DETAILED ACTION
In the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, claims 1-20 have been considered and examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Respond to Applicant’s Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/08/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-20 has been fully considered and the results as followings:
On pages 10-12 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the improved techniques described in the specification are reflected in claim 1, which recites receiving a wireless signal, at an access control device, from an access point. The wireless signal includes identifying information associated with the access point. The method further includes comparing the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set to determine the vehicle has entered a bounded area to precisely control a state of a movable barrier. Based on the comparing, the access control device transmits a notification to a user device. The notification causes a user device to execute a control application to affect a state of a movable barrier.
Thus, claim 1 is not merely a recitation of generic computer components, but a functional improvement in latency reduction by inclusion of a separate, specialized processor included at the vehicle which monitors for known identifying information indicative of proximity to the movable barrier, and which, in response to detecting known identifying information, causes the user device (a separate device from the access control device) to affect the state of the movable barrier. As described in the specification, this arrangement further improves battery life by reducing the mobile device's requirement to actively track location, thereby allowing the mobile device to potentially remain in a sleep state.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as indicated in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 03/10/2026, both of the access control device and the user device are generic computer components to perform the method steps of receiving wireless signal including identifying information, comparing the identifying information to determine whether the access control device has enter a bounded area to send a notification signal wherein the method steps, under broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind. Therefore, the amended claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more features. As a result, the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 101 are sustained.
On pages 13-20 of Applicant’s remarks, Applicant argues that the combination of Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon fails to disclose the invention of claim 1 because:
Claim 1 features an access control device that transmits a notification to a use device.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant because as discussed in the Non-Final ejection mailed on 03/10/2026, the rejection relied upon the combination of Hopkins and Cavalcanti to disclose an access control device (Hopkins: FIG. 3-4 the in-vehicle device 82) associated with a vehicle (Hopkins: [0034] and FIG. 3) to transmit a notification to directly control a movable barrier (Hopkins: Abstract, [0019], [0022], [0035]-[0036], [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: the communication circuitry 110 may be configured to automatically initiate a state change of the garage door 24 based upon a parameter of the vehicle 80 such as the vehicle being within a predetermined proximity of the garage 14. The radio frequency signal transmitter 112 may be a universal transmitter configured to operate a plurality of different operator types) based on a location of the vehicle upon receiving a wireless signal from an access point (Hopkins: FIG. 3 the stoplight 88 or the cellular tower 98) identified by identifying information of the access point (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier), the combination of Hopkins and Cavalcanti does not explicitly disclose the access control device transmitting a notification to a use device.
However, in the same art of movable barrier, Fitzgibbon discloses transmitting, by the access control device, a notification including information associated with the determined status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area to a user device, the notification configured to cause the user device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier (Fitzgibbon: Abstract, [0014]-[0017], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-3: the host device 120 is a multi-functional device such as a Smartphone configured to run one or more applications, such as mapping application, email application, music player application, internet browser application, and the like. The host device 120 may include movable barrier controller software that is configured to send a command to the movable barrier operator 143 in response to receiving a signal from the auxiliary device 110. For example, the software may be a downloaded movable barrier controller application installed on a Smartphone. In some embodiments, the movable barrier controller software also provides a user interface on the host device 120 that allows the user to control and/or monitor one or more movable barriers through the display and input devices of the host device 120. The host device also includes a network interface 121 for communicating with the network 130).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the garage door control system of Hopkins and Cavalcanti to include the method steps of transmitting, by the access control device, a notification including information associated with the determined status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area to a user device, the notification configured to cause the user device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier, as suggested by Fitzgibbon. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative communication to selectively control operations of a garage door from a vehicle remotely the garage door.
Cavalcanti is non-analogous art and would not have been considered by a person having ordinary skill in the art in attempting to modify Hopkins.
In response to Applicant’s remark that Cavalcanti is non- analogous to Hopkins. Applicant's attention is directed to MPEP § 2141.01 (a) I, where stated: The examiner must determine what is "analogous prior art" for the purpose of analyzing the obviousness of the subject matter at issue. "In order to rely on a reference as a basis for rejection of an applicant's invention, the reference must either be in the field of applicant’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned." In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 1446, 24 USPQ2d 1443, 1445 (Fed. Cir. 1992). See also In re Deminski, 796 F.2d 436, 230 USPQ 313 (Fed. Cir. 1986); In re Clay, 966 F.2d 656, 659, 23 USPQ2d 1058, 1060-61 (Fed. Cir. 1992) ("A reference is reasonably pertinent if, even though it may be in a different field from that of the inventor's endeavor, it is one which, because of the matter with which it deals, logically would have commended itself to an inventor's attention in considering his problem."); Wang Laboratories Inc. v. Toshiba Corp., 993 F.2d 858, 26 USPQ2d 1767 (Fed. Cir. 1993); and State Contracting & Eng'g Corp. v. Condotte America, Inc., 346 F.3d 1057, 1069, 68 USPQ2d 1481, 1490 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (where the general scope of a reference is outside the pertinent field of endeavor, the reference may be considered analogous art if subject matter disclosed therein is relevant to the particular problem with which the inventor is involved).
In this case, as discloses in the Non-Final rejection mailed on 03/10/2026, the rejection relied upon the access control device associated with the vehicle of Hopkins to determine location of a vehicle upon receiving signals from the stoplight or the cellular tower (Hopkins: [0034] and FIG. 3 the stoplight 88 or the cellular tower 98) to determine whether to transmit the notification to control the movable barrier (Hopkins: Abstract, [0019], [0022], [0035]-[0036], [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: the communication circuitry 110 may be configured to automatically initiate a state change of the garage door 24 based upon a parameter of the vehicle 80 such as the vehicle being within a predetermined proximity of the garage 14. The radio frequency signal transmitter 112 may be a universal transmitter configured to operate a plurality of different operator types).
Further, Cavalcanti discloses the received signals comprising identifying information (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier) to indicate the location of a wearable device/the access control device (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier; providing the one or more body worn devices with a lighting unit identifier sensor, the sensor receiving lighting unit identifiers of at least one of the plurality of lighting units; the one or more body worn devices communicating the received lighting unit identifiers with the indication to a server via the network; and the database providing a geographic location of the one or more lighting units, the geographic location corresponding to the target location of the body worn device).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hopkins and Cavalcanti, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the identifying information of the access point of Cavalcanti into the garage door control system of Hopkins to include the method steps of receiving, at an access control device, a identifying information from an access point; and comparing, by the access control device, the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set, as suggested by Cavalcanti. The motivation for this is to identify a location of a device within a predetermined area based on identifiers associated with transmitting devices.
As a result, Applicant arguments are not deemed persuasive, and the previous rejections pertaining to the previous set of claims are sustained. Therefore, due to the claimed amendments, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejections necessitated by amendments is made in view of following reference/combinations.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites a method for affecting a state of a movable barrier operator, the method comprising: receiving, at an access control device transported by a vehicle, a wireless signal an access point, the wireless signal including identifying information associated with the access point; comparing, by the access control device, the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set; determining, by the access control device, the vehicle has entered a bounded area associated with a controllable movable barrier operator based on the comparing; and in response to determining the vehicle has entered the bounded area, transmitting, by the access control device, a notification to a user device, the notification configured to cause the user device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier.
The limitations of receiving, at an access control device transported by a vehicle, a wireless signal an access point, comparing, by the access control device, the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set; determining, by the access control device, the vehicle has entered a bounded area, and transmitting, by the access control device, a notification to a user device, as drafted, is a process performed by at least one processor that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by an access control device,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by the access control device” language, “receiving, at an access control device transported by a vehicle, a wireless signal an access point, comparing, by the access control device, the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set; determining, by the access control device, the vehicle has entered a bounded area, and transmitting, by the access control device, a notification to a user device,” as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. For example, but for the “by the access control device” language, “transmitting” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually activate a transmission of a notification signal.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a processor to perform the above steps. The processor in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of the above steps) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform both the above steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopkins et al. (Hopkins – US 2021/0010316 A1) in view of Cavalcanti et al. (Cavalcanti – US 2015/0002292 A1) in view of Fitzgibbon (Fitzgibbon – US 2015/0148983 A1).
As to claim 1, Hopkins discloses a method for affecting a state of a movable barrier operator, the method comprising:
receiving, at an access control device (Hopkins: FIG. 3-4 the in-vehicle device 82) transported by a vehicle (Hopkins: [0031], [0033]-[0035], [0037]-[0038], and FIG. 3-4 the vehicle 80: Referring now to FIG. 3, a vehicle 80 includes an in-vehicle device 82, such as a human-machine interface of the vehicle 80. The in-vehicle device 82 may be configured to communicate directly with the movable barrier operator 12 via radio frequency signals or indirectly via a network 90 and a server computer, such as remote server computer 92, connected thereto. The network 90 may include one or more networks such as the internet and wide area networks. The direct and/or indirect communications between the in-vehicle device 82 and the movable barrier operator permit the in-vehicle device 82 to initiate a change of state (e.g., open or closed) of the garage door 24 when the vehicle 80 is near the garage 14, or distant from the garage 14 (e.g., via indirect communication over a wide area network)), a wireless signal an access point (Hopkins: FIG. 3 the stoplight 88 or the cellular tower 98),
comparing, by the access control device, the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set (Hopkins: [0034], [0040], [0042], [0057]-[0058], and FIG. 3: Alternatively or additionally, the in-vehicle device 82 may determine the location of the vehicle 80 based on data from other sources, such as data from a nearby stoplight 88 or cellular tower 98. The sensor 100 may also include a sensor that detects a rotation of or otherwise communicates with a vehicle powertrain component that corresponds to the vehicle speed. The sensor 100 may also include an optical instrument, such as a standard optical camera or a thermographic camera, that may be configured to capture still or moving imagery within or outside of the vehicle);
determining, by the access control device, the vehicle has entered a bounded area associated with a controllable movable barrier operator based on the comparing (Hopkins: Abstract, [0043], [0045], [0058]-[0061], [0067]-[0069], [0074], [0103]-[0108], [0043], FIG. 3, and FIG. 8: the system 200 is configured to compare the destination to the location of the garage 204. Upon determining the garage 204 is the destination, the system 200 may be configured to automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218. Conversely, upon determining the garage 204 is not the destination, the system 200 may not automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218); and
in response to determining the vehicle has entered the bounded area, transmitting, by the access control device (Hopkins: Abstract, [0019], [0022], [0035]-[0036], [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: the vehicle 80 enters a geofenced area associated with the movable barrier operator 12 and the user account condition 140 is satisfied, then the in-vehicle device 82, the user device 86, remote server computer 92, and/or computing device 94 cause a control command to be automatically communicated to the movable barrier operator 12 to open the garage door 24. Conversely, if the vehicle 80 enters the geofenced area and the user account condition 140 is not satisfied, then a control command is not communicated to the movable barrier operator 12 despite the vehicle 80 entering the geofenced area), to affect a state of a movable barrier (Hopkins: Abstract, [0019], [0022], [0035]-[0036], [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: the communication circuitry 110 may be configured to automatically initiate a state change of the garage door 24 based upon a parameter of the vehicle 80 such as the vehicle being within a predetermined proximity of the garage 14. The radio frequency signal transmitter 112 may be a universal transmitter configured to operate a plurality of different operator types).
Hopkins does not explicitly discloses
the wireless signal including identifying information associated with the access point;
comparing, by the access control device, the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set; and
transmitting, by the access control device, a notification including information associated with the determined status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area to a user device, the notification configured to cause the user device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier.
However, it has been known in the art of location tracking to implement the wireless signal including identifying information associated with the access point;
comparing, by the access control device, the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set, as suggested by Cavalcanti, which discloses the wireless signal including identifying information associated with the access point (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier); and comparing, by the access control device, the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier; providing the one or more body worn devices with a lighting unit identifier sensor, the sensor receiving lighting unit identifiers of at least one of the plurality of lighting units; the one or more body worn devices communicating the received lighting unit identifiers with the indication to a server via the network; and the database providing a geographic location of the one or more lighting units, the geographic location corresponding to the target location of the body worn device).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hopkins and Cavalcanti, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the garage door control system of Hopkins to include the wireless signal including identifying information associated with the access point;
comparing, by the access control device, the received identifying information to a preferred identifying information set, as suggested by Cavalcanti. The motivation for this is to identify a location of a device within a predetermined area based on identifiers associated with transmitting devices.
The combination of Hopkins and Cavalcanti does not explicitly disclose the method steps of transmitting, by the access control device, a notification including information associated with the determined status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area to a user device, the notification configured to cause the user device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier.
However, it has been known in the art of garage door control to implement the method steps of transmitting, by the access control device, a notification including information associated with the determined status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area to a user device, the notification configured to cause the user device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier, as suggested by Fitzgibbon, which discloses transmitting, by the access control device, a notification including information associated with the determined status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area to a user device, the notification configured to cause the user device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier (Fitzgibbon: Abstract, [0014]-[0017], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-3: the host device 120 is a multi-functional device such as a Smartphone configured to run one or more applications, such as mapping application, email application, music player application, internet browser application, and the like. The host device 120 may include movable barrier controller software that is configured to send a command to the movable barrier operator 143 in response to receiving a signal from the auxiliary device 110. For example, the software may be a downloaded movable barrier controller application installed on a Smartphone. In some embodiments, the movable barrier controller software also provides a user interface on the host device 120 that allows the user to control and/or monitor one or more movable barriers through the display and input devices of the host device 120. The host device also includes a network interface 121 for communicating with the network 130).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the garage door control system of Hopkins and Cavalcanti to include the method steps of transmitting, by the access control device, a notification including information associated with the determined status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area to a user device, the notification configured to cause the user device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier, as suggested by Fitzgibbon. The motivation for this is to selectively control operations of a garage door from a vehicle remotely the garage door.
As to claim 2, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
initiating, by a processor of the access control device, a startup procedure of the access control device in response to the access control device receiving power from the vehicle (Hopkins: [0034], [0040], [0042], [0057]-[0058], and FIG. 3: The location-check routine may be performed frequently to provide an accurate vehicle location for the movable barrier operator system 200. In one aspect, the location-check routine may be automatically performed (for example, according to a predetermined schedule). According to another aspect, the location-check routine may be initiated when a user interface of the in-vehicle device 82 is initiated or presented to a user that permits the user to select which movable barrier operator 202 to operate. According to another aspect, the location-check routine may be initiated on a random or periodic basis. In another example, the location-check routine may be initiated upon the vehicle traveling at a particular velocity or range of velocities. For example, the movable barrier operator system 200 may initiate a location-check routine approximately once every ten seconds while a vehicle 80 is traveling within a range of approximately 40 miles-per-hour and 60 miles-per-hour, and may initiate a location-check routine approximately once every second while the vehicle 80 is traveling less than 30 miles-per-hour. In another aspect, the movable barrier operator system 200 may initiate a location-check routine more frequently while the vehicle 80 is traveling at a relatively higher speed as compared to when the vehicle 80 is traveling at a relatively lower speed); and
monitoring, via the access control device, for the access point during the startup procedure (Hopkins: Abstract, [0043], [0045], [0058]-[0061], [0067]-[0069], [0074], [0103]-[0108], [0043], FIG. 3, and FIG. 8: the system 200 is configured to compare the destination to the location of the garage 204. Upon determining the garage 204 is the destination, the system 200 may be configured to automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218. Conversely, upon determining the garage 204 is not the destination, the system 200 may not automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218).
As to claim 3, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 2 further comprising the method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining, via the access control device, that the vehicle is outside the bounded area based on the monitoring (Hopkins: [0003], [0034], [0040], [0042]-[0043], [0057]-[0061], [0066], [0074], FIG. 3, and FIG. 10: if the vehicle 80 enters a geofenced area associated with the movable barrier operator 12 and the user account condition 140 is satisfied, then the in-vehicle device 82, the user device 86, remote server computer 92, and/or computing device 94 cause a control command to be automatically communicated to the movable barrier operator 12 to open the garage door 24 …In one aspect, the location-check routine may be automatically performed (for example, according to a predetermined schedule). According to another aspect, the location-check routine may be initiated when a user interface of the in-vehicle device 82 is initiated or presented to a user that permits the user to select which movable barrier operator 202 to operate. According to another aspect, the location-check routine may be initiated on a random or periodic basis. In another example, the location-check routine may be initiated upon the vehicle traveling at a particular velocity or range of velocities. For example, the movable barrier operator system 200 may initiate a location-check routine approximately once every ten seconds while a vehicle 80 is traveling within a range of approximately 40 miles-per-hour and 60 miles-per-hour, and may initiate a location-check routine approximately once every second while the vehicle 80 is traveling less than 30 miles-per-hour. In another aspect, the movable barrier operator system 200 may initiate a location-check routine more frequently while the vehicle 80 is traveling at a relatively higher speed as compared to when the vehicle 80 is traveling at a relatively lower speed); and
continuing to monitor, via the access control device, for the access point (Hopkins: [0003], [0034], [0040], [0042]-[0043], [0057]-[0061], [0066], [0074], FIG. 3, and FIG. 10: alternatively or additionally, the in-vehicle device 82 may determine the location of the vehicle 80 based on data from other sources, such as data from a nearby stoplight 88 or cellular tower 98. The sensor 100 may also include a sensor that detects a rotation of or otherwise communicates with a vehicle powertrain component that corresponds to the vehicle speed. The sensor 100 may also include an optical instrument, such as a standard optical camera or a thermographic camera, that may be configured to capture still or moving imagery within or outside of the vehicle).
As to claim 4, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 3 further comprising the method of claim 3, wherein transmitting the notification to the user device comprises transmitting a notification that the vehicle is within the bounded area (Hopkins: [0003], [0034], [0040], [0042]-[0043], [0057]-[0061], [0066], [0074], FIG. 3, and FIG. 10: Upon determining the garage 204 is the destination, the system 200 may be configured to automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218. Conversely, upon determining the garage 204 is not the destination, the system 200 may not automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218), and wherein the notification transmitted in the notification causes the control application to drive the movable barrier operator to open the movable barrier (Fitzgibbon: Abstract, [0014]-[0017], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-3: the host device 120 is a multi-functional device such as a Smartphone configured to run one or more applications, such as mapping application, email application, music player application, internet browser application, and the like. The host device 120 may include movable barrier controller software that is configured to send a command to the movable barrier operator 143 in response to receiving a signal from the auxiliary device 110. For example, the software may be a downloaded movable barrier controller application installed on a Smartphone. In some embodiments, the movable barrier controller software also provides a user interface on the host device 120 that allows the user to control and/or monitor one or more movable barriers through the display and input devices of the host device 120. The host device also includes a network interface 121 for communicating with the network 130).
As to claim 5, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, further comprising:
monitoring, via the access control device, for the access point after determining that the vehicle is within the bounded area (Hopkins: [0040], [0043], [0045], [0058]-[0061], [0067]-[0069], [0074], [0103]-[0108], [0043], FIG. 3, and FIG. 8: the in-vehicle device 82 is a user's smartphone or other portable electronic device such as a media player. The smartphone may communicate with the vehicle 80 to receive data, such as the location and speed of the vehicle 80. The smartphone may also be configured to retrieve the data itself. For example, the smartphone may receive location data from GPS satellites or cellular towers and determine the location of the vehicle 80 and determine whether the vehicle 80 has entered or exited a geofenced area. The smartphone may communicate a state change request to the movable barrier operator 12 via the remote server computer 92 or connect to the vehicle 80, such as via Bluetooth, and cause a radio frequency transmitter of the vehicle 80 to transmit a control command to the movable barrier operator 12); and
determining, via the access control device, that the vehicle is outside the bounded area based on the monitoring (Hopkins: [0040], [0043], [0045], [0058]-[0061], [0067]-[0069], [0074], [0103]-[0108], [0043], FIG. 3, and FIG. 8: the in-vehicle device 82 is a user's smartphone or other portable electronic device such as a media player. The smartphone may communicate with the vehicle 80 to receive data, such as the location and speed of the vehicle 80. The smartphone may also be configured to retrieve the data itself. For example, the smartphone may receive location data from GPS satellites or cellular towers and determine the location of the vehicle 80 and determine whether the vehicle 80 has entered or exited a geofenced area. The smartphone may communicate a state change request to the movable barrier operator 12 via the remote server computer 92 or connect to the vehicle 80, such as via Bluetooth, and cause a radio frequency transmitter of the vehicle 80 to transmit a control command to the movable barrier operator 12),
wherein transmitting the notification including information comprises transmitting a notification that the vehicle is outside of the bounded area, and wherein the notification transmitted in the notification causes the control application to actuate the movable barrier operator to close the movable barrier (Hopkins: Abstract, [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0102], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: The in-vehicle device 82 may also be configured to communicate with the movable barrier operator 12 to cause the movable barrier operator 12 to close the garage door 24, for example, as the vehicle 80 departs the garage 14. According to another aspect, operation may be partially- or semi-automated. For example, a user may be prompted (e.g., at the in-vehicle device 82) prior to the in-vehicle device 82 communicating a control signal to the movable barrier operator 12. The user may then confirm the user's desire (e.g., via an explicit response such as an acknowledgment (ACK) or negative acknowledgement (NACK), or by a passive response such as taking no action such that the prompt expires) to operate the movable barrier operator 12).
As to claim 6, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein the preferred identifying information set comprises a unique identifier associated with received identifying information from an access point, and wherein comparing the received identifying information to the preferred identifying information set comprises comparing the received identifying information to the unique identifier (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier; providing the one or more body worn devices with a lighting unit identifier sensor, the sensor receiving lighting unit identifiers of at least one of the plurality of lighting units; the one or more body worn devices communicating the received lighting unit identifiers with the indication to a server via the network; and the database providing a geographic location of the one or more lighting units, the geographic location corresponding to the target location of the body worn device).
As to claim 7, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising the method of claim 1, wherein the preferred identifying information set comprises a plurality of unique identifiers each unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers associated with a different access point, and wherein determining the status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area occurs when the received identifying information is associated with at least one unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier; providing the one or more body worn devices with a lighting unit identifier sensor, the sensor receiving lighting unit identifiers of at least one of the plurality of lighting units; the one or more body worn devices communicating the received lighting unit identifiers with the indication to a server via the network; and the database providing a geographic location of the one or more lighting units, the geographic location corresponding to the target location of the body worn device).
As to claim 8, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 1 further comprising, the method of claim 1, wherein the preferred identifying information set (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier) is stored in a memory of the access control device (Hopkins: [0034], [0044], [0105], [0107], and FIG. 4 the memory 120: The memory 120 of the in-vehicle device 82 is configured to store one or more vehicle arrival conditions that are indicative of whether the vehicle 80 arrived at the location associated with the movable barrier operator 202).
As to claim 12, Hopkins discloses an access control device configured to be transported by a vehicle, the access control device comprising:
a processor in operable communication with a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions, wherein the processor upon execution of the instructions is configured to:
receive, from the transceiver (Hopkins: FIG. 3-4 the in-vehicle device 82), an information associated with an access point (Hopkins: FIG. 3 the stoplight 88 or the cellular tower 98);
compare the information to a preferred identifying information set stored in the non-transitory computer-readable medium (Hopkins: [0034], [0040], [0042], [0057]-[0058], and FIG. 3: Alternatively or additionally, the in-vehicle device 82 may determine the location of the vehicle 80 based on data from other sources, such as data from a nearby stoplight 88 or cellular tower 98. The sensor 100 may also include a sensor that detects a rotation of or otherwise communicates with a vehicle powertrain component that corresponds to the vehicle speed. The sensor 100 may also include an optical instrument, such as a standard optical camera or a thermographic camera, that may be configured to capture still or moving imagery within or outside of the vehicle);
determine a status of the vehicle relative to a bounded area associated with a controllable movable barrier operator based on the comparing (Hopkins: Abstract, [0043], [0045], [0058]-[0061], [0067]-[0069], [0074], [0103]-[0108], [0043], FIG. 3, and FIG. 8: the system 200 is configured to compare the destination to the location of the garage 204. Upon determining the garage 204 is the destination, the system 200 may be configured to automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218. Conversely, upon determining the garage 204 is not the destination, the system 200 may not automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218); and
transmit, a notification including information associated with the status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area (Hopkins: Abstract, [0019], [0022], [0035]-[0036], [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: the vehicle 80 enters a geofenced area associated with the movable barrier operator 12 and the user account condition 140 is satisfied, then the in-vehicle device 82, the user device 86, remote server computer 92, and/or computing device 94 cause a control command to be automatically communicated to the movable barrier operator 12 to open the garage door 24. Conversely, if the vehicle 80 enters the geofenced area and the user account condition 140 is not satisfied, then a control command is not communicated to the movable barrier operator 12 despite the vehicle 80 entering the geofenced area), the notification configured to affect a state of a movable barrier (Hopkins: Abstract, [0019], [0022], [0035]-[0036], [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: the communication circuitry 110 may be configured to automatically initiate a state change of the garage door 24 based upon a parameter of the vehicle 80 such as the vehicle being within a predetermined proximity of the garage 14. The radio frequency signal transmitter 112 may be a universal transmitter configured to operate a plurality of different operator types).
Hopkins does not explicitly discloses
a transceiver configured to communicate with a mobile communication device; and
a processor configured to:
receive, from the transceiver, a identifying information associated with an access point;
compare the identifying information to a preferred identifying information set;
transmit, to a mobile communication device, a notification including information associated with the status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area, the notification configured to cause the mobile communication device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier.
However, it has been known in the art of location tracking to implement a transceiver configured to communicate with a mobile communication device; and
a processor configured to:
receive, from the transceiver, a identifying information associated with an access point; and
compare the identifying information to a preferred identifying information set, as suggested by Cavalcanti, which discloses a transceiver configured to communicate with a mobile communication device (Cavalcanti: [0021], [0029], and FIG. 1-2: the lighting units 42, 32 may be equipped with transceivers 48 (e.g., transmitters/receivers), which are enabled to communicate, e.g., wirelessly and/or through a wire, with the lighting manager server 20 for example through the gateway 46 and the network 24, such as by sending status messages); and
a processor configured to:
receive, from the transceiver, a identifying information associated with an access point (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier); and
compare the identifying information to a preferred identifying information set (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier; providing the one or more body worn devices with a lighting unit identifier sensor, the sensor receiving lighting unit identifiers of at least one of the plurality of lighting units; the one or more body worn devices communicating the received lighting unit identifiers with the indication to a server via the network; and the database providing a geographic location of the one or more lighting units, the geographic location corresponding to the target location of the body worn device).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hopkins and Cavalcanti, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the garage door control system of Hopkins to include a transceiver configured to communicate with a mobile communication device; and
a processor configured to:
receive, from the transceiver, a identifying information associated with an access point; and
compare the identifying information to a preferred identifying information set, as suggested by Cavalcanti. The motivation for this is to identify a location of a device within a predetermined area based on identifiers associated with transmitting devices.
The combination of Hopkins and Cavalcanti does not explicitly disclose a processor configured to: transmit, to a mobile communication device, a notification including information associated with the status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area, the notification configured to cause the mobile communication device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier.
However, it has been known in the art of garage door control to implement a processor configured to: transmit, to a mobile communication device, a notification including information associated with the status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area, the notification configured to cause the mobile communication device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier, as suggested by Fitzgibbon, which discloses a processor configured to: transmit, to a mobile communication device, a notification including information associated with the status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area, the notification configured to cause the mobile communication device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier (Fitzgibbon: Abstract, [0014]-[0017], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-3: the host device 120 is a multi-functional device such as a Smartphone configured to run one or more applications, such as mapping application, email application, music player application, internet browser application, and the like. The host device 120 may include movable barrier controller software that is configured to send a command to the movable barrier operator 143 in response to receiving a signal from the auxiliary device 110. For example, the software may be a downloaded movable barrier controller application installed on a Smartphone. In some embodiments, the movable barrier controller software also provides a user interface on the host device 120 that allows the user to control and/or monitor one or more movable barriers through the display and input devices of the host device 120. The host device also includes a network interface 121 for communicating with the network 130).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the garage door control system of Hopkins and Cavalcanti to include a processor configured to: transmit, to a mobile communication device, a notification including information associated with the status of the vehicle relative to the bounded area, the notification configured to cause the mobile communication device to execute a control application associated with the controllable movable barrier operator to affect a state of a movable barrier, as suggested by Fitzgibbon. The motivation for this is to selectively control operations of a garage door from a vehicle remotely the garage door.
As to claim 13, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the access control device of claim 12, wherein the access control device further comprises a power input configured to receive power from the vehicle (Hopkins: [0034], [0040], [0042], [0057]-[0058], and FIG. 3: The location-check routine may be performed frequently to provide an accurate vehicle location for the movable barrier operator system 200. In one aspect, the location-check routine may be automatically performed (for example, according to a predetermined schedule). According to another aspect, the location-check routine may be initiated when a user interface of the in-vehicle device 82 is initiated or presented to a user that permits the user to select which movable barrier operator 202 to operate. According to another aspect, the location-check routine may be initiated on a random or periodic basis. In another example, the location-check routine may be initiated upon the vehicle traveling at a particular velocity or range of velocities. For example, the movable barrier operator system 200 may initiate a location-check routine approximately once every ten seconds while a vehicle 80 is traveling within a range of approximately 40 miles-per-hour and 60 miles-per-hour, and may initiate a location-check routine approximately once every second while the vehicle 80 is traveling less than 30 miles-per-hour. In another aspect, the movable barrier operator system 200 may initiate a location-check routine more frequently while the vehicle 80 is traveling at a relatively higher speed as compared to when the vehicle 80 is traveling at a relatively lower speed).
As to claim 14, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 13 further comprising the access control device of claim 13, wherein the processor is configured to: initiate a startup procedure in response to the access control device receiving power at the power input; and monitor for the access point during the startup procedure (Hopkins: Abstract, [0043], [0045], [0058]-[0061], [0067]-[0069], [0074], [0103]-[0108], [0043], FIG. 3, and FIG. 8: the system 200 is configured to compare the destination to the location of the garage 204. Upon determining the garage 204 is the destination, the system 200 may be configured to automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218. Conversely, upon determining the garage 204 is not the destination, the system 200 may not automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218).
As to claim 15, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 14 further comprising the access control device of claim 14, wherein the processor is configured to:
determine that the vehicle is outside the bounded area based on the processor monitoring for the access point during the startup procedure (Hopkins: [0003], [0034], [0040], [0042]-[0043], [0057]-[0061], [0066], [0074], FIG. 3, and FIG. 10: if the vehicle 80 enters a geofenced area associated with the movable barrier operator 12 and the user account condition 140 is satisfied, then the in-vehicle device 82, the user device 86, remote server computer 92, and/or computing device 94 cause a control command to be automatically communicated to the movable barrier operator 12 to open the garage door 24 …In one aspect, the location-check routine may be automatically performed (for example, according to a predetermined schedule). According to another aspect, the location-check routine may be initiated when a user interface of the in-vehicle device 82 is initiated or presented to a user that permits the user to select which movable barrier operator 202 to operate. According to another aspect, the location-check routine may be initiated on a random or periodic basis. In another example, the location-check routine may be initiated upon the vehicle traveling at a particular velocity or range of velocities. For example, the movable barrier operator system 200 may initiate a location-check routine approximately once every ten seconds while a vehicle 80 is traveling within a range of approximately 40 miles-per-hour and 60 miles-per-hour, and may initiate a location-check routine approximately once every second while the vehicle 80 is traveling less than 30 miles-per-hour. In another aspect, the movable barrier operator system 200 may initiate a location-check routine more frequently while the vehicle 80 is traveling at a relatively higher speed as compared to when the vehicle 80 is traveling at a relatively lower speed); and
continue to monitor for the access point after the startup procedure (Hopkins: [0003], [0034], [0040], [0042]-[0043], [0057]-[0061], [0066], [0074], FIG. 3, and FIG. 10: alternatively or additionally, the in-vehicle device 82 may determine the location of the vehicle 80 based on data from other sources, such as data from a nearby stoplight 88 or cellular tower 98. The sensor 100 may also include a sensor that detects a rotation of or otherwise communicates with a vehicle powertrain component that corresponds to the vehicle speed. The sensor 100 may also include an optical instrument, such as a standard optical camera or a thermographic camera, that may be configured to capture still or moving imagery within or outside of the vehicle).
As to claim 16, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the access control device of claim 12, wherein the processor is configured to:
monitor for a received signal transmitted by the access point after determining that the vehicle is within the bounded area (Hopkins: [0003], [0034], [0040], [0042]-[0043], [0057]-[0061], [0066], [0074], FIG. 3, and FIG. 10: Upon determining the garage 204 is the destination, the system 200 may be configured to automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218. Conversely, upon determining the garage 204 is not the destination, the system 200 may not automatically open a movable barrier 206 of the garage 204 in response to determining the vehicle 80 has entered the geofenced area 218); and
determine that the vehicle is outside the bounded area based on the monitoring (Hopkins: [0040], [0043], [0045], [0058]-[0061], [0067]-[0069], [0074], [0103]-[0108], [0043], FIG. 3, and FIG. 8: the in-vehicle device 82 is a user's smartphone or other portable electronic device such as a media player. The smartphone may communicate with the vehicle 80 to receive data, such as the location and speed of the vehicle 80. The smartphone may also be configured to retrieve the data itself. For example, the smartphone may receive location data from GPS satellites or cellular towers and determine the location of the vehicle 80 and determine whether the vehicle 80 has entered or exited a geofenced area. The smartphone may communicate a state change request to the movable barrier operator 12 via the remote server computer 92 or connect to the vehicle 80, such as via Bluetooth, and cause a radio frequency transmitter of the vehicle 80 to transmit a control command to the movable barrier operator 12),
wherein the notification to the mobile communication device indicates that the vehicle is outside of the bounded area, and wherein the notification causes the control application to drive the movable barrier operator to close the movable barrier (Hopkins: Abstract, [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0102], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: The in-vehicle device 82 may also be configured to communicate with the movable barrier operator 12 to cause the movable barrier operator 12 to close the garage door 24, for example, as the vehicle 80 departs the garage 14. According to another aspect, operation may be partially- or semi-automated. For example, a user may be prompted (e.g., at the in-vehicle device 82) prior to the in-vehicle device 82 communicating a control signal to the movable barrier operator 12. The user may then confirm the user's desire (e.g., via an explicit response such as an acknowledgment (ACK) or negative acknowledgement (NACK), or by a passive response such as taking no action such that the prompt expires) to operate the movable barrier operator 12).
As to claim 17, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the access control device of claim 12, wherein the preferred identifying information set comprises a plurality of unique identifiers each unique identifier of the plurality of unique identifiers associated with a different access point (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier; providing the one or more body worn devices with a lighting unit identifier sensor, the sensor receiving lighting unit identifiers of at least one of the plurality of lighting units; the one or more body worn devices communicating the received lighting unit identifiers with the indication to a server via the network; and the database providing a geographic location of the one or more lighting units, the geographic location corresponding to the target location of the body worn device).
As to claim 19, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 12 further comprising the access control device of claim 12, wherein the preferred identifying information set comprises a home preferred identifying information set established automatically by the access control device during an initialization procedure, wherein the home preferred identifying information set includes identifying information associated with a home access point (Hopkins: [0003], [0035], [0050], [0059], [0090], [0106], and FIG. 1).
As to claim 20, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 19 further comprising the access control device of claim 19, wherein the preferred identifying information set further comprises a neighborhood preferred identifying information set established after the home preferred identifying information set is established, and wherein the neighborhood preferred identifying information set comprises identifying information associated with access points around the home access point (Hopkins: [0034], [0040], [0042], [0057]-[0058], and FIG. 3: Alternatively or additionally, the in-vehicle device 82 may determine the location of the vehicle 80 based on data from other sources, such as data from a nearby stoplight 88 or cellular tower 98. The sensor 100 may also include a sensor that detects a rotation of or otherwise communicates with a vehicle powertrain component that corresponds to the vehicle speed. The sensor 100 may also include an optical instrument, such as a standard optical camera or a thermographic camera, that may be configured to capture still or moving imagery within or outside of the vehicle).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Fitzgibbon (Fitzgibbon – US 2015/0148983 A1) in view of Hopkins et al. (Hopkins – US 2021/0010316 A1) and Cavalcanti et al. (Cavalcanti – US 2015/0002292 A1).
As to claim 9, Fitzgibbon discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed, causes performance of a method of affecting a state of a movable barrier operator, the method comprising:
receiving, at a mobile communication device (Fitzgibbon: Abstract and FIG. 1 the host device 210), information from an access control device transported by the vehicle (Fitzgibbon: Abstract, [0014]-[0017], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-3: The host device 120 may include movable barrier controller software that is configured to send a command to the movable barrier operator 143 in response to receiving a signal from the auxiliary device 110. For example, the software may be a downloaded movable barrier controller application installed on a Smartphone. In some embodiments, the movable barrier controller software also provides a user interface on the host device 120 that allows the user to control and/or monitor one or more movable barriers through the display and input devices of the host device 120. The host device also includes a network interface 121 for communicating with the network 130);
executing a control application, by a processor of the mobile communication device, in response to receiving the information (Fitzgibbon: Abstract, [0014]-[0017], [0019]-[0022], and FIG. 1-3: the host device 120 is a multi-functional device such as a Smartphone configured to run one or more applications, such as mapping application, email application, music player application, internet browser application, and the like. The host device 120 may include movable barrier controller software that is configured to send a command to the movable barrier operator 143 in response to receiving a signal from the auxiliary device 110. For example, the software may be a downloaded movable barrier controller application installed on a Smartphone. In some embodiments, the movable barrier controller software also provides a user interface on the host device 120 that allows the user to control and/or monitor one or more movable barriers through the display and input devices of the host device 120. The host device also includes a network interface 121 for communicating with the network 130);
determining, by the processor of the mobile communication device, a location of the mobile communication device in response to executing the control application (Fitzgibbon: [0029], [0038], and FIG. 1-4: The host device 210 may further include a location determination function such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver (not shown) and/or other types of sensors such as motion sensor, accelerometer, microphone, camera, and the like. In some embodiments, one host device may be associated with multiple movable barrier operators. The movable barrier operator controller software on the host device 210 may select a movable barrier operator to control based on the proximity of the host device to the movable barrier operators using the host device's location determination function, such as receipt of a GPS signal, receipt of a WiFi signal, triangulation via communication with multiple other antennas, and the like); and
transmitting, by the mobile communication device, a signal to the movable barrier operator based on the comparing (Fitzgibbon: [0029], [0038]-[0040], and FIG. 1-4: the control signal is sent over a network to the movable barrier operator. The control signal may be sent via a network interface of the host device such as a Wi-Fi module, a cellular data antenna, and the like. In some embodiments, the control signal may be sent in the form of a data packet, a text message, a voice call, or an email).
Fitzgibbon does not explicitly disclose information associated with a status of a vehicle relative to a bounded area, the information generated by the access control device in response to receiving wireless signals from one or more access points including identifying information associated with the one or more access points; wherein the information is received from an access control device transported by the vehicle and comparing, via the control application, the location determined by the mobile communication device to the bounded area.
However, it has been known in the art of garage door control to implement information associated with a status of a vehicle relative to a bounded area, wherein the information is received from an access control device transported by the vehicle and comparing, via the control application, the location determined by the mobile communication device to the bounded area, as suggested by Hopkins, which discloses information associated with a status of a vehicle relative to a bounded area, wherein the information is received from an access control device transported by the vehicle and comparing, via the control application, the location determined by the mobile communication device to the bounded area (Hopkins: [0034], [0040], [0042], [0057]-[0058], and FIG. 3: Alternatively or additionally, the in-vehicle device 82 may determine the location of the vehicle 80 based on data from other sources, such as data from a nearby stoplight 88 or cellular tower 98. The sensor 100 may also include a sensor that detects a rotation of or otherwise communicates with a vehicle powertrain component that corresponds to the vehicle speed. The sensor 100 may also include an optical instrument, such as a standard optical camera or a thermographic camera, that may be configured to capture still or moving imagery within or outside of the vehicle).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Fitzgibbon and Hopkins, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the garage door control system of Fitzgibbon to include information associated with a status of a vehicle relative to a bounded area, wherein the information is received from an access control device transported by the vehicle and comparing, via the control application, the location determined by the mobile communication device to the bounded area, as suggested by Hopkins. The motivation for this is to selectively control operations of a garage door from a vehicle remotely the garage door.
The combination of Fitzgibbon and Hopkins does not explicitly disclose the information generated by the access control device in response to receiving wireless signals from one or more access points including identifying information associated with the one or more access points.
However, it has been known in the art of location tracking to implement the information generated by the access control device in response to receiving wireless signals from one or more access points including identifying information associated with the one or more access points, as suggested by Cavalcanti, which discloses the information generated by the access control device in response to receiving wireless signals from one or more access points (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier; providing the one or more body worn devices with a lighting unit identifier sensor, the sensor receiving lighting unit identifiers of at least one of the plurality of lighting units; the one or more body worn devices communicating the received lighting unit identifiers with the indication to a server via the network; and the database providing a geographic location of the one or more lighting units, the geographic location corresponding to the target location of the body worn device) including identifying information associated with the one or more access points (Cavalcanti: Abstract, [0010]-[0013], [0020], [0023]-[0025], [0027]-[0034], and FIG. 1-2: the method includes providing a network formed of a plurality of lighting units and a database for maintaining information describing a geographic location of each of the plurality of lighting units, each lighting unit transmitting a unique identifier).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Fitzgibbon, Hopkins, and Cavalcanti, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the garage door control system of Fitzgibbon and Hopkins to include the information generated by the access control device in response to receiving wireless signals from one or more access points including identifying information associated with the one or more access points, as suggested by Cavalcanti. The motivation for this is to identify a location of a device within a predetermined area based on identifiers associated with transmitting devices.
As to claim 10, Fitzgibbon, Hopkins, and Cavalcanti disclose the limitations of claim 9 further comprising the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, further comprising:
determining, by the control application, that the mobile communication device is within the bounded area based on the comparing (Fitzgibbon: [0029], [0038], and FIG. 1-4: The host device 210 may further include a location determination function such as a global positioning system (GPS) receiver (not shown) and/or other types of sensors such as motion sensor, accelerometer, microphone, camera, and the like. In some embodiments, one host device may be associated with multiple movable barrier operators. The movable barrier operator controller software on the host device 210 may select a movable barrier operator to control based on the proximity of the host device to the movable barrier operators using the host device's location determination function, such as receipt of a GPS signal, receipt of a WiFi signal, triangulation via communication with multiple other antennas, and the like and Hopkins: [0034], [0040], [0042], [0057]-[0058], and FIG. 3: Alternatively or additionally, the in-vehicle device 82 may determine the location of the vehicle 80 based on data from other sources, such as data from a nearby stoplight 88 or cellular tower 98. The sensor 100 may also include a sensor that detects a rotation of or otherwise communicates with a vehicle powertrain component that corresponds to the vehicle speed. The sensor 100 may also include an optical instrument, such as a standard optical camera or a thermographic camera, that may be configured to capture still or moving imagery within or outside of the vehicle), wherein transmitting the signal to the movable barrier operator causes the movable barrier operator to open a movable barrier (Fitzgibbon: [0029], [0038]-[0040], and FIG. 1-4: the control signal is sent over a network to the movable barrier operator. The control signal may be sent via a network interface of the host device such as a Wi-Fi module, a cellular data antenna, and the like. In some embodiments, the control signal may be sent in the form of a data packet, a text message, a voice call, or an email and Hopkins: Abstract, [0019], [0022], [0035]-[0036], [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: the communication circuitry 110 may be configured to automatically initiate a state change of the garage door 24 based upon a parameter of the vehicle 80 such as the vehicle being within a predetermined proximity of the garage 14. The radio frequency signal transmitter 112 may be a universal transmitter configured to operate a plurality of different operator types).
As to claim 11, Fitzgibbon, Hopkins, and Cavalcanti disclose the limitations of claim 9 further comprising the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9, further comprising:
determining, by the control application, that the mobile communication device (Fitzgibbon: [0029], [0038]-[0040], and FIG. 1-4: the control signal is sent over a network to the movable barrier operator. The control signal may be sent via a network interface of the host device such as a Wi-Fi module, a cellular data antenna, and the like. In some embodiments, the control signal may be sent in the form of a data packet, a text message, a voice call, or an email) is outside the bounded area based on the comparing, wherein transmitting the signal to the movable barrier operator causes the movable barrier operator to close a movable barrier (Hopkins: Abstract, [0040]-[0045], [0058]-[0061], [0085]-[0087], [0091]-[0102], FIG. 3, FIG. 8, and FIG. 10: The in-vehicle device 82 may also be configured to communicate with the movable barrier operator 12 to cause the movable barrier operator 12 to close the garage door 24, for example, as the vehicle 80 departs the garage 14. According to another aspect, operation may be partially- or semi-automated. For example, a user may be prompted (e.g., at the in-vehicle device 82) prior to the in-vehicle device 82 communicating a control signal to the movable barrier operator 12. The user may then confirm the user's desire (e.g., via an explicit response such as an acknowledgment (ACK) or negative acknowledgement (NACK), or by a passive response such as taking no action such that the prompt expires) to operate the movable barrier operator 12).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hopkins et al. (Hopkins – US 2021/0010316 A1) in view of Cavalcanti et al. (Cavalcanti – US 2015/0002292 A1) in view of Fitzgibbon (Fitzgibbon – US 2015/0148983 A1) and further in view of Cate et al. (Cate – US 2020/0242862 A1).
As to claim 18, Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon disclose the limitations of claim 12 except for the claimed limitations of the access control device of claim 12, wherein the processor is further configured to determine a relative signal strength indicator 'RSSI' of a signal including the identifying information, and wherein to transmit the notification to the mobile communication device is performed based on the RSSI that was determined.
However, it has been known in the art of garage door control to implement wherein the processor is further configured to determine a relative signal strength indicator ‘RSSI’ of a signal including the identifying information, and wherein to transmit the notification to the mobile communication device is performed based on the RSSI that was determined, as suggested by Cate, which discloses wherein the processor is further configured to determine a relative signal strength indicator ‘RSSI’ of a signal including the identifying information, and wherein to transmit the notification to the mobile communication device is performed based on the RSSI that was determined (Cate: Abstract, [0011], [0047]-[0048], [0069], [0091], and FIG. 1: The proximity determination may be based on at least one or more of the following methods for obtaining proximity-related information of the remote control including, but not limited to, dead reckoning determinations, angle of arrival measurements, time of flight determinations, received signal strength indication (RSSI) thresholding, comparison of global navigation satellite system (GNSS) data such as global positioning satellite (GPS) data, analysis of data obtained via remote sensors (e.g., a camera configured to detect image data including physical characteristics of a user), LiDAR scanning, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, proximity-related data of the remote control may be obtained from multiple sources and combined using sensor fusion algorithms to increase the accuracy of the proximity determination.).
Therefore, in view of teachings by Hopkins, Cavalcanti, Fitzgibbon, and Cate, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement in the garage door control system of Hopkins, Cavalcanti, and Fitzgibbon to include wherein the processor is further configured to determine a relative signal strength indicator ‘RSSI’ of a signal including the identifying information, and wherein to transmit the notification to the mobile communication device is performed based on the RSSI that was determined, as suggested by Cate. The motivation for this is to implement a known alternative method for determining a proximity of a vehicle to a predetermined location.
Citation of Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Haslinger et al., US 2022/0122390 A1, discloses access control method for persons and system for carrying out the method.
Sassi Thober et al., US 2020/0349547 A1, discloses secure identification system using smartphones.
Fujiwara, US 2019/0223137 A1, discloses evaluation apparatus and method.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP §706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/QUANG PHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2685