-20Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-16, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102A2 as being anticipated by US 20250119581 A1-Hooda et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Hooda”)..
Regarding claim 1, Hooda discloses a method of mesh decoding (fig. 12), comprising:
receiving a bitstream that includes coded information of a mesh frame ([0048]);
parsing a syntax element from the bitstream ([0240], wherein extracting syntax from the bitstream), the syntax element indicating whether an adaptive linear wavelet transform is used (Table 1; [0192-0196])), the adaptive linear wavelet transform applying different weight values to different neighboring vertices of a vertex in a wavelet transform of attribute values associated with vertices of the mesh frame ([0192-0196]); and
reconstructing, when the syntax element indicates a use of the adaptive linear wavelet transform, at least a first vertex in the vertices of the mesh frame according to the adaptive linear wavelet transform ([0032], wherein reconstruct the base mesh (vertices)).
Regardinng claim 2, Hooda discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the syntax element is a one-bit flag ([0192]).
Regarding claim 3, Hooda discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: reconstructing, when the syntax element indicates no use of the adaptive linear wavelet transform, the first vertex with same weight values applied to different neighboring vertices of the first vertex ([0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Hooda discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the attribute values comprise displacement vectors associated with the vertices in the mesh frame ([0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Hooda discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the reconstructing comprises: determining a first weight value to weight a first detail coefficient associated with a first neighboring vertex of the first vertex based on a first distance between the first neighboring vertex and the first vertex ([0114-0125]); and updating a value associated with the first vertex according to the first detail coefficient that is weighted with the first weight value ([0125-0127; 0168]).
Regarding claim 6, Hooda discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the first weight value is calculated based on a reciprocal of the first distance between the first neighboring vertex and the first vertex ([0125-0127]).
Regarding claim 7, Hooda discloses the method of claim 5, wherein the first weight value is calculated based on a counting number of different neighboring vertices of the first vertex ([0259]).
Regarding claim 10, Hooda discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: extracting, from the bitstream, at least a first weighting coefficient for an update filter in the wavelet transform of the attribute values and a second weighting coefficient used for a prediction filter in the wavelet transform of the attribute values ([0146]).
Regarding claim 11, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 11 (encoding performs the opposite of decoding).
Regarding claim 12, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 2 and are applicable for claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 4 and are applicable for claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 5 and are applicable for claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 6 and are applicable for claim 15.
Regarding claim 16, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 7 and are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 19, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 10 and are applicable for claim 19.
Regarding claim 20, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 20.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-9, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487