage cart have a door 145. After the inputting his/her identification information and flight information through a user interface 165 and then taking a photo, the passenger will be authenticated by the processing device 155. If a positive acknowledge for the authentication is confirmed, the door 145 is opened, so as to facilitate the user to put the baggage into the first compartment 115 and the second compartment 125.”; the opening of the door 145 exposes the surface within the first or second compartment 115,125 for receiving the baggage);
associating the carry-on baggage with the computer-controlled vehicle that received the carry-on baggage (Zhang et al., at least para. [0108], “At step S1215, the baggage is detected by the detection device such as the X-ray detection device and/or the trace detection device and/or the metal detector as described above, so as to obtain preliminary information about the baggage. For example, a sensing sub-system on the baggage cart may sense at least one physical attribute information of the baggage carried by the baggage cart, for example, a weight of the baggage; one of a density, an electron density, an equivalent atomic number and a material composition of a part of interest in the baggage; a size and a location of the part of interest in the baggage; and the like. The communication unit of the baggage cart transmits the at least one physical attribute information to the scanning device.”);
directing the computer-controlled vehicle to a security scanner for scanning of the carry-on baggage (Zhang et al., at least para. [0109], “At step S1220, a preliminary determination is made as to whether the bag is safe. If no hazardous material is detected at step S1220, at step S1225, the passenger 1305 moves to the entrance 1325 of the human body security check channel 1335, and the baggage cart 1310 automatically moves to the baggage security inspection entrance 1365.”); and
directing the computer-controlled vehicle to transport the carry-on baggage from the security scanner to a carry-on baggage retrieval location (Zhang et al., at least para. [0117], “If it is determined that there is only carried-on baggage on the baggage cart at step S1250, at step S1275, the baggage cart 1310 travels to the exit 1345 of the human body security check channel, and waits for the presence of the passenger. It is the exit 1345 of the human body security check channel where the passenger 1305 and the baggage cart 1310 will meet. At step S1280, the baggage cart 1310 follows the passenger to move to the boarding gate 1350. Before boarding, the passenger enters the password or PIN to open the compartment of the baggage cart, and removes the baggage. Then, at step S1290, the baggage cart automatically travels to the garage for storage.”).
Regarding claim 22, a first computer-controlled vehicle receives the carry-on baggage, transports the carry-on baggage, and deposits the carry-on baggage at the security scanner (Zhang et al., at least para. [0107], “As shown in FIG. 12, after the passenger 1305 arrives at the airport, at step S1205, the passenger 1305 may get to an airport lobby through an entrance 1315, obtain a baggage cart 1310, and then proceed with identification authentication…”; and para. [0073], “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the first compartment 115 and the second compartment 125 of the baggage cart have a door 145. After the inputting his/her identification information and flight information through a user interface 165 and then taking a photo, the passenger will be authenticated by the processing device 155. If a positive acknowledge for the authentication is confirmed, the door 145 is opened, so as to facilitate the user to put the baggage into the first compartment 115 and the second compartment 125.”; and para. [0109], “At step S1220, a preliminary determination is made as to whether the bag is safe. If no hazardous material is detected at step S1220, at step S1225, the passenger 1305 moves to the entrance 1325 of the human body security check channel 1335, and the baggage cart 1310 automatically moves to the baggage security inspection entrance 1365.”).
Regarding claim 26, the processor is further configured for associating the carry-on baggage with the carry-on baggage retrieval location (Zhang et al., at least para. [0117], “If it is determined that there is only carried-on baggage on the baggage cart at step S1250, at step S1275, the baggage cart 1310 travels to the exit 1345 of the human body security check channel, and waits for the presence of the passenger.”).
Regarding claim 27, the carry-on baggage retrieval location requires an individual to be identified as being a correct person prior to permitting retrieval of the carry-on baggage by the individual (Zhang et al., at least para. [0117], “At step S1280, the baggage cart 1310 follows the passenger to move to the boarding gate 1350. Before boarding, the passenger enters the password or PIN to open the compartment of the baggage cart, and removes the baggage.”).
Regarding claim 28, the processor is further configured for directing the computer-controlled vehicle along a travel path that avoids collision with other computer-controlled vehicles (Zhang et al., at least para. [0081], “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 3, the baggage cart 300 further includes a locating unit 360, a communication unit 365, a RAM (random access memory) 370 and a ROM (read only memory) 375, a printer 376, a storage driver, and the like. The locating unit 360 is configured to locate the baggage cart. For example, it can realize an automatic locating and navigation function of the baggage cart 300 by multiple technologies such as image, radar, wireless communication and the like. Thus, the baggage cart can automatically avoid obstacles during its operation, and may have a variety of movement patterns, such as tracking, piloting, independent operating and the like.”).
Regarding claim 29, a travel path is determined for the computer-controlled vehicle based on an estimated size of the carry-on baggage being transported by the computer-controlled vehicle , wherein the path determined for each computer-controlled vehicle is based on an estimated size of the carry-on baggage being transported by the computer-controlled vehicle (Zhang et al., at least para. [0104], “For example, the communication unit of the baggage cart transmits the information on the traveling speed of the baggage cart to the scanning device. The scanning device adjusts the scanning parameters based on the traveling speed of the baggage cart. Here, the traveling speed of the baggage cart is set based on for example at least one of the weight and the size of the baggage. Specifically, the baggage with a large weight and a large size has a smaller traveling speed, while the baggage with a light weight and a smaller size has a greater traveling speed. As another example, if the region of interest in the baggage is already known, the CT dual energy scanning can be performed only for that region. This improves a clearance speed of baggage security inspection.”).
Regarding claim 35, the carry-on baggage intake location comprises a screen, and a speaker for providing instructions to individuals (Zhang et al., at least para. [0072], “If the data processing device 155 determines that the baggage is overweight, the user or passenger is prompted by the display screen 120 or the voice broadcast that the baggage is overweight. This makes it easier for the passenger to determine whether the baggage is overweight. In a case that the baggage is overweight, the data processing device 155 coupled to the weighing device 130 prompts the passenger that the baggage is overweight on the display screen 120 or through a speaker.”).
Regarding claim 36, each security scanner includes multiple output paths (Zhang et al., at least para. [0114], “If it is detected that there may be a suspicious item or a hazardous material by the sensing sub-system of the baggage cart 1310 at step S1220, the baggage cart 1310 automatically travels from the exit 1375 of the baggage inspection channel to the entrance 1391 of the alert zone 1390 at step S1246, so as to eliminate the danger. For example, in the alert zone 1390, the baggage cart 1310 is unpacked by the security inspector 1395. After the manual unpacking inspection, if the re-inspection is required, the baggage cart leaves from the exit 1392 of the alert zone and moves toward the baggage inspection channel 1365 to perform a secondary security inspection.”).
Regarding claim 37, at least one output path is for carry-on baggage that have been marked clear and at least one output path is for carry-on baggage that have been marked for secondary screening (Zhang et al., at least para. [0114], “If it is detected that there may be a suspicious item or a hazardous material by the sensing sub-system of the baggage cart 1310 at step S1220, the baggage cart 1310 automatically travels from the exit 1375 of the baggage inspection channel to the entrance 1391 of the alert zone 1390 at step S1246, so as to eliminate the danger. For example, in the alert zone 1390, the baggage cart 1310 is unpacked by the security inspector 1395. After the manual unpacking inspection, if the re-inspection is required, the baggage cart leaves from the exit 1392 of the alert zone and moves toward the baggage inspection channel 1365 to perform a secondary security inspection.”).
Zhang et al. teaches, according to claim 40, a method of screening carry-on baggage at a checkpoint security system, the method comprising:
directing a computer-controlled vehicle to a carry-on baggage intake location to receive a carry-on baggage on an exposed surface of the computer-controlled vehicle (Zhang et al., at least para. [0107], “As shown in FIG. 12, after the passenger 1305 arrives at the airport, at step S1205, the passenger 1305 may get to an airport lobby through an entrance 1315, obtain a baggage cart 1310, and then proceed with identification authentication…”; and para. [0073], “In the embodiment shown in FIG. 1, the first compartment 115 and the second compartment 125 of the baggage cart have a door 145. After the inputting his/her identification information and flight information through a user interface 165 and then taking a photo, the passenger will be authenticated by the processing device 155. If a positive acknowledge for the authentication is confirmed, the door 145 is opened, so as to facilitate the user to put the baggage into the first compartment 115 and the second compartment 125.”; the opening of the door 145 exposes the surface within the first or second compartment 115,125 for receiving the baggage);
associating the carry-on baggage with the computer-controlled vehicle that received the carry-on baggage (Zhang et al., at least para. [0108], “At step S1215, the baggage is detected by the detection device such as the X-ray detection device and/or the trace detection device and/or the metal detector as described above, so as to obtain preliminary information about the baggage. For example, a sensing sub-system on the baggage cart may sense at least one physical attribute information of the baggage carried by the baggage cart, for example, a weight of the baggage; one of a density, an electron density, an equivalent atomic number and a material composition of a part of interest in the baggage; a size and a location of the part of interest in the baggage; and the like. The communication unit of the baggage cart transmits the at least one physical attribute information to the scanning device.”);
directing the computer-controlled vehicle to a security scanner for scanning of the carry- on baggage (Zhang et al., at least para. [0109], “At step S1220, a preliminary determination is made as to whether the bag is safe. If no hazardous material is detected at step S1220, at step S1225, the passenger 1305 moves to the entrance 1325 of the human body security check channel 1335, and the baggage cart 1310 automatically moves to the baggage security inspection entrance 1365.”); and
directing the computer-controlled vehicle to transport the carry-on baggage from the security scanner to a carry-on baggage retrieval location (Zhang et al., at least para. [0117], “If it is determined that there is only carried-on baggage on the baggage cart at step S1250, at step S1275, the baggage cart 1310 travels to the exit 1345 of the human body security check channel, and waits for the presence of the passenger. It is the exit 1345 of the human body security check channel where the passenger 1305 and the baggage cart 1310 will meet. At step S1280, the baggage cart 1310 follows the passenger to move to the boarding gate 1350. Before boarding, the passenger enters the password or PIN to open the compartment of the baggage cart, and removes the baggage. Then, at step S1290, the baggage cart automatically travels to the garage for storage.”),
wherein the computer-controlled vehicle is operated only within a transport area spanning between the carry-on baggage intake location and the carry-on baggage retrieval location (Zhang et al., at least para. [0107]-[0117]: para. [0107], “As shown in FIG. 12, after the passenger 1305 arrives at the airport, at step S1205, the passenger 1305 may get to an airport lobby through an entrance 1315, obtain a baggage cart 1310, and then proceed with identification authentication between the baggage cart 1310 and himself/herself…”; para. [0117], “If it is determined that there is only carried-on baggage on the baggage cart at step S1250, at step S1275, the baggage cart 1310 travels to the exit 1345 of the human body security check channel, and waits for the presence of the passenger.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23-25, 30-34 and 38-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0239627 A1) in view of Cottle et al. (US 2021/0284358 A1).
Regarding claim 23, Zhang et al. does not expressly teach, where Cottle et al. teaches, wherein a second computer-controlled vehicle transports the carry-on baggage from the security scanner to the carry-on baggage retrieval location (Cottle et al., at least para. [0050], “With reference to FIGS. 1, 2, 5-7, exemplary embodiments of system 10 can include a plurality of make-up modules or areas (or alternately called luggage make-up modules LMM) 60. The bags 38 that have already been presorted by an assigned metric, for example flight number, can be removed from the respective AGV1 40 and loaded into containers 80 (for example ULDs 360, carriers 370, or trays 380) designated for that specific flight at the make-up modules 60. In one example, each bag 38 is removed from the respective AGV1 by a robot, or manually by a human operator, or through a combination of robots and manual efforts, and loaded into a container 80 supported by a second automated guided vehicle (AGV2) 74. Once the bags 38 are removed from the respective AGV1 40 in the respective make-up module 60, the empty AGV1s 40 can automatically navigate along a AGV1 return path 66 to the check-in area 34 or bag acquisition area for receipt of another bag 38. As discussed further below, the status of AGV1s 40 may be checked, for example the status of the battery charge, and corrective or maintenance operations, for example charging or replacement of the AGV1 40 battery, may take place before returning to receive another bag to start the process again.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the tray system of Cottle et al. into the carry-on baggage system of Zhang et al. for the purpose of improving the portability of the carry-on baggage through the security and baggage handling areas and for securing smaller carry-on articles within the carry-on baggage compartment of the baggage cart taught by Zhang et al., and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Regarding claim 24, Zhang et al. does not expressly teach, as Cottle et al. teaches, wherein the processor is further configured for selecting the security scanner among a plurality of security scanners based on availability across the plurality of security scanners (Cottle et al., at least para. [0067], “Each AGV1 can be directed by data signals from the central control system 430A and/or regional control system 430B toward an assigned scanning conveyor 106 and scanner 108 depending on one or more metrics determined by the central control system 430A and/or regional control system 430B. For example, a particular scanner 108 may be available or have less bags waiting to be scanned than other scanners 108 or a particular scanner may be inoperative…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate this teaching of Cottle et al. into the baggage handling system of Zhang et al. for the specified purpose of improving the effectiveness and the efficiency of movement of passengers and baggage in the airport check-in process, and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Regarding claim 25, Zhang et al. teaches a compartment for receiving all carry-on baggage, but does not expressly teach, as Cottle et al. teaches, wherein the carry-on baggage is placed in a tote, wherein the tote is received at the computer-controlled vehicle, wherein the processor is further configured for associating the carry-on baggage with the tote (Cottle et al., at least para. [0047], “In one example of system 10, each checked bag 38 is then placed or deposited on a tray supported by a first automated guided vehicle (AGV1) (or alternately called a luggage transfer vehicle—LTV) 40 which receives, processes and stores data signal instructions that can be wirelessly received from a central control system 430A or a regional control system (alternately LTV control system) 430B based on flight metrics and/or bag metrics described herein for movement along an assigned path of travel.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the tray system of Cottle et al. into the carry-on baggage system of Zhang et al. for the purpose of improving the portability of the carry-on baggage and for securing smaller carry-on articles within the carry-on baggage compartment of the baggage cart taught by Zhang et al., and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Regarding claim 30, Zhang et al. teaches navigation of the baggage cart by internal systems and by use of ground markers (Zhang et al., at least para. [0109], “…the baggage cart 1310 can travel to the baggage security inspection entrance 1365 automatically by utilizing its own locating/navigation system or travel along a particular marking line on the ground to the baggage security inspection entrance 1365.”), but Zhang et al. does not expressly teach, as Cottle et al. teaches, wherein the transport area includes a platform divided into a plurality of nodes, each node comprising a navigation fiducial marker, wherein the processor is further configured for maintaining a list of nodes that the computer- controlled vehicle occupies at a moment in time (Cottle et al., at least para. [0085], “In one example, the AGV1s 40 can use onboard navigation and anti-collision devices…Alternately, or in combination, the AGV1s 40 can receive data signals from the central control system 430A and/or regional control system 430B including instructions for travel speed and navigation control. It is understood that alternate sorting paths of travel 50, in fewer or greater numbers of paths, configurations, orientations, and lengths can be used.”; and para. [0183], “In the preferred example described above, the autonomous propulsion and guidance of each AGV1 40 and AGV2 74 is the result of receiving wireless data signals from the central control system 430A and/or regional control system 430B (and/or other control system described herein based on one or more metrics as determined by the central control system 430A and/or the regional control system 430B). In one example, the data signals from the central control system 430A may be supplemented or aided in part from data gathered by the individual AGV1 40 and/or AGV2 74 and communicated to the central control system 430A (or alternately a local control system or regional control system 430B in communication with the central control system 430A). Each AGV1 40 or AGV2 74 may scan, read or otherwise acquire data from one or a plurality of sensors 442 onboard AGV1/AGV2, for example, omni-directional LIDAR (light imaging, detection and ranging), optical sensors, cameras, acoustic sensors, RFID readers, and barcode readers, and can include onboard processing of the received sensor data by the AGV1/AGV2. This data may be wirelessly sent to the central control system 430A and/or regional control system 430B for analysis or calculations to aid, supplement and/or determine the signals sent from the central control system 430A and/or regional control system 430B to the AGV1 40 and/or AGV2 74 to instruct AGV1 40 and/or AGV2 to be autonomously propelled and guided along the assigned path(s) of travel to assigned destination as described herein. Other types and forms of sensors 442, and positional monitoring and navigation systems may be used including, but not limited to, global positioning satellite (GPS) systems, general navigation satellite systems (GNSS), triangular positioning devices, acoustic sensors, laser sensor systems, radar, proximity sensors, inertial sensors (e.g., accelerometers and gyroscopes) and/or visual imaging devices or systems known by those skilled in the art. Other devices, methods and processes for autonomously propelling and guiding the AGV1 40 and AGV2 74, as well as the other system 10 devices as well, can be used.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate this teaching of Cottle et al. into the baggage handling system of Zhang et al. for the specified purpose of improving the effectiveness and the efficiency of movement of passengers and baggage in the airport check-in process, and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Regarding claim 31, Zhang et al. recognizes the significance of a size of the carry-on baggage being transported, but does not expressly teach, as Cottle et al. teaches, wherein a number of nodes that each computer-controlled vehicle occupies is based on an estimated size of the carry-on baggage being transported by the computer-controlled vehicle (Cottle et al., at least para. [0060], “In one example, at the time the bag 38 receives the bag data tag at the check-in area 34, the bag data tag is scanned and the information thereon is sent to the control system 430A and/or 430B to notify the control system(s) that the bag has entered the system or has been checked-in. Alternately, the bag tag may be scanned (or otherwise read or received) while traveling along the conveyor prior to induction with an AGV1. Each bag 38 may further be scanned to determine its general size, volume and/or weight using one or more sensors, such as optical sensors, camera, acoustic sensors, and pressure sensors.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate this teaching of Cottle et al. into the baggage handling system of Zhang et al. for the specified purpose of improving the effectiveness and the efficiency of movement of passengers and baggage in the airport check-in process, and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Regarding claim 32, Zhang et al. does not expressly teach, as Cottle et al. teaches, wherein the transport area comprises multiple platforms arranged in a vertical configuration, with each platform including at least one of the security scanners (Cottle et al., at least para. [0045], “In the example as best seen in FIGS. 1 and 7, system 10 is shown in a two-level or two floor building configuration having a first level or floor 26 and a second or ground level (also referred to as the ramp level) 30 positioned below the first level 26. In an alternate example, the system 10 includes four levels or floors, a ticketing level on a third level or floor, security screening and temporary baggage holding area on a second level, flight staging and make-up module on a first level, and a transfer cell on a ground/ramp level. It is understood that system 10 can be applied to fewer or additional levels or floors depending on the structure of system 10, the building floor space, building features, security protocols, and volume capacity of the airport 20. It is further understood that the first level 26, and other levels described herein, can be positioned below the ground/ramp level, for example in a level below the ground floor.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate this teaching of Cottle et al. into the baggage handling system of Zhang et al. for the specified purpose of improving the effectiveness and the efficiency of movement of passengers and baggage in the airport check-in process by utilizing multiple levels for baggage handling and movement as an operation scales up without proportionally increasing the need footprint of the operation, and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Regarding claim 33, Zhang et al. does not expressly teach, as Cottle et al. teaches, wherein the plurality of computer-controlled vehicles is configured to travel across the multiple platforms arranged in the vertical configuration, wherein the computer-controlled vehicles move between the multiple platforms using a ramp or an elevator (Cottle et al., at least para. [0052], “As shown in FIG. 7, each make-up module or area 60 includes one or more elevators 70 to cyclically raise empty containers 80 onboard respective AGV2s 74 from the ground/ramp level 30 up to the make-up module 60 on the first level 26 for the loading of bags 38. When each container 80 on first level 26 is full, the AGV2 74 and onboard full containers 80 are lowered by the elevator 70 to a transfer cell 78 on the ramp level 30. As further described herein, in the transfer cell 78 at ramp level 30, the AGV2s 74 automatically transfer the full containers 80 into delivery carts 86, which are connected to transfer vehicles 90 that travel along a path 92 either directly to the airplane departure gate for loading onto the airplane, or to a staging area 94 to await transfer to the departure gate.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate this teaching of Cottle et al. into the baggage handling system of Zhang et al. for the specified purpose of improving the effectiveness and the efficiency of movement of passengers and baggage in the airport check-in process by utilizing multiple levels for baggage handling and movement as an operation scales up without proportionally increasing the need footprint of the operation, and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Regarding claim 34, Zhang et al. does not expressly teach, as Cottle et al. teaches, wherein each carry-on baggage intake location includes a tote for receiving carry-on baggage, wherein the tote optionally includes an identifying tag for tracking the carry-on baggage as it progresses through the checkpoint security system (Cottle et al., at least para. [0050], “With reference to FIGS. 1, 2, 5-7, exemplary embodiments of system 10 can include a plurality of make-up modules or areas (or alternately called luggage make-up modules LMM) 60. The bags 38 that have already been presorted by an assigned metric, for example flight number, can be removed from the respective AGV1 40 and loaded into containers 80 (for example ULDs 360, carriers 370, or trays 380) designated for that specific flight at the make-up modules 60. In one example, each bag 38 is removed from the respective AGV1 by a robot, or manually by a human operator, or through a combination of robots and manual efforts, and loaded into a container 80 supported by a second automated guided vehicle (AGV2) 74. Once the bags 38 are removed from the respective AGV1 40 in the respective make-up module 60, the empty AGV1s 40 can automatically navigate along a AGV1 return path 66 to the check-in area 34 or bag acquisition area for receipt of another bag 38. As discussed further below, the status of AGV1s 40 may be checked, for example the status of the battery charge, and corrective or maintenance operations, for example charging or replacement of the AGV1 40 battery, may take place before returning to receive another bag to start the process again.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the tray system of Cottle et al. into the carry-on baggage system of Zhang et al. for the purpose of improving the portability of the carry-on baggage and for securing smaller carry-on articles within the carry-on baggage compartment of the baggage cart taught by Zhang et al., and as a combination of prior art elements in a known manner with an expectation of predictable results. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Regarding claim 38, Zhang et al. does not expressly teach, as Cottle et al. teaches, wherein the output path for carry-on baggage that have been marked clear is elevated above the output path for carry-on baggage that have been marked for secondary screening (Cottle et al., at least para. [0045], “In an alternate example, the system 10 includes four levels or floors, a ticketing level on a third level or floor, security screening and temporary baggage holding area on a second level, flight staging and make-up module on a first level, and a transfer cell on a ground/ramp level. It is understood that system 10 can be applied to fewer or additional levels or floors depending on the structure of system 10, the building floor space, building features, security protocols, and volume capacity of the airport 20. It is further understood that the first level 26, and other levels described herein, can be positioned below the ground/ramp level, for example in a level below the ground floor.”). Cottle et al. further teaches that some items will be cleared while others will be flagged for secondary screening (Cottle et al., at least para. [0190], “In one example described above, selected AGV1s can be autonomously propelled and guided back upstream to be rescanned and deposited on the scanning conveyor (e.g., scanning conveyor 106) for rescanning through a scanner 108 to begin the bag scanning process again. In another exemplary step described herein, bags that are not cleared or are rejected can be autonomously propelled and guided from the bag queueing area to a resolution or manual inspection area (e.g., manual inspection area 120) for manual inspection as noted by the AGV1.”). Cottle et al. does not expressly teach that the output path for personal items that have been marked clear is elevated above the output path for personal items that have been marked for secondary screening, however the particular arrangement of the secondary screening process as being elevated above a cleared area, where the checkpoint security system is arranged on multiple levels configured based on the particular facility, would involve a routine design choice and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Regarding claim 39, Zhang et al. does not expressly teach, as Cottle et al. teaches, wherein the processor is further configured for directing a computer-controlled vehicle to transport one or more empty totes from the carry-on baggage retrieval location to the carry-on baggage intake location (Cottle et al., at least para. [0203], “FIG. 16C shows a method 600 (a sub-method of method 500) for simultaneous and coordinated delivery of empty containers (e.g., containers 80), loading containers in make-up modules (e.g., make-up modules 60), and return of full containers, between transfer cell(s) (e.g., transfer cells 78) and make-up modules(s) as described herein for system 10. In method step 610, AGV2s (e.g., AGV2s 74) with one or more empty containers (for example 360, 370, and/or 380) are independently and autonomously propelled and guided to transfer cell, for example to a cart entry area (e.g., cart entry area 280), as shown in FIG. 7. In the example shown for FIG. 7 and described herein, in step 620 each AGV2 can be sequentially guided onto an elevator (e.g., elevator 70) and raised from a first (for example lower) position (e.g., first position 230) to a second (for example upper) position (e.g., second position 236), and delivered into make-up module in step 630. As described herein, alternately, AGV2s are propelled and guided along angled ramps between transfer cell and the assigned make-up module.”). Cottle et al. does not expressly teach directing a computer-controlled vehicle to transport one or more empty totes from the personal item retrieval location to the personal item intake location, however the same principle is involved in the transportation of empty vessels within the security checkpoint system, regardless of the particular location within the system, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing. The differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(313) 446-4915. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665