DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the applicant's amendment submitted on 07/21/2026. In virtue of this amendment:
Claim 5 is canceled;
Claims 7 are newly added;
Claims 1-4 and 6 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are pending;
Specification
The objection to the abstract of the disclosure is withdrawn in view of the amendments made to the abstract of the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The previous rejection to claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn/moot in view of the amendments made to claims 1-4, 6 and cancellation of claim 5.
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “a main control unit” on lines 2, which has already been recited in claim 1, thus rendering the terms indefinite as it presents improper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 4, the claim recites “the main control unit” on lines 3, which renders the claim indefinite, as it is unclear which “a main control unit” the term is in reference to, as “a main control unit” is recited in both claim 1 and claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Machine Translation of CN212727507U hereinafter “Ke” in view of US2003/0075985A1 hereinafter “Spitaels”
Regarding claim 1, Ke discloses an emergency power supply configured to turn off a sensor in an emergency lighting, comprising:
an LED driver (Page. 4 L2: LED driver) connected to a mains power and configured to receive a mains power input, convert the mains power input into a direct current, and output the direct current to an LED light (Page.3 L21-23: emergency module is used to receive the mains input and connect the mains converted to DC and output to LED driver);
the sensor connected to the LED driver (Page.3 L44: the control modules can be light sensing device); and
an auxiliary power supply (Page.3 L41: connection unit) connected between a main control unit and the sensor, wherein the auxiliary power supply further comprises an expansion interface configured for connecting to an external device (Page.3 L35-40: the external control unit can be directly inserted into the plug-in interface), and wherein
the auxiliary power supply is configured to receive power from the mains power when the mains power is normal (Page.4 L17-21: when the main power is normal, the input port receives the rectifying and filtering unit, input electric energy), and to receive power from a battery unit when the mains power is cut off (Page.4 L11-12: when the mains power is disconnected, the output of the battery is boosted by the booster unit; Page.4 L17-21: when the mains disconnected, the input port CON5 receives the electric energy input by the booster power supply); wherein
when the main power is normal, the auxiliary power supply is configured to supply power to the sensor and the external device (Page.4 L17-21: when the main power is normal, the input port receives the rectifying and filtering unit, input electric energy);
when the mains power is cut off, maintaining power supply to the external device through the expansion interface (Page.4 L22-25: regardless of whether the mains power is normal or not, the input port CON5 can ensure the normal operation of the external control module); and
when the mains power is cut off, the LED driver is configured to receive a current input from the battery unit to drive the LED light. (Page.4 L11-12: when the mains power is disconnected, the output of the battery is boosted by the booster unit to supply energy for the LED driver)
Ke only explicitly disclose a single input port CON5 for connecting external device and/or sensor, however, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to duplicate the input port CON5 in order to connect multiple different control modules.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because the prior art recognizes that different control modules can be install according to user need. (Page. 3 L44-47) and it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St, Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Ke does not disclose that
when the mains power is cut off, the auxiliary power supply is configured to stop supplying power to the sensor
Spitaels disclose a uninterruptible power supply with a controller (¶2L7-8: a controller) and a circuit (¶2L7: transfer switch) is designed to provide power to an outlet when main power is normal, and provide no power to said outlet when main power is not normal (¶2L11-13: an AC surge only outlet for coupling to additional peripheral devices); in addition to a separate outlet where power is provided either through main power or battery backup power in an main power outage (¶3L1-17: the controller determines whether AC power available, and if so control transfer switch to provide the AC power to the AC outlet [26]; if not then the controller direct the transfer switch to provide AC power to the AC outlet from the inverter);
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify connection unit disclosed by Ke to incorporate corresponding circuitry as disclosed by Spitaels in order to continuing driving a portion of the circuit while cutting off power to other portion of the circuit.
In other words, the connection unit disclosed by Ke is modified to have the transfer switch and controller as disclosed by Spitaels.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because this allows the device to operate based upon motion/light sensor during normal operation and disabling the sensors in emergency operation to save battery power to prolong lights in emergency situation. .
Regarding claim 2, Ke in view of Hsia hereinafter “Ke/Spitaels” discloses in Spitaels the emergency power supply according to Claim 1,
sequentially comprising a rectification and filter unit and a battery unit (Page.4 L1-2: the emergency module includes a rectifying and filter unit, a battery unit and a boosting unit that are connected in sequence), wherein
the mains power is connected to the battery unit via the rectification and filter unit (as shown in Fig.1);
when the mains power is normal, an input current passes through the rectification and filter unit to charge the battery unit (Page.4 L1-7: when main power is normal, the main power supplies the LED driver after the recitation and filtering); and
when the mains power is cut off, the battery unit is configured to supply power to the LED driver. (Page.4 L1-7: when mains is disconnected, the battery supplies power to the LED driver through the boost unit)
Regarding claim 3, Ke/Spitaels discloses the emergency power supply according to Claim 2, further comprising
a main control unit (Spitaels ¶2L7-8: a controller), wherein the main control unit is connected to the rectification and filter unit, the battery unit, the boost unit and the sensor (Ke Page.4 L1-7: switching unit is connected to the rectifying and filter unit);
when the mains power is normal, the main control unit controls the rectification and filter unit to operate to transmit a current to the sensor; (Ke Page.4 L1-7: when main power is normal, the main power supplies the LED driver after the recitation and filtering) and
when the mains power is cut off, the main control unit controls the battery unit to supply power to the LED driver. (Ke Page.4 L1-7: when mains is disconnected, the battery supplies power to the LED driver through the boost unit)
Regarding claim 4, Ke/Spitaels discloses in Ke the emergency power supply according to Claim 3, further comprising
a boost unit, wherein the battery unit supplies power to the LED driver by means of the boost unit. (Page.4 L1-7: when mains is disconnected, the battery supplies power to the LED driver through the boost unit)
Regarding claim 6, Ke/Spitaels discloses in Ke the emergency power supply according to Claim 5, wherein
the auxiliary power supply comprises a voltage conversion module, and the voltage conversion module is connected to an output terminal of a boost unit and used for converting a voltage input by the boost unit into a 12V voltage to supply power to the sensor. (Page.4 L38-40: the connection unit [4] includes a voltage conversion module, which is used to convert the voltage input by the emergency module into a 12V to supply power to the input port that is externally connected)
Regarding claim 7, Ke/Spitaels discloses in Ke the emergency power supply according to claim 1, wherein
the external device comprises a dimming device (Page.4 L23: a dimming device);
when the mains power is cut off, the auxiliary power supply is configured to maintain power supply to the dimming device through the expansion interface (Page.4 L23-25: when the mains power is disconnected, the dimming device can continue to work to control the LED light with low power in order to extend the working hours of emergency situation), and
the dimming device is configured to control the LED light to operate at a low power so as to prolong an operation time in an emergency state. (Page.5 L1-5: the dimming control the output power of the emergency module, the dimming unit controls the LED driver to drive the LED lamp with low power to work; the brightness of the lamp is reduced; but the working time is prolonged.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Distinction 1 of the argument, all of the argument regarding US2019/0166671A1 hereinafter “Hsia” is moot, as the examiner does not rely on the prior art for the current rejection.
Regarding Distinction 1 of the argument, all of the argument regarding Ke has been addressed by the new rejection of Ke in view of Spitaels.
Regarding Distinction 2 of the argument, all of the argument regarding US2019/0166671A1 hereinafter “Hsia” is moot, as the examiner does not rely on the prior art for the current rejection.
Regarding Distinction 3 of the argument, the applicant argued that Ke’s design philosophy is “function first” and prioritizes maintain full functionality; thus disabling a sensor teach away from the combination.
The examiner disagrees, while Ke’s design is indeed trying to preserve functionality of the connected devices, however, the proposed modification does not render the prior art unsatisfactory for its intended purpose or change the principle of operation of a reference.
The modification still operates as an emergency power source during an main power outage, and is even improved upon by preserving battery life by shutting down other device that is not essential.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Raymond R Chai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845