DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Connor (US 20170164878 A1.)
Regarding claim 1, Connor (‘878) teach a detection device (“infrared light sensor” see [0201]) comprising: a light source (“emitters and/or receivers” see [0234]); a plurality of optical sensors that are arranged so as to be capable of receiving light of the light source and have light-receiving areas different in size (“sensors can have a selected progression of different sizes, shapes, and/or orientation” see [0257]); a detection circuit that is electrically coupled to each of the optical sensors and configured to detect waveform data that allows an amount of received light of each of the optical sensors to be identified (“sensors which collect data which is used to measure a person's intra-body glucose levels” see [0239]); and a control circuit configured to select at least one piece of the waveform data having waveform amplitude that satisfies a selection condition from a plurality of pieces of the waveform data detected by the optical sensors (“sensor can be changed from a first level of operation to a second level of operation based on changes in physiological or environmental factors which are detected by other wearable or implanted sensors” see [0267]).
Regarding claim 2, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 1, further comprising an external light detection circuit configured to detect an external light intensity, wherein the light source is configured to emit a larger amount of light as the external light intensity increases (see [0201], [0273]-[0277]).
Regarding claim 3, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 2, wherein the control circuit is configured to select the waveform data that has a largest average value of a plurality of amplitudes of waveforms indicated by the waveform data, from among the pieces of the waveform data detected by the optical sensors (see [0201], [0273]-[0277]).
Regarding claim 4, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 3, wherein the control circuit is configured to select the waveform data in accordance with a predetermined priority order when a plurality of the average values are the same (see [0201], [0273]-[0277]).
Regarding claim 5, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 4, wherein the control circuit is configured to select the waveform data of the optical sensor having a smaller area of the light-receiving area when a plurality of the average values are the same (see [0201], [0257]).
Regarding claim 6, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 5, wherein the external light detection circuit is configured to detect the external light intensity based on the waveform data of any one of the optical sensors (see [0201], [0273]-[0277]).
Regarding claim 7, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 6, wherein the external light detection circuit is configured to use the waveform data of the optical sensor having a largest size of the light-receiving area among the optical sensors (see [0201], [0257]).
Regarding claim 8, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 7, wherein the light source is configured not to emit light when detecting the external light (see [0201], [0273]-[0277]).
Regarding claim 9, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 8, wherein the light-receiving areas of the optical sensors have the same area, and light-blocking layers covering the light-receiving areas have different areas (see [0201], [0273]-[0277]).
Regarding claim 10, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 8, wherein the light-receiving areas of the optical sensors have different sizes in at least one of first and second directions (see [0201], [0257]).
Regarding claim 11, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 1, wherein the optical sensors are arranged in the first direction and have different lengths in the second direction intersecting the first direction (see [0201], [0257]).
Regarding claim 12, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 11, wherein the optical sensors are arranged such that the optical sensors having different lengths in the first direction are arranged adjacent in the second direction and the optical sensors having different lengths in the second direction are arranged adjacent in the first direction (see [0201], [0257]).
Regarding claim 13, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 1, wherein the light source is configured to emit any one of infrared light, red light, and green light (see [0201]).
Regarding claim 14, Connor (‘878) teach the detection device according to claim 1, wherein the light source is configured to emit red light and either one of infrared light and green light (see [0201]).
Conclusion
/MARK D REMALY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797