DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 4 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirosaki (JP2010022123), cited by Applicant. Note, any reference to page number or paragraph is in regard to the provided mechanical translation.
In regard to claim 1, Shirosaki discloses a hybrid electric vehicle comprising a an engine (Fig. 1, item 16), a first motor (Fig. 1, item 11), a planetary gear that is connected to the first motor, the engine, and a drive shaft connected to drive wheels (Fig. 1, items 21, 22, 23, and 24), a second motor that is connected to the drive shaft (Fig. 1, item 17), a power storage device that is connected to the first motor and the second motor via a power line (Fig. 1, item 12), and a control device that controls the engine, the first motor, and the second motor to travel with an intermittent operation of the engine (Fig. 1, items 15 and 16), wherein if a temperature of the first motor is less than a predetermined temperature when a start condition is met during traveling and the engine is started with cranking of the engine achieved by the first motor, the control device sets a smaller value than a value set when the temperature of the first motor is equal to or greater than the predetermined temperature in a torque command of the first motor and controls the first motor (central portion of page 6 through central portion of page 7).
In regard to claim 2, Shirosaki discloses wherein the control device sets a start determination vehicle speed such that input power of the power storage device when the engine is started during traveling falls within a range of allowable input power, and the start condition includes a condition that a vehicle speed is equal to or greater than the start determination vehicle speed (bottom portion of page 6).
In regard to claim 3, Shirosaki discloses wherein if the temperature of the first motor is less than the predetermined temperature when the engine is started during traveling, the control device sets a smaller value in the torque command as the temperature of the first motor is lower (central portion of page 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirosaki (JP2010022123) as applied to claims 1 – 3 above, and further in view of Sato et al. (JP2018034712), cited by Applicant. Shirosaki does not disclose using crank angle as a control variable. In regard to claim 4, Sato discloses wherein the control device sets the torque command such that a torque increases up to a first torque, is held, and then decreases once a decreasing start condition is met when the engine is started during traveling, and the decreasing start condition includes a crank angle condition that a crank angle of the engine falls within a predetermined crank angle range when a vehicle speed is less than a predetermined vehicle speed, and the decreasing start condition does not include the crank angle condition when the vehicle speed is equal to or greater than the predetermined vehicle speed (bottom of page 8 through bottom of page 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make use of crank angle ranges as a control variable, as taught by Sato, to the hybrid vehicle of Shirosaki, in order to minimize vibration. This would increase user/passenger comfort.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Maeda (12,441,176) discloses a hybrid electric vehicle;
Imamura et al. (2022/0080948) disclose a control system for a hybrid vehicle.
/JOHN D WALTERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613