DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 11,554,292, claims 1-20 of US Patent No. 12,175,754, and claims 1-20 of Provisional Application No. 18/945,787. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the pending application are encompassed by the claims of the patents and provisional application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Claim 1 recites a computer-implemented method of generating a prediction model. The limitation of receiving, by one or more processors, tracking data corresponding to a match from a data store, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by one or more processors,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by one or more processors” language, “receiving” in the context of this claim encompasses the user mentally remembering data regarding a match. Similarly, the limitations of: generating and learning are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. The same interpretation is applied to the remaining steps in claim 1. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – by one or more processors. The computing system is recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor implementing a step) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using by one or more processors amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible. Similar reasoning is applied to claims 2-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Publication No. 2018/0032858 A1 to Lucey et al. (hereinafter “Lucey”) in view of US Publication No. 2015/0258416 A1 to Ianni et al. (hereinafter “Ianni”).
Concerning claim 1, Lucey discloses a computer-implemented method of generating a prediction model, the computer-implemented method comprising: receiving, by one or more processors, tracking data corresponding to a match from a data store (Fig. 1 - Play Database; paragraphs [0003], [0006], [0044], [0052], [0053], [0081] - the present system utilize information regarding the trajectories of the ball and the players, as well as game events and contexts);
generating, by the one or more processors, one or more input data sets based on the tracking data, wherein generating the one or more input data sets includes enriching the tracking data (Fig. 1 - Play Database; paragraphs [0003], [0006], [0044], [0052], [0053], [0081] – match data is processed to identify plays); and
learning, by the one or more processors, via a prediction model, a plurality of predicted variants for each play corresponding to the one or more input data sets (paragraphs [0052], [0081] – predictions of variants are determined).
Lucey discloses in at least paragraphs [0081] and [0082] to predict the trajectory of a ball in a sporting event during a time frame, however, lacks specifically disclosing, and Ianni discloses wherein the tracking data includes one or more coordinates and one or more time stamps associated with at least one object or at least one actor (Figs. 10A-11B, paragraphs [0096], [0097], [0106], [0107] – one or more coordinates and timestamps are associated with an event).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the use of timestamp data as shown by Ianni in the system of Lucey in order to produce more accurate results.
Concerning claims 2, 9, and 16, Lucey discloses the computer-implemented method further comprising: generating, by the one or more processors, a predicted identity corresponding to each of the one or more input data sets (paragraphs [0052], [0081] – predictions of variants are determined).
Concerning claims 3, 10, and 17, Lucey discloses the computer-implemented method further comprising: reducing, by the one or more processors a loss of the plurality of predicted variants and an input sample of one or more variants (paragraphs [0042], [0044], [0052], [0053], [0060], [0061], [0072], [0081] – reducing a loss of predicted variants).
Concerning claims 4, 11, and 18, Lucey discloses wherein the learning the plurality of predicted variants for each play corresponding to the one or more input data sets comprises: utilizing, by the one or more processors, an optimizer to train the prediction model (paragraphs [0042], [0044], [0052], [0053], [0060], [0061], [0072], [0081] – optimizer trains model).
Concerning claims 5, 12, and 19, Lucey discloses wherein enriching the tracking data includes: enriching, by the one or more processors the tracking data with additional data corresponding to a possession, a playing style, or a team identity (paragraphs [0053], [0056] – event data includes play style).
Concerning claims 6, 13, and 20, Lucey discloses wherein generating the one or more input data sets based on the tracking data comprises: aligning, by the one or more processors, the at least one actor to a global template to reduce permutation noise (paragraphs [0042], [0044], [0052], [0053], [0060], [0061], [0072], [0081] – permutation noise is reduced).
Concerning claims 7, and 14, Lucey discloses wherein at least one of the one or more input data sets correspond to a possession of the match (Fig. 1 - Play Database; paragraphs [0003], [0006], [0044], [0052], [0053], [0081] - the present system utilize information regarding the trajectories of the ball and the players, as well as game events and contexts).
Concerning claims 8 and 15, see the rejection of claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892.
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715