DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuyuzaki (US 2019/0359260).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuyuzaki vehicle lower body structure comprising: a pair of left and right side sills (14), each of which has a closed cross-sectional structure (Fig. 3) extending in a vehicle front-rear direction; a floor panel (16) fixed to the side sills and constituting a floor surface of a cabin; a battery (28) disposed below the floor panel; a cross member (34/35) that extends in a vehicle width direction, and each end portion of which in the vehicle width direction is fixed to a respective one of the side sills at a position above the floor panel (Fig.3), wherein each of the side sills has: an outer wall portion (see annotate Fig. below) that is a wall surface located on an outer side in the vehicle width direction and extending in an up-down direction and the vehicle front-rear direction; an inner wall portion (see annotated Fig. below) that is a wall surface located on an inner side in the vehicle width direction and extending in the up-down direction and the vehicle front-rear direction; an upper wall portion (see annotated Fig. below) extending in the vehicle width direction from an upper end portion of the outer wall portion and an upper end portion of the inner wall portion; a lower wall portion (see annotated Fig. below) extending in the vehicle width direction from a lower end portion of the outer wall portion and a lower end portion of the inner wall portion; an outer reinforcement (see annotated Fig. below) fixed to the outer wall portion in the closed cross-sectional structure; and an inner reinforcement (see annotated Fig. below) fixed to the upper wall portion and the inner wall portion in the closed cross-sectional structure, the cross member (34/35) is fixed to the upper wall portion (see Fig. 3), the outer reinforcement has an overlapping portion (see annotated Fig. below) that is located on an inner side of other portions of the outer reinforcement in the vehicle width direction, and a position of which overlaps a position of the inner reinforcement in the up-down direction (see Fig. 3), the inner reinforcement has a vertical surface portion fixed to the upper wall portion and the inner wall portion and extending in the up-down direction and the vehicle width direction, and the vertical surface portion has a load transmission promoting portion, a position of which overlaps a position of the cross member in the vehicle front-rear direction, and which transmits a collision load applied via the overlapping portion during a side collision to the cross member (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Tsuyuzaki discloses the vehicle lower body structure according to claim 1, wherein a position of an outer end portion of the load transmission promoting portion in the vehicle width direction overlaps the position of the overlapping portion in the up-down direction, and a position of an inner end portion of the load transmission promoting portion in the vehicle width direction overlaps a position of the cross member in the up-down direction (see Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuyuzaki discloses the vehicle lower body structure according to claim 2, wherein a center of the vertical surface portion in the up-down direction is located above a center of the overlapping portion in the up-down direction and below a center of the cross member in the up-down direction (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuyuzaki discloses the vehicle lower body structure according to claim 1, wherein the overlapping portion has a surface extending in the vehicle front-rear direction and the up-down direction, and a position thereof overlaps the position of the cross member in the vehicle front-rear direction (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuyuzaki discloses the vehicle lower body structure according to claim 6, wherein the outer reinforcement has: an upper surface portion extending outward in the vehicle width direction from an upper end of the overlapping portion toward the outer wall portion; and a lower surface portion extending outward in the vehicle width direction from a lower end of the overlapping portion toward the outer wall portion (see annotated Fig. below).
Regarding claim 11, Tsuyuzaki discloses vehicle lower body structure according to claim 1, wherein a center of the vertical surface portion in the up-down direction is located above a center of the overlapping portion in the up-down direction and below a center of the cross member in the up-down direction (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 5, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuyuzaki.
Regarding claims 4, 5, 11 and 12, Tsuyuzaki discloses the vehicle lower body structure according to claims 1-3, 6, 7 and 11.
Tsuyuzaki does not disclose the details of the load transmission promoting portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to make the load transmission promoting portion as a portion having higher rigidity than other portions of the vertical surface portion formed of a bead portion extending continuously from an outer end portion in the vehicle width direction to an inner end portion in the vehicle width direction.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of copending Application No. 19/005,298 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application include the same limitations in different combinations For example, claim 1 of the reference patent includes the limitation that the battery is supported by the lower wall portion. Whereas that limitation is in claim 8 of the instant application.
Claims 1-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/999,440 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application and the claims of the reference application include the same limitations in different combinations For example, claim 1 of the reference patent includes the limitation that the battery is supported by the lower wall portion. Whereas that limitation is in claim 8 of the instant application.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the non-statutory double patenting rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/PATRICIA L ENGLE/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3993