Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 14, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Walker et al (USPN 2009/0112207).
Regarding claim 14, Walker discloses a method for distraction osteogenesis, the method comprising:
disposing a controller (1080, see figure 14) proximate an implanted device (140) that is secured to a skeletal system (skeletal system 1185 of a patient 1077);
with the controller (1080), causing a magnetic element (1064) of the implanted device to rotate (see a rotation of the magnetic element 1064 of the implanted device 140), thereby causing a first portion (154) of the implanted device (the implanted device 140) to move relative to a second portion (156) of the implanted distraction device (the implanted device 140) (the implanted device 140 is increase distraction or decrease distraction by controlling the driver magnets to rotation the magnetic element 1064, see par. 0079, 0110),
wherein the causing the magnetic implant of the implanted device to rotate includes:
with a drive system (1130) of the controller, generating synchronous rotation of at least two driver magnets (a synchronous rotation of two magnets 1134, 1136 shown in figures 13b-13d) about respective rotational axes (see par. 0012) such that the synchronous rotation causes the magnetic element (1064) of the implanted device to rotate.
Regarding claim 16, Walker discloses mounting the first portion (146, 148) at a first location of the skeletal system (110) and mounting the second portion (150, 152) at a second location of the skeletal system (110) (see par. 0079).
Regarding claim 17, Walker discloses wherein the synchronous rotation is in a first direction that causes distraction of the implanted device (140)(see par. 0110) (by controlling synchronous rotations of the driver magnets 1134, 1136 to rotate the magnetic element 1064 in full rotations in either direction to increase or decrease distraction of the distraction device 140).
Regarding claim 18, Walker discloses wherein rotating the magnetic element (1064) in a second direction that corresponds to retraction of the implanted device (140)(see par. 0110).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al (USPN 2009/0112207) in view of Horisaka et al (USPN 2009/0231073).
Regarding claim 15, Walker discloses a controller (1080) includes a control mechanism (1132) configured to adjust an angle of the at least two driver magnets (1134, 1136, see par. 0120 and figure 13).
Walker does not explicitly disclose the controller adjust the angle between central magnetic axes of the driver magnets as claimed.
Horisaka discloses a medical system (10 in figure 1) comprises a controller (see par. 0051) includes a control mechanism (20) configured to adjust angle between central magnetic axes of at least two driver magnets (angles of central magnetic field orientation lines of the two driver magnets 16a, 16b are adjusted
(16a, 16b) (see figures 5-7) (see par. 0058).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the controller of Walker to incorporate a controller with a control mechanism to adjust an angle between central magnetic axes of the driver magnets as disclosed by Horisaka in order to vary easily magnetic field in all direction so that maintaining a magnetic field intensity at a constant level.
3. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker et al (USPN 2009/0112207) in view of Pool et al (USPN 2009/0062825).
Regarding claim 19, Walker discloses the implanted device (140) comprises the magnetic element (1064), but does not explicitly disclose a third driver magnets as claimed.
Pool discloses a medical implanted device (160, see figures 22, 33) comprises a controller (168, 164, see figure 22) comprises a magnetic driver device (164) comprises first, second, and third driver magnets (217, see figure 33), wherein the implanted device (160) is adjusted by rotating the magnetic driver device (164).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have modified the driver magnet device of Walker to incorporate a third driver magnet as disclosed by Pool in order to create a maximum attraction while preventing rotational slippage.
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 1-13 are allowed over prior art of record.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious the claimed subject matter of the instant application as a whole either taken alone or in combination, in particular, prior art of record does not teach:
A method for stabilizing bone comprising the steps of: generating an external magnetic field and rotate the magnetic element of the implantable actuation device using a controller, the controller comprising: a first driver magnet defining a first rotational axis and a first central magnetic axis transverse to the first rotational axis, the first driver magnet having a first north pole at a first end of the first central magnetic axis and a first south pole at a second end of the first central magnetic axis; a second driver magnet defining a second rotational axis and a second central magnetic axis transverse to the second rotational axis, the second driver magnet having a second north pole at a second end of the second central magnetic axis and a second south pole at a second end of the second central magnetic axis wherein at least one of the first and second central magnetic axes is oriented at a rotational offset relative to a flux reference point that is equidistant from the first driver magnet and the second driver magnet as recited in claim 1.
Conclusion
/DANNY NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838