DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2021/0240407) in view of Bindana (US 2021/0011676).
Regarding Claim 1, Suzuki teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium provided in an information processing apparatus (Paragraph 1), the non-transitory computer-readable storage
medium storing an application program supporting a printer driver that complies with an Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) (Paragraph 38, wherein IPP is utilized), wherein the application program causes the information processing apparatus to execute:
determining whether image data to be printed includes different document sizes (Paragraph 81, wherein it is determined if mixed sheet printing is requested);
generating, in response to receiving the selection of the second setting, IPP setting information including an IPP attribute corresponding to the second setting for instructing a target printer to perform the printing (Paragraph 109, wherein the IPP setting information corresponds to mixed printing).
Suzuki does not teach determining, upon determining that the image data includes the different document sizes, whether at least one paper sheet for each of the different document sizes included in the image data is set in a printer that performs printing of the image data;
receiving, upon determining that at least one paper sheet for each of the different document sizes included in the image data is set in the printer, selection of a first setting or a second setting from a user, the first setting being configured to perform the printing with a single sheet size selected by the user, the second setting being configured to perform the printing with each of sheets according to each of the different document sizes included in the image data.
Bindana does teach determining, upon determining that the image data includes the different document sizes, whether at least one paper sheet for each of the different document sizes included in the image data is set in a printer that performs printing of the image data (Paragraph 62, wherein a determination can be made based on print media available);
receiving, upon determining that at least one paper sheet for each of the different document sizes included in the image data is set in the printer, selection of a first setting or a second setting from a user, the first setting being configured to perform the printing with a single sheet size selected by the user, the second setting being configured to perform the printing with each of sheets according to each of the different document sizes included in the image data (Paragraphs 50-53, wherein the user can designate how they want to print the job).
Suzuki and Bindana are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Bindana for the purpose of managing the availability of page sizes of print media when printing different sizes (Bindana: Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Suzuki further teaches wherein the application program further causes the information
processing apparatus to execute:
requesting the printer driver via a print spooler to generate intermediate image data in which the document size of each page of the image data to be printed is maintained (Paragraph 189, wherein the document is generated into XPS data, which includes print settings, which would be size); and
requesting the print spooler to convert the intermediate image data into a PDL data, generating print data for transmission of the PDL data compliant with the IPP, and transmitting the print data to the target printer (Paragraph 167, wherein the document is rendered into PDL data. This is done through IPP, paragraph 55).
Regarding Claim 3, Suzuki further teaches wherein the application program further causes the information processing apparatus to execute:
generating, in response to receiving the selection of the single sheet size, IPP setting information including an IPP attribute corresponding to the single sheet size for instructing the target printer to perform the printing (Paragraph 109, wherein the IPP setting information corresponds to size of media for printing).
Suzuki does not teach receiving, upon determining that the different document sizes are not included in the image data or upon determining that any one of paper sheet for each of the different document sizes included in the image data is not set in the printer, selection of the single sheet size from the user.
Bindana does teach receiving, upon determining that the different document sizes are not included in the image data or upon determining that any one of paper sheet for each of the different document sizes included in the image data is not set in the printer, selection of the single sheet size from the user (Paragraph 36, wherein the user can designate how to print the job).
Suzuki and Bindana are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Bindana for the purpose of managing the availability of page sizes of print media when printing different sizes (Bindana: Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 4, Bindana further teaches wherein the application program further causes the information processing apparatus to execute:
displaying a print function setting screen including an ON button configured to receive, from the user, an instruction to set a document size priority to ON in order to perform the second setting, and an OFF button configured to receive, from the user, an instruction to set the document size priority to OFF in order to perform the first setting (Paragraphs 56-60, wherein the user can designate how to print the document).
Suzuki and Bindana are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Bindana for the purpose of managing the availability of page sizes of print media when printing different sizes (Bindana: Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 12, Bindana further teaches wherein the application program further causes the information processing apparatus to execute:
displaying, in response to receiving the selection of the second setting, a print function setting screen that receives, from the user, an input of a page to be an exception setting and an input of a paper size of the page among the image data to be printed (Paragraph 36, wherein sheet size can be selected).
Suzuki and Bindana are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Bindana for the purpose of managing the availability of page sizes of print media when printing different sizes (Bindana: Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 13, Bindana further teaches wherein an IPP attribute for a document size priority instruction overrides embedded instructions, and a content of the exception setting takes precedence over the embedded instructions (Paragraphs 56-60, wherein the designation of the user as to what to print would be the priority of how to handle the printing, regardless of settings established. This would be set in the IPP attribute as described by Suzuki).
Suzuki and Bindana are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Bindana for the purpose of managing the availability of page sizes of print media when printing different sizes (Bindana: Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 14, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 15, the limitations are similar to those treated in and are met by the references as discussed in claim 1 above.
Claim(s) 5-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki (US 2021/0240407) in view of Bindana (US 2021/0011676) further in view of Sakura (US 2002/0159091).
Regarding Claim 5, Suzuki further teaches the IPP setting information includes an IPP attribute for a mixed placement type instruction indicating the paper size mixed placement pattern selected by the user in the second option (Paragraph 109, wherein the IPP setting information corresponds to mixed printing and therefore would correspond to the pattern).
Suzuki in view of Bindana does not teach wherein the application program further causes the information processing apparatus to execute:
providing, when the ON button is selected by the user, the user with a second option of selecting one of a plurality of paper size mixed placement pattern.
Sakura does teach wherein the application program further causes the information processing apparatus to execute:
providing, when the ON button is selected by the user, the user with a second option of selecting one of a plurality of paper size mixed placement patterns (Paragraph 98, wherein the option of how to print the document based on binding position can be determined).
Suzuki and Sakura are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki in view of Bindana with the teachings of Sakura for the purpose of allowing the user to designate binding location (Sakura: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 6, Bindana further teaches wherein the application program further causes the information processing apparatus to execute:
displaying, when the OFF button is selected by the user, a third option of causing the user to select the single sheet size on the print function setting screen (Paragraphs 56-60, wherein the user can designate how to print the document. This includes three different options);
and displaying, when the ON button is selected by the user, the second option on the print function setting screen in a state in which the third option is set to be non-selectable by the user (Paragraphs 56-60, wherein the user can designate how to print the document. The options would only be available when the second option is not available).
Suzuki and Bindana are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Bindana for the purpose of managing the availability of page sizes of print media when printing different sizes (Bindana: Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 7, Sakura further teaches wherein the paper size mixed placement patterns are determined according to a document size and a printing orientation (Paragraph 98, wherein the option of how to print the document based on binding position can be determined).
Suzuki and Sakura are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki in view of Bindana with the teachings of Sakura for the purpose of allowing the user to designate binding location (Sakura: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 8, Sakura further teaches wherein the application program further causes the information processing apparatus to execute:
determining, when the ON button is selected by the user, that paper size mixed placement printing is to be performed (Paragraph 98, wherein the option of how to print the document based on binding position can be determined).
Suzuki and Sakura are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki in view of Bindana with the teachings of Sakura for the purpose of allowing the user to designate binding location (Sakura: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 9, Sakura further teaches wherein the application program further causes the information processing apparatus to execute:
determining, when none of the paper size mixed placement patterns is selected by the user in the second option, that the paper size mixed placement printing is not to be performed (Paragraph 72, wherein a cancel button can be pressed to disable the setting).
Suzuki and Sakura are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki in view of Bindana with the teachings of Sakura for the purpose of allowing the user to designate binding location (Sakura: Paragraph 12).
Regarding Claim 10, Suzuki in view of Bindana further teaches wherein the IPP attribute corresponding to the second setting is an extended attribute indicating ON/OFF setting of the document size priority (Paragraph 109, wherein the IPP setting information corresponds to mixed printing and therefore would correspond to the setting of the mixed printing being enabled or not as discussed in Bindana, paragraph 56-60).
Suzuki and Bindana are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki with the teachings of Bindana for the purpose of managing the availability of page sizes of print media when printing different sizes (Bindana: Paragraph 3).
Regarding Claim 11, Suzuki in view of Sakura further teaches wherein the IPP attribute for the mixed placement type instruction is an extended attribute indicating the paper size mixed placement pattern selected by the user in the second option (Paragraph 109, wherein the IPP setting information corresponds to mixed printing and therefore would correspond to the setting of the pattern as discussed by Sakura, paragraph 98).
Suzuki and Sakura are combinable because they both deal with mixed size printing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the teachings of Suzuki in view of Bindana with the teachings of Sakura for the purpose of allowing the user to designate binding location (Sakura: Paragraph 12).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited prior art of A and D deals with mixed sheet printing.
/NICHOLAS PACHOL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2699