DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant amendment/remarks filed 05/06/2026. Claims 1-5, 11, 13, and 15 have been amended. Claims 6-10, 12, and 16-20 have been cancelled and claims 21-31 have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-5, 11, 13-15, and 21-31 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-11 filed 05/06/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection has been withdrawn. However, newly added independent claim 21 is more broad then the newly amended limitations of independent claims 1 and 15. With regards to claim 21, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Shirokov et al. US20210004029A1 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 11, 13-15, 22-23, and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended claims 1 and 15 and newly added claim 22 recites “wherein the second local controller is configured, in response to receiving the command from the electrical power system controller, to decrease the second droop gain from a third value to a fourth value over the first time interval to increase a power from the second power source from the second power level to the first power level and to maintain the second droop gain at the fourth value over the second time interval to maintain the power from the second power source at the first power level.” The applicant pointed to Para. 0050-0060 of the specifications filed 01/02/2025 for the written description support of the amended claims. However, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Para. 0050-0060 does not specifically provide “to decrease the second droop gain from a third value to a fourth value over the first time interval to increase a power from the second power source from the second power level to the first power level and to maintain the second droop gain at the fourth value over the second time interval to maintain the power from the second power source at the first power level”. The specifications and drawings do not provide these specific limitations that were added in the most recent amendment after the non-final rejection. Therefore, the claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specifications in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-5, 11, 13-14, 22-23 and 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, for being dependent on rejected claims 1, 8, and 22, and for failing to cure the deficiencies as recited above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shirokov et al. US20210004029A1 (henceforth Shirokov).
Regarding claim 21,
Shirokov discloses:
An electrical system for an aircraft, (See at least Para. 0038, “The sources of electrical power may be turbines and the shared bus may be connected to one or more electrical engines for an aircraft”, which is an electrical system for an aircraft.)
the electrical system comprising: a first local controller configured to control a first power source of the aircraft using droop control in accordance with a first droop gain; (See at least Para. 0005, “Droop control has also been applied to the DC bus voltages. FIG. 1 shows a control scheme implementing this principle. The DC voltage (“V DC”) is the manipulated variable, DC voltage (“V DC”) and current (“I DC”) are the process variables, where “I DC” is used for droop feedback, “V (PWM”) is shown as the state variable, the controller is the power electronics controller” and Para. 0012, “ Considering n sources in parallel, each having the same “V DC ref high”, the contribution of each source can be controlled by manipulating the droop slope for each source through its respective gain K.sub.i with i being an integer from 1 to n”. A local controller is configured to control a power source of the aircraft using droop control accordance with a first droop gain (via manipulating the droop slope).)
and wherein the first local controller is configured, in response to receiving a command from an electrical power system controller, to maintain the first droop gain at a first value over a first time interval to maintain a power from the first power source at a first power level over the first time interval (See at least Fig. 4 and Para. 0025, wherein source A operates on a single slope in the share region (See Para. 0022, wherein the share region is defined by the upper voltage limit and the base voltage). The first droop gain is maintained at a first value over a first time interval in the share region. Fig. 4 is for a power of a 50/50 power split, and the first power source is maintained at a first power level over the first time interval.)
and to change the first droop gain from the first value to a second value over a second time interval to change the power from the first power source from the first power level to a second power level. (See at least Para. 0066, “The system is capable of providing 150 kW continuously, at a 66.7:33.3 split, as shown before. Therefore it is possible for the load to be stepped up to 150 kW instantaneously. However, if a 50:50 split is demanded before this change in demand, a slower high level power manger needs to update the 50:50 split to the 66.7:33.3 split to meet this increase in demand.” Source A power share is changed from a 50:50 split to the 66.7:33.3 split, which requires a transition over a second time interval. The droop gain changes from the first value to a second value, since “the scaling factors K (and therefore slope factors sƒ) are set such as to achieve the desired load power contribution split ratio” (Para. 0023). The slope factor for the 50/50 split is 2 (see Fig. 4), while the slope factor for the 67/33 split is one (see Fig. 2), and therefore going from one to another changes the droop gain from a first value to a second value to change the power from the first power level to a second power level.)
Regarding claim 24,
Shirokov discloses:
further comprising a direct current (DC) distribution system configured to receive electrical power from the power source. (See at least Para. 0039 “configured to supply power to a shared bus”, which discloses the shared bus receiving power from a power source.)
Regarding claim 25,
Shirokov discloses:
wherein the local controller comprises converter circuity configured to control an output voltage of the power source in accordance with the first droop gain.
(See at least Figs. 2-3 and Para. 0027. Additionally, see Para. 0012, “ Considering n sources in parallel, each having the same “V DC ref high”, the contribution of each source can be controlled by manipulating the droop slope for each source through its respective gain K.sub.i with i being an integer from 1 to n, Having multiple sources under DC voltage droop control allows regulation of the DC bus voltage within a voltage droop band”. The output voltage is controlled based on the first droop gain (i.e. from constant K).)
Regarding claim 26,
Shirokov discloses:
wherein the local controller comprises current- measuring circuitry and is configured to control the output voltage in dependence on a measured output current in accordance with the first droop gain.
(See at least Fig. 1, which shows the feedback of a current (I_DC) that is part of the droop control, which defines the DC output voltage, wherein the factor K is the droop gain. Since this feedback is a loop, the first loop comprises a first droop gain from factor K.)
Regarding claim 27,
Shirokov discloses:
wherein the local controller is configured to control the output voltage to be offset from a predetermined nominal voltage by a function of the first droop gain.
(See at least Fig. 1, wherein the output voltage is offset from a predetermined nominal voltage by a function of the first droop gain (i.e. by scaling factor K).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shirokov in view of Begino III et al. US20190305562A1 (henceforth Begino).
Regarding claim 28,
Shirokov discloses the limitations as recited in claims 21 and 25 above, including power sources of an aircraft.
Shirokov does not specifically state further comprising a third local controller configured to control a third power source using droop control in accordance with a third droop gain. However, Begino teaches:
further comprising a third local controller configured to control a third power source using droop control in accordance with a third droop gain
(See at least Para. 0051, wherein the third local controller is configured to control a third power source using droop control in accordance with a third droop gain.)
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shirokov to incorporate the teachings of Begino to include the limitation as recited above “because the different power sources 206, 208 and 210 have different voltage regulation settings, each power source 206, 208 and 210 may maintain an enabled on-state during a period where the power source is not supplying power to the load 204” (Para. 0055, Begino). Furthermore, this would create a more robust system for load sharing with multiple power sources, and adding a third source to share power would be obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Shirokov and Begino. The claimed invention is merely a combination of known elements and in combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of the combination would have been predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-5, 11, 13-15, 22-23, and 29-31 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 1st paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Independent claims 1 and 15 and newly added claim 22 recite “wherein the second local controller is configured, in response to receiving the command from the electrical power system controller, to decrease the second droop gain from a third value to a fourth value over the first time interval to increase a power from the second power source from the second power level to the first power level and to maintain the second droop gain at the fourth value over the second time interval to maintain the power from the second power source at the first power level.” With regards to the prior art in the field, droop control is implemented for balancing loads (i.e. to maintain voltage/power stability) which enables seamless operation of multiple energy sources. Droop control is for making multiple energy sources share a load without talking to each other. These claims take a self-balancing mechanism and puts a supervisor in charge of it (i.e. making the two sources move in turns, wherein the first source holds steady while the second source ramps up to meet it, and then the second source holds steady while the first source ramps up to meet it). Typically, all connected sources react at the same time to changes in load. The newly added and amended claim limitations include “wherein the second local controller is configured, in response to receiving the command from the electrical power system controller, to decrease the second droop gain from a third value to a fourth value over the first time interval to increase a power from the second power source from the second power level to the first power level and to maintain the second droop gain at the fourth value over the second time interval to maintain the power from the second power source at the first power level.” The primary reference Shirokov US20210004029A1 discloses an electrical system for an aircraft with a local controller that comprises multi-voltage droop slopes that adjusts a first droop gain from a first value to a second value through a plurality of intermediate values over a time interval, but does not specifically state a second local controller that decreases the second droop gain from a third value to a fourth value over the first time interval (i.e. the same first time interval wherein the first droop gain is maintained) to increase a power from the second power source from the second power level to the first power level and maintain the second droop gain at the fourth value over the second time interval (i.e. the same second time interval wherein the first droop gain is increased from the first value to the second value) to maintain the power from the second power source at the first power level. These limitations are very specific, and uses an unconventional droop control system that staggers the loads (i.e. holding one still while the other moves and vice versa). Therefore, these newly added limitations, and in combination with the other elements in the claim are not anticipated nor made obvious by the prior art on record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Umezu et al. US20200083709A1 discloses The control device is configured to determine a target value of a control element such that a relationship of frequency with respect to a power conversion device active power output by each power conversion device to the corresponding alternating-current wiring unit has a predetermined second drooping characteristic, and is configured to generate a drive signal for each power conversion device by correcting a target value of the control element in response to direct-current voltage at the direct-current wiring unit. (See abstract)
Shih et al. US20120033450A1 discloses a multiple power supplies balance system includes a plurality of power supply circuits on a circuit board each having a power output route. Each power supply circuit includes a power supply feedback unit which has a reference level terminal to determine output potential of the power supply circuit. The circuit board also has an output route electrically connected to the power output route to converge current sending to a load. Thus the circuit board contains multiple sets of power supply circuits coupled in parallel. The circuit board also has a proportion distribution circuit to correct output variations of each power supply circuit. The proportion distribution circuit includes a variable impedance element which is electrically connected to the reference level terminals and controllable to proportionally change equivalent impedance connected to each reference level terminal, thus change proportionally output potential of each power supply circuit. (See abstract)
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Erin M Piateski/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3669
/G.J.L./
Examiner
Art Unit 3669