DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16 and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 16, line 1 and Claim 26, line 1, “shield” should be changed to --shell--; otherwise, “the outer shield” lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 10-15, and 17-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Panella et al. (2025/0293503).
Panella et al. discloses a cable assembly comprising: a primary twinaxial cable (12A) including a first conductor and a second conductor, the primary twinaxial cable including a primary insulator (32A) holding the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable protruding from the primary insulator, the primary twinaxial cable including a primary cable shield (42A) surrounding the primary insulator to provide shielding for the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable; a secondary twinaxial cable (10A) including a first conductor and a second conductor, the secondary twinaxial cable including a secondary insulator (30A) holding the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable protruding from the secondary insulator, the secondary twinaxial cable including a secondary cable shield (40A) surrounding the secondary insulator to provide shielding for the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable; a splice connector between the primary twinaxial cable and the secondary twinaxial cable to electrically connect the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable with the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable, the splice connector including an outer shell (130) having a primary shroud (150/151) forming a primary cavity receiving an end of the primary twinaxial cable, a secondary shroud (153/154) forming a secondary cavity receiving an end of the secondary twinaxial cable, and a splice shroud (152) forming a splice cavity receiving the exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, wherein the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable are electrically connected with the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable in the splice cavity, the outer shell being electrically conductive, the primary shroud being electrically connected to the primary cable shield, the secondary shroud being electrically connected to the secondary cable shield (re-claim 1).
Re-claim 2, Panella et al. discloses that the outer shell (130) has multiple points of contact with the primary cable shield and multiple points of contact with the secondary cable shield.
Re-claim 3, Panella et al. discloses the outer shell having an inner surface at the primary shroud matching a shape of the primary cable shield to provide 360° connection to the primary cable shield and the outer shell having an inner surface at the secondary shroud matching a shape of the secondary cable shield to provide 360° connection to the secondary cable shield.
Re-claim 4, Panella et al. discloses the primary twinaxial cable (12A) having a first cross-sectional area and the secondary twinaxial cable (10A) having a second cross-sectional area smaller than the first cross-sectional area.
Re-claim 5, Panella et al. discloses the primary cavity (154) having a first cross-sectional area and the secondary cavity (150) having a second cross-sectional area smaller than the first cross-sectional area.
Re-claim 6, Panella et al. discloses the primary twinaxial cable (12A) including a primary conductive interface element (163) between the primary cable shield and an inner surface of the primary shroud, the secondary twinaxial cable including a secondary conductive interface element (161) between the secondary cable shield and an inner surface of the secondary shroud.
Re-claim 7, Panella et al. discloses the outer shell including an upper shell member (130A) and a lower shell member (130B) coupled to the upper shell member to capture the primary twinaxial cable and the secondary twinaxial cable therebetween.
Re-claim 10, Panella et al. discloses the splice connector including a splice holder (200A) receiving and holding the exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable being electrically connected with the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable in the splice holder, the splice holder being dielectric to electrically isolate the first conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables from the second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables.
Re-claim 11, Panella et al. discloses the splice holder including a first channel (230) receiving the first conductors and a second channel (232) receiving the second conductors, the first conductors being electrically connected in the first channel, the second conductors being electrically connected in the second channel, the splice holder including a separating wall (Fig. 4E) between the first and second channels.
Re-claim 12, Panella et al. discloses the splice holder includes a tray (220) having a pocket receiving an end of the second twinaxial cable, the tray positioned to axially align the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable with the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable.
Re-claim 13, Panella et al. discloses the splice holder holding a first contact (conductive lining 270) and a second contact (conductive lining 270), the first contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the first conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, the second contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables.
Re-claim 14, Panella et al. discloses the splice connector including a contact assembly having a first contact and a second contact (270, 270), the first contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the first conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, the second contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables.
Re-claim 15, Panella et al. discloses the contact assembly including a splice holder (200A) holding the first contact and the second contact.
Re-claim 17, Panella et al. discloses the first conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables being one of welded or soldered ([0065]) together to create a first transmission line and the second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables are one of welded or soldered together to create a second transmission line.
Re-claim 18, Panella et al. discloses a cable assembly comprising: a primary twinaxial cable (12A) including a first conductor and a second conductor, the primary twinaxial cable including a primary insulator (32A) holding the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable protruding from the primary insulator, the primary twinaxial cable including a primary cable shield (42A) surrounding the primary insulator to provide shielding for the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable; a secondary twinaxial cable (10A) including a first conductor and a second conductor, the secondary twinaxial cable including a secondary insulator (30A) holding the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable protruding from the secondary insulator, the secondary twinaxial cable including a secondary cable shield (40A) surrounding the secondary insulator to provide shielding for the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable; a splice connector between the primary twinaxial cable and the secondary twinaxial cable to electrically connect the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable with the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable, the splice connector including a splice holder (200A) receiving and holding the exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable are electrically connected with the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable in the splice holder, the splice holder being dielectric to electrically isolate the first conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables from the second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, the splice connector including an outer shell (130) having a primary shroud forming a primary cavity receiving an end of the primary twinaxial cable, a secondary shroud forming a secondary cavity receiving an end of the secondary twinaxial cable, and a splice shroud forming a splice cavity receiving the splice holder, the outer shell being electrically conductive, the primary shroud being electrically connected to the primary cable shield, the secondary shroud being electrically connected to the secondary cable shield.
Re-claim 19, Panella et al. discloses the splice holder including a first channel (230) receiving the first conductors and a second channel (232) receiving the second conductors, the first conductors being electrically connected in the first channel, the second conductors being electrically connected in the second channel, the splice holder including a separating wall between the first and second channels.
Re-claim 20, Panella et al. discloses the splice holder including a tray (22) having a pocket receiving an end of the second twinaxial cable, the tray positioned to axially align the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable with the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable.
Re-claim 21, Panella et al. discloses the splice holder holding a first contact and a second contact (270, 270), the first contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the first conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, the second contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables.
Re-claim 22, Panella et al. discloses the outer shell having an inner surface at the primary shroud matching a shape of the primary cable shield to provide 360° connection to the primary cable shield and the outer shell has an inner surface at the secondary shroud matching a shape of the secondary cable shield to provide 360° connection to the secondary cable shield.
Re-claim 23, Panella et al. discloses a cable assembly comprising: a primary twinaxial cable (12A) including a first conductor and a second conductor, the primary twinaxial cable including a primary insulator (32A) holding the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable protruding from the primary insulator, the primary twinaxial cable including a primary cable shield (42A) surrounding the primary insulator to provide shielding for the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable; a secondary twinaxial cable (10A) including a first conductor and a second conductor, the secondary twinaxial cable including a secondary insulator (30A) holding the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable protruding from the secondary insulator, the secondary twinaxial cable including a secondary cable shield (40A) surrounding the secondary insulator to provide shielding for the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable; a splice connector between the primary twinaxial cable and the secondary twinaxial cable to electrically connect the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable with the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable, the splice connector including a contact assembly including a first contact and a second contact (270, 270), the first contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the first conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, the second contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, the splice connector including an outer shell (130) having a primary shroud forming a primary cavity receiving an end of the primary twinaxial cable, a secondary shroud forming a secondary cavity receiving an end of the secondary twinaxial cable, and a splice shroud forming a splice cavity receiving the contact assembly, the outer shell being electrically conductive, the primary shroud being electrically connected to the primary cable shield, the secondary shroud being electrically connected to the secondary cable shield.
Re-claim 24, Panella et al. discloses the outer shell having an inner surface at the primary shroud matching a shape of the primary cable shield to provide 360° connection to the primary cable shield and the outer shell having an inner surface at the secondary shroud matching a shape of the secondary cable shield to provide 360° connection to the secondary cable shield.
Re-claim 25, Panella et al. discloses the contact assembly including a splice holder (200A) holding the first contact and the second contact.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 9, 14, 15, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanbhag et al. (10622799) in view of Panella et al.
Re-claims 1 and 23, Shanbhag et al. discloses a cable assembly comprising: a primary twinaxial cable (18) including a first conductor (108) and a second conductor (108), the primary twinaxial cable including a primary cable shield (112) to provide shielding for the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable; a secondary twinaxial cable (14) including a first conductor (46) and a second conductor (46), the secondary twinaxial cable including a secondary cable shield (48) to provide shielding for the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable; a splice connector between the primary twinaxial cable and the secondary twinaxial cable to electrically connect the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable with the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable, the splice connector including an outer shell (104) having a primary shroud forming a primary cavity receiving an end of the primary twinaxial cable, a secondary shroud forming a secondary cavity receiving an end of the secondary twinaxial cable, and a splice shroud forming a splice cavity receiving the exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, wherein the first and second conductors of the primary twinaxial cable are electrically connected with the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable in the splice cavity, the outer shell being electricallyconductive, the primary shroud being electrically connected to the primary cable shield, the secondary shroud being electrically connected to the secondary cable shield.
Shanbhag et al. does not disclose the primary cable including a primary insulator holding the first and second conductors of the primary cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the primary cable protruding from the primary insulator; the secondary cable including a secondary insulator holding the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the secondary twinaxial cable protruding from the secondary insulator (re-claims 1 and 23).
Panella et al. (Fig. 3A) discloses a cable assembly including a primary cable (12A) including a primary insulator (32A) holding first and second conductors of the primary cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the primary cable protruding from the primary insulator; a secondary cable (10A) including a secondary insulator (30A) holding first and second conductors of the secondary cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of the secondary cable protruding from the secondary insulator.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to respectively provide each of the primary and secondary cables of Shanbhag et al. with an insulator holding first and second conductors of each respect cable, exposed portions of the first and second conductors of each respect cable protruding from the insulator, as taught by Panella et al., to further protect the conductors from the environment.
Re-claim 9, Shanbhag et al. discloses the outer shell including a primary window (where tab 120 located) at the primary shroud exposing the primary twinaxial cable for connecting the primary shroud to the primary twinaxial cable, the outer shell including a secondary window (120) at the secondary shroud exposing the secondary twinaxial cable for connecting the secondary shroud to the secondary twinaxial cable.
Re-claims 14 and 23, Shanbhag et al. discloses the splice connector including a contact assembly having a first contact and a second contact (crimping contacts), the first contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the first conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables, the second contact being coupled to the exposed portions of the second conductors of the primary and secondary twinaxial cables (col. 5 lines 12-14, conductors being crimped).
Re-calim 15, Shanbhag et al. discloses the contact assembly including a splice holder (102) holding the first contact and the second contact.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panella et al. in view of Krabs et al. (7767909).
Claim 8 additionally recites the outer shell being a conductive heat shrink element conforming to the primary and secondary cables to mechanically and electrically connect to the primary and secondary cables. Krabs et al. discloses a cable assembly comprising an outer shell (33, col. 7 line 64 to col. 8 line 2) being a conductive heat shrink element conforming to primary and secondary cables (12, 14) to mechanically and electrically connect to the primary and secondary cables. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the outer shell (130) of Panella et al. to be a conductive heat shrink element as taught by Krabs et al. to provide a tight seal around the splices, and using heat shrink elements around a splice is well-known in the art as taught by Krabs et al. (col. 5 lines 47-52).
Claims 16 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shanbhag et al. in view of Panella et al. as applied to claims 14 and 23 above, and further in view of Kuo (3846577).
Claims 16 and 26 additionally recite the outer shell including splice windows aligned with the splice cavity. Kuo discloses a cable assembly comprising an outer shell (22) including splice windows (notches 30) aligned with a splice cavity. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to provide splice windows aligned with a splice cavity, as taught by Kuo, in the outer shell (104) of Shanbhag et al. for inspecting the relative disposition of the conductors in the splice (col. 4 lines 41-42). It is noted that since the modified windows in Shanbhag et al. comprise structure and material as claimed, one access to the first and second contacts for joining the first and second conductors of the cables.
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841