DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on 9/30/2026 has been entered. Therefore, claims 5-9 and 11-13 are pending for consideration following applicant’s amendment and RCE filed 9/30/2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 9/30/2026. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-9 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) in view of Pauchet et al. (WO 2022/159946).
Regarding Claim 5, AAPA discloses a gas lift assembly (as shown in applicant’s Figure 1), comprising: a housing H; a chamber (space defined within housing H as shown in Figure 1) having at least one inlet port O; a piston P disposed within said chamber; a valve assembly (including stem ST and ball B) disposed within said chamber, said valve assembly comprising: a valve member (ST and B) connected to said piston P, said valve member comprising a tip B and a stem ST; and a valve seat S; whereby fluid entering said chamber through said at least one inlet port O exerts a force on said piston P (an upwardly directed force as shown in Figure 1) such that said piston P and said valve member are moved away from said valve seat S (para. 0012 of applicant’s specification), said piston P being sealed (via the o-ring seals shown in Figure 1) to prevent fluid from flowing past said piston.
AAPA does not disclose said stem having a receiving formation for receiving said tip, said tip having a base portion and a tapered portion, said base portion having a larger diameter than said tapered portion, at least a portion of said tip being formed from a superhard material; said valve seat comprising a seating ring and a body, said body having a receiving formation for receiving said seating ring, said seating ring having an inner tapered annular surface, at least a portion of said valve seat being formed from a superhard material.
Pauchet teaches a valve for use with oil wells (para. 0017) and further teaches the valve including a stem 42 having a receiving formation (recess for base 44 of a tip 28 as shown in Figure 2) for receiving a tip (the recess receives base 44 of the tip), said tip having a base portion 44 and a tapered portion 46, said base portion 44 having a larger diameter than said tapered portion 46 (as shown in Figure 2, base portion 44 having a larger diameter than the tapered portion 46), at least a portion of said tip 28 being formed from a superhard material (para. 0023); a valve seat comprising a seating ring 34 and a body 32, said body 32 having a receiving formation for receiving said seating ring 34 (as shown in Figure 2, the body 32 includes a groove for ring 34), said seating ring 34 having an inner tapered annular surface (as shown in Figure 2), at least a portion of said valve seat being formed from a superhard material (para. 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of AAPA such that the stem and tip of the valve member and valve seat are provided with the configurations and materials taught by Pauchet for the purpose of providing a structure known in the art which provides enhanced longevity (as taught by Pauchet; para. 0018).
Regarding Claim 6, AAPA further discloses a biasing member (spring SP) operative to drive said piston P and said valve member toward said valve seat (as shown in Figure 1).
Regarding Claim 7, AAPA in view of Pauchet further discloses said tapered portion tapered portion 46 as taught by Pauchet as described above) is frustoconical, conical, or hemispherical (tapered portion 46 as taught by Pauchet is shown to be frustoconical in Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 8, AAPA in view of Pauchet further discloses said superhard material of said tip and said superhard material of said valve seat comprise, independently of one another, a diamond-based material, polycrystalline cubic boron nitride, a material with a hardness value exceeding approximately 20 gigaPascals (GPa) based on the Vickers hardness test, and / or a material with a hardness value exceeding approximately 4500 Hardness Brinell (HB) on the Brinell scale (Pauchet teaches at least the superhard materials having a hardness value exceeding approximately 4500 Hardness Brinell (HB) on the Brinell scale in para. 0023).
Regarding Claim 9, AAPA in view of Pauchet further discloses said diamond-based material comprises silicon sintered diamond or polycrystalline diamond (polycrystalline diamond as taught by Pauchet; para. 0023).
Regarding Claim 11, AAPA in view of Pauchet further discloses said diamond-based material comprises silicon sintered diamond (as taught by Pauchet in para. 0027; the superhard material may be made by a sintering process to include diamond particles and silicon).
Regarding Claim 12, AAPA in view of Pauchet further discloses said base portion (44 as taught by Pauchet) is held within said receiving formation (recess of the stem 42 as taught by Pauchet) by epoxy adhesive, brazing, or heat shrinking (these elements are held together by brazing as described in para. 0021).
Regarding Claim 13, AAPA in view of Pauchet does not specifically disclose said seating ring is held within said body by epoxy adhesive, brazing, or heat shrinking.
However, Pauchet further teaches a different connection, the connection of the base portion 44 with said receiving formation (recess of the stem 42), is formed by brazing (para. 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the application was effectively filed to modify the device of AAPA in view of Pauchet such that the seating ring is held within said body by brazing as taught by the other connection of Pauchet for the purpose of utilizing a known connection means suitable for valves formed with superhard materials.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, applicant argues that Vincent fails to teach the new limitations of the piston being sealed to prevent fluid from flowing past said piston. However, the newly applied applicant’s admitted prior art (as shown in applicant’s Figure 1) does disclose a piston P being sealed to prevent fluid from flowing past said piston. Pauchet teaches the limitations of the valve member which are lacking from applicant’s admitted prior art as described in the rejections above.
Conclusion
/KEVIN F MURPHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753