DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-10, filed 6/29/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of amended claim(s) 1, and 12 in view of Kobayashi and Shi, and dependent claim 8 in view of Kobayashi, Shi, and Kim have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kobayashi and the new prior art of Tang et al. (US 2024/0021936 A1, hereafter Tang), and Omaru et al. (US 5,916,707, hereafter Omaru) as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 8 cites dependency from cancelled claim 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9, 11-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi et al. (US 2022/0216548 A1, hereafter Kobayashi) in view of Tang et al. (US 2024/0021936 A1, hereafter Tang), and further in view of Omaru et al. (US 5,916,707, hereafter Omaru).
With regard to claim 1, Kobayashi teaches a battery comprising:
an electrode assembly (anode cathode and separator) comprising electrodes [0038];
a body cup (container body) including a first reference wall (bottom) and at least one first sidewall (vertical sidewalls) provided adjacent to the first reference wall, the body cup having an open end accommodating the electrode assembly [0038, fig. 1]; and
a cover cup (container cover) including a second reference wall (horizontal bottom wall of cover) and a second sidewall (vertical sidewalls) provided adjacent to the second reference wall, the cover cup having an open end being accommodated in the body cup such that the second reference wall closes the open end of the body cup [0038, fig. 1], wherein a surplus space (open space between cover walls) is formed by a flange (first and second sidewalls extending above second reference wall) formed by joining at least a portion of the first sidewall and at least a portion of the second sidewall [0038-0039, fig. 1-2].
Kobayashi teaches a portion of the first sidewall in the flange and a portion of the second sidewall in the flange are metal joined to each other (welding) to form a flange [0038-0039, fig. 1-2].
Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the details of the electrode assembly or swelling. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches an electrode assembly (electrode core 3) in contact with a second reference wall (upper housing 2) [0055, 0056, fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the electrode positioning of Tang with the battery of Kobayashi for the benefit of reduced volume needed to accommodate a battery and improved energy density. Modified Kobayashi does not explicitly teach swelling. However, in the same field of endeavor, Omaru teaches that electrodes swell (due to expanded electrode materials after charging) and cause deformation to central portions of adjacent walls (as seen in fig. 4B) [col. 4 lines 32-54, fig. 4A-B]. Therefore as detailed by the teachings of Omaru the central portion of the cover of modified Kobayashi would be expected to deform and swell in the central area and extend into the surplus space surrounded by the second reference wall due to the expansion of the electrode materials during charging.
With regard to claim 2, Kobayashi teaches the flange extends in the same direction as the first sidewall and second sidewall (vertically) [0038, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 3, Kobayashi teaches the direction the flange extends is perpendicular to the first reference wall and the second reference wall (which extend horizontally as seen in fig. 1) [0038, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 8, Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the details of the electrode assembly or swelling. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches an electrode assembly (electrode core 3) in contact with a second reference wall (upper housing 2) [0055, 0056, fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the electrode positioning of Tang with the battery of Kobayashi for the benefit of reduced volume needed to accommodate a battery and improved energy density. Modified Kobayashi does not explicitly teach swelling. However, in the same field of endeavor, Omaru teaches that electrodes swell (due to expanded electrode materials after charging) and cause deformation to central portions of adjacent walls (as seen in fig. 4B) [col. 4 lines 32-54, fig. 4A-B]. Therefore as detailed by the teachings of Omaru the central portion of the cover of modified Kobayashi would be expected to deform in a direction that the flange extends (vertically) and into a surplus space surrounded by the second reference surface and flange due to the expansion of the electrode materials during charging.
With regard to claim 9, Kobayashi teaches stainless steel [0071, 0092].
With regard to claim 11, Kobayashi teaches at least a portion of the sidewalls are joined [0038-0039, fig. 1-2].
With regard to claim 12, Kobayashi teaches a method of manufacturing a battery, the method comprising:
inserting (placing inside battery case) an electrode assembly (anode cathode and separator) comprising electrodes into a body cup (container body) comprising a first reference wall (bottom) and a first sidewall (vertical sidewalls) provided adjacent to the first reference wall, with the body cup having an open end [0038, fig. 1];
positioning a cover cup (container cover) in the body cup such that a second reference wall of the cover cup closes the open end of the body cup [0038, fig. 1]; and
joining (welding or melt bonding) at least portions of overlapping portions of the first sidewall of the body cup and the second sidewall of the cover cup [0038-0039, fig. 1-2] wherein a surplus space (open space between cover walls) is formed by a flange (first and second sidewalls extending above second reference wall) formed by joining at least a portion of the first sidewall and at least a portion of the second sidewall [0038-0039, fig. 1-2].
Kobayashi teaches a portion of the first sidewall in the flange and a portion of the second sidewall in the flange are metal joined to each other (welding) to form a flange [0038-0039, fig. 1-2].
Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the details of the electrode assembly or swelling. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tang teaches an electrode assembly (electrode core 3) in contact with a second reference wall (upper housing 2) [0055, 0056, fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the electrode positioning of Tang with the method of Kobayashi for the benefit of reduced volume needed to accommodate a battery and improved energy density. Modified Kobayashi does not explicitly teach swelling. However, in the same field of endeavor, Omaru teaches that electrodes swell (due to expanded electrode materials after charging) and cause deformation to central portions of adjacent walls (as seen in fig. 4B) [col. 4 lines 32-54, fig. 4A-B]. Therefore as detailed by the teachings of Omaru the central portion of the cover of modified Kobayashi would be expected to deform and swell in the central area and extend into the surplus space surrounded by the second reference wall due to the expansion of the electrode materials during charging.
With regard to claim 13, Kobayashi teaches cutting out areas that would require cutting at least a portion of the first sidewall of the body cup and the second sidewall of the cover up (to examine melt bonded part between sidewalls) [0121, fig. 1]. Kobayashi does not explicitly teach the cuts are parallel to the reference walls, however this would be an obvious variant to one of ordinary skill in the art since it would result in a straight cut across the area to be examined (melt bonded part between sidewalls).
With regard to claim 14, Kobayashi teaches the flange extends in the same direction as the first sidewall and second sidewall (vertically) [0038, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 15, Kobayashi teaches the direction the flange extends is perpendicular to the first reference wall and the second reference wall (which extend horizontally as seen in fig. 1) [0038, fig. 1].
With regard to claim 19, Kobayashi teaches stainless steel [0071, 0092].
With regard to claim 20, Kobayashi teaches at least a portion of the sidewalls are joined [0038-0039, fig. 1-2].
Claim(s) 4-6 and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi, Tang, and Omaru as applied to claims 1-3, 8-9, 11-15, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Shi et al. (US 2020/0212379 A1, hereafter Shi).
With regard to claims 4-6, Kobayashi teaches electrode assemblies but does not explicitly teach how the assembly is formed or oriented. However, in the same field of endeavor, Shi teaches a battery with an electrode assembly wound about an axis (horizontal) perpendicular to the direction that the flange extends (thickness or vertical, claim 5) with alternating curved and flat portions and flat portions stacked in a direction that the flange extends (thickness, claim 4, claim 6) [0021, fig. 1, fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the wound electrode assembly of Shi with the battery of Kobayashi for the benefit of controlling the expansion direction of the electrode units [Shi 0020-0021, 0025].
With regard to claims 16-18, Kobayashi teaches electrode assemblies but does not explicitly teach how the assembly is formed or oriented. However, in the same field of endeavor, Shi teaches a battery with an electrode assembly wound about an axis (horizontal) perpendicular to the direction that the flange extends (thickness or vertical, claim 17) with alternating curved and flat portions and flat portions stacked in a direction that the flange extends (thickness, claim 16, claim 18) [0021, fig. 1, fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the wound electrode assembly of Shi with the method of Kobayashi for the benefit of controlling the expansion direction of the electrode units [Shi 0020-0021, 0025].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi, Tang, and Omaru as applied to claims 1-3, 8-9, 11-15, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Tsukuda et al. (US 2013/0034753 A1, hereafter Tsukuda).
With regard to claim 10, Kobayashi does not explicitly teach an electrode terminal on a sidewall surface. However, in the same field of endeavor, Tsukuda teaches the use of terminals (11f) on side surfaces of a battery cup [0042, fig. 7]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the side terminals of Tsukuda with the battery of modified Kobayashi for the benefit of allowing for series interconnection of stacked batteries [Tsukuda 0017].
Claim 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi, Tang, and Omaru as applied to claims 1-3, 8-9, 11-15, and 19-20 above, and further in view of Setliff (US 2002/0122978 A1, hereafter Setliff).
With regard to claim 21, Kobayashi does not explicitly teach electrode terminals on a sidewall surface. However, in the same field of endeavor, Setliff teaches the use of pairs of positive and negative terminals on opposite side surfaces of a battery cell [0023-0024, fig. 3]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the terminal arrangement of Setliff with the battery of modified Kobayashi for the benefit of allowing for polarity repositioning by reversing battery orientation [Setliff 0024].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENT C THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1724
/MIRIAM STAGG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1724