Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponomar (U.S. Pub. No. 20210112968).
With respect to claim 1, Ponomar discloses a pop-up floor system for a vehicle (Paragraph 0002, "automatically retractable furniture and structures for… recreational vehicles, water and air crafts"), the pop-up floor system (Fig. 1, table 1) comprising: a floor of the vehicle (Fig. 1, floor 7) recessed downwards to form a storage space in the vehicle (Paragraph 0036, " frame 3 in FIG. 2 is always situated underneath floor 7 while being rigidly attached to any suitable anchoring elements within the floor or other structures" therefore frame 3 is in a recess or opening of floor 7); a table (Fig. 3, table surface 4) configured to be stored in the storage space of the floor (Paragraph 0036, "Table surface 4 reaches stowed away arrangement 8 in FIG. 3 when the table surface 4 is partially or fully beneath floor 7"); a link assembly (extension assembly 5-1, 5-2) interconnecting the table and the storage space, and configured to be folded in a stored state of the table in the storage space, and to be deployed from the storage space when the table is popped up; and an actuator (actuator 5-10) coupled to the link assembly (extension assembly 5-1, 5-2) and configured to provide deployment force to the link assembly (Paragraph 0037, " actuators act upon 5-2 members to raise tabletop surface 4 and retraction assembly members 5-1 above floor level 7").
In the present embodiment, Ponomar fails to disclose and a rotation mechanism interconnecting the table and the link assembly, the rotation mechanism being configured to turn over the table by deployment of the link assembly as the table is popped up from the storage space.
In an alternate embodiment, Ponomar discloses a rotation mechanism (Fig. 10, joint 62) interconnecting a table (tabletop surface 59) and a link assembly (legs 56), the rotation mechanism (Fig. 10, joint 62) being configured to turn over the table by deployment of the link assembly as the table is popped up from the storage space Paragraph 0045, "The tabletop surface rotates on pivotable joints 62 embedded within tabletop surface frame 57 with respect to axis 58 to follow the trajectory defined by 63. In is most preferred mode of operation, the rotation around axis 58 is automated, and may be actuated by a separate actuator at joints 62 or may be positionally dependent on the location of tabletop legs 56 along trajectory 64, and mechanically linked to tabletop legs 56.").
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the table of the first embodiment of Ponomar (such that the tabletop is a rotatable tabletop positionally dependent on and mechanically linked to the extension assembly legs), such as taught in the alternate embodiment, with a reasonable expectation of success (in order to provide an clean dining surface which always faces up when the table is in the use position and always faces down in the stowed away position) and ensure that one side of the table remains untouched in the stowed position, for instance it is not possible for a person to step on the dining surface when the table is stowed away.
With respect to claim 3, Ponomar further discloses wherein the link assembly (extension assembly 5-1, 5-2) is in pair and the pair of link assemblies is provided at opposite sides of the table, respectively (Fig. 4 shows a first extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 located on a left side of the table and a second extension assembly extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 located on a right side of the table).
With respect to claim 7, Ponomar further discloses wherein the table includes a plurality of table portions (Fig. 10, tabletop surface 59 has a front portion located in front of the axis perpendicular to axis 58 and a rear portion located behind the axis perpendicular to axis 58), and each of the table portions is rotatable with respect to a connection point thereof to the link assembly (front and rear portions of tabletop surface 59 rotate about axis 58 via pivotable joint 62).
With respect to claim 8, Ponomar further discloses wherein when the table (tabletop surface 59) is moved from the storage space while being popped up, the table portions are rotated 180 degrees to be turned over (Paragraph 0045, “In fully stowed away arrangement, tabletop surface 59 is soiled and faces up, while the clean, dining surface 60 is hidden and faces down…In fully retracted mode… tabletop dining surface 60 faces up, while the dirty side of the tabletop 59 faces down” therefore the table, including the front and rear portions, rotates 180 degrees).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponomar (U.S. Pub. No. 20210112968) in view of Patrie (U.S. Pat. No. 3105448).
With respect to claim 2, Ponomar discloses the limitation set forth above except wherein the storage space is formed to have an area equal to an area of the table, and an upper surface of the table forms the same plane as an upper surface of the floor in the stored state of the table in the storage space.
Patrie discloses a pop-up floor system (Figs. 1-3, folding table) wherein a storage space (Fig. 3, recess 29) is formed to have an area equal to an area of the table (Figs. 1-2 shows the rectangular opening/recess 29 of floor 10 has the same area as tabletop 14), and an upper surface of the table (upper surface of tabletop 14) forms the same plane as an upper surface of the floor in the stored state of the table in the storage space (Col. 2, lined 10-1, “table top 14 is illustrated in FIG. 1 which as shown by solid lines is in position flush with the floor 10 to form in effect a section thereof”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the table of Ponomar such that is has an equal area to the floor opening/recess, such as taught by Patrie, with a reasonable expectation of success in order to optimize the space surrounding the table area and to further reduce the space needed to accommodate the table.
Claims 4-5 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ponomar (U.S. Pub. No. 20210112968) in view of Chuang (U.S. Pub. No. 20180184797)
With respect to claim 4, Ponomar discloses the limitation set forth above. Ponomar further discloses wherein the actuator (actuator 5-10) is connected between the pair of link assemblies (Fig. 4, left actuator 5-10 is connected to the first/left extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 via lever plate 5-8 and is connected to the second/right extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 via frame 3 and is therefore connected between the pair of extension assemblies 5-1, 5-2) to provide deployment force to the link assemblies (Paragraph 0039 describes actuator 5-10 drives the first/left extension assembly to follow trajectory 15 to raise the table. Since the table is also connected to the second/right extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 the raising of the table would cause an extension/deployment of the second/right extension assembly 5-1, 5-2, therefore the actuator acting on the first/left extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 provides deployment force to both extension assemblies).
Ponomar is silent to the actuator being a gas spring.
Chuang discloses an actuator is a gas spring (Fig. 1, gas-assisted extension strut 5) connected between a pair of link assemblies (inner frame and outer frame 40) to provide deployment force to the link assemblies (Abstract, “The gas-assisted extension strut provides gas-assisted thrust… between the inner and outer frames for generating a lifting force).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuators of Ponomar such that they are gas-assisted extension struts, such as taught by Chuang, with a reasonable expectation of success since the substitution of one known element (actuator of Ponomar which may be powered by pneumatics, Paragraph 0052) for another (gas-assisted strut of Chuang) would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143 I(B).
With respect to claim 5, Ponomar in view of Chuang discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination further discloses wherein the gas spring (Ponomar actuator 5-10 as modified by Chuang to be a gas spring) includes a cylinder (Chuang, Fig. 1, outer rod 51) and a piston (Chuang, inner rod 52) slidably coupled to the cylinder (Chuang, Paragraph 0053, “telescoped for extension and retraction”), and wherein one of the pair of link assemblies (Ponomar, first and second extension assemblies 5-1, 5-2) is pivotally coupled to the cylinder (Fig. 4, one end of actuator 5-10 is pivotally coupled to the second/right side second extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 via frame 3 and pivot joint 5-12) and another of the pair of link assemblies is pivotally coupled to the piston (Fig. 4, the other one end of actuator 5-10 is pivotally coupled to first/left extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 via join lever plate 5-8).
With respect to claim 9, Ponomar discloses the limitation set forth. Ponomar further discloses wherein each of the table portions (front and rear portions of table surface 59) has opposite surfaces respectively defined as a floor surface (“soiled” tabletop surface 59 which faces up when stowed away) and a usable surface (dining surface 60 which faces up when deployed).
Ponomar fails to disclose wherein each of the table portions is urged through an elastic member so that the floor surface is directed upwards.
Chuang discloses a table surface (Fig. 1, upper platform 2) is urged through an elastic member (spring 3 of gas-assisted extension strut 5) so that the table surface is directed upwards (Paragraph 0053, “When the gas-assisted extension strut 5 retracts to a certain site, the spring member 53 is compressed and generates a restoring push force, thereby enhancing the lifting force of the gas-assisted extension strut 5” therefore spring 53 would urge the upper platform vertically upwards rather than vertically downwards).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the actuator of Ponomar such that it is a gas-assisted extension strut including a spring, such as taught by Chuang, with a reasonable expectation of success since the substitution of one known element (actuator of Ponomar which may be powered by pneumatics, Paragraph 0052) for another (gas-assisted strut of Chuang) would yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143 I(B). It is further noted that the combination would result in the entire table, including the floor surface (59) of Ponomar being directed vertically upward away from the floor (7).
With respect to claim 10, Ponomar in view of Chuang discloses the limitation set forth above. The combination (Ponomar) further discloses wherein the link assembly (extension assembly 5-1, 5-2) is in pair and the pair of link assemblies is provided at opposite sides of the table portions (Figs. 3 and 10 show a first extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 located on front side of the table and a second extension assembly extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 located on a rear side of the table), respectively, and wherein the rotation mechanism (pivotable joint 62) is one of a plurality of rotation mechanisms coupled to the pair of link assemblies (Fig. 10 shows a front pivotable joint 62 is coupled to first/front extension assembly 5-1, 5-2 and a rear pivotable joint 62 is coupled to second/rear extension assembly 5-1, 5-2) and configured for rotating each of the table portions in a predetermined rotation angle (front and rear portions of tabletop surface 59 rotate about axis 58 via front and rear pivotable joints 62).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 are allowed.
Claims 6 and 11-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6, Ponomar in view of Chaung fails to disclose wherein the gas spring simultaneously urges the link assemblies disposed at the opposite sides of the table in extension directions thereof, respectively, causing the link assemblies to be simultaneously deployed. The gas spring of Ponomar in view of Chuang would not simultaneously urge the extension assemblies/legs to simultaneously deploy since the gas spring primarily acts on one of the legs and would first cause the adjacent extension assembly/leg to deploy which would then cause the table to rise, which only then may result in the other extension assembly/leg to move. Based on the configuration it would be improper hindsight to further modify the combination to include this limitation.
Regarding claim 11, Ponomar in view of Chaung fails to disclose wherein each rotation mechanism includes: a housing provided at a side of a corresponding one of the link assemblies; a stopper formed at an interior of the housing; a rotation shaft formed at an end portion of each table portion; and a pole protruding from the rotation shaft, wherein the pole is rotatable to contact with the stopper in the predetermined rotation angle, and the elastic member provided between the pole and the stopper to urge the pole to be disposed at one side of the stopper. Based on the configuration of Ponomar in view of Chuang it would not be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to modify the pivotable joints 62 to include these limitations.
Claims 12-13 would be allowable for depending from claim 11.
Regarding claim 14, Ponomar fails to disclose a seatback connected to an upper surface of the table. Ponomar includes seating surfaces 6 for sitting at a side of the table. Based on the configuration of Ponomar in view of Chuang it would not be obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to further modify the rotating tabletop to include a seatback.
Claims 15-16 would be allowable for depending from claim 14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
New independent claim 17, which incorporates the limitations of previously presented claims 1, 7, 9, 10, and allowable claim 11, is allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.I.A./ Examiner, Art Unit 3637 /DANIEL J TROY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3637