Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, “the transmittance variable optical laminate has a surface hardness of H or higher” is unclear and indefinite. It is unclear and indefinite to determine to what the limit or range of H is, unclear to determine what constitutes as H or higher. For examination purposes, it is interpreted that the transmittance variable optical laminate has a surface hardness H.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al (WO 2023/182708)
WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses a transmittance variable optical laminate comprising:
a first polarizing plate (e.g., 100-1/100-2); a surface treatment layer (e.g., 700/800) formed on one surface of the first polarizing plate; a first transparent conductive layer (e.g., 200-1/200-2) formed on the other surface of the first polarizing plate; a second polarizing plate (e.g., 100-1/100-2) opposite to the first polarizing plate; a second transparent conductive layer (e.g., 200-1/200-2) formed on one surface of the second polarizing plate and opposite to the first transparent conductive layer; a liquid crystal layer(300) provided between the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer; and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (e.g., 600) provided on a surface of the second polarizing plate on which the second transparent conductive layer is not formed, wherein a thickness of the first polarizing plate is equal to or greater than a thickness of the second polarizing plate (see at least ‘in the tenth aspect’, at least one of the first and second polarizers may have a thickness 30 to 200 μm.’), and the transmittance variable optical laminate has a surface hardness H [see above 112(b)].
Per claim 3, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate each have a thickness of 30 µm to 200 µm (see at least ‘in the tenth aspect’, at least one of the first and second polarizers may have a thickness 30 to 200 μm.’).
Per claim 6, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate (see at least ‘liquid crystal layer’ section ) wherein a liquid crystal driving mode of the liquid crystal layer is any one selected from the group consisting of a twisted nematic (TN) mode, a super-twisted nematic (STN) mode, an in-plane switching (IPS) mode, a fringe-field switching (FFS) mode, an electrically controlled birefringence (ECB) mode, and a vertical alignment (VA) mode.
Per claim 7, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate (see at least ‘liquid crystal layer’ section) wherein the liquid crystal driving mode of the liquid crystal layer is the twisted nematic (TN) mode.
Per claim 8, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the liquid crystal layer comprises a polymer network and a liquid crystal compound, wherein the liquid crystal compound is arranged with uniform initial alignment’ (see at least descriptions <Transmittance variable optical laminate> section, 6th paragraph).
Per claim 9, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the liquid crystal layer comprises a cured product of a composition for forming a liquid crystal layer comprising a polymerizable monomer and the liquid crystal compound (see at least descriptions <Transmittance variable optical laminate> section, 6th paragraph).
Per claim 11, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein at least one of the first transparent conductive layer (e.g., 200-1/200-2) and the second transparent conductive layer (e.g., 200-1/200-2) is formed in direct contact with the first polarizing plate (e.g., 100-1/100-2) or the second polarizing plate (e.g., 100-1/100-2) without comprising a separate substrate therebetween (see at least Figure 1).
Per claim 12, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein at least one of the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer is formed in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate
while comprising a highly adhesive layer (e.g., 120-1/120-2) therebetween (see at least Figure 4).
Per claim 13, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein at least one of the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate comprises at least one
functional layer selected from the group consisting of a protective layer, an adhesion-
imparting layer, a retardation matching layer, and a refractive index-matching layer (see at least descriptions ‘function coating layer’, ‘protective layer’, ‘phase difference control layer’ sections/descriptions).
Per claim 14, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate
wherein at least one of the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a transparent conductive oxide,
a metal, a carbonaceous material, a conductive polymer, a conductive ink, and nanowires (see at least ‘transparent conductive layer’ section/descriptions).
Per claim 15, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate
further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of a pressure sensitive
adhesive/adhesive layer, a UV-absorbing layer and a hard coating layer (see at least ‘other function layers’ section/descriptions).
Per claim 16, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate incorporating in smart windows (see at least ‘best mode’ section, 3rd paragraph).
Per claim 17, WO ‘708 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate incorporating smart windows in buildings (see at least ‘best mode’ section, 3rd paragraph).
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated Kim et al (US 2024/0288733).
US ‘733 illustrates and discloses a transmittance variable optical laminate (see at least Figure 4) comprising: a first polarizing plate (e.g. 121); a surface treatment layer (e.g., 122) formed on one surface of the first polarizing plate; a first transparent conductive layer (e.g., 130) formed on the other surface of the first polarizing plate; a second polarizing plate opposite to the first polarizing plate; a second transparent conductive layer formed on one surface of the second polarizing plate and opposite to the first transparent conductive layer; a liquid crystal layer(e.g., 110) provided between the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer; and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (e.g., 124) provided on a surface of the second polarizing plate on which the second transparent conductive layer is not formed, wherein a thickness of the first polarizing plate is equal to or greater than a thickness of the second polarizing plate (see at least [0026]), and the transmittance variable optical laminate has a surface hardness H [see above 112(b)].
Per claim 2, US ‘733 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the surface treatment layer (e.g., 122) has a thickness less than 80 um (see at least [0070]) which includes a range within Applicant’s claimed ranged of 5 to 30 µm.
Per claim 3, US ‘733 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate each have a thickness of 30 µm to 200 µm (see at least ‘[0026]).
Per claims 6-7, US ‘733 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate (see at least [0027]) wherein a liquid crystal driving mode of the liquid crystal layer is any one selected from the group consisting of a twisted nematic (TN) mode, a super-twisted nematic (STN) mode, an in-plane switching (IPS) mode, a fringe-field switching (FFS) mode, an electrically controlled birefringence (ECB) mode, and a vertical alignment (VA) mode.
Per claim 8, US ‘733 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the liquid crystal layer comprises a polymer network and a liquid crystal compound, wherein the liquid crystal compound is arranged with uniform initial alignment’ (see at least [0079]).
Per claim 9 US ‘733 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the liquid crystal layer comprises a cured product of a composition for forming a liquid crystal layer comprising a polymerizable monomer and the liquid crystal compound (see at least [0079], [0080]).
Per claim 11, US ‘733 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate ,wherein at least one of the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer is formed in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate without comprising a separate substrate therebetween (see at least Figure 2).
Per claim 13, US ‘733 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein at least one of the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate comprises at least one
functional layer, selected from the group consisting of a protective layer, an adhesion-imparting layer, a retardation matching layer (see at least [0021]), and a refractive index-matching layer (see at least [0025].
Per claim 14, US ‘733 illustrates and discloses wherein at least one of the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a transparent conductive oxide, a metal, a carbonaceous material, a conductive polymer, a conductive ink, and nanowires (see at least [0024]).
Per claim 15, US ‘733 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate
Further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of a pressure sensitive
adhesive/adhesive layer, a UV-absorbing layer and a hard coating layer (see at least [0109]- [0111])
Per claim 16, US ‘733 discloses a smart window comprising the above-described transmittance variable optical laminate of claim 1 (see at least the abstract/technical field).
Per claim 17, US ‘733 discloses a window for a building comprising the smart window (see at least the abstract/technical field).
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahn (WO 2023/211056, IDS).
WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses a transmittance variable optical laminate comprising:
a first polarizing plate (e.g., 110 100-1/100-2); a surface treatment layer (e.g., 120/130) formed on one surface of the first polarizing plate; a first transparent conductive layer (e.g., 200-1/200-2) formed on the other surface of the first polarizing plate; a second polarizing plate (e.g., 110 100-1/100-2) opposite to the first polarizing plate; a second transparent conductive layer (e.g., 200-1/200-2) formed on one surface of the second polarizing plate and opposite to the first transparent conductive layer; a liquid crystal layer(300) provided between the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer; and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (e.g., 140/600) provided on a surface of the second polarizing plate on which the second transparent conductive layer is not formed, wherein a thickness of the first polarizing plate is equal to or greater than a thickness of the second polarizing plate (see at least tech solution’s section of WO ‘056, ‘in the tenth aspect of the present invention, at least one of the first and second polarizers may have a thickness 30 to 200 μm.’), and the transmittance variable optical laminate has a surface hardness H [see above 112(b)].
Per claim 2, WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the surface treatment layer (e.g., 120) has a thickness of 1-40 um (including a range within Applicant’s claimed ranged of 5 to 30 µm) achieving excellent hardness, bending resistance and durability.
Per claim 3, WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate each have a thickness of 30 µm to 200 µm (see at least ‘in the tenth aspect’).
Per claims 6-7, WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate (see at least the disclosure of ‘056: “For example, it may be driven in TN (Twisted nematic) mode, but in addition to STN (Super twisted nematic) mode, VA (Vertical alignment) mode, ECB (Electrically driven) mode. It can also be driven by controlled birefringence mode, etc.” ) wherein a liquid crystal driving mode of the liquid crystal layer is any one selected from the group consisting of a twisted nematic (TN) mode, a super-twisted nematic (STN) mode, an in-plane switching (IPS) mode, a fringe-field switching (FFS) mode, an electrically controlled birefringence (ECB) mode, and a vertical alignment (VA) mode.
Per claim 8, WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the liquid crystal layer comprises a polymer network and a liquid crystal compound, wherein the liquid crystal compound is arranged with uniform initial alignment’ (see at least the disclosure of ‘056: “The reactive liquid crystal compound can be polymerized by light or heat to form a cured film in which a polymer network is formed while maintaining the liquid crystal arrangement.”).
Per claim 9, WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the liquid crystal layer comprises a cured product of a composition for forming a liquid crystal layer comprising a polymerizable monomer and the liquid crystal compound.
Per claim 11, WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate ,wherein at least one of the first transparent conductive layer (e.g., 200-1/200-2) and the second transparent conductive layer (e.g., 200-1/200-2) is formed in direct contact with the first polarizing plate (e.g., 100-1/100-2) or the second polarizing plate (e.g., 100-1/100-2) without comprising a separate substrate therebetween.
Per claim 13, WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein at least one of the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate comprises at least one
functional layer (e.g., 120), selected from the group consisting of a protective layer, an adhesion-imparting layer, a retardation matching layer, and a refractive index-matching layer.
Per claim 14, WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses wherein at least one of the first transparent conductive layer (200-1/200-2) and the second transparent conductive layer (200-1/200-2) comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a transparent conductive oxide, a metal, a carbonaceous material, a conductive polymer, a conductive ink, and nanowires.
Per claim 15, WO ‘056 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate
Further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of a pressure sensitive
adhesive/adhesive layer, a UV-absorbing layer and a hard coating layer (e.g., 120).
Per claim 16, WO ‘056 discloses a smart window comprising the above-described transmittance variable optical laminate of claim 1 (see at least WO ‘056 disclosure “in addition to the variable transmittance optical laminate, a smart window including the same”)
Per claim 17, WO ‘056 discloses a window for a building comprising the smart window (see at least WO ‘056 disclosure, “a smart window for architectural windows”
Claims 1, 3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ahn (WO 2024/143786)
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses a transmittance variable optical laminate comprising:
a first polarizing plate (e.g., 110-1); a surface treatment layer (e.g., 500/600) formed on one surface of the first polarizing plate; a first transparent conductive layer (e.g., 210-1) formed on the other surface of the first polarizing plate; a second polarizing plate (e.g., 110-2) opposite to the first polarizing plate; a second transparent conductive layer (e.g., 210-2) formed on one surface of the second polarizing plate and opposite to the first transparent conductive layer; a liquid crystal layer(300) provided between the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer; and a pressure sensitive adhesive layer (e.g., 400) provided on a surface of the second polarizing plate on which the second transparent conductive layer is not formed, wherein a thickness of the first polarizing plate is equal to or greater than a thickness of the second polarizing plate (see at least ‘in the seventh aspect’, at least one of the first and second polarizers may have a thickness 30 to 200 μm.’), and the transmittance variable optical laminate has a surface hardness H [see above 112(b)].
Per claim 3, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate each have a thickness of 30 µm to 200 µm (see at least ‘in the seventh aspect’, at least one of the first and second polarizers may have a thickness 30 to 200 μm.’).
Per claim 6, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate (see at least ‘in the fifth aspect’) wherein a liquid crystal driving mode of the liquid crystal layer is any one selected from the group consisting of a twisted nematic (TN) mode, a super-twisted nematic (STN) mode, an in-plane switching (IPS) mode, a fringe-field switching (FFS) mode, an electrically controlled birefringence (ECB) mode, and a vertical alignment (VA) mode.
Per claim 7, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate (see at least ‘in the fifth aspect’) wherein the liquid crystal driving mode of the liquid crystal layer is the twisted nematic (TN) mode.
Per claim 8, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the liquid crystal layer comprises a polymer network and a liquid crystal compound, wherein the liquid crystal compound is arranged with uniform initial alignment’ (see at least descriptions <Transmittance variable optical laminate> section, 5th paragraph).
Per claim 9, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein the liquid crystal layer comprises a cured product of a composition for forming a liquid crystal layer comprising a polymerizable monomer and the liquid crystal compound (see at least descriptions <Transmittance variable optical laminate> section, 5th paragraph).
Per claim 11, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate ,wherein at least one of the first transparent conductive layer (e.g., 210-1) and the second transparent conductive layer (e.g., 210-2) is formed in direct contact with the first polarizing plate (e.g., 110-1) or the second polarizing plate (e.g., 110-2) without comprising a separate substrate therebetween.
Per claim 13, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate wherein at least one of the first polarizing plate and the second polarizing plate comprises at least one
functional layer selected from the group consisting of a protective layer, an adhesion-
imparting layer, a retardation matching layer, and a refractive index-matching layer (see at least descriptions <Transmittance variable optical laminate> section, 10th paragraph).
Per claim 14, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate
wherein at least one of the first transparent conductive layer and the second transparent conductive layer comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of a transparent conductive oxide,
a metal, a carbonaceous material, a conductive polymer, a conductive ink, and nanowires (see at least ‘according to the tenth aspect’).
Per claim 15, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate
further comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of a pressure sensitive
adhesive/adhesive layer, a UV-absorbing layer and a hard coating layer (see at least ‘according to the eleventh aspect’).
Per claim 16, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate incorporating in smart windows (see at least ‘best mode’ section, 3rd paragraph).
Per claim 17, WO ‘786 illustrates and discloses the transmittance variable optical laminate incorporating smart windows in buildings (see at least ‘best mode’ section, 5th paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘708 as applied to claims 1, 3, 6-9 and 11-17 above, and further in view of Kim et al (WO 2023287090).
WO ‘090 discloses and teaches an optical laminate with a coating layer having an elastic modulus of 10 MPa or more, wherein such elastic modulus achieves advantages such as excellent adhesion and flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the ‘pressure sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of 10 MPa or more at 25°C’ for achieving advantages such as excellent adhesion and flexibility.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘733 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17 above, and further in view of Kim et al (WO 2023287090).
WO ‘090 discloses and teaches an optical laminate with a coating layer having an elastic modulus of 10 MPa or more, wherein such elastic modulus achieves advantages such as excellent adhesion and flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the ‘pressure sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of 10 MPa or more at 25°C’ for achieving advantages such as excellent adhesion and flexibility.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘056 or WO ‘786 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17, respectively, above, and further in view of Kim et al (WO 2023287090).
WO ‘090 discloses and teaches an optical laminate with a coating layer having an elastic modulus of 10 MPa or more, wherein such elastic modulus achieves advantages such as excellent adhesion and flexibility. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ the ‘pressure sensitive adhesive layer has a storage modulus of 10 MPa or more at 25°C’ for achieving advantages such as excellent adhesion and flexibility.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘708 as applied to claims 1, 3, 6-9 and 11-17 above, and further in view of Duarte et al (WO 2021/127307).
WO ‘307 illustrates and discloses a display assembly (see at least [0027], [0043] comprising the transparency demonstrating a water contact angle of >100°, wherein the transparency includes smart glass, smart window, etc., to achieve advantages such as preventing scratch of the display screen, sufficient structural integrity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was made to employ ‘the surface treatment layer has a water contact angle of 100° or more’ for achieving advantages such as preventing scratch of the display screen, sufficient structural integrity.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘733 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17 above, and further in view of Duarte et al (WO 2021/127307).
WO ‘307 illustrates and discloses a display assembly (see at least [0027], [0043] comprising the transparency demonstrating a water contact angle of >100°, wherein the transparency includes smart glass, smart window, etc., to achieve advantages such as preventing scratch of the display screen, sufficient structural integrity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was made to employ ‘the surface treatment layer has a water contact angle of 100° or more’ for achieving advantages such as preventing scratch of the display screen, sufficient structural integrity.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘056 or WO ‘786 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17, respectively, above, and further in view of Duarte et al (WO 2021/127307).
WO ‘307 illustrates and discloses a display assembly (see at least [0027], [0043] comprising the transparency demonstrating a water contact angle of >100°, wherein the transparency includes smart glass, smart window, etc., to achieve advantages such as preventing scratch of the display screen, sufficient structural integrity. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art at the time the invention was made to employ ‘the surface treatment layer has a water contact angle of 100° or more’ for achieving advantages such as preventing scratch of the display screen, sufficient structural integrity.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘708 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-17 above.
WO ‘708 does not explicitly disclose ‘the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’, however, it is a matter of routine skill in the art to optimize forming PNLC layer such that the liquid crystal layer containing desired wt% to achieve common and known advantages such as improved transparency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ ‘the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’, as routinely optimized/skilled in the art, for achieving achieve common and known advantages such as improved transparency.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘708 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11-17 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2024/2088729).
US ‘729 illustrates and teaches (see at least [0102]) the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’ yielding advantages such improved transparency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ ‘the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’ for achieving achieve common and known advantages such as improved transparency.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘733 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17 above.
Per claim 10, US ‘733 does not explicitly disclose ‘the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’, however, it is a matter of routine skill in the art to optimize forming PNLC layer such that the liquid crystal layer containing desired wt% to achieve common and known advantages such as improved transparency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ ‘the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’, as routinely optimized/skilled in the art, for achieving achieve common and known advantages such as improved transparency.
Per claim 12, US ‘733 illustrates and discloses the refractive index matching layer (e.g. 150) between the conducive layer and the polarizing plate/polarizer. Further, the alternative configuration recited claim 12 ‘in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate while comprising a highly adhesive layer therebetween’ (emphasis added) is at least an obvious variation/modification, i.e., not patentably distinct, to ‘in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate without comprising a separate substrate therebetween’ (emphasis added) to one of ordinary skill in the art for achieving desired and optimized quality output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ an alternative configuration recited claim 12 ‘in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate while comprising a highly adhesive layer therebetween’ (emphasis added), as it is at least an obvious variation/modification, i.e., not patentably distinct, to ‘in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate without comprising a separate substrate therebetween’ (emphasis added) to one of ordinary skill in the art for achieving desired and optimized quality output.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US ‘733 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17 above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2024/2088729).
US ‘729 illustrates and teaches (see at least [0102]) the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’ yielding advantages such improved transparency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ ‘the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’ for achieving achieve common and known advantages such as improved transparency.
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘056 or WO ‘786 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17, respectively, above.
Per claim 10, WO ‘056 or WO ‘786 does not explicitly disclose ‘the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’, however, it is a matter of routine skill in the art to optimize forming PNLC layer such that the liquid crystal layer containing desired wt% to achieve common and known advantages such as improved transparency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ ‘the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’, as routinely optimized/skilled in the art, for achieving achieve common and known advantages such as improved transparency.
Per claim 12, the alternative configuration recited claim 12 ‘in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate while comprising a highly adhesive layer therebetween’ (emphasis added) is at least an obvious variation/modification, i.e., not patentably distinct, to ‘in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate without comprising a separate substrate therebetween’ (emphasis added) to one of ordinary skill in the art for achieving desired and optimized quality output. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ an alternative configuration recited claim 12 ‘in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate while comprising a highly adhesive layer therebetween’ (emphasis added), as it is at least an obvious variation/modification, i.e., not patentably distinct, to ‘in direct contact with the first polarizing plate or the second polarizing plate without comprising a separate substrate therebetween’ (emphasis added) to one of ordinary skill in the art for achieving desired and optimized quality output.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO ‘056 or WO ‘786 as applied to claims 1-3, 6-9, 11 and 13-17, respectively, above, and further in view of Kim et al (US 2024/2088729).
US ‘729 illustrates and teaches (see at least [0102]) the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’ yielding advantages such improved transparency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to employ ‘the composition for forming the liquid crystal layer comprises the polymerizable monomer in an amount of 10 to 30 wt % based on the total weight of the composition’ for achieving achieve common and known advantages such as improved transparency.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/TOAN TON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2882